Volkswagen e-up! makes first appearance in Malaysia

Volkswagen_e-UP_Malaysia_Preview_ 003

The Volkswagen Golf GTE and eighth-gen Passat B8 weren’t the only new cars previewed at the three-day Volkswagen Das Event – the automaker’s first all-electric production vehicle, the e-up!, also made its first showing in the country.

A showing is just about it where this one is concerned, actually – it’s very much a long shot, the likelihood of the four-seater hatch being sold here. Still, nothing like parading the wares if you’re going to do a flashy showcase, and the electric version of the up! is a pretty good plug for that kind of route.

The e-up!’s 60 kW (82 PS) electric motor offers a 40 kW (55 PS) and 210 Nm output, and performance numbers include a 0 to 100 km/h time of 14 seconds and a 135 km/h top speed. The car has an operating range of 150 km on a single charge, and the 18.7 kWh lithium-ion battery can be recharged to as much as 80% of its energy storage capacity within 30 minutes.

The 1,185 kg EV – which is about 25% heavier than the regular up! – rides on machine-polished 15-inch alloys, and specific identification cues include VW emblems with blue backgrounds as well as an e-up! logo at the rear. The interior features light-grey seat covers with blue top-stitched seams as well as special leather and chrome accents.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• perodua on Dec 11, 2014 at 9:41 am

With their after sales service, do not take the risk to buy VW car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Abang on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:51 am

Who cares, VW Malaysia will be forced to price it RM200K here. Bravo NAP.

• kubota on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:27 pm

ya.. continue with your perodua.. life is thrashed for you.

they are going 24/7 with courtesy car provided service centre..

dont owned one vw, dont mentioned of their problems.. at least i have 1 passat B7 which serves me well.. service centre is quite fast rather than proton or major perodua service centre which both brand i owned too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:21 pm

ya.. continue with your Proton, life and money are trashed for you too.

VSC, 7 airbags, TRC, EBD for Saga, Persona, Exora, Satria Neo, Suprima S Standard? NO!

When safety feature is enhanced on recent model Preve, Suprima S Premium and Iriz ONLY, the fanboys are like woohaa human landed on the sun. However, hardly see any of these SAFEST models on the road also. Why ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Samelorrr CCB on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Nobody understand what is coming out from that thing you call a mouth. So shut up

• No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Ferrari is hardly to see on the road too.

#TrollFace

• Robbie on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

perodua also the same, just because it is a Malaysia car I bought it, and when got problem, the SC cannot solve it and give answer like ” ni kereta malaysia, biasa la”..I was like stunned because never expect that kind of answer from perodua mechanic. I would rather have VW, at least imported car and looks better than perodua cars. Now the VW after sales also improving already. When perodua after sales going to improve?

• Well.. They have took action to improve their after sales service already as you can see the announcement of after sales and sales action plan of VW had released on Paultan this month. Finally, VW is going back to the right path.

• TheAnonymous on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Hmm..I still prefer VW, although, there are quite a lot of negative comments about it. I believe VW will keep on improving on their product quality and after sales service.

• it would b interesting if they bring the regular Up. mayb to cheap can’t bring in to compete? ^^

• the driver on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:41 am

Agreed, nearly every other auto makers’ (including Korean makes) small car offering is better than the superminis made by P1 and P2. Let’s be good at something rather than just merely cheap, can’t win in the family car category much less in the other categories.

• Pondan on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:39 am

Up up and away………..

Nothing left to say

• Najib said affordable RM100K electric car from Proton.

This implies WV e-up will sells way above RM100K.

Pls put up more super charge charging station before launch!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:39 pm

While Tesla also caught in fire, you dare to buy RM100k Proton electric car? Be my guest.

Perhaps the Proton electric car will come with life-time free personal accident insurance policy with sum insured RM2mil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Meh,better buy Proton Iriz.If I buy this Volkswagen,surely cepat rosak one!Or if I want the electric too,wait for Proton Iriz electric vversion on 2016.Go Go Proton!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:30 pm

It is good to dream big. But dream is still dream, especially when it is related to the “almighty” Proton.

• Ya,I dream better than buy this car.The foreign car is a *Almighty* to Proton Haters.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Why I have to hate Proton? We are/were all Proton victim.

• TokKok on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:58 am

No i am happy with Proton. Its been more than 10 years.

So dont generalise.

You are “victim” of Proton, probably because of your poor attitude with human interactions. Nobody wants to have anything to do with you or any car the moment they see you driving into the service centres

So change yourself before trying to change others

• You wait till 2020 also haven’t come out coz it’s still in R&D lol. By that time, this Up will be everywhere on the road. Stop wasting tax payers money on R&D, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Hey Brother,your head lah wait till 2020.This Iriz electric version Iriz already test on road and in Research and Development 50%.If you didn’t believe,Google it.Cheers

• Three Pedals on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:02 pm

So, now we can have the Proton EMAS in VW emblem.

• Sohai on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Does it come with DSG problems? hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • weeee on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:06 pm

I think the only reason they’re not bringing the petrol version here is because it’ll cost somewhere between 50-70k depending on the model. Thats a lot for a supermini. However, it is the only non-local supermini besides the i10. Unless Ford decides to bring the Ka a& Peugeot with its 108

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Saw the up! in Tokyo Motor Show last year and I like its size – perfect as a city car but VGM never bothered to bring it in due to cost I think. But if they do and the price is around the range of a Picanto with similar specs then we will have a proper A segment contender from Europe.

• No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:33 pm

VW really need to change their family face…. It has been use for many years….

• But Mr.Rakyat,I say Iriz is better than this

• TheAnonymous on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:11 am

Are you serious??
      Iriz is incomparable with E-Up, Iriz is normal car and E-Up is electric car.. how to compare?

• SAfrican on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Instead of bringing the overpriced E-Up! to MY they should consider giving you the regular version of the city car, which is way cheaper. Especially considering how expensive cars are in MY and they skimp on safety that they have in other markets… That locally produced Polo 1.6, Shocking! It used to be a premium city car with a Euro NCAP 5 Star rating but in Asia its a different story altogether…