SPYSHOTS: G30 BMW 5 Series shows clearer details

BMW-5-Series-003

There’s been a lot of activity from BMW recently – we’ve seen spyshots of the next-generation G11 7 Series, the F30 3 Series facelift/Life Cycle Impulse (LCI) and the F20 1 Series LCI for some time now, and the company has just introduced the LCI version of the current 6 Series. Now it’s the turn of the upcoming G30 BMW 5 Series to be captured by our European spy photographers.

It seems like just yesterday that the outgoing F10 5er was unwrapped, but that was in fact five years ago, so the end is nigh. In its place, the new car can clearly be seen to incorporate the latest BMW design language despite the heavy camouflage, with headlights that bleed into the kidney grilles. There are, however, some refinements also seen on the G11 7 Series spyshots so far, such as the new shape of the door mirrors.

Underneath the disguise and bodywork, expect to see the G30 riding on the new “35up” rear-wheel drive platform that will underpin everything from the next 3 Series up – the G11 7 Series looks to be the first recipient of the architecture. It is rumoured that the new car will shave up to 100 kg off the F10’s weight through the use of lightweight materials such as carbon fibre, a technology gained from the BMW i project.

BMW-5-Series-008

It’s a good job it’s so much lighter, because filling the base of the range this time will reportedly be the tiny 1.5 litre B38 three-cylinder petrol engine as found on the new MINI Cooper, albeit tuned up for use in the much larger car. We should also see the inclusion of the new B48 2.0 litre petrol four-cylinder that will replace the current N20 on the 520i and the 528i, as well as forming one part of an eDrive plug-in hybrid variant.

The top-dog M5 is expected to see its power output swell to 626 hp, in addition to the introduction of xDrive all-wheel drive as an option, just like on the current Mercedes-Benz E 63 AMG.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Depreciate again on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:53 am

Those who bought the F … just got F-ked

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Contender on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

Those who bought the current 5-series gets good discount as compared to when it was first launched …. there is always the trade-off …. buy when 1st launched no discount, year end discount, pre-facelift LCI will be cheaper …. towards tail end of the model, even more discounts and freebies …. that’s reality.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Those who buy any BMw in MAlaysia get cheated with a mere 2 year warranty by BMW Malaysia.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in the world giving ONLY 2 years warranty on their cars.

• holofanboi on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:14 am

Not quite so. I for one have less and less confidence in a tiny turbocharged engine trying to drag such a heavy car.

2 litre turbocharged engines are beginning to hit their reliability limits (just do a quick search on the megane, golf gti, vmw 528) and you will get what i mean.

And this being BMW, they will definitely make sure the g30 output is higher than the f10… adding ever more worries to engine reliability.

Or maybe im just an old fashioned person. Oh well.

• U gain some u lose some.5 years should be the limit before u need to allocate separate pocket in your wallet for your ‘modern turbocharged hp more than 1/10 of the cc’ car.

It is feasible in europe.in our country i would say 30% dpayment and 5 years loan is the minimum level of affordability check.for new car,not recond.or,warranty period offered by manufacturer should be clear indication how long their product should last.

If its not within ur reach just work harder or blame the govn

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Lol love to see how the 1.5l engine will perform in the G30 but doubt they will bring it here due to its puny engine. Not everyone wants to rempit especially in our pothole ridden roads and massive jams.

• Just need V8 or V6 turbocharge engine for this car oh wait…I can get M5 already.

• old dog on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:29 pm

i am waiting to buy F10 at cheaper price when this launch…

• johanian on May 20, 2015 at 12:09 am

We all know how fast new tech is incorporated in german cars these days..sometimes at the expense of reliability…In fact it is ideal to get a F10 around now,when it has gone through a LCI…most common problems fixed,tech mature but not dated,and good deals can be obtained.Mechanics familiar with it.

Sure,it is nice to get a brand new model For bragging rights,but my previous experiences tell me that getting a car which is very new into its life cycle causes lots of headaches.