Renault reveals new “POWERFUL” twin-charged, two-stroke two-cylinder diesel engine for the future

renault-powerful

When one thinks of a two-stroke diesel engine, images of large container ships tend to conjure themselves up in the mind’s eye. Renault, however, plans to change that perception, with the company revealing a two-stroke, turbo and supercharged two-cylinder diesel engine that could find its way into the firm’s future models.

The engine, dubbed POWERtrain for Future Light-duty vehicles or ‘POWERFUL’, features twin-charging technology and produces between 48-68 hp and 112-145 Nm of torque from 1,500 rpm. With a displacement of just 730 cc, the mill is half the size of Renault’s 1.5 litre dCi diesel engine and weighs 40 kg less.

Revealed at the Innovations@Renault event in Paris, the company has stated that the engine still requires additional development effort, as it is deemed to be underpowered. As a result, the French automaker is hard at work with 18 different partners based all over Europe to try and bring the engine that much closer to the roads.

Also revealed at the event were two additional projects, the HYDIVU and VELUD, aimed at further exploring the different alternatives to improving efficiency via unorthodox engineering methods. The three projects were conceived by Renault’s Co-operative Innovations Laboratory (LCI) division.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• i thought france already take a step to ban diesel in near future?

• powder on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:47 pm

This is powderful not powerful

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:24 am

Perodua Axia use 3 cylinder, Mitsubishi Attrage/Mirage use 3 cylinder, Ford Fiesta use 3 cylinder, Volvo is coming up with its 3 cylinder, Renault is making its 2 cylinder now.

See the trend – Powerful and Good Emission (Euro 5,6,7)

So stop Syok Sendiri on 1.6 turbo for the tiny B segment hatchback, there is an term for this kind of engine: OUTDATED.

• weeee on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:21 pm

didn’t the French PM said they’re phasing out diesel

• Renault didn’t agree to it. Large part of europe still uses diesel, unless they only make cars for a certain country (like P1), it’s stupid to stop diesel development that will serve the entire europe.

• Basically every single french manufacturer got pissed about it, their country first told them to push diesels, so they responded by making fantastic small diesel engines for almost all their cars, now the country changed their minds all of a sudden.

• Superchargers..? Want one!!!

• andique on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:33 am

So its a 2-stroke. Remind me of my old kawasaki kips. Does it need 2T oil refill every 400km? haha

• r u sure every 400km need to refill the 2T on ur kips? my kips travel 150km daily & only need to refill every 10days only (1500km). BTW I’m a spirited rider, speed is constant at 140kmph. anyway, I wonder if this Renault engine needs to refill 2T or not, since this is 2 stroke engine. imagine this small lorry driver drop by petrol station / bike workshop & ask to buy 2T oil, lol

• andique on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:05 pm

yes, im so sure that every 400km my kips victor year 1991 need to be refill with the 2t. i had to tune it as such cause the engine had jammed once. dont want to risk for another time.

can anyone imagine that this renault engine will eventually have those 90′ 2-stroke 500cc superbike sounds?

• shawal on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:23 pm

they have to get the power output right..
    then they have to sort out the impending reliability issues as this high tech engines involves alot of electronics parts and sensors ….

That is why most japanese automakers are stiking to good old naturally aspirated big displacement engines…

simple and reliable, …and theres no replacement for displacement…