SPIED: Honda HR-V on TVC shoot in Sentul East

HRV-SENTUL-1

Not very long before the Honda HR-V makes its Malaysian market debut – word on the vine is that the much-anticipated Jazz-based B-segment crossover is due to be launched in Q1 2015, and its appearance in downtown Kuala Lumpur, at Sentul East, for a TV commercial shoot is a good indicator that it’s all getting very close now.

The vehicle was spotted by reader Choo Kok Foong, who came upon the shoot in progress. The HR-V was being filmed making a high speed cornering run around an intersection, with a number of takes made. The clip by Choo caught the vehicle on its last run, being reversed into position.

The HR-V – which made its debut as the Vezel in Tokyo last year – had its ASEAN premiere at the 2014 Indonesian International Motor Show in September. It’s set to be produced in Indonesia for the domestic market, beginning January next year.

In the republic, the HR-V will be available in two engine forms, a 120 PS/145 Nm 1.5 litre from the City and Jazz, and a 1.8 litre pushing 139 PS and 169 Nm, both paired with a CVT automatic gearbox (a five-speed manual is also available for the 1.5 litre). Prices start from 240 million rupiah (RM67,500) for the base 1.5.

Thailand, meanwhile, introduced the HR-V in November, and it was on show at the 2014 Thailand International Motor Expo. In the Kingdom, it’s only available in a 141 PS and 172 Nm 1.8 litre form, coupled to a CVT transmission – three trim levels are available, with prices starting from 890,000 baht (RM94,800).

Honda HR-V at 2014 Thailand International Motor Expo

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Dear Honda BS Malaysia,

Eventhough your cars looks nice, priced nice and have great specs (features), however if you don’t improve on ur BS BQ and QC, trust me, Malaysian will start to move away from Honda BS Malaysia if you guys don’t buck up.

Just hope that other brands do wake up and teach u guys a lesson.

Just sat in a new Nissan Almera and the car is so freaking quiet with no BS rattling sounds, BS sounds from dunno where and more.

Just to help u Honda BS Malaysia as i agree with ur pricing and specs but just not agree with ur BS BQ and QC.

Your Welcome Honda BS Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 103
    • I can see u get more dislikes.

Quite frustrating.purchasing something thought to be reliable but end up with below average quality.not cheap also.

My take on the brand; merely surviving on brand value and malaysian insatiable lust for resale value.quality has been down the hill since vehicles being assembled at alor gajah.

Only good thing is low fc.nvh not good,quality not good.power so so only.

Above only applied to locally assembled car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
      • AVH (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Than me and my cousin are pretty lucky having one for over 3 years and no problems as well as pretty reliable after sales service.

Poor NVH I do concede.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:20 am

That’s why Toyota is HOT for decades. Build quality, comfort and good fuel consumption are the main reasons.

You want good spec, you have poor build quality (Proton).

You want good spec and good build quality, you have to pay more (Mercedes, Lexus).

You want good build quality and cheap, you don’t get the best specs (Perodua).

Specs, build quality and price, you can’t get all. Your call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
          • Jinyiwei22 on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:00 am

Erm.. my client Camry (1 year old) gearbox rattling when the car idle. What went wrong Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • i wish cbu car price can go lower,ckd which assembly in msia sux to the max,its same apply to ckd merz or bmw.

• Nobody force u to buy honda cars. Like almera so much? Just buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
      • I totally agree with your comment!! This Snack Bar guy has been spamming so many times about his same problem in many different post.

If you hate the City so much do us all a favor and sell it. Go buy Mazda 2 or Almera since you give have such high hopes for other cars and spare us your grief.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

be frank, generally, honda’s quality dropped.
          however, it only apply on CKD models.
          Global quality still well respectable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • hondaman on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:18 am

I own 3 locally assembled honda, a city which has good fuel economy but less satisfactory NVH, a CRV (G4), good all around SUV (not worried about FC coze fuel paid by comp.)& a kapchai(EX5), the most reliable Honda of them all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:09 pm

I do have city and sold accord.
        Honda CKD models prone to having below quality issues.

1. Disc brake warp
        2. Bearing worn
        3. Connector/switch corrosion intermitent issues
        4. Rattle dash/ door panel
        5. Paint easy peel off/ chip off.

Other than above issues, honda is fine

• Sam Loois on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:42 pm

I do agree with you on this. I am one of the owner of the all-new city. Bad QC as I and many others experience the rattling and gap issues. Sigh. Very unacceptable for a respectable car brand.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:09 pm

A Honda Showroom nearby has a big banner with a HRV picture on it, proclaiming that it will be launched in 2015 January and booking are now open. We also receive an sms from our SA that seems to confirm this. Thou when I ask the other day regarding price, all I seem to get is that it will be less than RM125k and 1.8l only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Isn’t that Yuno Gasai’s pic u using as your avatar bro? I sense a fellow otaku…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Haha, yea, mad girl gasai. I like using anime/cartoon avatar because they seem to be less serious, the comments here can sometimes be waaay to angry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Yep too many fanatics and salespersons in here to start the flame war…

• 1.8 only… sad…

• GianT on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:54 pm

1.8litre with S, E and V spec..price range 100k-120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Mika Volkova (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:59 pm

What are the spec in S, E & V respectively?

• GianT on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:18 pm

V SPEC COME WITH PUSH START , HALF LEATHER SEAR ,7″ LCD WITH REVERSE CAMERA ALSO HDMI , 6 AIRBAG ,AUTO HANDBRBRAKE SYSTEM AND MORE !

E SPEC COME WITH PUSH START ,HALF LEATHER SEAT , 5 ” LCD RADIO PLAYER ,AUTO HAND BRAKE SYSTEM AND MORE !

S SPEC COME WITH KEY START ,NORMAL RADIO PLAYER ,FABRIC SEAT ,AUTO HAND BRAKE SYSTEM AND MORE !

• Passerby on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:14 pm

B segment 100-120k… who will buy this? H fanboy?

• Preve already 2.0l power < 100k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Nice…but the Thai price is considered high so this will be priced above the Ford EcoSport for sure…c’mon Honda Malaysia, show us what you can do. The awesome looking CX-3 will haunt you if you decide to give us sloppy spec and crap pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • cropcrop on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:37 pm

All are craps. no turbo no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • heybadigol (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:37 am

I do believe the CX-3 will beat the HRV (and basically all other sub compact SUVs) with its design alone. Might be the best handler out there too. But the interior space will be tight. And if it comes with a 2.0, might even cost as much as some cars from a segment above (c segment). Hence, the CX-3 might be sitting in a pretty interesting niche market.

• Acrix on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:23 am

Practically vs looks/handling. Practicality has always been Honda forte while Mazda will win in the handling department and sometimes looks(subjective) but comes at a higher price.

• Put hope on fabulous CX3 but engine? will be 1.5 skyactive and tight interior space. Buy

Hence HRV is not bad if most of the specs are similar with thai specs. Spacious and all-rounder.

Ecosport and 2008? Nobody want them.

• car-fans on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Honda Msia – 1.8 below RM120K – If can bring in 1.5 below RM100K. Else keep in your warehouse … just like EcoSport/2008/S-Cross ! TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Xajel on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Any news about the CR-V facelift, I think it’s supposed to be the next year model ( 2016 )… will it get some inspiration from HR-V ?

• Jepun on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:16 pm

will be priced just below the civic 1.8 cos CRV facelift will be out just before CNY. BTW no honda hybrids out in the year 2015. So HR-V is petrol only unlike bezel hybrid in japan

• Sure to be a runaway success regardless what the naysayers are saying.
    Some in the thread have gripes about local assembly Hondas, well good luck to you when you get yourself your first Pekan assembled German marque, mine is already making a peculiar rattling somewhere behind the dash and it’s not even 3yrs old.
    In comparison the mrs little CBU Honda just keeps working like clockwork and not a squeak from anywhere inside after 5yrs, granted NVH is not honda’s forte but it does the job as advertised.

• Why hello there HR-V~ definitely gonna put the pinch into Toyota Rush if the HR-V price is right. Look out Toyota, here comes Honda knocking. That HR-V sure is a looker
    I would definitely go for the 1.8 variant, 1.5 just ain’t got the power for a car this size

• policeman on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Ini pun jadi artikel ke?

• costa on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:43 pm

i vote for cx3…

• only a good choice if its 110k and below

• Suzuki on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Honda Vezel !!!
    Welcome to Malaysia, cant wait to modify to JDM style!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • More Suprima will end up as scrap metal in junkyard pile up! Dr.M this is your Proton’s grave sign!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • tokeh on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Why must you bring proton into this?
      Why, why, why?

• xcxcx on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Not even same segment, who cares about underpower 1.5l SUV when you can buy 2.0l equivalent power car?

• AV SALMAN on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Will i be able to get it below 90k

• Maybe consider mit asx if hrv price above 100k

• Sahipul on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:53 am

Alamak!! Are we getting that type of rims?? That’s the one I dislike most in the Vezel/HR-V range :(

• leonardo on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:27 am

If the OTR price is above RM 100K, which looks highly likely due to the 1.8 liter engine, it will be Sayonara HR-V.

• ThePolygon (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:38 am

It all depends on the price and practicality of everyday usage now.

Now that we have the HR-V, 2008, ecoSport and the upcoming CX-3, I wonder if TC Nissan is considering bringing in the Juke… since that’s the one that kinda started this whole mini B- segment SUV thing.

• hondaman on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:23 am

the whole mini b segment SUV thing was started by daihatsu teanos (kembara in malaysia) & followed by the Toyota Rush.

• gary gary on Dec 20, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Why not bring on the Qashqai? It definitely will be a hit

• Lpost on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:52 am

The price should be below RM110k for high spec.

• common sensor on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:02 am

I don’t think that the photo is a spied photo. It’s too clean with perfect position of the vehicle in the middle of the photo. It’s part of Honda teaser to arouse the market prior to launching … Don’t get yourself fooled and over excited about it.

• common sensor on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:02 am

I don’t think that the photo is a spied photo. It’s too clean with perfect position of the vehicle in the middle of the photo. It’s part of Honda teaser to arouse the market prior to launching … Don’t get yourself fooled and over excited about it.

• berann on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:34 am

Pls bring in full spec with 6 airbags & price below 110k!!

• long time ago Singapore already have, why Malaysia so slow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Mika Volkova (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Becoz Singapore import CBU from Japan.
      But it’s true that Malaysia is slow if you compare with Thailand since both also have factory in it’s respective country. Thailand always launch first, City, Jazz and now HR-V…

• proton on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

psstttt….. see a lot of complaint.
    just read and keep quite.
    comment till you bought it and try yourself.
    or else just buy proton. you will have the same problem but with cheaper price :))

• revolt on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Holy crap. When it will be launched? I just bought Vios.

• Saathis on Dec 21, 2014 at 8:45 am

I’m waiting for 1.5 auto…. if Honda Malaysia bring this two spec as same as in the republic, it will be more demand because not so many people can be afford to buy 1.8

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLa6medna_o

Watch this clip. Should be from Indonesia.

• Just booked.
    Only 1.8 SOHC VTEC
    S,E & V variant
    Rose black, black, silver, white
    Available end of January.

• fahim on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:39 am

How much the estimated price

• Not disclosed yet.
        My guess… Probably very close to Thailand price. Because our facelift civic is priced very closed too.

• I just booked too..let’s hope that the highest spec is around rm110k (I’ve been told that it’s 125k by the salesman but I think it’s highly unlikely)..if it goes more than rm115k I will consider other car :)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:01 am

no we know why this car using the cheapo rims