Tesla among firms intent on bringing EVs to Malaysia, full duty exemptions for EVs to be reintroduced

Remember the curious sighting of a Tesla Model S in Malaysia, shown in spyshots we ran last month? It turns out there may have been a significant reason for the car’s appearance, as Tesla Motors is reportedly one of a number of car companies in talks with the Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) to bring electric vehicles into the Malaysian market, according to a report by Berita Harian.

GreenTech Malaysia CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris told the Malay daily that the manufacturers, which also include BMW, Volkswagen and BYD, were interested in the proposition, especially if there were tax incentives in place as well as a ready infrastructure to support these cars.

[Translated] EV manufacturers now want to see the government’s commitment in building the market in this country through the development of infrastructure, charging stations and demand for EVs, as well as the offering of tax incentives.

“Basically, they are interested in bringing in their own EV models if there is potential here. Because of that we need import and excise duty exemptions on EVs, so that citizens in this country are able to afford electric cars and it will help build demand for these kinds of vehicles,” he said.

In a separate report, Ahmad Hadri was also quoted as saying that the government is set to reinstate duty exemptions on EVs as part of an “electric vehicle induction plan” that will be announced soon, pending cabinet approval. It was said that this was inline with efforts to stimulate the development of the country’s green technology industries.

Ahmad Hadri added that one of the main points of the plan will be to encourage motorists to own an electric vehicle. According to him, people will use EVs after prices have been more clearly delineated with the restructuring of the entire EV tax structure, in addition to the readiness of the infrastructure and basic utilities specific to the use of such vehicles.

“Through the induction plan, we will reintroduce all duty exemptions, particularly import and excise duties, as it is essential in creating a market for EVs,” he said. “On past experience, when the government introduced full duty exemptions for hybrid cars during Budget 2010, sales of hybrid cars have increased from 300 units that year to 6,000 units in 2011.

fen ev 07

“Currently, the total number of hybrids on the road has surpassed 30,000 units. Through these tax incentives as well as the development of the correct infrastructure and mechanisms, we are confident that the ownership of EVs will surpass that of hybrids,” he added.

On the development of infrastructure and utilities for EVs, Ahmad Hadri said the plan will set a target of building 125,000 charging stations across the country by the year 2020. As a result, he said infrastructure development has to start now in order to meet the target.

“The government has injected a RM3 million grant to help First Energy Network (FEN) build 300 EV charging stations, some of which will be in the Klang Valley and others possibly in Melaka and Johor,” he said. “They will be developed between 2015 and 2016. The target may seem like a large number, but it is inline with the target that will be set in the induction plan.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:37 am

Look exciting..hope it will going well.

• A Myth A Con on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:42 am

Electric cars green my ass…. 70% our electricity comes from burning fossil fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 26
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:06 pm

You pay less for electricity than petrol.

Imagine with Tesla you don’t go fuel station FOREVER?

And don’t forget Tesla S 0-100km/h in 4.6s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • kancil driver on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Yes and No. Yes the source of electricity still comes from fossil fuel. However, No, it is not as simple as you think. Gasoline engine is very very inefficient. Only 5% to 30% is converted to kinetic energy. The rest are just waste. While electric car still using electric which comes from coal powerplant or gas powerplant, those powerplant is much much more efficient. Hence you burn less fossil fuel by using electric car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
      • philippecr on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:07 pm

The power generators in a power plant has far better efficiency then your car petrol engine. Not to mention that it uses clean burners and catalysts to filter toxic gases.

• Punch on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:15 pm

VW GTE will have full exemptions from import and excise duties to compete with Suprimau. Take that Proton! You can’t hide behind the G forever. Your jaguh kampung time is up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Sarcasm on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:44 pm

And what are you doing to salvage that 70%? Surf the net?

• Melcos on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:47 am

Still we can save thausand liter of petrol

• kadajawa (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:20 pm

If Tesla RM400k price, of course lah Proton tidak bising.

• Proton make quality car tak tau, only knows how to make noise

• youdon'tcb on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Quality car? Maybe people demand higher standard than that.

• jwrx (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:39 am

Our gov never learns, forever flip flop. Honda/toyota/Audi etc spent millions bringing in thier EVs under the old exemption, then gov stopped it. within 1 year, zero EV sales….now want to “restart” it again, cos they know how stupid they were. Real investors/businessmen…curse at the way our BN gov does things, u think investments and plans is like on/off switch? just waiting for u fool ministers to change your mind like you change underwear. Manufacturers plan months and YEARS in advance…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:39 am

ya ya ya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
    • Sammy on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:52 am

I believe the context is for EVs, not hybrid.
      Other then Nissan Leaf and Mitsubishi i-Miev, I don’t recall any other brand bring in any EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Why nobody scold him cuz talk politic..if I touch this area many people will angry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Hermys Kangkung Ayam on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Bro KZM.
        keep saying the truth, that s the only way to make our car price down!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:43 am

Hopefully BN will not make another flip flop decision and scare away potential investors. Our country needs the extra money and it’s there waiting for us to grab it.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:45 am

TEsla S comes here and price becomes RM400k, no thanks la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Ice Kacang on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:50 am

Tesla is selling as RM300k (USD100k) in US, if it becomes RM400k, still a good deal.

Once you get a Tesla, forever fuel price is none of your business. Petrol price raise to RM110 per litre also you sitting at mamak enjoy cendol relaxly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Dont forget Tesla will install their supercharger around the country means free charging as well.

• philippecr on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:10 pm

let’s hope nobody want to put a ‘fee’ on it. who knows.

• Fuel price would never become a concern for those who can afford a 400k car. What good deal issit again?

• Good Price on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Depends on the variant, but RM 400K isn’t that far off from the selling price of Tesla S in other countries.

Model S 60kWh variant prices:
      US (LHD) : ~$69900 = MYR 244068
      UK (RHD) : £49,900 = MYR 274710

Model S 85kWh variant prices :
      US (LHD) : ~$79900 = MYR 279602
      UK (RHD) : £57,300 = MYR 314881

Model S 85kWh Performance variant prices :
      US (LHD) : ~$104500 = MYR 365687
      UK (RHD) : £57,300 = MYR 377527

Even if we get it tax-Free, Tesla might price it higher since we ARE a small market, both population wise and due to being a RHD country. Selling it at UK and US prices doesn’t make sense since it can’t get high volume here.

• Good Price on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Oops, wrong figure for Tesla 85kWh Performance price in UK, should be £68,700.

• weeee on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:45 pm

dont forget thats just for the base model & not including the fancy gadgets

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Do you even know how much Tesla car cost in its origin country ? Even there not many people can afford it meh..

• Hermys Kangkung Ayam on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Model S 60kWh variant prices:
        US (LHD) : ~$69900 = MYR 244068

US ppl/American afford to buy Tesla.
        Some of them dont buy it because
        corolla, camry just cost about USD15-28K.

What is your price in Malaysia?
        U pay BMW 3 series price to get corolla altis
        BMW 5 series price to get camry.

• gaviny on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:06 am

Pure EVs in malaysia is limited to city dwellers, range extenders would be better

• srartafight on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:12 am

When i saw the skeleton of the car… Tamiya came to my mind.. The old tamiya with engine at the back and batteries in the center

• L-Bird on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:38 am

Like your comment. Never thought of that although I had a RM300 (with all the modifications) Tamiya 23 years back.

• symustafa on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:14 am

I have seen a few of these around here where I live, and for the price here, they are not the best speced vehicle you can get. You can buy an S-Class or 7-Series for the price of a Model S.

However, with the EV incentive, it may bring the prices down to E-Class, 5-Series levels in Malaysia. With options its probably gonna push it up to something like RM800,000. I don’t see the Model S being much a success in Malaysia because the people who wants electric cars can’t afford it and the people who can afford it rather buy a big German saloon.

The smaller EVs would probably be a success, though. I can see cars like the VW e-Up! or BMW i3 selling well.

• Jibran on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Which german saloon does 0-100 in 2.8 secs? and if it does, it costs in millions of dollars. Tesla Model S is the only FAMILY sedan capable of giving such insane acceleration.

• USD60k for Tesla based spec here in Malaysia. No More C-class and 3 Series on the road. LOL

• Hermys Kangkung Ayam on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:40 pm

yes, Tesla price is consider very cheap!
      spec is close to super car,
      but price is damn low.

With USD 69-89K convert to MYR
      What can we buy?
      You just can get brand new ESTIMA with stingy 2 airbags without tcs

Our car! Too expensive!
      Money paid, all gone!!!!!!

• weeee on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:47 pm

60k in the US can get you a Porsche cayman s.

• Assuming that it is tax exampted, at what price can we expect it to be sold at? it is sold at USD70,890 – USD94,390 in the US.

At that price, the drivers in Malaysia that can afford it don’t really look at petrol prices already…

• Guan Yin Maa on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:51 am

Finally something positive coming up.

• Leon Loke on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:51 am

The Govt’s late NAP announcement every year indicate that they are not well prepared and simply reverse incentives hance killing the hybrid segment. NAP announcement every year will drive away invester. Who wants to do business in Malaysia when policy maker do not have a long term plan. Cars like TESLA with a range of up to 500km is good enough for small country like Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Hermys Kangkung Ayam on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Tesla is definitely suitable for Msia.
      But slim chance to bring in Malaysia
      due to AP system, and NAP expired in 2015.

If Tesla brought in,
      it’s many ppl will switch their RECOND CAR
      such E class, S class, Evo, WRX, GTR etc to TESLA.

Becomes BO LOBANG..
      our recond car available in our market mostly very cheap car in UK, JPN. Some of them even rental car.
      If you been staying quite a while in these country.
      You will surprise all those imported “Recond car”
      All mileage had been “Reconditioned”

• Gov modify incentives when it ‘suits’ their need. If not, Gov dont care with their rakyat!

• Man Stir on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Why not CKD?

• Simple, restart this EV is because Tesla is being brought in by some of the crony family,..

• mr1031 on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:56 pm

BODOH punya government policy..sekejap batal..now introduce balik..what are you doing, SERIOULY!

• policeman on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Women should not be allowed to drive this car. Obviously they’ll forget to charge it and it will stall in the middle of a busy road and cause massive jams.

Anyway it’s not like fuel is expensive. Why get this junk? Stupid battery powered car. Even RC cars are using fuel and not batteries.

Start this EV nonsense and TNB is going to increase electricity rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • youdon'tcb on Dec 15, 2014 at 5:29 pm

EV is a step towards future. With Tesla supercharger, their EV is charged for free not charged from TNB. Fossil fuel is going to run out one day, it’s just the matter of time. Environmental topic aside, you’re just a moron that is plain stupid like what they say empty barrel make the most noise. Why on earth you need to be so sexist? Tesla Model S is more powerful than regular car, performance is not an issue. If you can’t afford it just STFU, this car is not marketed for low income consumers. Go and play with your RC car far far away.

• No one pickup the RM3 million grant for 300 EV charging station???

How much a normal charging station cost BTW?

• Encik Ahmad. Bring cheap EV la to Malaysia. You bring expensive EV, only rich people benefit. They don’t feking care about fuel price la

• I Love Malaysia on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:06 pm

This is a good chance for the government to do it right and save the industry by being the most attractive for the investors and local manufacturer to grow in this directions. Malaysia needs to move forward, not backward, and EV is the future of the mobility…

• Suspicious on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Can someone guess why the 300 EV Stations are in Klang Valley and maybe mellaca and Johor?
    How about some other states to the north like Perak and Penang?

Something crony… ooppppsss ssooorrryy… not crony….
    Something fishy is happening here…

• thesmartone on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:15 am

Only stupids think like this. Uthink u can built a bungalow with all steps and stuffs in one day day and all comes together eh? What a moron. Use ur brain not u fingers to think

• shawal on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:45 pm

The problems is , these greedy big bellied kroni wants to profit from every new project without delivering results…

the EV project might be one of those white elephant projects if not executed well, and the Tesla would just be another rich man’s toy instead of paving the way to an emission-free environment…

Tesla’s solar powered supercharging stations are free to use for all Tesla owners , located between big cities , it takes 2-3 hours to fully charge there , but it’ll be part of your journey, overtime you’ll get used to it

• drMpower on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm

why hadri is doing the statement?
    where the F is madani

hadri is the ceo of a company. or agency. or whatever they call it. the guy suppose to announce this is madani. he got paid for it. correct me if i am wrong

• JJ-k281 on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:17 pm

How the price is below Rm150K and all the part will be easily found and cheap.

• Robert Fahey on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:18 am

Where is the source article on Malay?

• Tamura on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

looks elegant…buy buy buy u rich people

• Clint on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Tesla are currently building mass production affordable models in Europe that will roll out worldwide next year. Not Tesla S or the sports model.
    That’s when it becomes a reality for all of us. Elon Musk wil be eventually remembered as Henry Ford is. Someone who made cars that everyone could afford. He has even given away his entire battery intellectual property to any manufacturer who wants it…….for free