BMW 218i Coupe gets new 1.5L three-cylinder engine

digital post production: Ole Bungerwww.pixoleb.com

BMW’s new 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine has been installed in a front-engined, rear-wheel drive configuration for the first time – the mill makes its way on to the new BMW 218i Coupe.

Previous applications have only been in the group’s front wheel drive platform cars – the latest generation MINI and the BMW 218i Active Tourer. A variant of the engine with more power was also used in the BMW i8, but in that application it was mounted transversely and used to drive the wheels on the same axle it is mounted on, much like a front-wheel drive installation.

P90158510-2

In this ’18i’ tune, it’ll do 136 hp and 220 Nm of torque, and will likely replace the 1.6 litre four-cylinder engine found in cars like the 116i and 316i. We’re expecting this engine to be slotted into the 116i and 316i when they receive their LCI facelifts soon enough.

The 100 km/h sprint can be done in 8.9 seconds for the automatic, on to a top speed of 212 km/h. Average fuel consumption is rated at 5.5 litres per 100 km for the automatic, with a CO2 output of 129 g/km.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Waa. Budget BMW with 3cylinder engine. you can hear Cat Meow Roaring Engine while sprinting in 9sec to 100km/h.
    Coming to the market to fight with Problematic VW Golf.

Can CKD and get EEV Status in Malaysia with such ECO 3 cylinder. RM149,888?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • theanswer on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:05 am

should be. 1 series with price around 150k. should be a steal.

• Mr Chee Cheong Fan on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:53 pm

This will probably cost RM180k – 200k. Why? Because it only has 2 doors. In Malaysia, car price is based on the number of doors.

• BMW with 1.5L engine should get Myvi price.

• ABTguy (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:20 pm

hmm… all these 3 cylinders engine coming up now :(

BMW fanboys can call their new car 3CUDM – 3 cylinders Ultimate Driving machine.

I am still in love with my old school 4 or 6 pots …..

• 1.5 only? Iriz 1.6 will eat this for breakfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 62
  • Matrix on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:10 am

hahaha.

Been raced with 4 series in highway.
    lose to my inspira 9 roads.

This three-cylinder , i can tapao it easily.
    Can’t even smell my smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 73
    • Ya..your point is??

• Thanks for reporting urself speeding…. pls state ur real name n address, so that our department can send u Saman Rm 300 for speeding, Rm 300 for dangerous driving…

• @Matrix

Thinks again! If your car and that 4 Series crash together, who will surviving?

• Matrix on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Harlo.

City got airbag.. OK!

• Matrix on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Inspira got airbag too.

My city much better cornering compare to 4 series.

• your sentence told us you doesn’t own a 4s..not even drive it before

• Yeah @JK

On he eye only have Inspira, he think that Inspira just like EVO and he also think that Inspira = EVO

• Paultan

Any official dates on F30 LCI arriving in Malaysia?

Expecting any price reduction or same price with 316i running on 1.5 3 cylinders?

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:20 pm

you gila ke apa? LCI still testing and you asked when is it coming here…

• Sam's Best Friend on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:32 am

One caveat….no matter how low end the engine installed. 2 door car still end up higher price then 4 door car.

• panjang on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

Powerful enough for a 3 cyl.
    Will be an odd point of conversation for those whom does not follow the downsizing trend-“I drive a BMW,1.5 3 piston only”.
    Its the ultimate driving machine with kelisa/kenari offbeat soundtrack.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:28 pm

BMW’s 3-cylinder is not a bad sounding engine…. Sounds like a half six

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

Perodua Axia use 3 cylinder, Mitsubishi Attrage/Mirage use 3 cylinder, Ford Fiesta use 3 cylinder, Volvo is coming up with its 3 cylinder, Renault is making its 2 cylinder, and BMW now!

See the trend – Powerful and Good Emission (Euro 5,6,7)

So stop Syok Sendiri on 1.6 turbo for the tiny B segment hatchback, there is an term for this kind of engine: OUTDATED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • ABTguy (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:21 pm

In near future new cars can be had for 1 or 2 cylinders, car outside and motorcycle heart inside. Then Yamaha can emerge as the world best seller …..

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:25 pm

i suspect potong hire 3 people to click thumb down

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:12 pm

I am not surprised. If they can outsource their car designing jobs to teenager, why not for their internal design team doing nothing but clicking thumb down whole day in the office?

• Axia 3 cyl power output is lightyears behind those turbocharged engines

Still want to similarize? You just make local cars loook bad.

• Wonder what will be the price when it come to bolehland

• A lot of naive comment about how they dabao BMW, Tiong Merz with their Proton..

Growth up a bit la, your stupidity is the reason you driving a Proton and syok sendiri dabao a BMW owner.

• Kenneth on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Government and the local automotive players should take the opportunity to advance forward with these new technologies so that Bolehland can be more competitive in future and environmental friendlier…

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:28 pm

bolehland WILL NOT consider environment friendly.
      only consider money.

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Should be nimbler. A lighter front end, a compact chassis, typical BMW dynamics. I would consider one of these

• Similar engine to new Mini Cooper F56. Nice and smooth. You just dont believe this new Mini can cucuk your 2.4 Accord in one gas press.

• apaapajelah on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:48 pm

1.5? 3 cylinders?? Motif? BMW u tak payahlah mahu curi buyer 1.5 yg lain. U fokus pada segmen asal u lah.. tapi kalau u mahu curi juga make sure the price below 90k! Above than that, u are such a bloodsucker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • wanker boy on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Probably it will be end of 2015 or early 2016 the facelift f30, f20 reach our shore.

• bootupjoe on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Price sightly lower than 316i or same ? because it 2 doors ?