“We will meet all new safety regulations, no question about it” – Perodua CEO on 22 new UN regulations

perodua-facilitation-scheme-briefing-11

At Perodua’s ‘Facilitation Scheme Briefing’ held at the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) earlier today, Perodua CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid boldly claimed that the company will be able to meet the 22 new UN safety regulations set for implementation next year in Malaysia, in response to a question on the subject by this publication.

Despite not being able to reveal the more intricate details of Perodua’s plans for the future, Aminar was keen to stress that the company will work closely with its partners to ensure that the regulations do not pose a problem for the automaker’s future and current models.

“We place a lot of emphasis on safety at Perodua,” he added. “However, we are not targeting a five-star safety rating, [but] we will make sure our cars meet the new regulations, no matter what. We will continue to add on additional safety features in our cars,” he told paultan.org. The Perodua Axia scored a four-star rating in ASEAN NCAP testing earlier this year.

honda-civic-driver-assistance-safety-pack-g

Currently, 77 UN regulations under WP29 are already in force in the nation including ECE R94 (40% front overlap crash testing), ECE R95 (side impact crash testing) and ECE R43 (safety glass installation and testing) for type approval in relation to new vehicles.

Following the 22 new regulations, an additional 19 will be implemented in 2017, with two more to follow by 2020. Safety systems such as Autonomous Emergency Braking, Lane Departure Warning and Enhanced Child Restraint System are among the list of tech that the new regulations will gazette.

As for the facilitation scheme, Perodua has set aside a total of RM200 million to aid vendors related to stamping and interior work for its cars. A total of 23 vendors will have to apply and meet certain conditions before the grant is provided to the respective parties.

perodua-facilitation-scheme-briefing-10

Aminar stated that the funds were sourced internally from Perodua and nowhere else. “We raised the funds from many solutions. including ingenious ways of cost-cutting and many other methods.” The company is preparing for an optimistic year ahead – seeing as how it aims to end 2014 with a sales target of over 193,000 units.

“Today, we want to mainly address the aid in working capital and cash flow management,” Aminar said. “We want the payment term periods between vendors to drop from 60 days to 30 days and as short as 15 days in January next year.” A “soft loan” totalling RM250 million had been provided to vendors earlier this year.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Why not target 5 star? Because 5 star needs stability control?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
    • GlobalNCAPDirector on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm

hahaha, spot on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm

5 stars IIHS or 5 stars EuroNcap? 5 stars AseanNcap is meaningless, no side impact, no small overlap, no roof strength… It is created for Proton’s marketing strategy only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 61
        • Briuse on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:09 pm

AseanNcap is meaningless test, but the Proton’s Iriz still can get 5 Stars. Vios get 4 Stars meant that lagi teruk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
          • Vcool on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:11 pm

5 stars Ncap is included side impact, mean side airbag, mean 6 airbegs.

Iriz which 5 stars have 6 airbegs
            VIOS without stability control even high spec.

• ferrori on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:23 pm

If meaningless why dun get 5 stars?
          The safety is too bad ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Pee Dua Kali on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:14 am

Not 5 stars- because 5 stars are only for cars

• Allen on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm

You are right. And Malaysians din look into 5-star that much, they just want save fuel/

And another reason would be, Daihatsu din supply them the technology?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • weeee on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:07 pm

maybe its for the budget models. Hopefully the mid & top spec models get AT LEAST 4 stars

• Blaze (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:34 pm

In other words ~ “Because charging 30 over thousand bucks for a small car with a tissue box and coins holder in 2014 seems reasonable and people will still buy.. “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • reall on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:23 pm

eh think la. The cheapest car in UK is the Dacia Sandero which costs 6K pounds & that doesn’t even have alloy wheels, air cond & body coloured bumpers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • BOYRACER on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:59 pm

At least it has 4 airbags and stability control as standard.

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm

We will meet all regulation .. as a fully certified Milo tin

• Saya pergi sekolah bukan nak dapat A, dapat C pun boleh lar, asalkan boleh pass dan tamat sekolah OK lar tu… bodoh punya Perodua…

• Savoc_Smyh on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:50 am

They do not design or engineer their main components such as engine and transmission in house. Perodua cars are using Daihatsu component designs. It all depends on them. The R&D of Perodua usually involved cosmetic appearance of the car itself. Not much R&D.

• “We will meet all new safety regulations”, but “We are not targeting a five-star safety rating”, funny la, is that a improvement?

Somemore, implemented on 2017 and 2020? why need to take so long? when you implement your “new safety regulations” on that time, it already become “old safety regulations”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • maXref (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:00 pm

If they can terang terang tell us that they will not aim for 5 star (in other word, their cars will never be safe enough), i wonder why are malaysians so stupid to buy their cars. In the world of economics n business, it is always supply vs demand. If the demand for increased safety is there, they will have no choice but to provide it. If people don’t mind rubbish n unsafe cars (i.e. myvi/axia/and the rest of the family), of course they will forever be selling cars like this. Brands like Toyota are no exception either….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysians are not stupid. They just don’t have much choice in terms of choices when they’re limited by the amount of money they have. It’s either you end up with no transport or a p1/p2. Supply vs demand? How to work when even the G’s NAP (just call it the National Automotive PROTECTION) is in your face?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
  • nighttrain on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:04 pm

If P2 manages to implement everything by 2016, then I salute them. Heck I’ll even buy one, if they can install Autonomous Emergency Braking, Lane Departure Warning and Stability Control in two years. Now, Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:40 pm

The logic is simple:

You make good car then you sell good.

You sell good then you have more fund (no need beg from government).

You have more fund then you can comply with all regulation and make better car.

You make better car and you sell even better.

Get on the right track, like the “Good Quality and Good Sales”! Not the “Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok” one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • ax-on on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:40 pm

The where is the safety quality now? Why Axia dun have VSC?

• No more Value on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Perodua is one of the best selling car manufacturers, where are all those safety feature? Why Vios doesn’t have safety feature like in City? Why? Because profit is much more important and you orang will just buy it because it is Toyota.

And I know the problem is not with Toyota but with UMW.

• fridzmax on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Proton already has the prototype. Jump to Proton Iriz with Advanced Drive Assistance System (ADAS)

You should ask UMW.

http://paultan.org/2014/09/29/iriz-adas/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:17 pm

“We place a lot of emphasis on safety at Perodua,” he added. “However, we are not targeting a five-star safety rating, [but] we will make sure our cars meet the new regulations, no matter what. We will continue to add on additional safety features in our cars,” he told paultan.org .

It’s like a chef saying “we will make sure our foods are the best quality, we’re not targeting it to be diarrhea free, but we will make sure it is edible”.

Well the myvi facelift is set to be soon, so we’ll just see if p2 can keep their words.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • Analogy on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:21 pm

That is a seriously brilliant analogy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Allen on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Myvi can barely reach 3-star ASEAN NCAP.

A facelife will improve structural strength?
      I really doubt so. Let wait for the next gen of Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • AVH (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:47 pm

I want to see if they can at least push the airbag count or add in ESC/VSC. It is hard to imagine them not facing the pressure from the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Bristol on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:17 pm

U guna jari anda pergi tekan milo tin pintu tepi and belakang tengok. Test juga Vios ya…

• wayangkulit on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:58 pm

I would also love to hear car buyers pushing for price increase for increased in safety devices demand.

You know Malaysian buyers wants to go to a mamak stall and order nasi lemak biasa tambah ayam tambah telur tambah sambal tambah ikan bilis at the price of a plate of nasi lemak biasa.

• basically they will meet minimum safety requirements set by the government..

• No more Value on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Basically their so called new regulation is 2 air bags, maybe?

• I guess Perodua doesn’t need to make new technology, they can ask Toyota Japan and Daihatsu Japan to bring their technology to here, also I tough Perodua just rebadge the model. Lets see the result…

• Atoy-ot on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:19 pm

that’s why P2 dun have R n D department, they just know copy and paste front & rear bumper only

• “we are not targeting a five-star safety rating”…
    “3 or 4 stars is enough already lah..depend your luck lo…no matter how we still the top sales in Malaysia with just 3 main models and we bit Proton…,already enough lah, Ok lah I want to go sleep…zZZzzzz”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • ada123 on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:58 pm

” ingenious ways of cost-cutting….” one of it would be single layer of body paint…

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Perodua & Proton will get away from lack of safety features cause the majority of Malaysians are living hand to mouth barely surviving. On the internet most of us prioritise safety but we are a different demographic altogether. If Malaysians were into safety the Kia Picanto would be one of the best sellers and with a RM8k discount as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:25 pm

just wake up from sleep?

• Anonymous Coward on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I don’t think it’s fair to lump Proton together since they’ve shown that they can and are willing to give superior safety equipment to their buyers.

• symustafa on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:19 am

At least Proton is trying to actually compete with the competition with equal or superior specifications. Perodua doesn’t seem to even be trying, just meeting the minimum requirements for them to be able to sell the car.

• perodua with little star also can make proton goyang already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • E36 325i Coupe on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:42 pm

The Myvi is based on Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon of Japan. The Alza is based on Japan Toyota Passo Sette. In Japan they are offered with six airbags, traction control and vehicle stability control. Why aren’t these safety features being offered here? http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/boon/detail.htm

Perodua is also under the UMW group. They are greedy little bunch who wants to enrich themselves rather than the quality of lives of their customers. These safety features are already made available in Japan and would not cost much to Perodua cars, even cheaper because they’re all locally assembled in its own factory here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Because Perodua and UMW Toyota’s profit margin set 200%. if not cannot pay those SA commission like Same LOrr. higher price also can maintain RV also. Like Vios cost 12k + (G tax 100%) = 24k, profit margin + 200% = 72k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • thefact on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:45 pm

this is the reality, but no one would believe u bro. all blinded.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:34 pm

i dont know how u calculate…even if vios tax to the max it oni can go up to 85%.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:45 pm

I thought ABS, EBD and ESC are already in the new UN regulations?? Let see if they can at least fit ABS and EBD into the basic Axias E & G specs, and ESC on the SE & top specs. Ingenious ways of reducing costs by adding unnecessary tissue box, gadgets and ganas looking bumpers? They can just forgo those things, and replace them with safety kits.

Not targeting 5 stars mean that Perodua is actually not serious in improving the safety of its cars! How can an MD say something like that to the media. He should ask the government to give extra tax breaks for cars equipped with 6 airbags, ABS, EBD & ESC.

• bukapintubayartol on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:51 pm

I hope you’re right… I’ve been complaining that the Axia G does not have the option for ABS, EBD and BA… and you have to pay 20% more to upgrade to an Axia SE.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:01 pm

So…they wanna put advanced tech like Lane Departure Warning into a P2 car in the future but it doesn’t come with VSC..XD

• thefact on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:44 pm

22 new regulations doesn’t mean all the regulation have to be installed. u meet the regulation if u have it. that’s all. not mandatory.

• Alex Chan on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:44 pm

thats what u get when u hired some one from bumi crony, this will not happen if DAP people take charge..all will be effectively executed well..even 5 star NCAP oso no problem.
    vote well in next election..vote for DAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
    • No more Value on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Can all the chinese stop dragging politics into whatever forum that not related to politics? Even though our government have financially support Proton, doesn’t mean that Proton is manage and control by our government! And so for perodua and other car manufacturers. Stop the idiot thing.

• Samah Khan on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:16 pm

yaa..DAP can make rocket engine. Must Vote

• That’s the real face of P2.

• Then explain your Axia without ABS ?

• No more Value on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Maybe his meaning is

Sejarah is a required subject to pass in SPM, I will not aim to pass in sejarah but I will make sure my result to meet the new regulations

• Proton CEO on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Dai Perodua CEO

You don’t care about 5 star safety kah?
    Perodua accident comfirm orang mati.
    Proton accident confirm kereta total loss , tapi orang hidup.

Yang benar
    CEO Proton

• panjang on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Of course u wont go for 5 star,because u cant achieve it.U have R&D but their job are just designing headlamp,bumpers,and spoilers.

Your car’s safety aspect are not important.What critical for u are paying your vendor on time.

• lycus on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Ada Cakap Tapi macam Tak ada cakap
    Baik Tak payah cakap langsung! !!
    here a pic of advice Better shut your F+×÷ mulut

• juz ask daihatsu, easy..