Toyota Hilux TRD Sportivo revealed – from RM105k

hilux trd sportivo

UMW Toyota Motor is set to introduce a new N70 Toyota Hilux variant – details about the Hilux TRD Sportivo have been revealed on the company’s website ahead of the version’s official debut.

The Hilux TRD Sportivo will be available in 3.0 litre and 2.5 litre forms, based on the 3.0G and 2.5G double cab automatics. Going the particular route adds on TRD front and rear bumpers, decals and TRD combination leather seats, which features red stitching on the black leather upholstery.

Also new are bumper-mounted LED daytime running lights, which also find their way on to the base 2.5G and 3.0G variants. The alloy wheels on the TRD variants, meanwhile, are finished in black (on the standard G models, done in dark grey). An optional TRD Sport Bar can also be specified.

hilux price list 2014 dec

Click to enlarge.

Other than that, it’s all regulation fare – no mechanical revisions, which means the 144 PS and 343 Nm 2KD-FTV VNT 2.5 litre and 163 PS and 343 Nm 1KD-FTV 3.0 litre common rail turbodiesels (and four-speed auto transmission) continue on unchanged.

Pricing for the Hilux TRD Sportivo variants, on-the-road with insurance, are:

• Hilux Double Cab TRD Sportivo 2.5G AT – RM104,686 (solid), RM105,372 (metallic)
  • Hilux Double Cab TRD Sportivo 3.0G AT – RM112,967 (solid/metallic)

The optional TRD Sport Bar is priced at RM3,990, and is only available for the TRD Sportivo variants.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ThePolygon (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:42 am

Guess you get a lot of metal for that price.

Pickup truck and 4×4 have come a long way. It’s more and more becoming an alternative to the everyday petrol ride.

Now if only the roadtax are reduced for these segments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • TRDsmoked on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:57 am

Fuel guzzler. A big no no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Gonna be busy again this year end. Can’t take long leave for Christmas already… Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • By a lot of metal you mean a lot of scrap then yes.
      If you are driving it offroad and you actually use the bed then okay its fine.
      But for the normal 99% of people out there, NO they are NOT going to replace small city hatchbacks anytime soon, at 100k you have to be completely absurd to get one of these instead of a proper family car like a nissan sylphy or even a used accord. They are essentially trucks, they ride like a horse and handle like a boat, a simple set of tires will cost a huge amount of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • Medium Man on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:47 pm

I think it’s a bit exaggerated to say that they handle like a boat and ride like a horse.

You should test drive the current Triton VGT GS or Ford Ranger and you’ll know trucks can handle exceptionally okay. Thanks to their heavy weight, they do not float like a boat in water at high speeds too. The ride is also quite acceptable although it sucks compared to an Accord or Camry. But, if you compare it to other regular cars, the ride is quite comfortable. Also, the torque from a turbo diesel means no need to rev high when going up hills or picking up.

However due to the ride height, current gen trucks will never handle as well as a hatchback/sedan but they DO NOT HANDLE LIKE A BOAT OR RIDE LIKE A HORSE. I agree with the rest of the stuff you said tough :)

• Smart Buyer on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Hilux 3.0 = Timing Chain

Hilux 2.5 = Timing Belt

Choose wisely ya Mr Sam Loo!!

• applegreen on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:45 am

All toyota line ups becoming sportivo. I think next year there will be Camry TRD Sportivo too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:11 am

already have. aurion trd (our camry in oz).but of course not just trd badge..it comes with serious performance upgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • policeman on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:49 am

This is the official Sam Loo automobile.
    Now comes with added swag – TRD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • New Toyota Hilux is in the pipeline …. may be late 2015 in Thailand or early 2016 new model coming to Malaysia.

• fast5 on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:32 am

Bolehland always gets late products BUT selling with higher selling price.

Ringgit drop, standard and quality also drop and with added high taxes.

BN care for Rakyat. Yes care for Rakyat pocket money’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 38
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

u meant excise tax?
        for pick-up truck there is no excise tax as pick up truck fall under commercial vehicle n if those pick up truck made in ASEAN no import tax either. oni 10% sales tax.

“Commercial Vehicles also reclassified on 1 January 2007 and includes Trucks, Prime Movers, Pick-up, Panel Vans, Bus & Others.” – MAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Sportivo all you like, still old tech and lacking safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • jacksonljs on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Worst, no VSC and AUTO only that makes it very high chance to crash their ‘beloved’ Sportivo. It will become 99.99% chances to crash if it falls under ah beng or sohai driver’s hand

• Meh?

• Jason Lim on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:40 am

hilux need TRD spec for what la? *facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • It’s actually the last hurrah for this Hilux Model :) the imminent replacement will come 2015 so they need to clear old stocks. Slap in TRD bodykit and sell at same or slightly higher price & this is how UMW works…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • TRD = SWAG on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:43 am

People buy a Hilux because they need something rigid and practical. Now UMW thought that people need some SWAG element in this humble working horse.

Good luck with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Spoilers? on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:50 am

I saw a pickup the other day that was lowered and had a huge ass spoiler on the bed cover. I both laughed and cried at the insult on wheels.

I wonder in the near future, I’ll have the bad luck to encounter a Hilux TRD with TRD spoilers taken from other TRD machines? A small one from the Vios TRD or more exotic like Celica?

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:05 am

Rice rice swag babe!!! Actually I hate tasteless ricer swag

• nabill (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:15 am

The 2.5 n 3.0 have the same torque figure??
    It kinda means the 4 speed auto cant take more torque that that,i belive this gearbox existed when Jesus was alive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Kuinosan on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:34 am

What? Still only offering 4 speed gearbox?? Hello Toyota, please wake up from your long slumber and stuff that gearbox in a museum of sorts. Start giving buyers new tech and more safety and not concentrate in offering ah beng accesories to draw your customers. This sh*t have gone on for long enough and your company should start offering good value for the high prices you charge. Wake up Toyota!!!

• axiapower on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:24 pm

“T” p2 axia already 3 cylinders engine what? BMW, Volvo also goes for 3 cylinders

• cc poh on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:38 am

Thailand Hilux TRD spec
    .DVD / MP3 /WMA with 6.1” Touch Screen and Support Smart G-Book Application
    .Door Panel Armrest with Carbon Kevlar
    .Front Console with Carbon Kevlar
    .Sport Bar
    .Bed Liner
    .Artificial Leather Seat with Black TRD Emblem
    .Sticker TRD Emblem
    .Front Skirt TRD Emblem

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/models/vigo_double_cab/pdf/TRD_brochure.pdf

• cc poh on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:42 am

Thailand 3.0 spec
    http://www.toyota.co.th/en/models/vigo_double_cab/pdf/Catalog_Vigo_DCab_2013.pdf

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:44 am

Hmm,goodjob Toyota.But still waiting for the Proton Suv that will launch next year that now is still on RnD stage and it is on test in China and Artic and Proton aim to reach at least Euro 6.

#ProtonThenNowForever

#GoodJobToyota

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Talk is CHEAP, show us the car.

You can also bluff that Proton has its light-speed spaceship. It is all Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Gajen on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:56 am

What a waste of money. 2 things
    1. Hilux is getting really old
    2. TRD Sportivo is not the real TRD. TRD Pro is the real TRD for Toyota 4×4. Sad we dont have it here! =(

• hahaha on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:13 pm

tats a joke.. if the “TRD” brings ESP

• make the ugly uglier

• normal_user on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Sam Loo must have had multiple orgasms by just looking at the picture alone. LoL.

Frankly, these trucks should be bought for its intended purpose: off-road and small business. Normal salaryman should not buy this to ferry their family members. My enemy on the urban streets and highways are reckless Hilux drivers (and other SUV trucks too). Tailgating and zigzagging small cars are acts of selfishness. Numerous of accidents where these drivers walked away unscathed but causing death or injuries to the other victims who drove smaller cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • TRD – Totally Ridiculous Dunno wat to say ni..

• No vsc, no downhill /uphill assist…
    Rubbish

• No need VSC if Same Lorrr approved, also said no need 5 star coz ANCAP is meaningless!

• UMW toyota, u are not done beating that old horse again & again?

• umwsux on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:42 pm

few more days to 2015 and UMW introduce new bodykit. it’s almost 2015 and UMW still think bodykit upgrade is more important THAN safety features upgrade. come on la, give us ESC already la. summore TRD means Toyota RACING DEVELOPMENT, i dont see any ‘racing development’ at all other than wrapping it with ah beng bodykit. UMW forever sux. puiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • albag on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:28 pm

very nice truck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • justwaitnsee on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:51 pm

at least retain abs as standard for every range la toyota….

• mastermind on Dec 16, 2014 at 3:11 pm

less excise taxx…
    buy now…4×4
    government impose less tax than sedann..car…
    buy now!!!!!
    now we know whose control the car price….

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Walao…. Sam Loo, how is the performance of the car? Improved? Good? Got bodykit meaning more power, right?

• HiluxNoForEveryone on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

This crap already very difficult to park on tight city car park. With this added body kit, will result in more scratch marks.. People, decide wisely.

• Sam Looser on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Useless UMW…2015 coming soon and this is the best they can offer.

• mr deen on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:56 pm

nice and good

• sparcov on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:15 pm

I’m driving 2.5 VNT as my daily car. I don’t see any problem with 4 speed cruising at the highway.

Please take in mind, what the hilux really meant for?
    I used it as a daily car with 100% on road, not even engaged the 4×4 before. Perhaps, underused for a hilux.

We don’t need all the gadget for this kind of car, it is not a fancy car for fancy people, if so, please get yourself a korean car with lots of electronics and equipment.

But I do think, safety feature are important and a auto cruise will helps a lot too. other than that, rain sensor, electric seat or whatsoever sensors not that important for a driver.

the point is, you get from A to B with peace of mind.

• Jaques on Mar 07, 2023 at 3:35 am

Hi can you please sent me a quote on only the front TRD bumper on a 2014 toyota hilux d4d vigo model please