Hyundai Sonata Hybrid unveiled in Korea – 18.2 km/l

141216_All-New Sonata Hybrid

The covers have been pulled off the new Hyundai Sonata Hybrid in its home market of South Korea. Moving to the LF generation, it gets a raft of improvements to the hybrid powertrain for better performance and fuel economy, as well as a number of subtle tweaks to distinguish it from its regular-powered brethren.

This time around, the 2.0 litre Nu mill used in the outgoing Korean-market YF gets direct injection, producing 156 PS and 189 Nm, an increase of 6 PS and 10 Nm. This is mated to an electric motor making 38 kW and 205 Nm, 3 kW more than before. It should be pointed out that the current hybrid model sold elsewhere has a 2.4 litre Theta II engine, so expect the specs of the new car to change when it reaches other markets.

Integrated with the electric motor is Hyundai’s newfangled hybrid six-speed automatic transmission, which does away with a torque converter and utilises a more efficient electric oil pump (instead of the usual power-sapping hydraulic unit), a lighter torsion damper and a new engine clutch with fewer discs.

The battery continues to made from lithium polymer, but now features a 13.3% higher capacity at 1.62 kWh, and is relocated under the boot floor for a flatter load bay, 10.5% more luggage space and the fitment of 60/40 split-folding rear seats. As such, the new car delivers a claimed fuel consumption figure of 18.2 km per litre, up from the current model’s 16.8 km per litre.

141216_All-New Sonata Hybrid (4)

You’ll be able to tell the Hybrid apart from other LF models through a larger hexagonal grille, reshaped HID headlights, unique chrome trim below the doors, clear LED tail lights and a low-drag rear diffuser. Contributing to the increased aerodynamic efficiency of these tweaks are streamlined 16- and 17-inch wheels and a fully flat underbody, delivering an estimated drag coefficiency figure of just 0.24 Cd.

The new Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is expected to make its world premiere at the 2014 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit next month, presumably with a larger engine for more power.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rexton on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Sam Loo’s no.1 favourite car. Confirm punya!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:18 pm

When you talk about hybrid, you expect at least 20km/l. Our Prius/Prius C all at least 22km/l. Some even make it 28km/l.

Now you see the gap between sushi and kimchi cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Seriously, i don’t mind to give a try if the price right.

• Korean car can beat Japanese car anytime with such fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:05 pm

18.2 is nothing to shout about

even a golf can do a 25 easily, whats with the futile attempt of showing off by these korean junks?

stay away from malaysian roads, junks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
    • HyundaiKiaLaJunk on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:58 pm

lol.. You steal my Junk line jokes, 18.2 mere paper figure, in real life maye 8.2km/ltr…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • No more Value on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Stay away from the Earth and go back to Mars or whatever planet you came from. Stubborn idiot.

• redknapp on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:25 pm

comparing a b segment with d segment? nice try, dude…

• Das Auto on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:15 am

Camry is only doing 8-9km/l. HE was referring to camry hybrid

• maseratidiot on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:47 am

Then why bother buying prius c when our perodua can produce axia simple non hybrid with the fc figure same s hybrid…this is how maserati thinking analogy comparing prius/prius c with proper sedan sonata hybrid…

• 18.2? better make diesel variant. sure easily can reach around that figure.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:19 pm

The old Hyundai Sonata was in my eyes, one of the most hedious machines ever to come out of Korea(Yes, I find the SsangYoung Stavic better looking than that). Resembling a Basking shark(google it) it was a Hyundai Sonata vandalised by some yound Korean Hooligen with Concentrated Sulphuric Acid and somehow the Koreans put it on sale. But people still adore it, so I guess its just my poit of view.

This is, honest to god, one of the most beautiful Korean product ever to come out of the slanting H factory. This truly has alot of European(Mostly Audi) styling that makes it a timeless design, and the grill, bigger but not overly large like the Genesis, not overly Chrome too. I also like the Japanese-Hybrid-ish chrystal taillamps. Still not sure on the Interior thou, somewhere I know the Koreans could do a better job, its just too simplistic in there, even compared to Accords and the new Passat.

Overall is a seriously nice car, still not up to the Accord Hybrid in terms of out-right tech, but better looking in my eyes. And I adore the Accord Hybrid.

• Accord Hybrid in US can easily do 18.2×2, double the figure.

For me, its not hybrid if below 20km/l.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Dec 17, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Old Sonata Hybrid, 38 mpg combined city/highway
    2015 Camry Hybird, 41 mpg combined city/highway

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=35193&id=35736

New Sonata Hybrid
    18.2 KM/L converted to MPG is 42.81

Camry Hybrid so Palia, cannot get more than 20km/l.

:p

• koreankimchisuck on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Sure or not 18.2 ?
    Hyundai was fined by USA government for faking the data.

I will never believe Korean company at all.

Cakap kuat, but do nothing

• No More Value on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:26 pm

But u orang often trust what samsung tell u

• No More Value on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:28 pm

oh yea, guess what. Maybe some electronic part of your car may also produced by samsung.

U can dun trust any company, but can u sure you can avoid using any korean product?

nowadays avoid korean product is just like avoid made in china product.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:07 pm

That is why kimchis have no RV

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Will not accept trade in for kimchi hybrids.

No market for them.

I may collect the batteries if they have not exploded and killed the occupants