Proton Iriz may be called the Satria in Australia, performance model could use the GTi name – report

Proton_Iriz_video_review_ 001

The Proton Iriz may not be heading to Australia after all – at least not with that name intact. According to a report by Australian motoring website CarAdvice, the new Malaysian B-segment hatch may actually carry the Satria nameplate instead when it arrives Down Under.

Proton Australia’s COO Kaye Amies said that her division is talking to officials over here about resurrecting the name when the car goes on sale in the country, reportedly in the middle of next year. Here’s where it gets interesting – the decision on calling it the Satria apparently hinges on the potency of the planned Iriz R3, slated to be unveiled here late next year before coming in Australia the year after.

Amies said that the performance model could receive the long-departed and much-loved Satria GTi moniker over there, but insisted that the new car would have to do the name justice.

Proton Satria GTi

“We’re sort of thinking if we bring this car out, and then [an] R3 [sports variant launches] – they’re thinking that they might do a more racy version – because of that we’re thinking, ‘Should we be doing that or not?'” she said. “The Satria GTi was such a well-known car and so many people wanted it. People still ask us have we got any.

“We’d need to look at it, see what it looks like, see what it’s going to do. Is it just going to be something that blows out through a little tailpipe and makes a lot of noise and does nothing, or is it actually going to be a bit sporty?” she added.

We already speculated about an upcoming Iriz R3 – in fact, we published renderings done by expert photo manipulator Theophilus Chin, showing how a hot Iriz might look like. We could see the little tyke swallow the CamPro 1.6 Turbo engine from the Preve and the Suprima S – churning out 138 hp and 205 Nm in standard trim, although the R3 boys would surely perk it up a notch – which could result it quite a feisty hot hatch.

Although the Iriz name has caused a stir in Australia, Amies said she had no qualms about using it if Proton Australia is settled on it, a decision that would most likely be made in January.

“It was a bit funny because a few people said, ‘Aww, it’s really a girl’s name, so it sort of makes it a girl’s car, doesn’t it?’ I said, ‘Do you think a Lotus Elise is a girl’s car?'” she said. “We’re still having discussions with Malaysia in terms of what their thoughts are about it. We’ll discuss it with them and try to come to some resolution, but we’ll wait to get Christmas over and done with first.”

Proton-PCC-crash-test

Additionally, Amies confirmed that the Iriz is currently being crash tested by the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP), with the results set to be released next year. Whatever Proton Australia ends up naming it, it should arrive with six airbags as standard, never mind stability control, a safety feature we also receive across the range.

So, what do you think of the Aussie name change? Would you like to see the return of the Proton Satria GTi on our shores, or would you stick with a Proton Iriz R3?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Abang on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Ok let’s call Ah Beng name as Macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 38
    • bongong on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm

And same lorrr as butthurt basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
      • ProtonGSC on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Why can’t use Iriz?
        Because the car not up to standard at AUS?
        Why didn’t public like bolehland? It change the new engine new design new “SAFETY standard” on all spec.

Oh I just forget….. It won’t sell at ALL because all same segment in AUS already selling the concept long time ago !!!!!

Only Bolehland Rakyat easy to be trick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 49
        • George Abdul on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:08 pm

And beloved DrM can’t help Proton Aus like in Bolehland.

He has no power to monopoly the industry like in Bolehland.

Rakyat continue being fool and if we didn’t support DrM blame on Rakyat somemore.
          This’s truly m’sia.

Please keep on support Proton and DrM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 63
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:00 pm

that p1 Australia want not p1 HQ…read above article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
        • syiok-syiok on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Name it Proton Syiok lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:58 am

Dear bashers,
            No need to SYIOK that Proton will lingkup at aussie. Based on current order, there are more than 5,000 pending delivery for Iriz nationwide. Proton now outsource their parts oversea because of the high demand. Entering australia is just the beginning for Iriz to gain some global market. Once the GDI engine project completed within 2 years and comply with Euro 5 std and above, Proton fanboys can feel the SYIOK of owning a world class car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
          • Mario on Dec 18, 2014 at 11:45 am

@Ah Beng

Syiok level up!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Whatever lar… Satria or Iriz, both are fuel hunger, uncomfortable and powerless hatchback. I drove both and they are the same. Build quality also around there.

The main point is: Can it sell or not in Australia? Nation wide sales target 20 units a month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 78
        • Neutral on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:26 am

Why must you only know how to ridicule proton-made cars? I drove a vios before turning on to fiesta. I must admit proton might not be able to make cars a good as those japanese cars. But I personally tried the new Iriz and I think it is not as bad as you said. Remember. The beast called possibility cannot be underestimated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:09 pm

When we talk of build quality, it is at least 5 year long lasting, not your test drive 15mins period. Proton definitely can attract ppl with its 15mins test drive good experience, but it never last more than 3 years.

You and me, and many many other Malaysians are/were Proton victim.

And somemore Iriz is not cheap! a few k top up you can get a sedan Vios. Which one is more worthy for your hard earned money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
        • Bristol on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:03 am

Vios full tank only can go 300km, did you know that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Do you know that customer need to book n wait 1.5 months earlier in order to resolve new Vios quality at HQ SC S15 Shah Alam? Imagine how many of cars affected due to quality issue? Toyota should hav the balls to issue soft recall same like Proton did for Exora CFE..Same L0rrr you should start planning to expand your repairing area in S15 to minimize the waiting period..

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Still better than Proton took 30 years but build quality the same!

Bear in mind, Proton give FREE INSPECTION, NOT recall!

If your Exora is tested ok now, but have problem in the future, how?

“Boss, ni dah check dulu, memang OK. Skarang ada problem kena bayarlah!”

Be a man! Do recall and free replacement STRAIGHT, no question asked!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • loopy on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Smae lorrr enough with your tokok. You want 10 years warranty even your beloved T dun offer such thing. You said p1 builds same build quality after 30 years? Then your vios got 5 star kah? Kah kah kah

• catnium (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:20 pm

“…Vios full tank only can go 300km, did you know that?…” Are you sure? Do you own Vios?? i have try, at least can make it 13.5KM/L with 100% city drive.

• I will object!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Yes, I agree. To boost the sales, they should remove the name “Proton”, instead of “Iriz”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 34
      • i’ve tried Iriz… it’s too good to be Proton. I gave up on Proton since Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Whatever name you call it, it is still idiot’s car.

Sudahlah Proton, kalau tak laku, tak laku lah. You keep on hogging space for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 119
    • Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Better than you,you 2 times idiot the this car.At least Proton try to achieve their goal OK?Not like you,keep critics Proton.When want to maju?Stupid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 63
      • Maju like what? Like how they ask more billions from tax payer’s monies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 80
      • Abu Sayur on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Try but fail. Sometimes you really have to give up if you suck at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
      • hentikan mengkiritik dan terus bg sokongan.. proton perlukan sokongan rakyat malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Sokong Proton? Did you buy the Iriz?

Talk is cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • omnio on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:04 pm

If not now then in near future. The models are improving. Go proton!!!!!!!!

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Same LORRR,have you test drive or buy Iriz?

Talk is cheap.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Of course I test drive the Iriz. I also hope Proton can make better car and beg less from tax payers (our) money. End up the Iriz is still a Proton, and we all know how “good” is Proton.

I have test drive the car. So do you buy the Iriz? Where is your action?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Ya,I already buy the Iriz after I sell my Jazz,the Iriz is better than the Jazz.Jazz,always break down,crappy interior and exterior,crappy handling and the others I don’t want to mention because if I said,the Proton Haters will go crazy.Go Go Proton!!

#ProtonThenNowForever

• @same lorrrr
            So what. Other xompanies also get such incentives. Not only proton

• curvym on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:25 pm

You want to sell vios here? Forget it. Ride and handling alone Iriz is lightyears better

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Rakyat malaysia dah lama sokong Proton.

How many Sagas and Wiras are on the road today.

You forgot the time when the Wira was lanched, we had to wait 6 months or more to get one? ..Did you forget that “2nd hand” Wiras cost more than new ones.

Did you not forget that many of the rakyat also “sokong” being ripped off paying for stupid stickers and decals that were “government approved” accesories.

You must be pretty young to have not grown through it.

• cloppy on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:00 pm

You just made an idiotic comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:34 pm

See the whole Proton cycle:
        Sales not good? Never mind, ask another RM2bil in 2015 lor.

Design team not functional? Never mind, make a contest ask teen do for us lar.

Proton car quality not good? Never mind, sell good or not, doesn’t matter, look at Australia.

Proton staff nothing to do? Never mind, ask them bullshit/click thumbdown at PT lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 48
        • Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Hey Same LORRR,you want me to make you shame at here?You want me to tell how the foreign car manufacturers like Toyota,Honda ask the government for money?You want?Typical Proton Haters!Similanjiao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
          • Hey, jaga percakapaan kamu, jangan memalukan kaum sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Did Toyota Honda ask government fund and protection continuously for 32 years?

I am so “scare” here. LOL The more you share, the more you prove Proton sucks.

I don’t have to hate Proton. It doesn’t make good car, too weak to compete without protection, can’t even sell to our neighbor Thailand/Indonesia/Singapore. In fact it put all Malaysians in shame.

We are/were all Proton victim. Fact is fact. No need hate no need call ppl lanjiao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
          • Afraid on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:17 am

I am very interested. Please tell how foreign car manufacturers come and ask our government for money and give facts with citations not just blowing your horns.

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:47 pm

people upside you are too stupid. he is saying toyota and honda asking support from japanese government not malaysian. Bodoh

• No one must know on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:35 pm

You obviously never test drive any new Proton car. Test it and you will like it(if you test drive it with open minded). Also you comment is one of the reason people dont buy Proton. Malaysian need to support Proton even if their dont want it. Support Proton by saying its a decent or comfortable car is enough cause you dont need to buy Proton to show you support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 26
      • Why do we need to support Proton even we don’t want to? Why do we need to say it’s a decent car even it is not? Patriotism?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
        • blasg on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:02 pm

No one forces you to buy. I think it’s decent car at least on safety side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • If the G don’t force, why have NAP(National Automotive Policy) in the first place?

• AmatBest!! on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:34 pm

don’t “rogol” Satria GTi nameplate!!! leave it alone!! just call it Proton Bandor ler then come Proton Bandor GTI…
    kekekeke..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • Trying to portray this crappy brand as something legendary. If this crap was good, they won’t end up as a tired, ailing company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
    • Low Budget on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Rename Iriz to Ibrahim Ali, because he is the number 1 hero in boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
  • Rover (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:35 pm

“Your wife’s name is a girl’s name. That makes her a girl’s wife isn’t it?”

Wut.

• lololololol on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Just name it Sawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
  • 6 airbags across the range? Yelaaa siapala kita ni kan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Wow,nice name!!But wait,performance model?Is that mean the sport model?Wow,is that mean the R3 model?Woohoo!Go Go Proton!!

#ProtonThenNowForever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
    • How to maju by just syiok sendiri?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • ada amoi ada maju

• mikek on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Yes maju sampai higest variant pun takde VSC

• Yes maju until have to take out VSC from Suprimau. VSC too “maju” for Suprimau. Haha

• mikek on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Kid go back to school and read more ok. Suprima exec and premium still have ESC. Vios even highest dun have. You got it?

Proton basher just too good im unleashing his stupidity.

lolololololololololol

• You stupid or what? Prius C don’t have meh? Prius C got 7 airbags your Suprima got or not? If you want to compare sedan, your Saga highest variant VSC pun takda juga! Compare lah with same segment. Compare same thing also don’t know want to comment rubbish. Proton supporters always got the stupidity that i never understand. Even 3 years old are smarter than them! Go back to school and learn to compare Apple with Apple!

• mikek on Dec 20, 2014 at 12:15 pm

You cnnot compare prius c with saga. Yhe price even in thai is above 100k. Saga even in thai is below 50k. Prous c is hybrid saga is not.

Even you comparw with ss still the money youbsave can run ss for years. Not to mention superb rnh and more spacious cabin. Turbo. No need to mention. Prius c will be smoked anytime anyday

• Keris Jawa on Dec 20, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Mi goat! Yoir spilling!!!!

• gold avanza on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:58 am

How to maju English grammar not right one?

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:54 pm

The Satria GTI name was legendary back in my school days but seriously Proton Australia? Naming it to a hatchback?

No matter how I look at it, the Iriz will not stick to the road and or corner like how the GTI did in its glory days…and heck even thieves are still stealing Satria GTI’s right up to today just goes to show you how hot it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • mim (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Of course the Iriz doesn’t handle like the GTi. The Aussie guy is talking abt the R3 Turbo version. He knew it’s very unlikely for Proton to produce a new 2 door hatch; therefore he wanted the Iriz to wear the Satria name so he can call the R3 turbo version the GTi.

Satrias are well known among Aussies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • GT3 (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:42 am

THIS. Yes, the Satria GTi might be famous and well-received in Austrial as well as UK, but I don’t think the Iriz should use Satria name overseas.
      What if later on in 3-4 years time (just in case) Proton introduced 3rd gen Satria, what would be its name overseas?
      Just keep on with Iriz name for Iriz, and bring (actual) R3 to us fast! I mean real R3 with proper engine, proper look, proper gearbox and proper tuning, not just some stupid riced-up kits.

• weeee on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Why do car makers call their hatchbacks a GTi? GTi means Gran Turismo Iniezione or Grand Tourer Injection. The name comes from the Maserati 3200GT, which is a GT car & the ‘i’ was added as it is the first fuel-injected Italian production car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • You think Proton care that? They just want to name it so cool that the sales cold down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • mim (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:44 pm

If a car is comfortable, sporty and stable enough to drive at constant high speeds without tiring the driver or stressing the car, such as Satria GTi, Golf GTi or 206/207/208GTi, it’s literally a Grand Tourer.

Most hatch are built for economy, so this is their way of saying “this one can go fast”.

• reall on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:10 pm

A GT car supposed to be a luxury high performance vehicle. Typically front engine, has a reasonable sized boot & comes in a 2 or 2+2 layout.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:23 am

So that’s why I think many of these cars that receive a GTi nameplate are kind of misnomers. Automakers could just be using the GTi name to associate that car with “go-fast in style and comfort” kind of cars and hope that people would accept the sales pitch and buy the car.

Like the Polo and Golf GTi’s, I don’t think they’re true GT cars in the first place. When placed side-by-side with the likes of the Maserati Gran Turismo or the Aston Martin Vanquish or the Ferrari California T, you’ll see that these hatches are not of the same league with the true GT cars.

However, the Grand Tourer term itself can become quite subjective among enthusiasts. Some think so-and-so car counts as a grand tourer while another might disagree. Perhaps it’ll come down to the automaker’s own designation for what the car is built for.

• alldisc on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:32 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_Tourer_Injection

u sure?

• KZMgaogao on Dec 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Call it proton koala, proton kangaroo also will not increase the sale lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Call it Proton Winner also people won’t buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Low Budget on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Today, Perodua confirmed sold 66,000 units Axia and they cannot cope with production, Proton should lease their production line in TAnjung Malim to Perodua to speed up production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Proton buyers are loser coz they don’t know how to maju lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Yasir on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Aha! Now I know where the last final batch of Satria GTi’s (the ones collecting dust abt 2 – 3 years ago, heck, I really can’t remember lol) went to!

• No one must on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Whatever it call in Australia just make sure it arrive there. I want to see Malaysian brand in international stage. Cant wait for Proton Iriz to be available in UK and many other country. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Politik in Malaysia on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:14 pm

If any Malaysian bashing Proton and said their sould close their shop is PR supporter and if people overate it is BN supporter. Don’t deny it. Its true. #PolitikDiMalaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • Abu Sayur on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:16 pm

English fail…Must be Bn supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • Netizen on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:32 am

Mine explain why PR supporter wants Proton to close shop while BN supporter wants to keep it open?

• alldisc on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:58 pm

PR supporter do not want government to charge 75% excise duties and 10% sales tax to the ppl. IMHO 25% duties and 6% GST is sufficient since malaysia registers more than hal million units new cars each year.

BN supporter wants to keep it open because of cronies vendor project they got.

• shawal on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Better sort out d gearbox….then only export…
    Duwan to be slammed by the critics…

Sell the manual first… See how they react

• answeringthequestion on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Looking at the comment section and none other than bashers, i will answer the question at the end of the article..

I dont mind the aussie get the satria name for iriz because i agree that iriz sounded like a girl’s car for a quite manly looking car, so that’s proton mistake for accepting that girl’s suggestion..

I was hoping for a pure street legal performance car from proton since the iriz is the only proton that excites me other than my 29yo saga.. And that i hope the saga3 will offer manual in the top variant and maybe turbo?

Why do proton being labeled as a poor man’s car if the perodua produce the cheapest affordable car for malaysian? Malaysian mentality boggles me and makes me doubt of 2020 vision..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • No one must know on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

I totally agree with you. I support both Proton and Perodua cause its our nasional car. Though im slighty more to Proton. If people said that Perodua can only copycat other car brand plz just dont. Maybe in the future Perodua might design and produce their own car just like Proton. And if people said Proton car got no QC plz just dont. Proton car now is like Europe standard. Support our nasional car. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Don’t call yourself Proton supporter just because you driving old Proton. We eat everyday doesn’t make us a chef automatically.

Support Proton? Get an Iriz yourself!

Talk is cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 32
      • alldisc on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:00 pm

europe standard? hahaha… and yet,

exora, preve, suprima and iriz didnt make it to europe. even 6 years old exora. why?

why???

• ProtonGSC on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:16 pm

If you really want 2020 vision.

Tell MAI / MITI to stop treating Rakyat like poor people. Abolish all the nonsense taxes (we pay taxes more then the actual price). Stop compete in Bolehland alone “Go compete with global standard”.

Proton to stop using/compete (selling price) with after taxes on CBU cars !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • proton driver on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

oi proton, how long u want me to wait for lightened 200hp turbo satria gti?

• Oolat on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Duhhh… ‘Mercedes’ is a girl’s name too… and a brand name (instead of a model name) at that…

• Brand on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:57 am

It’s not the name. It’s the reputation! ‘Mercedes’ sure has better reputation than ‘Proton’!

• kairul abdul on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:00 am

Please don’t compare a Luxury/World class brand with a Dying brand/ Protection brand(by its own country).

If not of DrM Proton is long gone.
        If not of Rakyat being fool for 20 years DrM(same long gone).

• panjang on Dec 17, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Iriz GTI….hmmm.
    138hp just wont cut it.torque figure is healthy enough.

• Oolat on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Feminine-sounding & female-themed car model names:

Nissan (loves using such names): Teana, Gloria, Serena, Tiida (in some countries, Latio… now that was a stupid model name), Silvia, Sylphy, Fairlady, …

Toyota: Carina, Nadia, Sofia, Starlet, Tiara…any others?

Daihatsu: Mira

Mitsubishi: Celeste

Suzuki: Liana

Many more from Europe, US, S. Korea, etc! :)

Rolls-Royce: There’s a little statue of a lady on the bonnet… :)

• name it savvy and sport version savvy r3 ajela..
    satria neo tak jual ke kat aussie?

• GT3 (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:49 am

Savvy is a relevant name, as the Iriz is literally 2nd gen Savvy.
      Satria Neo has been sold in Australia for years, they love the handling, but recently the model has been dropped off the line.

• powershot (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 7:26 pm

1.3 L turbo vvt engine in the works for proton iriz (performance version)

• In my humble opinion, just stick with IRIZ name but at the same time Proton need to resurrect back our beloved Satria GTi. The pure and only Satria GTi. Of course we also love the current satria R3 (LE), but still it could’t topple over the fame of GTi carried.

• Albert on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Proton is selling less than 800 cars in a year in the land of kangaroos.
    Sales and service centres rentals, staff salaries,and promotional expenses will bleed Proton for the next 10 years if it doesn’t pull out.
    You can call it Kangariz(female kangaroo) or organise another contest.IT makes no difference.
    Its just like HUngry Jack or Mc Donalds selling 10 burgers a day where you actually need to sell at least 300-500 burgers,plus drinks,side orders etc to survive.
    My relatives in australia drive japanese marques.They cant take risk in absorbing Proton’s awesome built quality.
    Proton.dont waste time.You might as well go to Bangladesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Kelvin on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Personally I am interested in it,but then i wish that they could abandon their campro and source other engine and put in light turbo or turbo such as the peugeot 208 gti. Then on the handling part try ask lotus to tune it become a little sportier. We would then see how it does in Australia.(I wish it could launch here 1st la)

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Hey guys,to those people who didn’t test drive Iriz and not an owner of Iriz,go lah test drive.Especially you,Same LORRR.Go and test drive.You guys like stupid people you know.Haven’t test,feel the Iriz yet but critics like already test drive.Don’t show shit lah at here.Go and test drive!Stupid Same LORRR and gang.Dumb like hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • darkermarker on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Your English is rather poor. Please improve and learn English. Please, please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • darkermarker on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Proton,

The name of the car aint gonna help with the car sale. It is the quality built, reliability that gonna make the car sale.

Proton can name this car like Super-Duper Proton, Ferrari-Killer Proton, Super-Stylo Proton, My Favourite Proton, Ichiban Proton, 5-star Proton, Proton Mahathir, if you like…

However, your cars has questionable quality, poor reliability. Bad repo. Plus, there are other brand of cars that are much better that Proton in many aspects.

The fact speaks for itself.

• symustafa on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:36 am

Are you kidding me…..

You sound like the last Proton you drove was the Gen-2 back in 2005……

Its true that their reputation precedes them. But their last few cars are proof that they are trying. I personally like this trend of Proton improving their cars. Who knows, by the time 2020 comes their cars will actually be amazing by our high standards. They are now actually beginning to be competitive with local Japanese models, which aren’t exactly great cars either…..

• Are you kidding me…

They are still competing in “kampung” protected by G. Let them compete in an open market free of NAP then we’ll talk about their standards

• kelly on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Japs chinkorea usa european have own sort of protection. So what, why bolehland cannot protect?

• Absolute Rider on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:53 pm

PROTON,

Please stick to the name Iriz. Satria always meant to be 3 door hot hatch.

• mohd.roslee on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Iriz is suffering from slow sales locally
    due to crappy gearbox and CVT.
    Proton still in dreamland denying that the
    problem exists. While its competitor is
    raking up sales figures.
    Proton has to arrest this cancer before they
    go global cos its reputation is at stake or
    whatever is left of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:04 am

If Proton can sell hundred thousands of units a year globally, any defects will get sued by the mat salleh buyers kau-kau, and the compensation and recalls will cost Proton hell of a lot.
      Over here the Proton will just close their eyes and cover their ears on complain about defects and the guys at service centers will add salt and says, “Biasa lah bang, ini Proton”.

• Nieko on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Well sort of guess that the satria name would make a return

• Keris Jawa on Dec 17, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Kesiaaaaan Proton. Nak buat camne, salah sendiri. But to show my patriotic side, I will buy two Iriz next year!

• Cuti Sakit on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Buy 2 Protons? Nanti dua kali ambil cuti MC hantar service centre.

• interested to know the actual number of sold Iriz in malaysia. anybody please?

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 17, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Hey guys,I think you misunderstand about this.Proton Australia that want to put Satria name for the Proton Iriz Australia,not Proton Malaysia.It is because the Australia people want they to revive the Satria GTI badly.So,Proton Australia take this chance to put Satria to this model and Satria GTI for the upcoming R3 version.But I think it’s not suit with this car.But if the R3 version,we can call it Iriz R3 or Iriz GTI.So,I think Proton should bring the Satria Neo R3 to Australia and upgrade the engine like the Legendary Satria GTI and named it Satria GTI.But it’s up to Proton,whether they want to put Satria GTI to the Iriz model,but of course,it’s must to be fierce,sporty,powerful like the Satria GTI.Maybe the Iriz R3 will take that name in Australia.

#GoGoPROTON

• catnium (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

From my opinion, no matter what name sale figure still the same. Even not all the pr_t_n fan boy will get one of those proton products…talk only here and there…

• PT Reader on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:39 am

Proton, close shop lah. We are tired of arguing the same thing over and over again in Paul Tan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Cuti Sakit on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:11 pm

No, if Proton close shop then clinics doctors lose income from selling MC cuti sakit certificates.

Only with MC you have valid excuse to secretly send your faulty Proton to service centre. Or else HR department will cut your salary with no reimbursements (cuti tanpa bayar/unpaid leave).

But if Proton willing to reimburse the loss days (eg.RM100 per day) to Proton owners for repairs then it’s okay lah!!

• junkard on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Fairy tale story. Give evidence or you are just same lorrrrr with other name. Lol

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:50 am

I personally think they shouldn’t use an old, popular name as leverage. The Iriz was not intended to replace the Satria and the R3 version isn’t meant to succeed the Satria GTi. Calling it what it is not could put off some people who follow international news and is basically poor form lying for the sake of marketing. If the Iriz name is too girly, then they can probably supply something that sounds better and more gender-neutral.

Moreover, it’ll also shoot up their chances of having a proper revival of the Satria line and its GTi variant – if there ever will be one. Unless they plan to just use the Satria Neo nameplate for that.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 2:27 am

Clarification: When I said “shoot up”, I meant shoot up with something like a high caliber machine gun. Destroy their chances. Not boost up their chance.

• Boleh on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:19 am

How do they ‘shoot up’ when they can’t even ‘stand up’?

• CyberPatrol on Dec 18, 2014 at 2:10 am

AUS buyers chose car based of fundamentals such reliability, quality, fuel consumption, service support, safety, environment and prices. So changing model names will not have big impact on sales units as it carry a Proton badge.

IMHO she should be sacked for poor sales performance of Proton AUS by any auto industry practice. It Proton call on this.

Big BUT, If she can commit of double the sales units 1,600 unit of IRIZ with name changed as CEO I may consider this proposal when she put her career on the line.

OR

The CEO could tell her that we have our roadmap plan for Satria and GTi for 2015-2020, sorry you not being inform based on “not know basis” and Official Secret Act (OSA) enforce.

Nothing goes empty handed, she has first hand experience a test drive of the IRIZ and formulate a marketing plans and approval of big promotion budget for 2015 to splash around. I will speaking to her when she arrived on ideas on how to spend all that budget to last AuS dollar and still keep her job safe. No I not going to emulate the COW story but a Kangaroo story instead. I’m seriously joking but don’t take it too seriously. A laughter help you to cool down..HAHA.

Cheers! (non-muslim readers and alcoholic readers)

• Albert on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:37 am

I think the bosses and coo’s of Proton has not been to Aussie land.
      They are sitting in their posh offices in Shah Alam,still thinking how to masuk Australia with an inferior Punch CVT driven Iriz.
      Air Asia return trip to Perth cost less than 1K only,these stupid Proton VVIPs got no guts to hop into Fernandez’s airbus and go see for themselves ,the actual auto scenario there.
      When they arrive(if they have balls),they will be amazed to see huge parcels of CARLAND with myriads of japanese and european and US cars on sale,that will shock these SYIOK SENDIRI Proton execs.
      My humble advice,PULL OUT and sack the kwai loh fat lady for talking crap.

• frankor on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:59 am

Pls do not change Iriz to Satria in Australia – it will bring more confusion. If Proton had put a name on the car model there is no need to change it name for whatsoever reason or purpose.

If one day the Australia sending the Kangaroo to our Zoo Negara can we call the Kangaroo as Orang Utan just because Orang Utan are so popular in Malaysia.

Proton pls don’t let other Nation to interfere with the pride of our National cars i.e. Proton Iriz. Too bad our Sedition Act is not applicable internationally.

The Proton Satria GTI with Mitsubishi 4G93 Twin-Cam is “IRREPLACEABLE” by any current Proton lineup particularly Satria Neo R3.

• Hooray…toyota menang. Sila tepuk tanggan kpd ioma dan same lorr dari jepun. Proton patut tutup kedai, semua warga malaysia wajib beli toyota kerana ioma dan same lorr sudah bukti proton tidak sesuai.

• Priced at 13,000 drive away?

• When we can see the booking or sales figure from P1 for this particular vehicle? Paultan, can you please get some figure either from P1 PR or MAA PR? Why P1 want to export to other market if the sales figure is good in Malaysia and if they hardly deliver to customer within a month time frame?

• If they put a LP turbo on it…this thing will sell like hot cakes in Aus.

• Garfield (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:29 am

It seems to me, Proton Australia knows there is no direct replacement to Satria or Satria Neo forthcoming. Iriz’s name may attract ridicule so they think it’s fair to revive the Satria nameplate.

I also don’t think they went overboard, they mention incoming Iriz R3; so they would use the name Satria R3, not GTI. But they do hope that eventually an Iriz GTI comes to reality. Maybe not just a GTI but also Lotus’s CityCar sporty 3-door based on Iriz’s platform. Don’t take too long though P1, a product cycle should not be longer than 5 years…..

• Annoynimouse on Dec 18, 2014 at 11:39 am

Then, when the satria replacement comes, what you name it?

• Cuti Sakit on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Call it Iriz GTI lah, but only in Australia (since Iriz there shall be called Satria).

Ya, Proton memang suka hidup terbalik peningkan kepala sendiri.

• ocb2020 on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Why not name it as M. This is Dr.M’s dream. Just name as M. Proton M.

• this is so wrong. IRIZ is a small car and can not be in the same level of Satria. Satria was a great looking car and had potential but unfortunately due to politics it is dying. this move will not be good for proton. why always wrong moves? who the hell runs their marketing????

• jgn bising2 la.just put the cfe inside iriz..close story..

• frank or on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:32 pm

It will be better if it named as Proton Iriz MTi @ Mahu Tak Ini

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Bro,not all Proton Fanboys is a BN supporter.My family Vote for Pkr.!!!!

• aksagi on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:45 pm

hahaha… amusing. I was just thinking, same lorr & ah beng are the same person. kinda like smeagol,,lol

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:51 pm

If you dont want to buy then just dont buy. Buyer and owner will know whether it is worth the money or not. Especially Same Lorr, just keep on sharing your low level thought here.

You made our days, thank you so much

• Kenny on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm

No point arguing or bashing, history and sales record will show whether Proton can go thru the test of time and so far the records doesn’t seems to leaned to the arguments by Proton fans here that the national cars is a best car producers and not even selling fine whether locally or overseas.

So nothing to brats or bashed about on this brand cos it show immaturity of you guys, your temperament, your consciense, morality, altitude etc.

Time will tell if the brand is doing well or not and from all that had written on the walls, Proton is going down under and we just wait and see.

• syamilrosham on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:14 pm

A little off topic here. It’s been almost a month now since the TCU update. Anyone can share their CVT experience after the fix?

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Ya am owner of Iriz.Until now,after Tcu update for the CVT,it performance,fuel efficiency is getting even more better.And it getting more smooth.Proton Haters,like what you guys know,I sell the Jazz 2014 and buy the Iriz.I am getting happier with it.Less problem with it.But when I with the previous Jazz,I regret!Always break down,suck to many oils,crappy interior.Go Go Proton!!!!!

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Ya am owner of Iriz.Until now,after Tcu update for the CVT,it performance,fuel efficiency is getting even more better.And it getting more smooth.Proton Haters,like what you guys know,I sell the Jazz 2014 and buy the Iriz.I am getting happier with it.Less problem with it.But when I with the previous Jazz,I regret!Always break down,suck to many oils,crappy interior.Go Go Proton!!!!!

• kuda tua on Dec 20, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Called Satria?my 1st car…boleh…buat 3 pintu…

• same kot on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:29 pm

better buy vios la…desprate chick will love it

• Proud Gay on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Wow, this is the longest comments/arguments I have read for a topic here. Had to skip two third of it as it started to bore me.