Honda conducting internal testing on airbag defects, CEO Ito “angry” at Takata’s response – report

SRS-Airbag

Honda is reportedly frustrated with Takata’s response over its defective airbag inflators and its inability to zero in on the cause of the problems, with the carmaker’s CEO Takanobu Ito said to be “angry” and “betrayed” by the Japanese auto parts manufacturer, according to Reuters.

Insiders told the news agency that Honda was so worried about the rising number of recalls on its products that it bought used and scrapped cars to conduct its own tests. They said an evaluation of 100-150 Takata airbags at Honda’s quality centre in Japan in the first half of the year showed flaws in the quality of Takata’s manufacturing, adding that it casted doubts on the competence of one of Honda’s core suppliers, or keiretsu.

Honda’s tests apparently showed Takata was “extremely sloppy” in preparing the propellants in the inflators. One of the insiders claimed the samples contained varying amounts of ammonium nitrate and secondary ingredients – many of which went beyond preset margins of error – and varying amounts of compounds that strayed from Honda-approved inflator recipes.

Some propellants were said to have displayed colourings, which one of the individuals attributed to damage from exposure to moisture – a leading theory of the exploding airbag inflators that have caused five deaths so far, including one in Malaysia.

honda-city-2003

Ito’s opinion of Takata reportedly went sour after the tests concluded in the middle of the year, as he felt Takata was not providing him with enough details as to the cause of the defects. One of the insiders remarked that Ito considered Honda a “victim” in the ordeal, and said that he had no sympathy for Takata, adding that he would not intervene to save the company if it fell into financial difficulties.

To its end, Takata has denied that Honda conducted these tests because it was unhappy with Takata’s explanation into the defects, saying it was not informed of any quality problems found.

“If Honda did the kind of quality tests on Takata inflators you’re describing, wouldn’t you assume Honda would communicate with us, to ask us about the quality lapses they supposedly found?” said a Takata spokesman. “As far as we know, and we looked into it extensively, there has been no such communication between us.”

honda-jazz-mk1-2

So far, carmakers have recalled 21 million cars around the world since 2008 due to the defective Takata airbag inflators. Honda itself has called back 14 million cars, mostly in the United States. The company has stated that it was looking to rival parts makers Autoliv and Daicel for replacement parts to help repair cars involved in Takata-related recalls.

Honda Malaysia recently issued a recall involving 15,734 units of the 2003-2004 Honda City, as well as the 2004 Honda Jazz to replace the driver’s side airbag. They join a separate recall announced last June, which involved the 2001-2003 Honda Stream, 2002-2003 Honda Jazz, 2003 Honda City and 2003 Honda Accord, this time for a front passenger airbag issue.

UMW Toyota has also recalled 18,700 units of the 2000-2003 Toyota Camry and Toyota Corolla Altis, while Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) recalled four units of the CBU first-generation Nissan X-Trail.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The lesson of the day, don’t install airbag, just use Sabelt :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Proton won’t be so disgusted now if they took the same attitude and attention like Honda on the quality control from its part supplier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • Low Budget on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Those drivers who drive cars with Takata airbags should take extra precaution by either remove the airbags or wearing Bullet Proof Vest when driving.

• Hello, p1 is not about airbags but power window, sigh.

• Das Auto on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:23 am

This is the difference you get when you buy cheapo japs / china cars. Value you life, buy the real thing. Get a conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Chris (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:17 pm

LOL. Don’t understand why all thumbs down, but I’d take the Sabelt harness any day.

The wife may not like it though.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Takata responds seems extremely childish and immature. In any sense, the looser here is still people’s live. Honda in America has to resort to Autoliv for replacement parts and hopefully, a new supplier. Autoliv themselve have announced they are upping the production of airbags to cater for Honda and possibly BMW.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-12-03/autoliv-to-make-replacement-air-bag-inflators-for-honda.html

• RicoT on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Still waiting for that darn recall letter from Honda Malaysia to change the airbag on my Honda City. When are you going to post it out?!

I suggest Honda Malaysia buy back my car instead!

• Did you call the service line regarding the issue? You can check the Honda website for the update and contact them about your car.
      http://www.honda.com.my/microsite/product_updates/

• RIcoT on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Yes, and my car is one of the affected model. They advise me to “be cautious” when driving, meanwhile they are arranging the letters to be sent out. That was end of Nov 2014.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:37 pm

isn’t it better u go to honda sc urself than waiting for a letter?

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Thats right. Life is at stake here, it is like having a loaded pistol pointing at you when driving.

• RIcoT on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Unfortunately, the SC told me they can only replace upon receiving the letter from Honda Malaysia. I would do it given if it possible.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Which honda city are you driving mind I ask

• RIcoT on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:02 pm

2004 Honda City VTEC pre-facelift. The model with clutch type CVT gearbox.

• so now u wearing helmet and bullet proof vest while driving?

• RIcoT on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Not to that extend. But I had left a will, just in case. Haha!

• policeman on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:19 pm

How about Lancer/Inspira are they using this Takata airbag too?

• Dr Mamak on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Still remembered being one of the first few owners of that ill-fated City which rolled out from Alor Gajah. Just glad i sold off that piece of junk when its cvt started to develop problems. Phew’

• Takata should tell Honda..”We have produce so many airbags and we cannot check one by one”..then life will be easier for them..

• jacksonljs on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Generally cars equipped with airbags increase chances of survival by further 20 – 40% in case of accident from 50% chances of survival with seatbelts alone (of course it depends on other factors in priority sequence as speed of crash, rigidity of chassis and numbers of airbags). However, in this case, cars without airbags are far more better than those equipped with Takata’s defective airbags that killed people instead of saving life.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:40 pm

One’s loss is another’s gain…between Takata and Aotoliv.

Takata’s execs doesn’t seem to care if their company went 6 feet under..

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:42 pm

May be their profit margin is very slim and to check or replace all airbags will bankrupt them.

• my 03 city did not deploy airbag when there is accident in few years back, should I thank you them or …..?

• singh on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Guys please go get your airbags replaced. Don’t wait for recall letter. You only live once. Can’t take all your money saved when you die. Better use your money now to replace airbag so that you may still live!

• Sam Loo Hailated? on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:37 am

Sam Loo is no where to be seen. I am afraid he hailated in his hilux oredi. Damn takata!

• ferry on Dec 20, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Check his previous post, Same Lorrrr said ANCAP is meaningless so why should he care about airbags?

• BeemerFreak on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:08 am

Guys ditch your oldies and get yourself a non Takata air bag equipped car…….

• solo_wing22 on Dec 19, 2014 at 12:55 am

Proton use Autoliv airbags right?

• Sia HL on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:17 am

Can “these” car manufacturer be more pro-active & responsibible for their products ?

Why is it so difficult to just list down “All” effected units via their individual chasis numbers on their own web site, dont they have computers to track these ?