Great Wall M4 – local-assembly of MT and AMT begins

gwm m4 rollout 1

Great Wall Motor assembler Go Auto has announced that CKD production of the Great Wall M4 SUV has begun – the first locally-assembled unit of the compact SUV rolled off its Gurun line last week.

Despite earlier indication that the manual transmission version would be dropped with the advent of CKD production, it looks that the variant is very much part of the local-assembly plan – the CKD M4 MT is mentioned as being “available from now.”

Initial production of the automatic, is set to begin at the end of January, though this will be on a small-scale – full production begins in March next year. The auto version of the M4 is called the AMT, utilsing a six-speed manual transmission with automated clutch operation (the Getrag 6AMT160).

The company said the CKD M4 is due to be officially launched sometime in the first quarter of next year. It added that the Gurun production line is now capable of manufacturing 24,000 units annually, essentially bringing forward the planned expansion to the plant’s existing build capacity of 10,000 units a year.

gwm m4 rollout 2

First previewed in left-hand drive form in January, the M4 was initially launched in its fully-imported form in July. In August, on-the-road pricing was revealed, with six variants of the SUV listed on sale, these being three manuals and three automatics, in Standard, Comfort and Premium trim levels each.

The front-wheel drive M4 is powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT MPI four-pot offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm. Standard equipment across the line-up includes four disc brakes, ABS and EBD with brake assist, powered windows all-around, steering wheel audio controls, manual four-way adjustment front seats, dual airbags and front/rear foglights.

Higher spec models are set to get items such as auto air-conditioning, a reverse camera and leather seats. Back then, it was reported that the CKD auto variant would feature ESP in the mix, but this has not been confirmed as yet, nor has pricing of the CKD variants.

UPDATE: The company has informed us that the CKD versions will follow the pricing that was introduced for the CBU units, until further notice.

Pricing for the CBU fully-imported versions ranged from RM46,990 for the Standard to RM56,990 for the Premium in manual form, while the auto versions went from RM48,990 for the Standard right up to RM59,990 for the Premium.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why buy Iriz when you can buy this? on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:13 pm

After CKD, people are dumb if they choose the Iriz over this. Great Wall are miles ahead of Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 53
    • Blindside Flanker on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Indeed… plus points of this car is far beyond Iriz… way to go GO AUTO! Congrats to WAWO, FM, YBSAAD & ZUL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 19
      • Handling wise proton is anytime better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 53
        • Protonist on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Handling wise EX5 the best, you can do cornering much sharper than Iriz. And of course it is more reliable than the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 14
          • youngmn on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Dun be stupid lor, compare apple to apple at least similar price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • wow, lots of great wall staff here..nice marketing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:41 pm

This car is trash. Why buy this car when you can buy a good quality trusted Proton?

China cars cannot be trusted. Just like China batteries, half way it may explode. China have to principals and business ethics. They will do anything for extra profit. So, why trust China cars?

Proton is a good car. We can trust it. 30 years of excellent quality. Malaysians should stop complaining about Proton quality and be grateful that we even have our own national car. Be proud of it and let us stop buying these China trash.

Also, thank you to our good Government for giving us cheap cars and cheap fuel. I hope our Government does not reduce the price of cars and the price of Petrol. It is already cheap.

To all those who are crying about car prices, do you know why you cannot afford expensive cars? Let me tell you why. It is because you are LAZY and don’t want to work hard. If you work hard, you will have the ability to afford a RM150k easily.

Stop complaining and work hard. I work hard so I am able to afford my luxurious VW. I don’t sit around complaining about car price and fuel price. Only lazy people do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 84
          • Protonist on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Iriz is a hatchback and M4 is a SUV. Apple to apple? You comparing gala apple with Apple the iPhone maker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Ahmad on Dec 30, 2014 at 11:53 pm

For all those so call Proton supporters. Proton will be fitting the Iriz and other proton cars with gearboxes from China. So why proton is dumping the European punch gearbox? Because China made gearboxes are world class standards.

• Nampak sangat promote own product here. I thought proton is lousy in social media, this Go is even worst. Cant blame them. They are just starting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
      • kadajawi (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:30 pm

AMT gearbox. Remember the disaster that the automatic Savvy gearbox was? Same here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • xem6861 on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:56 am

Savvy couldnt make it nor this one. Atleast Iriz comes with much reliable safety features.

• Salambangi on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:09 am

I will take Iriz over this crap, the so called great wall anytime. Even the Chinese in China prefer VWs and GMs. If you want to burn your money this is the car to buy. Looking at this little “taufu ‘ I would rather have the kimchi. Never thought that the korean ‘ulam’ is so tasty. Never like porridge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Dolly parton on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Lots of reasons on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:35 pm

1) Wanting a hatchback instead of an SUV. Sure you have the Myvi and Axia there, but the Iriz is still a contender there, albeit at 3rd place.
      2) Unknown after-service/SC quality. Sure, Proton is a hit and miss, but better the known than the unknown.
      3) Materials. The M4 used to have asbestos in it’s cars. Sure they removed it, but that’s what we only know of… /tinfoil hat and face mask on/
      4) Resale value. To those who value it anyway. Look at Chery. Guess the deprecation on that China-brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 29
    • Aero (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Being competitive on paper and being competitive on the road are two different things. One is like talking the talk, the other is actually walking it.

If talking is enough, then the Proton Prevé / Suprima S would be far, far better than the City / Vios / Almera. But we all know that isn’t the case, at least, they’re not better than the City. Despite being, safer, more powerful, better specced etc., the Prevé / Suprima S is still much less refined, reliable and lacking tactile feel. The service centres aren’t as good either.

I don’t think this Great Wall M4 will buck this trend. It is a good car on paper, and I read somewhere that it is quite decent on the road, but being decent in Malaysia is not enough, otherwise, the Koreans would be much better off in Malaysia today (but they clearly aren’t).

My prediction is that this Great Wall M4 will sell ok-ok like the Chery Eastar, but it will be held back by an unestablished dealer and service network, refinement and reliability, brand image etc. But I nonetheless congratulate Go Auto for assembling the Great Wall in Malaysia, because it means more jobs for us and more opportunities. They plan to export the Great Wall to other ASEAN countries as well. Given time, Great Wall will no doubt grow into a serious contender, and it would be nice to have them on our side.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t know there is a bunch of fool in malaysia who thinks that chinese cars is better than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 60
      • What? I read someone said there is no other car that is even worse than a proton. and i might have to believe it judging from my own family’s proton until it was sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Evilone on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:28 am

This China brand car did end up in the movie call expendables 3. We all know Proton no where near there. The reality is, most of us do not wish to be fooled by Proton again. The Fact is Proton end this way because their own fault! Don’t blame Malaysian for not support or trust! From previous proton family owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
        • You cannot say it’s good if it ends in movies. Many cars are much much better but dun be seen in one!

• Tongsan Mari on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

You will be surprised even VW china see china made car as a possible threat. Never underestimate your opponent. It is no secret that even VW dissect some of china made car just to see how they does things differently ;)

• IrizX on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:25 am

i don’t like the Iriz, but this is an SUV compared to a hatchback, 2 different market. Anyway, i wouldn’t touch AMT with a 10 feet pole. Unless you only want a manual, i suggest nobody to buy the AMT version of this SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Dennis on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:04 pm

The car is impressive. but the sales are terrible. there is still no proper outlet in most places of Malaysia, and with the sales service so poor, delaying customers months after months… i wouldn’t want to see how the after sales services are.. imagine i sent my car for service and they told me i’ll have to wait months for the spare parts..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • ulkamikup on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Bro..perodua also need to wait for the parts. Soonest 2 weeks….but sometimes exceeded 1 mnth. Other than service parts always like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Albert on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:30 am

Dennis,my Vios spare parts for remote alarm black box/boot motor plus “investigation time” took 45 days in total.
        Imagine,UMW giving this shit service.
        Some of their mechanics are just out of automotive college,shivering each time customer requests for fast spare parts.They are not sure what to replace,taking plenty of photos to email back to HQ.
        Do you think Naza,Proton are any faster?
        Of course,being new, everything is topsy turvy.In Boleh Land,” Beli lah dulu,ada problem tunggu lah,kami akan memantau”,sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:06 pm

AMT gearbox? Oh boy, hope it doesn’t result in crappy shift quality…

In terms of build quality, the CBU models feel better put together than Perodua and Proton cars (except maybe for the Iriz).

Great Wall is one of the top China car manufacturers today and have made great strides in Western markets before the Haval series made their way to Malaysia. I think they should be worth a look. These are Great Wall’s global models, not some cut-down ASEAN car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:04 pm

I’m quite surprised at the AMT choice for its automatic transmission rather than a conventional SteppedAT instead. Historically, AMTs in normal passenger cars haven’t been all that…nice…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Ahmad on Dec 31, 2014 at 12:01 am

VW’s Damn Stupid Gearbox is manual gearbox with a mechatronic unit engaging clutches and changing gears.
        Ford is also using similar gearbox which is from the same supplier to Great Wall which is Getrag. Ford has much less troubles.

• wakaka on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:41 pm

why called it AMT instead of AT ?
    will AMT be something SAVVY crap AMT ?

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Yes. AMT because it is a manual gearbox with a little robot sitting inside moving around the gears and pressing the clutch pedal.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Management & sales in HQ is really bad. At least the agents are doing a much better customer sales service job than the main company. Their bad customer service is killing the brand even before it takes off the ground. As for the AMT, its a Getraq gearbox like in Ford ecosport & fiesta accept in M4 its a single dry clutch as oppose to Dual dry clutch in Ford.

• panjang on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

6 speed…imagine how busy the gearbox will to keep the car going.

Other than that,the m4 is a good car.too bad not much suppport.

• ong chin aun on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Good car but poor Company.Just like good horse,bad jockey. There are many criteria to support the products. Good Sales n service with well trained mechanics/engineers. reasonable price, advanced technology n stylist. reliable with least defects which can be solved immediately. MARKETING like PERSONNELS, advertisement well

• leonardo on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:03 am

Good analogy Ong. I would wait 1 year at least after this cars are delivered to customers in Malaysia and see how the feedback is like before making any commitments.
      Korean cars have been around much longer in Malaysia and still find it hard to get a footing, it will be even harder for a lesser known Chinese automotive brand.

• Dont compare savvy amt with this gwm amt. Gwm selling many cars around the globe, while proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • ah tong on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:13 am

Savvy amt is from Renault Clio. Clio were selling all over Europe. It is just the mechanics in Malaysia dont know how to maintain it.
      If you like gwm so much, go and buy one for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Whats with these 1 finger post? Almost every national news photo will have this post. This is political influence. Politicians please just stay away from business. focus on how to make Malaysia a better place.

• IrizX on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:23 am

AMT??? Amat Manyak Trouble.

Remember Savvy’s AMT?

• kesian Si kesian ini on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:43 pm

OMG, you forgot that savvy was from which brand….don’t put stone on your own feet, LOL…

• ThePolygon (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:28 am

Well at least they are brave enough to setup and try something new here. The investment for this is for good of this land.

• I foresee people are only going to buy these things when Great Wall offers 15-30% discount of the sales price. It’s a China brand after all. Next to nothing for resale value.

Remember, even a low sales volume Japanese brand like Subaru offers up to 15% discount for the XV SUV recently.

• Stupid DK on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Noob idiot, GO produce the car in Malaysia to export to their country. Go to buy proton car for the rest of your miserable life…

• DK stupid... on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Yeah, GO produce car for export while P1 produce cars for local market and cars for showroom in their so called “oversea” market, only for show room since none out there will buy a proton car unless they are retarded.

• Mehhehe on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Sound like a desperate poor people. I know you are poor and really “care” about the resale value. Don’t bother to drive a car if like that, take a bus and save your all hard earn money in the bank to earn interest.

• kesian on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:43 am

I pity paultan himself, his journalist and other paultan’s readers that no one ever mention that this Great Wall M4 body is a copy of 1st generation Toyota IST /Scion xA that produce between 2001 to 2006.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • aduhai on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:55 am

I pity those original Lancer and Accord owners, resale value scrapped kaw-kaw by Inspira and Perdana.

• kesian Si kesian ini on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:41 pm

they only share the same platform, not like our ” proudly” P1 who can sell same model car for more than 10 years (same platform, same body/chassis, same faulty power window). Go study yourself before become a laughing stock here.

• leonardo on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:07 am

Go and study car history yourself. “Platform sharing” have been around for ages, probably before you were born.

• Kesian dua ekor berok bodoh ni on Dec 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

Platform sharing my ass…

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Wall_Florid

• Pity Idiot nie... on Dec 26, 2014 at 8:52 am

Who want to share his ass with you? kesian idiot ini.

• Great Wall Motor Company share market capital = RM64B (HKD142B). DRB-Hicom share market capital = RM3.26B (HKD 7.23). Enough say. Please don’t compare Durian with Apple.

• Confusecius on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Great Wall Motor 2013 sales = 800k cars

Proton 2013 sales = 140k cars

Nuff said.

• Meh.... on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Not Durian with Apple, is Durian with Kua Chi…..

• Go GWM and Die Poton on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:20 pm

It is a Joke when someone say proton car are better than great wall…..or he/she a proton salesperson who struggling to sell their so called “hot selling” iriz. But I must admit that the sales and services provided by GO are still not up to standard. But thngs will get improved over the time. Obviously our 1st national car maker still improve…but backward to 30 years ago. Shame of the country. Boo….

• cedar on Dec 25, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Providing asbestos with the part cannot make it better than p1, it’s much worse. ESP is not confirmed, dual airbags is hardly to get 5 star NCAP safety rating.

Go figure.

• cibaicedar on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

So outdated. No more asbestos for this china car manufacturer. If your want 5 star NCAp rating with cheap price then the proton car is your only choice. But unfortunately P1 is not cheap now. Iriz owner? Prepare to cry in your car after 1 year. nuff say. Maybe you r a P1 fanboy so keep buy and use P1 car. i wonder after few year you can only see this car in Malaysia only.

• Good Job GWM on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:30 pm

I already bought this car and I must say that this car is much better than junk national car in term of quality. And I don’t care abut the fxxking resale value. And for those idiots who always carry “RV” from their mouth, please use bicycle or kapcai if you so scare about your car value. See conti car their resale value are very bad but rich people still keep buying these car, why?

• restlin on Dec 25, 2014 at 12:10 pm

You want to compare this car with conti?
      It’s the best joke of the year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • waulauye on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Read his words carefully, moron. He was talking about the resale value. I am not sure whether it is the joke of the year but indeed you are the joke of all comments here. LOL..

• Good Job GWM on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Obviously you are not read my comment carefully. But whatever, that is your mouth you can talk whatever “kok” and it is up to you. Frankly speaking what the fxxk is resale value? I don’t mind this car price drop 90% in one year time. So what? hahaha, LPUL, you know what this mean? LPUL=Lim Pek Uu Lui.

• CyberPatrol on Dec 24, 2014 at 12:18 am

It a challenge to do auto business in Malaysia that has homegrown car protection policy. This also bring investment and job opportunity to Malaysia. I read lots of GWM achievement on their website. I guess it has safety standards and quality for export model. Price very attractive for SUV’s but locals sceptical mindset GWM service/parts support. Need to work at to GWM expand service network.

• farghmee on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:54 am

“I guess it has safety standards and quality for export model”

don’t guess guess. give me link to that safety.

• proton jugak kena..pity la…

• Of coz proton kena, we are having shitty expensive car price coz of her….

• Sama Value on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

proton is pity, but the proton share holders+cronies are happy coz they can still get $$$$ from proton even the proton is not selling well. Proton is just a medium/tool for them to squeeze money from gomen and rakyat.

• wilayah abeyfiq on May 13, 2015 at 8:51 am

salam. selamat sejahtera

maaf semua. just nak share sikit kelebihan dan kekurangan sesebuah kenderaan yang sudah pandu

proton.

proton memiliki kelebihan kepada pemanduan mantap yang ditala oleh LOTUS. Perasaan sewaktu memandu seolah-olah macam kawalan minda. ia terjadi sewaktu saya memandu proton savvy. cukup membanggakan walaupun kenderaan tersebut tidaklah selaris Myvi.

dari segi kecekapan minyak, grip sewaktu selekoh saya rasa tiada bandingan dengan kereta sebayanya.

exora.

cukup renponsif. tapi kurang grip pada tempat pemandu, kuasa dan tork yang pada saya cukup tapi akan berkurang bila full load.

saga versi baharu

pengendaliannya kurang sedikit dari savvy dan ringan pula. bergoyang apabila memecut di lebuhraya, casis yang kukuh akhirnya dapat menangani beberapa kelemahan yang pada hemah saya 25/100.

myvi 2007

luas dari savvy. tempat duduk juga lebar sedikit. tetapi ade sedikit kekurangan dari segi grip ketika selekoh. jika dibandingkan dengan grip savvy, myvi jauh ketinggalan. minyak juga tidak sejimat mana

kancil 1995

enjin masih padu dan boleh dipandu untuk jarak sekitar 100-150km sehari. cukup rensponsif, dan sangat jimat minyak.

saga 2004 (aeroback) 1.3

sebuah kereta kebal yang berjaya menawan puluh ribu pemandu. garang dan solid. malangnya, penggunaan ekzos besar banyak membuang petrol semudah menekan pedal minyak. sangat tak jimat

wira 1997 (aeroback) 1.5 a

mmm.. body luas tapi rendah dan tak sesuai untuk pemandu 6 kaki keatas. tiada penjimatan minyak dapat saya rekodkan.

jadi, kesimpulan yang saya boleh dapatkan

pandulah apa jenis kenderaan/jenis/buatan mana sekalipun… tetapi sekiranya anda seorang pemandu lesen terbang/melulu dan tak hormat pada kenderaan sendiri dan pemandu lain.. tak perlu nak bash sangat. kita adalah kita.

tq Paultan
    WILAYAH ABEYFIQ
    www.ilhamtulisdanbaca.blogspot.com

• Jessica on Oct 21, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Do not buy auto model if you like go for Manul model.because I just brough one auto model last month.when u use D to run you can feel from gear 1 change to gear 2 the car will slow down than run again unless improve it.