DRIVEN: W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class video review

Enjoyed our video review of the Proton Iriz? Well, we now elevate things a few notches, into compact exec territory. The second video in our brand new series, brought to you by 4G LTE PortaWiFi by Celcom, sees yours truly slink into the driver’s seat of the new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, push the starter button and flick the gear selector stalk into Drive.

The RM286k C 200 Avantgarde is our specimen for the day – the entry-level C-Class’ 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo feeds 184 hp and 300 Nm of torque to the back wheels via a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus auto. Sounds great, but what’s everything like in practice, allied to that 15 mm-lower Agility Control suspension? Answers to this and more in the video, including our musings from that expansive back seat.

Most importantly, does the new C-Class have enough talent to worry the long-reigning ruler of compact execs that is the BMW 3 Series, and enough qualities to entice the cash out of your stash?

Do also check out our walk-around video of the C-Class, and subscribe to our YouTube channel for more!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Well reviewed…

It’s a perfect car for me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • pleasecombyourhair on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:32 pm

The new c class is indeed very comfortable, luxurious and everything but holy crap was the script so cheesy. I refuse to believe a normal person speaks like that. Is it? Am i retarded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Anakjambi on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:39 am

Yes, confirm u r retarded hehehe

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:58 pm

This car is trash. Why buy this car when you can buy a good quality Proton for quarter the price?

Proton is a good car. Malaysians should stop complaining about Proton quality and be grateful that we even have our own national car. Be proud of it and let us stop buying these German trash.

Also, thank you to our good Government for giving us cheap cars and cheap fuel. I hope our Government does not reduce the price of cars and the price of Petrol. It is already cheap.

To all those who are crying about car prices, do you know why you cannot afford expensive cars? Let me tell you why. It is because you are LAZY and don’t want to work hard. If you work hard, you will have the ability to afford a RM150k easily.

Stop complaining and work hard. I work hard so I am able to afford my luxurious VW. I don’t sit around complaining about car price and fuel price. Only lazy people do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
        • SuxkaMaseratii on Dec 25, 2014 at 1:33 pm

U idiot Toyota sales man(only), pls stop talking coxk here. Don’t make yrself look like fool LAN uncle.

• weeee on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:31 pm

If I am 60+ years old, I will say the same thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Boleh on Dec 23, 2014 at 5:15 am

Whether i’m 30 or 60 years old, i’ll choose this over Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
        • Regina on Dec 25, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Macha, don’t compare a Mercedes C Class with Proton Iriz la wei. That’s like comparing the Petronas Twin Towers with a plate of Char Kuey Teow.

• AMG= AwMyGwad on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:30 pm

No brainer…4 years vs 2 years warranty.
    You ask yourself why BMW only dare to give 2 year warranty.. Banyak Makan Wang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:26 pm

although i prefer mercedes….best choose a car u feel best in….comfort or handling…ur choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Cars such as these needs a longer warranty period than cheaper models due to its high price to replace parts and it will show to customers that cars like these are durable.

Anyhow its a great car…but the 9 speed auto will really do justice to this car when MBM decides to include it here. The F30 still handles like a gem but that’s all to it…the W205 has better NVH and better spec and when the CKD version arrives I think it will sell itself without help from sales staff.

Hopefully MBM will include adaptive LED headlights, proper keyless entry to its C200 line up and offer more lines like how BMW did for its 320i so customers will have more options on how their car will look like and drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Phuachukang on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Jonathan James Tan reminds me of Phua Chu Kang in this series for some reason. Just without the huge mole and his yellow boots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loois on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:15 am

Lol! This comment indirectly tells Jonathan to get a hair cut xP

• Good… No noisy Punch CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • anakjambi on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:39 pm

you can say all you want about this C kerasss but please dont deny the facts. By benchmarking to the BMW 3 series and repating it multiple times, indirectly the presentor knows and the readers know that 3 series is the king of the road. BMW ruless!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 39
    • TurboMan on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:53 am

Yes. King of handling. Also king of creaky and plasticky interior.

King of poor service and also king of shortest new car warranty in Malaysia.

SO there you go. The added 10 odd percent in handling will cost you many years of having to deal with creeky and plasticky CKD interior, poor after sales, short warranty and poorer ride quality.

I was exactly like you before, worshipping BMW thinking they could do no wrong. But well, once bitten, twice shy.

The other marques that i have tried ( Lexus, Merc, Jaguar recently, but unfortunately pocket is not deep enough ) rides 200 percent better, has much better quality interior , and not far off a Bimmer in handling.

Not sure about the others, but i know where my money won’t go to next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • anakjambi on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I can sense hatred and anger in you my young jedi. take it easy or you will be eaten alive by the dark forces. remember, the dark side is always ready to lure you to the abyss…next time, please rub shoulder with the big boys first when driving the 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
        • Turboman on Dec 23, 2014 at 6:04 pm

What do you mean by “rub shoulders with the big boys first when driving the 3 series”?

• AMG= AwMyGwad on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Meaning: When you are poor, GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • TurboMan on Dec 24, 2014 at 12:10 am

Mr Amg.

Didnt your parents teach u to play at your own corner when the adults are having a conversation?

From the way u reply, my guess is no.

I have been reading pt.org for a long time, and evrytime we try to hv a decent conversation, some imbeciles will come in and say stuffs that are out of this world. Perhaps I should not feed the trolls.

But at least this is a rich troll I presume driving an Amg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • anakjambi on Dec 25, 2014 at 8:22 am

Turboman; Talk about car please….don’t talk about others parent….stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Turboman on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Jampi.

We were talking about cars until someone came and say things like poor and get out of here.

So i suggest you read the previous messages first before calling people stupid. Sometimes 1 finger pointing at others, 3 are pointing at you.

• so cheap o on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:25 pm

286k…entry level… ok…

• gegurl on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:55 pm

better get audy better sound system, 4 wheel with torque vector, plus cheper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • TheDean on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Must be the longest commercial for Celcom anyone has ever seen.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:13 pm

fantastic car, theres a reason why i have owned more than 5 mercs over the past 15 years, this car will be perfect for my wife to go for her daily shopping needs around the neighbourhood..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
    • So, you don’t have Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

nah, i wouldn’t buy it to clog up the booking list for other poorer ppl, they deserve their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • Yep, Proton supporters deserve Iriz with a b*tch called Punch CVT that just whines and whines when you drive

• Bimmer on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Agree, Proton fanboys deserve their b*tch when they called their cars “BMW of Asia” several years ago. Haha

• Sam Tow Truck on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:30 am

Err excuse me, you still have wife meh ? Your wife already become my 4th wife after the VW kept on breaking down and jeopardise her safety.

Now she’s so happy with me when i got her a toyota hailat. Good resale value and no need to sit inside tow truck.

• dugongx on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 152
  • Apekgoh on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:05 am

2 years warranty..?

• Singh on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:24 am

Quite a limited, incomplete review. What’s the fuel consumption like?
    Also, the rear bench is absolutely short and ‘tiny’ and not completely support the bum when driving long distance.
    Speaking of gearbox. The review does not mention the sluggish 7speed gearbox being carried over.
    Wonder when will the newer less sluggish 9 speed gearbox be implimented.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • BeemerFreak on Dec 23, 2014 at 7:11 am

FYI he did mention that for more specs, you can visit Carbase.my… Even top gear does not talk fuel economy every car they review on the show, so That’s it.

• Glokar on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Singh,

Seriously, for someone who have a budget of rm286k, why bother about fuel economy ? if want to talk about fuel economy, you better go ride your lembu. Free milk every morning too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Fredo on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:07 am

wow! Jonathan has become a Mercedes salesperson already :)

• why never mention about the sluggish gearbox .
    f30 going to facelift in 2015 , it’s really hard for Mercedes to sell w205 although introduce CKD in 2015

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • If going to spend 286k on a car, I would expect a proper and more supported rear bench and certainly a gearbox which isn’t sluggish.
    Looking forward to the facelift 3 series.
    No use just having a 4 year warranty period but always unhappy with the rear seats and a slow gearbox. These are basically the two essentials when after having plonk down 286k for a ‘luxury’ car isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Fastwork on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

I’m owner of the facelift C204 and my brother just bought C205 recently. I have tested his car and found it is to be very responsive and the built quality good for CBU.
      As to your question of the 7 speeds gearbox as sluggish, it absolutely rubbish!!! Have you driven in one for an extended period of time to arrive at your comments, if not try it out before commenting. I’m qualified to comment as I owned my car for the past 2 years and I suggest you ask Johnathan for his comments on the gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • I had driven the E pre-facelift 7 speed and my own car is 2014 528i m sport.. i wont said the 7 speed sluggish, but after u ever tried bmw sport tiptronic 8 speed in 528i (320i and 520i only normal tiptronic) , u will conclude that the 7 speed is sluggish

• Add: if 8 speed sport tiptronic, it comes with launch control.

• SoWhatDo U want to show off on Dec 25, 2014 at 1:38 pm

528 so what, with 90% loan u take! What is that to show off? Haha….budak lah you, macam Sam Loo Saha.

• Why many time also must mention iriz?

• check at 4.52… Jonathan does not looks happy driving it. =D

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Would be better to wait for the CKD version to come. Hopefully, with the AMG package. In comparison to the F30, I agree that the W205 is overall a better car. Handling wise, yeah, the F30 wins. But in terms of refinement, luxury, ride, the W205 beats the Beemer. But is it best in class? Don’t forget that there are 3 other cars, the Audi A4 (ok its old, and it shows), the Lexus IS250 (just as lux & refined as the W205, but handling is closer to the F30), and Infiniti Q50 (urmmmm not much going for it other than value for money).

• Singh on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Fastwork, I guess since you are stuck with you Mercedes, hence the defensive comments. You should actually try the other cars to then realise your own car’s sluggish gearbox.
    Oh, I notice you didn’t dare refute on the very narrow rear bench sitting? I guess that must be a real fact you are probably regretting after owing the car.

• Fastwork on Dec 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Singh, it has nothing to do whether I’m stuck with Mercedes or not. I’m happy and proud to be Mercedes owner but, having said that does not mean I have to be defensive about it. I have driven BMW and I know it feels. What I’m saying is that the gearbox is not sluggish compared with BMW. Have you read international auto review, if not suggest you read one before commenting.
      As to rear bench sitting, I didn’t comment because it is not true. Why don’t you drop in to Hap Seng or C&C to test out it before you start typing out your comments. Lastly, what do I regret when most people agree the build quality and service quality of Mercedes (through authorized dealers)beat BMW hands down. Please save up to experience what you have missed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Hi John,

Good job with the review. Good choice of words, style, great presentation and ease of understanding.
    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to everyone at Paultan.

cheers

• blaster88 on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I own a a4 B8, tested the 320i M sport and this C200 as well…Agree with him that the overall build quality, interior quality, low cabin noise and comfortable ride are strong points vs the 3 Series… but at RM286K, the handling and performance are certainly not F30 esp compared to the Msport…compared to the A4 B8 which I owned for 6 years and looking to change to…the interior cabin of the A4 is still top quality, soft and high grade plastics and upholstery, still looking good after 6 years, overall quality…not a rattle or hum or anything after 70k….again the Audi has superb all round build quality. Performance and handling wise, I really do not see a big difference or “wow” factor stepping out of the new C200 back onto my A4….Hence, I disagree with Jonathan here. My take? would wait for the new A4 B9 or the new 3 series LCI that would be out in 2015…dunno, try as I might, I cannot bring myself to write a chque for a Merc. Its a nice car but not my cup of tea…..

• TurboMan on Dec 23, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Blaster88. Your comment on rattle free after 6 years caught my eye. Reli loved the audi b8 whrn I tested it around 6 years ago, but the Cvt and FWD was a major turn off for me. Perhaps if I had purchased it, I will be a much happier man. The 2.0 dual clutch quattro was out of my budget that time.

I have seen pictures of the new TT’s interior and its lovely. I am sure B9 A4 would be lovely too. Handlingof B8 A4 is miles ahead of the audi’s of yore. They have.moved the engine behind the front axle and that worked wonders. The best car in my opinion would have the audi’s interior, merc refinement and RWD and lexus ownership experience. The big cat comes to mind. Looking forward for the jaguar XE.

Didnt mention anything about BMW eh.

• blaster88 on Dec 24, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Audis are renowned for their quality…the W205 is actually a nice car, that is if you like comfort, refinement, prestige (esp in Bolehland) etc. But it lacks the drive excitement for me. Honestly, Hup Seng after sales service is quite good plus the 4 years manufacturer’s warranty is a good deal – don’t hv to refer to insurance BS for claims…

• Turboman on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:39 pm

You are right. Sometimes i would prefer 4 years warranty vs crappy BSRI. I believe anybody buying a car above 200k is able to afford servicing them.

Warranty is another animal. It shows the manufacturer is commited to back their product, rather than washing their hands off after just 2 years.

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2014 at 5:55 pm

LCI for the win!

• spock1976 on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:54 am

There is no 320i M sport. Only 320d and 328.

• blaster88 on Dec 24, 2014 at 4:02 am

My Bad. I meant 328 Msport….Lived with the A4 for 6 years now, yes. THE CVT gearbox and Audi aftersales service are concerns. However, I was told that Audi is looking at coming in directly soon. Fingers cross…

• bored..super bored review

• Singh on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Fastwork, we would appreciate to have comments which are not rude or like coming from a schoolboy. You are assuming too many things in your comments posted here. Grow up boy ( or girl ) .

• Singh on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Glokar, this is an auto blog. We would be interested in engine efficiency, fuel consumption and the works be it a 50k car or a 286k car.
    Kindly avoid any racial connotations please. It just reflects back on your mentality and extremely poor morals.

• Fastwork.it’s really a shame u claim u r a Merc but ur charater is rude .
    I have read most international auto review and concluded the merc gearbox is sluggish and really cant match BMW . this is the fact , the whole world know it .

• old dog on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm

this 7 minutes can consider a review?…? LOL..

• Regina on Dec 25, 2014 at 11:58 pm

What I find hard to level with is that with the nearly 300k one can spend on this C-Class, you can get a top of the line Mazda 6 or a Lexus ES, both of which have really good refinements and are at least one segment higher.

Do people buy these just for the image of driving a car with a 3-pointed star on the hood?

• For nearly 300k and still don’t get proper sized rear bench to comfortably sit on is certainly for the sake of having a 3 pointed marque only.
    Gone are those “glory tau keh sit comfortably no rivals” days now… sad to say.

• Guys planning to get the E300 bluetec hybrid which will probably be delivered by end of next year, honestly when do you guys think this w213 will launch in Mal as waiting a few more months wont kill me

• saga fl on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:02 pm

now i also use proton,proton still proton very bad quality,
    if malaysia have free tax confirm i use better car.