Proton ready to collaborate in ASEAN car project

Proton_Iriz_video_review_ 001

Proton says it is ready to collaborate in the ASEAN car project, with CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah telling Bernama that as a household brand in the local industry, the Malaysian carmaker will continue to focus its efforts on realising the government’s strategic objectives.

“We would be very happy to extend our market deeper into other ASEAN countries with their collaboration, in expanding our brand further. Proton is ever willing to assist any country that is willing to grow together with us, with the blessings of the Malaysian government,” he said.

Harith said that Proton is already an ASEAN car, as unlike carmakers in other nations in the region, it produces locally-branded cars in its own manufacturing facilities. He added that ASEAN is the next-largest growing market in the world after China, and ASEAN countries should protect their own market territory by producing homegrown products.

In October, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak revealed that Indonesian president Joko Widodo (popularly known as Jokowi) expressed interest in the ASEAN car, and that Malaysia and Indonesia would collaborate to make the project a reality.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Agreed on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:56 am

Iriz is a good car. I test drove it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 28
    • ProtonGSC on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:27 am

“Proton willing to assist any country”???
      or this CEO too proud of himself??? should be “any country willing to assist proton”

Look at Indo recently 30% up fuel price AFTER M’sia and Indo collaboration…. The country is in chaos !!!

Please stop the madness Proton and Govt !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 27
      • George Abdul on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:54 am

Simply solutions, If you don’t agree just “GET OUT OF THIS COUNTRY”.

Bolehland don’t needs any person like you. Bolehland only needs followers and keep your mouth shut !!!
        Govt implanted Rakyat FOLLOW and don’t complaints much !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 73
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Collaboration, assisting, ASEAN project, enter market in disguise… whatever! I am FINE with it.

As long as Proton STOP sucking tax payers money, I am perfectly fine!

Proton fanboys Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok style? Can’t help it.

I just wondering a billion-ringgits question “If Iriz so good, why so few of them buying the car?”

I am so disgusted with the current operation model: Proton fanboys talkok sendiri syok did nothing, we tax payers continue to fund Proton (RM1600mils in 2014).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 47
          • All the tax payers money can be used for greater cause than feeding the pride and ego of Dr M and a few of its Proton supporters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
          • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:59 pm

You’re sounding like a broken record dee. Don’t you ever get tired???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:00 pm

@Petrofsky77 You are eating and breathing everyday, don’t you ever get tired??

Go donate your year end bonus + salary to Proton if you TRULY support it, not my hard earned tax money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
          • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:07 pm

@Same L0rrrr (hope I got the number of ‘r’ right) I never claim to support Proton in the first place, but I never Syok Sendiri to bash about it incessantly like you do … and please, don’t compare eating and breathing with your ramblings, they are totally on a different level dee …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • Maserati(Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Proton is the best brand in the world. This is because UMNO’s hard effort to give us such a great car. We must thank UMNO for giving us an affordable car in Malaysia

I hope the Government maintain our car prices and fuel prices and not reduce it. I have had enough of people in Malaysia, especially PKR complaining about high car prices and high petrol prices.

I say to you all. If you cannot afford car prices and fuel prices in Malaysia, it means you are lazy and have not worked hard enough. If you work hard, you can easily afford a RM150k car like myself. I work hard and not lazy like the complainers here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:49 am

Agreed. Good move Proton..It’s a kick start for Proton to go global..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

“It’s a kick start for Proton to go global…” This had been heard long before year 2000.

Why the “kick” took so long and still not yet started?

Don’t dream big on selling in Europe/Moon/Mars, focus on Thailand/Singapore/Indonesia first.

Or before ASEAN countries, Proton should try penetrate Bangsar first.

No Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok show, ACTION please!!!

• Pak Lah on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:33 am

Syiok Sendiri lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
      • Sawwi on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Make big loss hundreds million ringgit but still talk big new car project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Loss more money in black hole. Demand more money from Gov. Tax payer pays.

See the pattern?

• Henry on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:15 pm

This happens when they are betting other people’s money. No fear.

• Salambangi on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:59 am

No matter how good Proton is it will never be recognized by congenitally twisted DAP cyber-troopers and Pakatan keyboard warriors and and that’s a fact. Just read all their previous comments. Hence, everything done whether good or bad you have to blame Mamak Mahathir and UMNO. FYI I’m not an UMNO member and unfortunately have voted for DAP in the last election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 40
      • Shamsuddin Iskandar on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:30 pm

your comment is totally inaccurate and only brings politics into a car discussion. protons are supposingly without tax. A Suzuki Swift without tax cost around RM40k, and a Proton without tax also cost about the same or even more expensive. Some around RM50k or above. Where is the logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
        • Teoh Zak on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:38 pm

and we are getting a lower quality car with proton at a higher price.

• Proton is good? How come it sold so few in other countries than Malaysia… if it’s good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • symustafa on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Proton was certainly not at all good in the past, but they are actually way better now. It takes time to build an image, to get rid of past reputations…..just look at Kia and Hyundai. The cheap crap stigma is still around, but their cars are very good now.

Not saying Proton will be like Kia/Hyundai anytime soon, but who knows?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Wahhh….Proton crap cars, BN put crazy tax to imported cars and now you BLAME DAP/PKR??

Siber terupa UMNGOK lah you. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Kalau tak bagus, tak bagus lah tu.
        What is dap got to do with this? Even if dap supports proton, they can go fly kite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Huznair Khairuddin on Jan 03, 2015 at 4:20 am

I would vouch for that. I drove it on their open day as well.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:21 am

Collaborate?
    Ketuanan mentality how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
    • Uzair on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:12 pm

generalizing of all malay has that ketuanan mentality is like generalizing all Chinese has a communism mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
      • fast5 on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm

DrM every comments will bring in “this race that race”.

Why? because he’s the father of racism will continue teach his followers to start a war.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Eye yam chinese and i agreed. Stop with the racial profiling already. We anti Proton and UMNO and BN and MCA and MIC. Not anti-Malay.

• Uzair on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:08 am

I am not anti PROTON. I am just a normal Malay guy who is against stereotyping/profiling of race and just want Malaysia to be a better place to live in.

• Ice Kacang on Dec 22, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Apa ketuanan? Does our king drive the latest Iriz?

• Low Budget on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:38 am

What is the point of another ASEAN car JV with Indonesia? Proton(Asean Car) itself already can’t sell well in South East Asia except in Malaysia.
    Do they expect Indonesia Gomen do the car protection thingy a la Proton in Indon.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Same L0rr on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:38 am

Sendiri cakap sendiri syok lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • Joe Young on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

Joko Widodo don’t know collaboration ASEAN style meaning Indonesia supply cheap labor, Proton Malaysia supply the brainpower. Project fail, both equally share the blame and cost.

• fast5 on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:49 am

“the Malaysian carmaker will continue to focus its efforts on realising the government’s strategic objectives.”

By making others brand more expensive due taxes? and selling local brand at below after taxes price on CBU cars.

The lie will never stop, BN with cronies will rules the country by 2020.
    Poor Rakyat just keep paying taxes and loans(debts) for your whole life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
  • Skeptical about the ASEAN car on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:28 pm

The only indigenous car designer in ASEAN that I’m aware of is Proton.(Do let me know if I’m wrong) Other countries in ASEAN just have manufacturers like Perodua, a CKD outfit with proven original designs hailing from Japan/Korea/USA/etc. adapted for the local market.
    I have no doubt about the ASEAN nations manufacturing capability and capacity, but design wise?
    Whatever car that comes out of this might be a dud only suited for selling in ASEAN. Certainly can’t expect the other nations’ car manufacturers, with zero experience designing a car from scratch, to provide any significant input.

• IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:16 pm

You are right. Because no other countries is stupid enough to enter this market with a small local population. Only Tun Mamak was desperate enough.

• shawal on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:32 pm

7 seats minimum for extended family members
    high ground clearance with possible 4WD d/t poor road surfaces..
    1.6 turbocharged engine, likely based on new 1.6VVT with manual box

it’ll probablly look like a jacked up azla, or honda mobilio or avanza…

the usual safety bits with dual airbags minimum

• Proton Fanboys (Official on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Go go Proton!!!!!Don’t care of those stupid,slow Proton Haters!!!!Proud to be Proton Owner!!But,why must in Indonesia!!!!!!Why Najib!!Go lah China.Wait,China already.Go Japan!!Why must Indonesia!

#ProtonThenNowForever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:37 pm

You hadn’t been to China, had you?

China people generally driving VW (like Malaysian driving Perodua), or Audi (like Malaysian driving Toyota).

Their fuel price is RM4 per liter and they buy cars in cash. If you go there, you will notice they hardly use any hatchback (most common hatchback is Golf GTI). And they are left handed cars.

So don’t be naive and dream big. You should be laughing crazily if Iriz can sell in Indonesia. Indonesia is the largest population Muslim country in the world after all.

Sell Iriz to Japan? Is like trying to teach German play football.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Hey Same LORRR,what are you talking about?I already go to China 10 times.I know,there is no Proton in China,but got Youngman.They rebadge Proton car,using Proton engine and sell in China.And the result,they like it.So you don’t know about Proton in other country,so just shut the Fuck up and continue with your holy shit Toyota.Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Super on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Hello crap..

How’s yr father, sister, brother in law, grandfather’s Iriz??…

Proton never succeed in China. During DS Syed Zainal they tried to penetrate China’s market but being cheated. The show unit they send there being imitated n sold in China under diff brand. In fact, the engine that they used was their engine, not Proton’s engine.

Same L0rrr is correct, China people they prefer Conti & China cars. Even Japs cars hard to sell. I dun think u’ve been there. Cant afford to be there just bcoz u still owned 1.3 Iswara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Don’t bullshit on your Youngman (aka Persona) sales.

First, they rebadge the Persona (sedan), hatchback has very little market there.

Second, Youngman doesn’t seems to be popular model there. Because of the huge population, Youngman sales still considered acceptable (in Malaysian standard of 27mil population).

Iriz in China? 只有自己讲自己爽的份!

In China, they market it as “Youngman L3 from Lotus”, nothing mention about Proton, simply because it is a 耻辱。

• How many youngman have u seen in china? They are rarer than ferrari, just like iriz here.

• IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

I haven’t seen even 1 Iriz on the street. Saw a lot of AXIA already.

• Steven on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Yongman or oldman…why use lotus name but not proton..

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:17 pm

How much is the Youngman L3/Persona in China?
            RM33k (RMB 59k) for 1.5l manual
            RM37k (RMB 67k) for 1.5l auto
            RM48k (RMB 87k) for 1.6l auto (highest specs)

How much is our Persona? Cheapest also RM47k!! Only 1k cheaper than China highest specs

Our Proton is more expensive than China’s Lotus. You must be so proud of the conman Proton now.

• Uzair on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:15 am

“So don’t be naive and dream big. You should be laughing crazily if Iriz can sell in Indonesia. Indonesia is the largest population Muslim country in the world after all.”

whats that suppose to mean?

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

I meant: Indonesia is the largest Muslim country in the world. If Iriz could sell there like hot cakes, everyone (including me) will be damn happy. So stop dreaming selling to China (left hand drive) or Japan (top country making cars).

Don’t day-dreaming, make it a feasible and achievable target.

• abdullah on Dec 22, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Where is the look east policy when Proton first started?
    It’s a failure!
    Collaboration with this manufacturer and that manufacturer, all failure.
    This Asean car project will also be a failure.

• Asean already has its own car. It is called toyota

• Teoh Zak on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:40 pm

not sure to laugh or not at your stupidity, but Japan is not part of ASEAN.

• Albert on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Proton…again in the limelight for the wrong reason.Sales stagnating in Bolehland.Design competition,sportivo carnivals,massive rm 14,ooo discounts for 2013 preve,lots of press conference,and now ASEAN car project.
    Come on Proton,the internet savvy car buyers know your marketing tricks.
    Running out of ideas,those dead wood in Shah Alam giving one last shot trying to prevent Proton from sliding into the deep shithole perlindungan has created.
    Proton,I predicted your sales to go down to 120,000 units, at the beginning of 2014.It came as no surprise.
    Perodua will be hitting close to 200,000 units soon cos they have very little dead wood and less time to play politics.

• Sawwi on Dec 22, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Make big loss is okay, sure EPF or Petronas will rescue bail out later.

• ayooo on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm

I think paultan should stop publishing proton articles for a few month and let all these mentally ill/sick people have a rest. I pity them.

• IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:13 pm

If dun publish Proton news, Paultan will ‘chap lap'(closed shop) because nobody wants to come here anymore.

• kanakuning on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Don’t jump to conclusions if you don’t have the details yet. neither do i.

We’ll just have to wait and see how this pans out. As for all those who have an adverse opinion about Proton, i thinks its time to move on. If you don’t like the brand, just don’t buy it. go for something better.

Like what Mr Maserati said – “I say to you all. If you cannot afford car prices and fuel prices in Malaysia, it means you are lazy and have not worked hard enough. If you work hard, you can easily afford a RM150k car like myself. I work hard and not lazy like the complainers here.”

Frankly, every one buys something within their means. That goes to the millions of Proton owners out there in the market like myself. Yes, the product may not be 100% perfect but hey which product or brand doesn’t have issues?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Yes, all cars have issues. But Proton has just crappier cars in general. And crappier cars cannot sell at high price. But in this case, Malaysians are forced to buy crappy cars at high price, while the good cars are forced to sell at sky-high price.

Btw, i wanted the Iriz to be good, unfortunately, it’s a total dissapointment. The gearbox and engine, the very main component of a car are the major problems. How to accept this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • fast5 on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Is nothing to do with lazy or hard working…

Is fairness/equity on Rakyat choice.

If Proton do really care for Rakyat why don’t compete without taxes on after CBU cars???

Sell the car price right and give better spec, compete fair and square.
      After 20 years still using the same lie???

Again WHY CAN’T COMPETE WITHOUT TAXES ON CBU CARS??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • IrizX on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Soon, instead of “Ganyang Malaysia”, it will be “Ganyang Proton”.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 22, 2014 at 6:25 pm

While it is good that proton is looking for new markets but on the flip side… Proton must be naive to think Indonesians are so hard pressed and naive to work with proton.

With all the other automotive players out there, why would Indonesia work with Proton, a brand saddled with the stigma of protectionism and is a failure in its own country.

The realist in me thinks hell no. Indonesia iwill be thinking big if they are going to do this. If they are making a car…they will be making a car that has export credentials… Which would be the Japanese and Europeans… Even perhaps the Koreans.

If I’m an Indonesian ..I will view this as a veiled insult. Why would Indonesia need an ASEAN car? Thailand is doing fine with no local cars.

• Steven on Dec 22, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Lagi cakap, Lagi Syok, Lagi Best…

• CyberPatrol on Dec 23, 2014 at 12:04 am

CEO quote “We would be very happy to extend our market deeper into other ASEAN countries with their collaboration, in expanding our brand further. Proton is ever willing to assist any country that is willing to grow together with us, with the blessings of the Malaysian government,”

ASEAN countries should protect their own market territory by producing homegrown products.

Interesting two CEO statements above and past news here..

We read about Thailand auto industry business got it name as “Detroit HUB of ASIA” and TH Govt auto policies work well for them without market protection. I’ have doubt they follow the protection policy.

I read the Tan Chong Motors and Nissan (JV) already had factory in Vietnam and Myanmar, TCM had foot hold and planted a ‘seed’ and let see it bear fruits. First Malaysian auto company already has done it and CEO said ‘very happy to extend…

CEO said..blessing of the Malaysian government

I’m totally lost here, how many patents and intellectual property rights on Proton engine that was protected that need G blessing. Or it something else enlighten me please..

Finally there this saying talk is cheap, but “put the money where your mouth is” tell a difference.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 6:47 am

I went to Bali last week. I saw quite a few Perodua Myvis there (they are rebadged as the Daihatsu Sirion for Indonesia). I think the concept of an ASEAN car is not impossible, but all parties (governments) must be open and the people must be willing to participate (buy it). Of course, it will not be easy, and it might be too late already. Chinese cars today are pretty much where the Koreans were in 2008 or 2009. By the time the ‘ASEAN car’ rolls out, it won’t stand a chance as a cheap car, because Chinese cars will still be cheaper. And the ‘ASEAN car’ probably won’t be very good either (at first), because refinement takes time and resources. By the time the ‘ASEAN car’ is truly competitive, Chinese car companies would be well established in their export markets, so the ‘ASEAN car’ will have to not only fend off the Japanese and Koreans, but Chinese as well. Sorry for being a bit pessimistic, I’m just giving a reality check here. In any case, I’m looking forward to more news on this.

• bangun harimau on Dec 23, 2014 at 9:58 am

Reduce car delivery time first before doing any other big project. Come on Proton, your poor delivery on Iriz really dissapoint me..what a shame.

• ProtonCanImproveBetter on Dec 23, 2014 at 11:28 am

Proton can actually grow faster if and only if the company is 100% privatised (no government involved). Currently, half of the profits are feeding government’s pocket already. Another half? Another half will be used for factory maintenance, paying employee’s salary, paying fix assets and all other expenses, etc… So, how can Proton improve? If the government dares to let any Malaysians to build another national car maker, I can bet it will grow faster than Proton and can even compete with Japanese car, just look at how AirAsia beats Malaysia Airline.

• Boo Hoo on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Proton can do much better, if they don’t constantly receive non-constructive feedback from most of you. If you think you are good at marketing, DRB and Proton’s HQ in Shah Alam only. Don’t talk about something we can’t change like tax la, I think instead of rambling on about “taxpayer’s money” better u work harder rather than posting your comments here. For those who posted racists statements, you are just plain stupid.

JV is supposed to share resources, meaning less cost to develop something. That is a good thing, but idiots still making noise. Scroll up and you can see a lot of idiots. Just talk about cars la, can or not?

• Boleh on Dec 24, 2014 at 12:57 am

Wah, now you want to blame the people for proton’s failure? This must be the joke of the year! Do you think Proton care about your feedback? They only care about their pockets. In home country also don’t dare to compete in open market want to collaborate in ASEAN car project?

• ryuugamine on Dec 24, 2014 at 2:41 pm

i’m sure one day PROTON will make malaysian proud of PROTON

• lancer &grandis not ijora on Jan 30, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Ijora saga aswara aspira jajawa want2be friend with real lancer unfortunately they r not mitsu families.shame on u inspirated.we knw the differences.plze dont lie 2others people that u all wearing levis ori.kah kah kah