SPAD seizes five private cars in Uber operation in JB

uber x car

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has seized five private cars in an operation on ride-sharing app Uber conducted in Johor Bahru, Bernama reports.

SPAD said in a statement that the cars were seized under Sections 80 and 81 of the Land Public Transport Act 2010 for illegally offering Uber services, and that the enforcement operation was conducted in select areas around the southern city such as the Senai International Airport, Legoland and Pasir Gudang.

“All of these individual-owned vehicles will be prosecuted under Section 16 of the Land Public Transport Act 2010,” the commission said, adding that it will not compromise with any party or parties found foul of the public transport laws, including those using private cars to offer Uber services.

SPAD recently told The Star that 20 of the 50 vehicles under eight companies offering Uber services do not have the necessary permits.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• While I agree the cars should have the necessary permits, does makes one wonder why is the spad so enthusiastic in illegal cars but ignoring a whole load of other more critical issues on Malaysia roads?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • transparent please on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Bcz this one got no tonto

• Sammy on Dec 25, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Is already an age old problem for those reckless taxi in malaysia. Still hold faith for Spad to solve it? They don’t even show the will or a concrete plan to solve it. And nobody in Spad seems responsible or accountable for such a failure in our land traffic system.

• Taxi drivers with proper license are acting like gangsters. Why don’t SPAD catch them instead?

If SPAD is so hard-working, they should go undercover and catch those taxi drivers that are over-charging, haggling prices, picking on destination etc.

Why no such enforcement on the above “licensed” taxi drivers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • ben yap on Dec 24, 2014 at 3:29 pm

whenever gov agencies come in to interfere on something, it could either be political interest or corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
    • maseratits la junk on Dec 24, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Obliviously SPA is taking orders from bn cronies bosses that own all the taxi license la. Their rice bowl was disturbed. So they definitely send officers overtime undercover 24/7 .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • low inflation on Dec 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm

coz if they allow this to spawn like mushroom, govt wont get tax, taxi association wont able to collect taxi funds at all. so their pocket will b lessen.
      anyway, without d licence, if anything happen to d passengers, it will hav difficulties to sue d driver in court later.

• alldisc on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

unlike normal taxis, which are purchased without custom excise duties – uber cars are bought with full taxes paid. so, the govt actually earns more taxes as the cars are not national makes but include models like BMW X3, Merc E, Toyota Camrys and other popular D segment Japanese cars.

• trollmaster3000 on Dec 24, 2014 at 7:50 pm

if it doesn’t benefit the gomen.. then it is considered as ILLEGAL and HARAM.. – macai logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • cobra on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:12 pm

I am not familiar with all the legal aspects between SPAD and Uber. But so far, managed to use them twice. Once came an Alphard and the recent was a gleaming BMW 5 series. Both drivers were really professional. Price wise not too bad, perhaps just a little higher than those run down, filthy, smelly, noisy taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • Those luxury vehicles are usually rented by Uber from car rental companies. The drivers get a fixed salary from their employer, which I suppose is also paid by Uber. I believe Uber is bleeding heavily with such a marketing technique. This may be the main reason the taxi drivers are not happy. They have no such marketing resource to compete with someone who can afford to bleed. I guess Spar should also take actions against taxi systems that employ similar techniques, eg giving discounts and promotional codes. MyTeksi cannot be protected at the expense of its competitors.

• I do not think permit is ever an issue. A permit just indicates the driver has been assessed in some way. Both taxi and Uber drivers have passed some sort of assessments, though not conducted by the same organization. Insurance is hardly critical. We take unlicensed taxis very often outside major cities. Do we care if the vehicles have an appropriate insurance that covers us? No. Most of us rely on our own insurance. Spad can just ask Uber to highlight this in its app. Those who do not care can proceed to use the service, and I think most people do not care.

• Bozo Spad on Dec 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

What a bunch of freaking idiots, our public transportation is one of the worst in the world and these bozos have to go after Uber. Do your job properly and go after these;
      1. Express buses speeding daily on the highways that has resulted in nummerous accidents and loss of lives.
      2. Totally rundown buses on the roads spewing massive black smoke that pollutes the environment. Same with numerous lorries polluting the roads.
      3. Our world famous and ranked no. 1 worst and the most notorious taxi services. These taxi thugs are still in business ripping off and threatening the public. Don’t Spad knows that our taxi service is a National Disgrace?
      4. Motorcyclists that don’t stop at traffic lights.
      Come on, if you don’t want to do the job then resign and work as jaga kereta.

• Cangkul on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Van sapu bila mau kasi sapu?

• Pak kutu on Dec 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

A good move to stop unlicensed taxi operators, but the relevant authorities must also stop those with permits to harass passengers with fixed prices, lousy uncomfortable taxis and denying passengers because of things like traffic jam, short distance etc.

• blackbox on Dec 24, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Apa pun mau permit. Pancing ikan pun mau permit. Next time nafas also mau permit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 124
    • Hondaman on Dec 24, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Aloo, in singapore you can’t even eat chewing gum….. At keast msia not that bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Anonymous on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Dude… dont just go blaming n complaining… it goes with becoming a developed nation… permits n regulations helps when something untowards happen to the consumer so as u will have your rights upheld. Rules n regulations, permits n requirements goes with every other developed nations too, ie US, UK, EU, Japan… if u want everything so easily done… then u should try 3rd world countries where everything goes… but wait when things go awry n theres no where u can turn to.

U did read about the passenger getting raped by an Uber driver did u…?

If there r illegal taxis n unscrupulous taxi drivers u have a FREEDOM of choice not to use their services or make a complaint with the necessary authorities… most come upon these shady drivers just voice out in social media but dont not even make a formal complaint… thinking the right authorities can read your mind… n u the go around a grumbling lot.

We all have a the FREEDOM of choice to change our mindset to change the world… why dont u try…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 24, 2014 at 4:36 pm

THis crackdown in UBer does not happen only in Bolehland.
    Other countries are also cracking down on UBer.
    Uber is fringing on legalities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Julian Lee on Dec 24, 2014 at 5:36 pm

BODOH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Anti-Establishment on Dec 24, 2014 at 6:10 pm

If you care to Google you’ll find that Uber’s having problems with regulatory bodies around the world.

You wouldn’t find it to be BODOH if you’re caught in an accident while using an unlicenced UBER car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • old dog on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:43 pm

SPAD never go crack down those no-air bag, broken tail lights, reckless driving taxi instead of UBER…

from bolehland to croniesland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Good works to SPAD.. Put extra effort to crack down illegal uber activity..

But can u put the same effort to crack down ego taxi driver at batu 3 ..so arragont don’t want to use meter.. Only go to prefer location..

I know SPAD people read this..

• Sammy on Dec 30, 2014 at 11:42 am

Ya. I don’t know why SPAD can’t even crack down 5 of those taxi that break the law. All queing infront of KLCC prying on tourist. Bad for our image.
      Can someone from SPAD takes responsiblity and accountability for the taxi problem in Malaysia? To me this is a long outstanding problem and a bigger one than UBER.

• CyberPatrol on Dec 24, 2014 at 11:41 pm

I’m believer of perseverance will survived as winners. Until today UBER is NOT ban, so time will tell UBER would change business strategy to be alliance with local taxi cartel or exit business in Malaysia. Get those companies obtain with permits and notice it has expanded to major cities like JB and more to come.

• Samad Jain on Dec 25, 2014 at 6:22 pm

there are loads of problematic transportation problem in malaysia. Even blind ppl can see the problem…..

SPAD is so busy doing everything that is NOT important…

• SPAD is really not giving any room to UBER in Malaysia. It is shocking to read that SPAD already confiscated so many UBER cars and SPAD will auction these cars.

lelong, lelong mari mari … I want one, I want one!!

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia/article/spad-denies-not-taking-actions-against-uber-drivers