What drives us – personal cars of the paultan.org crew

Paultan.org_writers_own_cars_ 002

It started out as a whimsical thought, voiced by Jonathan James Tan during one of our discussions months ago. “Why don’t we come up with a story where we write about our own cars? It’d be pretty interesting as an exercise and for readers to know a bit more about us as well.”

The idea continued to run and take shape, and we eventually pencilled it in as a “to-do,” marking it down as one of our year-ender stories alongside the Top Five list that has now become fixed as a perennial affair.

So here it is then, the story about the personal cars of the paultan.org crew, each fleshed out by their respective owners. Aside from hopefully making for a light-hearted, entertaining read, our musings should also help tell you a bit more about who we are. After all, you can tell a lot about a person from his ride.

Paultan.org_writers_own_cars_ 006

We also decided to add an extra flavour to things. Rather than just have us talk about each of our own cars and leave it at that, it was ventured that each writer would drive another’s car and offer an opinion of it. The approach in deciding who’d get what was simple – we placed each others’ names in the mix and each drew one. Bit old hat, yes, but great fun.

Eagle-eyed observers will have noticed that the reverse angle shot has an additional car (and person) in it – that’s Sherman Sim, our resident pixman, who lovingly shot all the photos you see here. Incidentally, his Alfa 155 Widebody 2.0 Twin Spark is an impeccable example of the type.

It’s a motley assortment, the assembled cast that you see before you – from hot hatch to MPV, old to new, the diversity of the editorial team is pretty evident from the cars we drive. It even went as far as tyres – not one of the seven cars shared rubbers from a same make. Guess we shouldn’t ever volunteer for jury duty together!

Gregory Sze’s 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX Version 8
Gregory_Sze_2004_Subaru_Impreza_WRX_Ver8_ 001

“How’s the car?” I would never tire of that question whenever I visited my late uncle. See, the ‘Rex is more than a car to me as the previous owner was pretty much responsible for igniting my interest. As a boy, I can vividly recall pouring over his DC2 Integra Type-R and waxing lyrical about it.

When the ‘Rex came along, there wasn’t a single moment that I would casually hint to him to sell me the car. As you can probably see, I did get a hold of it but part of me wish it didn’t happen. The effects of chemotherapy had taken its toll on his body, causing him to lose his vision and therefore, incapable of driving anymore.

Despite not being able to phrase his words properly, I always knew the first question he would lob at me whenever we met – and I would always offer the same, truthful reply. Unfortunately, that fateful day came when I got the call and knew that I would never be asked that question again.

The WRX was present throughout the entire process right up to the send-off at his final resting place. The owner may be physically gone, probably burbling around the big track in the sky, but every once in a while I would still look up and reassure the man. “The car is fine, uncle. The car is fine.”

Tell you what, this was the one I was hoping to pick out from the hat, and what joy when it was the case. At that point, I think I detected a momentary look of terror in the owner’s face, especially when I uttered “Ooh, now here’s the chance to stand on it!” rather gleefully.

Sadly, the chance to have a real go at what must surely be the most benignly-driven Impreza in Malaysia didn’t happen – I spent a whole hour doing no more than 50 at best, crawling through a jam. Despite the slow going, the sense of the Scooby’s magic was inescapably on show, shining through from its rorty, ever-willing-to-go nature to that throbbing, sonorous HKS exhaust.

By the way, you should know that the owner, in Fangio fashion, talks to his car, and is so sweet on it candy pales in comparison. Shame, because just before I got out, she did whisper to me that she quite likes it hard and fast. What, you mean she doesn’t tell you these things, Greg?Anthony Lim

Jonathan Lee’s 2006 Hyundai Matrix 1.6 GLA
Jonathan_Lee_2006_Hyundai_Matrix_ 001

Of course, it had to be me to bring it all down with a hand-me-down mundane Korean MPV, built at a time when Korean cars were still trading on price rather than actual talent. The only automatic car here, too – a leisurely four-speed ‘box mated to an asthmatic 1.6 litre engine, pulling a car that weighs as much as a 2.0 litre Honda Civic.

That’s not to say that the Hyundai Matrix is not without its merits – a car barely longer than most superminis, but which provides space that would embarrass many a D-segment sedan. This is a spacious family runabout betrayed by its boxy, oddball Italian styling.

There are also lots of practical touches within, such as a variety of cupholders and cubbyholes to lose all your belongings in, a low beltline for outstanding visibility and a rear seat that slides, folds and tumbles – the latter function I only found out when I was cleaning out the car for this shoot. The Matrix, then, is a car full of great ideas – if only the execution was up to snuff.

I’ll be handing the keys to someone who would make better use of all this space soon, as I’m looking to switch to something much smaller (and less painful on the wallet). I’m sure I’ll enjoy my next ride, but I’m really gonna miss the ol’ girl.

Don’t be fooled by the pictures here. Jonathan Lee’s Matrix has never looked this clean. Well actually, it never is. The last time I was in his car, he had a pile of dirty laundry next to my seat, topped off with used underwear to boot. I just hoped they were all his.

As for the car itself, it was penned by the famed Italian design house Pininfarina, as we all know. Now this was clear for all to see, what with the intricate, extremely well detailed and sharp lines… of the “disegno pininfarina” badges.

Why a young boy would be interested in an MPV, well, I can only think of one reason. Yeah, really, I hope those were his undies.Hafriz Shah

Jonathan James Tan’s 1972 Volkswagen 1600
Jonathan_James_Tan_1972_Volkswagen_Beetle_ 001

They say lots of things about mid-life crises, but the fact is, had it not been for my old man going through one, I wouldn’t have this car at all.

You see, nine years ago, Dad decided to take play-by-ear piano lessons (as you do at that age), and while he never learnt to tell the black keys from the white, something that belonged to the teacher captured his heart and sent memories flooding back. Why wouldn’t it, when he had one himself as a student and his father owned three in his lifetime?

So it came to be that this little thing taught me to drive and saw me through college to this day, via countless acquaintances, joys, triumphs, heartaches and failed alternators – a true People’s Car, if I ever saw one. Really, when you’ve been stranded on the hard shoulder for as often as I have and you still don’t want to get rid of it, you know it’s a keeper.

I can’t even crack 50 mph without the wing mirrors folding in from the wind (Volkswagen pioneered the auto-folding wing mirror in 1972, didn’t you know?), and I have to keep winding the windows down and pushing them back into position. Not defects, just character.

No radiator, no demister, no reversing lamps, no power steering, no rev counter and no DSG – but it’s got 50 hp, so be afraid. Be very afraid.

For someone who still isn’t quite used to driving a manual car, the first few minutes of suddenly being thrust into an ancient jalopy with a row-your-own transmission, no power steering and brakes – which I was warned would lock at the slightest provocation – was terrifying, to say the least.

Added to that, the left door mirror folded in onto itself as soon as I set off, and the driver’s side wiper fell off immediately afterwards – which in the torrential downpour meant next to no visibility.

And yet, driving the Beetle was a revelation. The tractability provided by the impressive low-end torque belied the mere fifty horses, the gear lever engages with a lovely click-clack and the slim pillars and large windows afforded superb visibility, making the closed-in mirror a non-issue.

Just fix that wiper next time, okay, Jon?Jonathan Lee

Hafriz Shah’s 2008 Fiat Bravo GT 1.4 T-Jet
Hafriz_Shah_2008_Fiat_Bravo_ 001

“You drive a what? Why??” By now, entering my sixth year of ownership, I’ve gotten used to people reacting as such when the subject of my own car is brought up. The answer is simple enough. I was an idiot.

Back then, I was a naïve kid who just wanted the most unique car I could afford. And it had to have a manual gearbox, of course, because I fancied myself a driving enthusiast. The well-specced Fiat Bravo (downsized-turbo, 150 hp, 0-100 km/h in 8.2 seconds) came up tops on my shortlist.

This was way before an obnoxious bloke called Sam Loo started spreading his RV doctrine, but the issue did come up. “To hell with resale value. I’ll keep it forever,” I thought to myself. Well, five years on, I don’t have a choice in this matter, as selling this four-wheeled vagrant is damn near impossible.

And so is finding parts for it. The official Fiat distributor in Malaysia is no more, making parts sourcing a futile ordeal. And what else? The ride is brittle, the silly 18-inch wheels appear to be made of jelly, and certain interior plastic bits have turned into jelly.

But I’ll tell you what. Bring me back in time, and I’d make this same mistake again. Repeatedly.

I totally get Hafriz Shah’s choice of ride. In my eyes (and quite a few others’, I’m sure), it’s the best-looking vehicle of our lot, which goes hand-in-hand with the famous Friz fashion sense. It’s also the one that would look most at home in the immediate vicinity of a hotel, which again fits the bill.

Drive it and you’ll also understand why he loves the Peugeot 208 GTi so much (of all of us, he’s its biggest fan), because in many ways, the Fiat and the Pug are very alike – classy and charming in an understated and slightly quirky manner, effortless tractability controlled through a long-travel clutch pedal and a long-throw gearchange, plus an expansive view of the starry sky.

Finally, rear visibility is pretty limited because of those thick C-pillars and high shoulder line – perfect for when back seat privacy is needed. Which, if you’re Hafriz Shah in hunter mode, can be pretty often…Jonathan James Tan

Anthony Lim’s 2013 Ford Focus ST
Anthony_Lim_2013_Ford_Focus_ST_ 001

And now, we come to the parlour trick. Going by the “own car” premise, the vehicle that you actually see in the photos is a Honda CR-V. Oh alright, imagine it then.

Rather bizarrely, the Focus ST – and a Fiesta XTR 1.6 hatch – happens to be titled in the other half’s name, nevermind that she has always vehemently stated she’d never buy a Ford (got her good there, didn’t I?).

Convoluted ownership aspects aside (long story, that), the ST came about because of a need to scratch a three-pedal itch that never went away. All my previous rides have been stick shifters (and hatchbacks), and if the Fiesta 1.6 had come with a manual tranny, this one might never have happened.

But it did, and there were very few candidates to consider – the Renault Megane RS 250 was, for an instant, but the three-door layout and unyielding character ended that instant very quickly. Funnily enough, the ST is slowly veering a bit to RS territory through an evolving set of mods. Oh well…

One thing won’t change though, aside from being big on the Blue Oval, and that’s with how the C346’s exterior shapes up – it’ll never stir the loins the same way as the first-gen C170 of yore did for me. That still does – what I really want is a Rallye Sport Mk 1, no matter that the current ST has more ponies. Oh, and did I mention that I’m not particularly fond of red cars? Someone must really be having a laugh then.

Don’t judge a car by its owner. Anthony may be the most senior guy here, but his taste in cars is the most boyracer, by some margin. That’s why this Focus ST looks like it just drove out of “Need For Speed Underground.”

There are six “ST” logos plus 17 “Focus” badges in the cabin to remind me what I was in. Even the drive has been tweaked to be more raw and old school – among the changes, a harder cp-e engine mount introduces vibrations absent in the standard car, while the Cobb add-ons raises intake and turbo noise by a few notches.

Our most hardcore fella, we call him Sport Lim.Danny Tan

Danny Tan’s 2003 Mazda6 Hatchback 1.8 TS
Danny_Tan_2003_Mazda6_Hatch_ 001

My other car is a Honda CR-Z M/T, and I’ve sung enough praises of it – the coupe has appeared twice in my Top Five list and two times as a guinea pig on this channel. Time to share the limelight.

The lads call my Mazda a unicorn, and it is. The first-gen GG3S hatchback is rare enough (only the sedan was officially sold here), but mine is a UK-spec 1.8 – the smallest MZR engine for the 6, and only for Europe – paired to a stick shift.

My car’s “TS” trim might well have been called “pensioner trim” in stock form, but I’ve since added chunkier front and rear sport bumpers from the JDM Atenza, plus matching louvred grille, side skirts and boot spoiler. The above, plus new shoes, gives the 6 a dash of Zoom-Zoom.

It won’t win any traffic light GPs with 125 hp/165 Nm, but performance is sprightly enough with the response and full control of a manual ’box. The surprising engine flexibility and good ride comfort fits in nicely with my daily commute, and the steering is very chatty compared to today’s cars. It’s 11 years old, but the chassis still feels tight.

It’s a good drive, but with a cavernous boot and rear space that’s more generous than the current 6, my Mazda is also a fantastic family car and hauler.

I’ll admit, technology scares me a little. So when Danny’s Mazda 6 came along, I was happy. That happiness was short-lived, however. Ten minutes into driving it and I was… ecstatic! There’s something brutally honest about this unassuming car that’s missing in a lot of modern day machines.

From the weight of the steering to the heft of engaging the clutch, this car is mechanical engineering redefined. Oh, and that throaty exhaust note courtesy of the Spoon exhaust is surprisingly easy to get used to.

Call me old-fashioned, but this is how I would envision my ideal everyday car – practical, reliable, fun to drive and blessed with looks that will only attract the right kind of attention. My only gripe? It’s not my everyday car.Gregory Sze

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• weeee on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:34 pm

John Lee is kinda like James May. Long hair & a Fiat Panda like car :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:28 am

except he is driving crap old korean car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 44
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm

I am totally FINE as none of Paultan editors personal cars are Toyota. If you don’t like Toyota, you don’t need to get out of Malaysia or surrender your passport.

When you look at their cars, old and new, one thing is important: BUILD QUALITY.

Look at the number of sushi cars here, then you know why Japanese cars have more RV than others.

First, the car need to be built nicely, comfortably so people is willing to buy.

Second, the car need to be built reliably, then the car can last long. The Beetle is one of the example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 53
        • Pukima Loo Diam La on Dec 29, 2014 at 10:42 am

Just roll over and shut up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
          • Hey, jangan kurang ajar. This is not your kampung house you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • No more Value on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:15 pm

May I ask why did you tell us your old mother story again when nobody talking about toyota or any sushi cars?

• Editor on Oct 11, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Till when only you understand same lorr…? No car enthusiasts will pick a Toyota, it’s just too boring of a car.. And it’s just too overrated in terms of price

• Aero (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:59 am

Good news !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:34 am

The Matrix can no longer be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 25
      • Poor Uncle on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:08 pm

So what? At least it can serve 8-9 years and still running. And it didn’t cost alot when new. Better than my 2013 camry 2.5V that can only be traded in for 90k. I lost half the value compared to new price of 180k!! I regretted using almost all my EPF money buying this camry for cash. Its no fun to drive, poor safety and no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 77
        • Sam loo may disagree on that. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
        • camry suxx on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:42 pm

yes u r right… and the new camry seats are really poor in providing support… exterior looks like 2 half cuts joint together… interior centre console looks like a 1990s sony mini compo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 49
          • Johnny on Oct 11, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Nice line up. Each have their own personal choice… If u love that car, u don’t actually buy becoz of RV

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Liar pants on fire.

Since when can use EPF to buy car?

Do show a bit of intelligence if you choose to lie. Really makes you look like a sorhai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 37
        • policeman on Dec 27, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Nak tipu pun agak-agak sikitlah.

That kind of stupid statements you can fool PKR supporters only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 24
        • poor uncle on Dec 28, 2014 at 1:53 am

Small boy. You have a long way to go. Learn some manners and respect for your seniors. I am retired and have withdrawed all my EPF. I can buy anything, who says I can’t buy a car? Do I need your permission to buy a car? I am making a statement so ppl don’t make the same mistake as me. Buy something you truly enjoy and not for the sake of so called illusional strong RV that never really exist. In the end you get nothing but suffering and regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 66
          • sorhai uncle on Dec 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Ayo….why so dumb dumb wan? Go buy myvi la. Retired and use epf to buy camry. I am sure this old uncle also spend all his epf on prc n in hatyai thinking he is still in his 20s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
          • Proton Fanboy on Dec 29, 2014 at 5:15 am

Why buy Camry? Go buy Iriz lah. So dumb one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 52
          • GadgetFreQ on Dec 30, 2014 at 9:11 am

Well said uncle… Next time read properly regarding EPF… don’t simply bash blindly… U also can withdraw your EPF if you change your citizenship… Change your EPF to Pension (Government servant)… Kesian betul la…gen-y ka u all?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 30, 2014 at 12:30 pm

If change citizenship why still stay in bolehland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 28, 2014 at 8:24 am

You are indeed a poor uncle. Used all your coffin money to buy a kimchi that has no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 25
          • justwaitnsee on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:26 am

At least please do respect this old man.Everyone can share their experience here. I think he is older than everyone here. Mind your fingers as it shows how disgrace young people nowadays. Malaysian r known for their manners. We r what we eat and what we read. Also what we speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 25
          • Editor2 on Oct 11, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Aiyo Sam… How you know it’s all of his EPF? Maybe just 1/20 of his EPF already can buy the Camry? Don’t put everyone in your standard ok? Not everyone here is a Toyota sales man

• alldisc on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:14 am

any car selling new at 180k will have a similar resale value. dont believe? go buy mazda 6, or vw passat. or nissan teana. or honda accord 2.4

the only reason why is:0

1. ppl who can afford to buy 180k cars will go for new. they will not buy second hand. the reason for low demand and high depreciation. trust me – this was the very same case some 10 years ago until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • alldisc on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:42 am

i saw an alfa romeo 155 there, with someone claiming to be wide bodied.

well let me explain, that is just the facelifted 155 brought in by Milan Auto in 1996. with the facelift, brought along changes like

1. engine upgrade to 16 valves, but using Fiat engine blocks as Fiat was the new owner back then – Alfa benefited by having access to Fiat’s parts sharing. cylinder head remained to be designed by Alfa though, clearly indicated by the twin spark design. the 2.0 if i am not mistaken has variable valve timing – similar engine powered the GTV and that has it.

2. Alfa Romeo won the BTCC in 1994. with the facelift, Alfa introduced the ‘S’ spec which include among others
          i) beefed up suspension, and lowered by about an inch.
          ii) 15″ inch wheels, compare to 14″ on pre-facelift.
          iii) 195/50 Pirelli P6000 low profile tyres
          iv) quicker steering rack, if not mistaken 2.2 turns lock to lock.
          Milan Auto only sold the facelifted 155 in this ‘S’ spec, either 1.8 140bhp or 2.0 150bhp – all 5 speed manuals with price ranging from 90-110K.
          this car has best straight line stability due to its sedan body, compare to the 146ti which has better acceleration (lighter, perhaps?) and slightly nervous rear end grip.

3. the so called wide-body is actually a flared wheelarch to further differentiate the facelift model. it is more like Lancia Delta Intgrale or Audi Quattro Mk 1 and not for example, a BMW E30 M3. car body width was not that much wider despite the fact it had a wider track.
          must see the early model 155 where the wheels are tucked deeper inside the body (narrower track)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Masool on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

I take 2006 matrix 1.6A for RM10k. If u buy nissan I can give u overtrade for RM13k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 48
        • Sam CCB loo on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:49 pm

and we got a TOKOK person saying Matrix cant be traded in.

Its all about price only.

Hey Sam Tokok Loo… you go find me 100 Matrix …I will buy all for $1100 each.

The only thing that nobody wants is Sam Loo … in future use your brain before your mouth… ada otak ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • Any of the crew drive Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • karam singh on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:31 am

Iriz is a good car,
      but Subaru are better …
      thumbs up for Mr Gregory
      well, happy for u all … sponsored by Petronas
      never need u concern about fuel,
      never mind fuel thirst old Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:06 am

Must Proton be dragged into every discussion all the time? ‘Cause it’s really tiresome to read.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 8
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Im agree with u Obviously..It kinda annoying when pipu start include p1 in their comment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • kzm father on Dec 28, 2014 at 5:30 am

And you careless when people include Toyota? Right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • kawter on Dec 28, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Stupid, proton is bashed here first in almost every topics, even in luxury car articles!

Toyota? Yes also available in almost articles, by stupid SA called same lorrr, just to tell T is reliable p1 is not, build quality and those BS comments.

Who is shooting first? Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Will Mr Sze change his car to Iriz after the review?

• Very practical choice…all of you. So, what car did Paul Tan drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:42 am

S Class.

If recall correctly from reading articles here for 10 years, he was using a late 90s 5 Series, then a new 5 Series then now an S Class.

Next will be a Rolls Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Overanalyze on Dec 27, 2014 at 4:57 pm

i saw paultan got the vw sharan?

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

VW Sharan is his current ride but I always thought he had the X5 too…hmm foggy memory

• I believe after Sam Loo saw this article he will leave paultan.org silently haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
    • Obviously (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:22 pm

If you are honest with yourself and think it through thoroughly,

you and I both know that he will not leave. ;)

Eh, want to buy Toyota ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Obvious on Dec 27, 2014 at 11:45 am

Must Toyota be dragged into every discussion all the time? Cause it’s also tiresome to read.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Until UMW toyota change its dirty old ways and offer better spec/safety and proper pricing. It should be continuously criticized! I guess that means forever. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • Obviously (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Dude, when there’s Sam Loo, there will always be Toyota. And RV. It’s a running gag, really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • realll on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Hafriz can I buy your Fiat? :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • AVH (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Eyyy, where’s Mr Paul’s ride?

Anyways, the one I can connect with is John Lee’s Matrix 1.6. My uncle had one, was rather aesthmatic, but was spacious and did the job well. My other uncle had a 1.8l CBU one(with Hyundai badging no less), was amongst the first car my dad hit 180 and mind you, coming from a Automatic 1.5 Wira Aeroback it was something rather suprising. The Matrix inspired my parents to yearn for a higher and more spacious car, hence where the Alza came in.

All of you lot have very car-guys like cars, my personal favorite is Gregory’s WRX. Everytime a EJ Flat-4 pass me, my heart will skip a beat. Johnathan-James’s Flat-4, less so (Sorry). For me if I narcissistically and proudly add, a original Saga Megavalve(whoes wiper flew of from its holder this morning in a downpour while heading for breakfast) and a City E that my dad never drives (whoes passenger vanity mirror cover fell off yesterday morning). Love both car for diffrent reasons, the Saga more personal and emotional than the City’s technical and aesthatic.

We all love our cars, is what make us car guys. And I’am glad the Paultan team also take their time to emotional bond with their vehicles throu laughter and tears. Treating their car as sort of partner in crime than just merely tools for the job. May the year ahead be a blast for you and your automobile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Why Matrix downgrade to Flammable “Alza” Car a.k.a. Kereta Mudah Terbakar(R)…? Heavy ass, not very fuel efficient, bang a little and blow to pieces…

I ditched my problematic Alza and it was good riddance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • braderfiat on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:02 pm

hahaha now i know the owner of fiat bravo wtc 4118 publish in autocar asean 2010.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Haha you may want to check who wrote that story too :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • olio benzina on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:15 am

Hafriz, you got soul, man.

You can stand proud in the tradition of erudite car reviewers like messrs Bremner, May, Green, Setright who appreciate Italian cars.

The Italian word for drive is “Guidare”. The car has a spirit of its own which you only need to guide. “Drive” implies effort to make the vehicle go against its wishes.

Resale value should be the last thing on the mind of a true enthusiasts.

Knowing what you drive lends gravitas to your reviews. I will look forward to your future test drives and reread your past reviews.

Gua caya sama lu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • Italian slut on Dec 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

Got soul but a restless soul. Half the time waiting for parts in workshop :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • blackbox on Dec 27, 2014 at 2:28 am

I missed my Bravo T-Jet very much after driving current 328 for a year. Missed the moment I passed T&G with 2nd Gear till 5.5k rpm then another 5.5k with 3rd…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • wanker badge on Dec 27, 2014 at 11:33 am

Are you saying your 328 can’t rev to 5500 rpm?

You are just being a pussy driver if u r really driving a 328. The wanker is a fast machine and not some camry ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • blackbox on Dec 27, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Precisely speaking mine is 328i M-Sport. I never said that is a slow car and it’s able to rev till 6.5-7k rpm. It’s just not fun to rev an AUTOMATIC transmission car. Even under sport mode and shift with paddle shifter, and the engine node also bloody boring. What you need to do is just to step the fuel pedal with your right foot and up shift with your right hand. Left foot and hand are virtually useless.
            Fast is not the point but fun is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Both Fiat and Beemer sui kwan and kwai tai one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • apaapajelah on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:05 pm

My late father owned the VW Beetles..1200cc.. the common car for teacher at his era.. when I was 10 yrs old (darjah 4) it was my first car i try to drive sitting on my father’s lap. The engine? No minyak hitam no problem..unleaded or leaded petrol no problem..the carburator can fix to Vespa with some modification.. i still remember when the bangsal collapse and hit the car. 6×4 inch wood hit the windscreen and the car no damage, just kemik sikit.. sikit je at the roof edge.. But be carefull with the brake system u need to pump pump pump the pedal if not u will go to longkang.. the car stuck at muddy terrain? No problem for VW Beetle even no 4WD system.. ok the story end.. just to remind my memories.. i really miss u abah..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:08 pm

It’s amazing how cars can be so much a part of our memories…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • harry on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:55 pm

my late grandpa, who himself is a teacher, owned 3 bugs in 20 yrs. my aunties were so happy that their bapak bought a new car. only to found out that it was just a new bug

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • apaapajelah on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Another thing is, my dad has it own pomen. His chinese friend name Hon Sai. Close friend since childhood since before merdeka. he is the one who is very very specialist know-well about Beetle. I still remember when my dad car cannot start, breakdown, Hon Sai came to my house to fix the car just only bring plier and screwdriver. Now u see how so easy to fix Beetle, right?. Not like today’s car very manja. Less water, temperature naik. Less minyak hitam sudah jammed.. Now no more Hon Sai, deceased 10 yrs ago.. The best pomen i ever known. He also can fix my father’s Vauxhall Caddett and Ford Cortina (both of cars sold to his friend).. The moral is, only old timer knows what is the best. In 2002 when i have some extra money i want to buy Proton Wira automatic for him but he refused because he said ‘drive is for fun and relaxing even new cars no noise and vibration but the vibration in old car is his mate’.. Now I drive V6 for work and The Beetles to enjoy the meaning of driving.. if u have money i suggested u to buy Beetle.. feel it yourself..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Beetle brings me better memories than Iriz. With Beetle everyone was like woah but with Iriz everyone was like meh

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Well, that’s a suprise really.

For all the expert opinions that you all have provided on this website, one would have thought that you guys are driving beemers and mercs the very least. At least you guys look the part. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Paultan.org team look more normal people than many commenter here who drive those high class car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:10 pm

good article

love it

• Rangers on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Paul Tan’s BMW? ( guessing..)

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:18 pm

I must say that this is a most enjoyable write-up. I’m sure some of us have been wondering what cars that the car nu-I mean, people behind paultan.org drive. Some entrants I had expected, like JJT’s Beetle and Sport Lim’s ST but I was quite surprised to see the Friz’s Bravo and DT’s Mazda6 hatch mainly because I thought they would bring in their newer cars instead. Truly a motley cast of cars, most of them not being the obvious choice for many.

It’s refreshing how down-to-earth and every-day-life this article is. And I see you did not black out your respective license plate numbers. Hope you guys are prepared for the paparazzi!

Now, the big question remains:

What does Paul the Man drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Paul the Man has become a Family Man. He now drives a Volkswagen Sharan :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Good to know! I was guessing that it’d be some awesome MPV or another due to that “who’s with the wife and kids?” comment he made in the D-segment shootout Driven episode.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:03 am

Hey Obviously, I replied to your comment in one of the older articles here. http://paultan.org/2014/12/06/proton-suprima-s-standard-introduced-rm70k/

Not sure if you’ve read it yet, but I’d like to pass this small heads-up nonetheless. :]

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:28 am

Woah hey, Aero. I had almost forgotten about that. I did return to see if you replied but you had not at the time so I moved on. I’ll leave a reply on that article’s page, instead. More on topic so that this doesn’t detract from the awesomeness of this post. :)

• Yup we are all very curious to know what car does Paul Tan himself drives,my guess is a merc ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • mr1031 on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:28 pm

just look at hafizs wardrobe..fuuuu

• Wait….Who’s that fella with an Alfa Romeo on the second picture? Paul?

• shermangrapher on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:55 pm

its in the story, that’s sherman the photographer

• Sam tow truck on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Must be mechanic la….since Italian need to have their mechanic nearby. Better if you married to one :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • Harvinder?

• mr car on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:44 pm

what car does havinder drives ?

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:56 am

From what we have seen up till now, he was driving a BMW 3-series of some form.

• proton on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:44 pm

No proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • samhui on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:50 pm

I think paul tan drive toyota camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Paultan gaji murah? I though the crew should be driving something exotic. A gtr, s2000? Hehe.

But these are the ppl who make our daily life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Xiaxue on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm

I think I wanna be Mrs Sze

• Nice and down to earth article guys, love it. Proves that u don’t need to own exotics just to prove that u are a car enthusiast, more so thinking about RV :p.

Btw I’ve read somewhere in mid-2000 that Paul Tan owns Satria and Perdana. He revealed that in response to the ever burgeoning hatred towards Proton at that time, or perhaps I was mistaken him to someone else.

• Matchy on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Part 2: Paul Tan vs Harvinder!

• Das Auto on Dec 27, 2014 at 3:46 am

Paul Tan had many cars. From Satria, Perdana, BMW E30, BMW E39, BMW F10 and VW MPV.

• urzu3 on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:27 am

wowww… wait a minute… no TOYOTA..??
    but got sam loo’s kimchi..? i bet sam loo banging his head right now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:56 am

Great article ! I’m amazed at exactly how varied everyone’s rides are… truly goes to show how diverse the paultan.org crew is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Pug 208 Gti on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:08 am

Hafriz did you traveled along the Sungai Buloh highway last weekend? Saw a Fiat Bravo GT which is a rare car and thinking this guy has taste. Followed the car for a while, glad to know it was you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Marc Lee on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:24 am

ALL using manual i think?

• nabill (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 2:27 am

This article enhances the connection between the readers and the writers, n that can only be a good thing… Cars really are a big part of us…we might luve n hate certain cars or brands bt we all share the same enthusiasm… Well, we all unite hating the crap out of sam loo i suppose!!

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:40 am

What I find really interesting is how the cars relate so much to the personalities of the owners-for the most part.

Like Hafriz is the most stylish (almost hipster) of the lot, and had a real exotic Italian, and Jonathan Tan loves the Beetle (remember the Driven episode with the Beetle and the Mini) has one too.

But on the other hand, we also have some unexpected choices like Anthony who I must say is giving some of the younger people a run for the money with his ST. I actually would have expected him to be in a CRV or a Lexus ES (memories of the Driven episode with the ES and the i40)

• No offense, but i too thought Anthony drove a camry or lexus ES. While Hafriz drove a pug 208 Gti

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 28, 2014 at 8:03 am

Anthony was promoting the Lexus lar, does not mean that he owns one.

The Lexus is a great buy at RM250k. Quieter, more comfortable, roomier than the 5 series but will never siu kwan and kwai tai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:03 am

Hafiz, gate to say it but I told u so.

Sui Kwan euro kwai tai and no way to repair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:06 am

Looks like Danny Tan is the only one in the mob that has a car with RV : The Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • I wonder who owns the red 3series, golf mk2 and s-class.I thought they are yours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • The car that instantly caught my eye was the Mazda 6, Mr Danny your car looks absolutely CLEAN, i am amazed there is such a clean 6 for that generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Exactly. Tho the front looks abit dated. The interior still looks immaculate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:05 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will last

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 12:16 am

Surrounded by such eye catching metal, I’m surprised that my humble Mazda caught your attention!

• CivicGen8 on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:49 am

I would say that Civic 8 Generation is still the best of the lot considering the exterior and interior still look updated even though it has been 9 years since its launched with the best resale value for its class and the least maintenance problem thus far. I am still driving one. Can still be your everyday car. (Danny, tsk!tsk!)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:26 am

Yeap, the 2007-2013 Civic is the best Civic ever designed, mechanically as well.

Double Wishbone up the front and MacPehrson on the rear

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 12:11 am

Yup, the FD is nice, but no manual :)

• Best article so far.

Shows that the Paultan team is real people with soul and passion for cars who drive real car just like any other Malaysians.

Keep it up guys.

• Elchino on Dec 27, 2014 at 11:27 am

In the same manner, the many who criticize about everything about cars may only be driving a Kancil!

• Fantastic article! Most enjoyable to read! Think you guys should revisit this when everyone changes cars… except for Gregory and Jonathan… somehow, their cars will remain :D

• Lane Tamer on Dec 27, 2014 at 1:07 pm

I think paultan should also make an article on what ministers’ drive. That would be upmost interesting…

• Was it the turban legend’s underpants?

• wayangkulit on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Im amazed that no “car enthusiast” tells Jonathan that his car is a moving coffin yet
    No ABS, EBD, BA, 10 airbags, and VSC

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 28, 2014 at 7:54 am

But its not a kimchi ……

He will never have the hailat look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 28, 2014 at 7:56 am

Its Jonathan Tan that is referenced rite? There are 2 Jonathans

• CyberPatrol on Dec 27, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Happy New Year to PT team.

PT team are “down to earth” guys and passion in auto industry, interesting read and continue to bring exciting auto news. Thumb Up.

Cheers Mate.

• You mean that Danny Tan does not own a TOYOTA??
    So… Danny – you want to buy a CAMRY? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • U guys are lucky in malaysia. At least when u buy a car, u can own it for as long as u want. Not like in singapore where we can only use it for 10 years or pay an obscene amount of money to renew the COE for 10 more years.

• We have a problem called “Proton” in Malaysia. Because of this, car prices gone haywire and are not priced in the right way. For example, a B segment Jap car is priced at the same level with a C segment National car to make the National cars look “competitive”, which in fact are cheaper in foreign country like Australia than in home country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • bongok on Dec 28, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Then why Prius is 139k in thai, Accord is 180K? Where got proton there?

Sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Huh? Those are hybrid lah wei. The prices are similar to Langkawi which is exempted from import and excise duty. Any problem?

• Aiyoyo i tthink u are the ‘bongok’ here. Please go outside and take a deep breath!

• greasemonkey on Dec 28, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Got hide other flashy car at home or not? hehe.

• Be proud of what you all drive. Never compare yourself with others! Thumbs up to each and everyone of you! God Bless!

• potato on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:10 am

I bet those aren’t their only cars.

I kno Paul Tan has at least a Perdana. At least…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Wow a Banana V6?

They are are more Skoda Octavia’s than PV6 on the road these days

• Salamullah on Dec 29, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Now i remembered i bought a used AOC lcd monitor from Hafriz years ago. Who can forget that rare FIAT hahaha

• No more Value on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:21 pm

So many Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo which one is real?

And found out many fansboy of certain brands can’t endure buyers to express their experience. PaulTan is really a good website to see any kind of human being

• Bernard on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:07 pm

What happened to the indian guy??

• Bernard on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Is Danny Tan ……….Sam Loo?

• Ash Menon on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:58 am

I have to say, it makes me happy to see some really well-worn cars in this list. In our frenzy of comparing resale values, a few more HP of power, this-feature-that-feature of the latest cars that come out, sometimes it’s nice to see people who have fallen in love with their cars (or at least allowed it to become a part of their lives).

• Uncle Muthu on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:06 am

Come on la Kereta bawak pergi kerja also you guys want to make fuss… No matter what car you own, there are moments and good or memories with that car…. Do you see in the article these are comparing horsepower or handling… if these guys are not measuring dicks means… Why must you measure for them…

• pok nik on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:30 pm

make that poor 50 hp VW be able to keep up with current traffic by upgrade to 1600 cc engine. you will have no problem cruising at 110-120 km-h. top speed will be around 160 km-h ++.

• Sam young on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:29 am

I only interested wat car does paul tan drives

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 12:53 pm

There is a saying – U can tell a STORY by the car/cars that they own/drive but all I can tell is Anthony Lim/PT.org have open a Pandora box for bashing among commentators here after reading many comments here.

I’m waiting to see the Actual john & Kunta & looking forward to see if it materialize. Good luck to PT.