Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Final Concept unveiled

mitsubishi-lancer-evo-x-final-concept

At the upcoming 2015 Tokyo Auto Salon in January, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Final Concept will debut as the swan song of the legendary high-performance sedan range. Earlier on, the company has confirmed that it will be pulling the plug on the Evo but not before sending it out with a bang.

More than just a concept, this particular model is set to go on sale in limited numbers in the near future. The car is said to arrive dressed only in matte black and featuring 19-inch RAYS forged aluminium wheels, wrapped in Yokohama Advan Neova tyres.

mitsubishi-lancer-evo-x-2

Based on the GSR variant, the Evo X Final Concept will be equipped with a five-speed manual transmission sending all 480 hp to all four wheels. The 2.0 litre, four-cylinder mill puts out more power thanks to the addition of a HKS turbocharger, new intake and exhaust system plus a revamped engine control unit (ECU).

Word is going around that North American fans are set to receive a limited edition Evo as part of the final run before production halts for good. With Mitsubishi claiming this concept as a “street model”, it shouldn’t be a surprise if this is the model to wave farewell on behalf of the firm in America.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:09 pm

When the Proton fanboys talking of smoking others on the road, this is the one they should get.

Limited budget? At least get the Inspira. Don’t talk empty with your old Wira/Iswara/Waja, your empty words don’t support Proton, your action does (buy the car).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 60
    • mamat on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:08 pm

why always take proton in the picture when it is clearly a Mitsubishi car… really tired with this same old mentality.be professional…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
    • No more Value on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Like an old folks always talk the same thing. We, the audience are getting bored. You need some new scripts, man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • mitsuton on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Inspira ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • leonardo on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Will we be getting any of these Final Editions?
    WIll the “Evo” name be gone forever or will there be a new replacemnt soon?
    It certainly have made a lasting impact with the ‘Fast and Furious’ movie series.

• rizal on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:38 pm

hope they will make some changes to distinguish itself from inspira..
    love if it has have some curves…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Matrix on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:41 pm

haha. It’s same as my inspira!
    I have tried use my inspira raced evo.

I beaten it!

sometimes, depends on skill, not car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 89
    • zamer on Dec 29, 2014 at 1:32 pm

ya right…then you go and tell Mitsubishi not to produce turbocharged engine anymore because your NA is more powerful aka powderful.

and also go and tell bmw,merc, porsche as well..thanks

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • Matrix on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm

FYI, NA is much better is cornering.

If you don’t know on this, please google it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 44
        • layspotatochips on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:11 am

kind of upset that i am desperately wanna buy the Evo X, but in Malaysia it’s very hard to find with Manual box. every used car selling the SST version.

since day one it came here till today, still can’t find the Manual Evo X. really hope that this version will be available here, but of course the price would be very high, since the Subie’s S206 Nur could cost above RM300k, leveled with pre-owned GTR. sigh…

• amhd87 on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Cool story bro

• One who really owns the Evo X on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:43 pm

It’s not the same. Don’t bluff. The fenders and roof ribs differ. The rear bumper differs. The wheelbase differs slightly. The steering wheel, the interior, the gear console, all differs. Unless you get a full makeover of the fenders and stuffs inside just so you can look like one. Real car enthusiasts know well when they look at an Evo.

It doesn’t matter if you changed the crank pulley, air intake, BOT, exhaust system, etc. You can’t outmatch a stock Evo X.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Matrix on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:55 pm

I just Bot my car, can beaten evo.

No need to mod so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Did you blow your cvt?

• DonkeyKong on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:43 am

What rubbish, just BOT and you think you can out-handle and out-pace a real Evo? Evo X has a twin-clutch SST with AWD.. not just any AWD, mind you, but with an active center diff and a rear diff that has AYC. And your FWD CVT Inspira with BOT can outrun and out-turn an Evo, with just FWD, no LSD, no torque vectoring?

Yeah right.

• Hahahahaha on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:56 am

Maybe the EVO you just beat is also Inspira Converted to EVO Bodykit….

• Three Pedals on Dec 29, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Oh u mean u were driving full throttle at 140 km/h in 4th gear before entering a corner, while the Evo X were driving 80 km/h relaxly in 5th gear while enjoying night air, u are right, then.

• Matrix on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:54 pm

FYI, inspira suspension is tuned by lotus.
        Much more better than Evo at cornering.

I am 5th gear cornering and enjoying, while evo at 4th or 3rd gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
        • Really on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:22 pm

So you’re telling us that your 138 hp 1.8MT Inspira had beaten the mighty 300 hp 2.0twin-scroll turbocharged Evo? Man..you gotta be kiddin’ me..

Or maybe you’re just overtaked a cruising 100kmh Evo, or maybe a parked Evo?

Or maybe you’re just being sarcastic, just to spend time to make fun and fool of yourself..

And oh yes, your Eng s**ks man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Matrix on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Kid, i am sure your are studying college or secondary.

By using ” And oh yes, your Eng s**ks man! ” to show yourself very educated.

Please stop being childish. OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
        • policeman on Dec 30, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Buat malu Inspira owner je.

Duk diam-diam.

• rizal on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:32 pm

if i was in that evo..i’ll probably do the same..just let u go..
      not worth a challenge lor…

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 10:58 pm

(To fellow paultan.org commenters)
      This is just another troll, guys. Certainly he didn’t beat an Evo X in a race. I’m quite sure there was no race.

Don’t feed him. Otherwise, his ego will eventually eclipse the forums.

• Battu on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:53 am

unfortunately, here in paultan people love to feed trolls, hence the birth of so many troll such as this sucker and sam loorrrrrrr

• DonkeyKong on Dec 29, 2014 at 12:41 pm

The Evo is gone but the Inspira will live on.. for another 10-15 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • what is the reason behind 5 gears? I always believe performance cars should have 6 gears (min) close ratio for spirited driving. or else 6th gear is for cruising, which may lower FC.

• Cost control. No point investing in a legacy product (that soon they will stop production).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • blackbox on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Japanese culture, always one gear less like VIOS and Camry 4 gear only.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:00 pm

While saying that, the top-spec Camry has 6 gears…but the number of airbags for top-spec still 4 lah. Haha.

• GSRvsMR on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:37 pm

This is an entry-level Evo, called GSR, which features 5-speed Manual gearbox for 3-pedal enthusiast.

6-speed auto DC-SST is reserved for the flagship Evo, called MR, that provides more specs(and faster too!)than the Evo GSR.

Unlike Subaru, which their entry-level is a 5-speed auto, or CVT, and their flagship is a 6-speed DC-MT.

Nonetheless, the recently launched 480hp GSR is quite remarkable, don’t know whether they’re gonna provide with the MR ones or not.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I don’t think we can buy it outright in Malaysia though.

• No more Value on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Difference???

• apaapajelah on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Dulu Malaysian very crazy with Mitsubishi cars. Wira mau jadi evo, iswara mau jadi evo, kancil also mau jadi evo.. very obses with evo. Now with many choices of car sell in Malaysia the evo brand also slowdown. Dulu Malaysian tak gila Golf, Fiesta,Clio or Swift.. that why dulu evo owner very arrogant on the road.. waa mentang2 kereta laju banyak eksen maa.. now try laa beat golf gt or scirocco let see who eat smoke! The moral is, many choices of cars is good, the company now can not suka2 jual mahal, spec cincai, if they do the buyer will buy their rivals..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Really on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm

480 hp? That’s a very healthy increase from the ‘regular’ Evo with just 295 hp. Good thing it’s offered with the manual only. If equipped with dual clutch SST, the power and torque would need to be tuned down to preserve the gearbox.

It will be a sad day indeed when the Evo line is finally discontinued at number 10. So, fans, enjoy it while it still lasts.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:48 am

The Evo 1/2/3 lived on far beyond their years as the multitudes of Wiralution we see on our roads. Don’t worry, Inspiralution will carry on this tradition for another 20 years!

There are some wolves in sheeps’ clothing as it is.. almost-stock appearance Inspiras with full Evo X powertrain transplants.. but these are far outnumbered by sheeps in wolves clothings, of course.

• layspotatochips on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:14 am

kind of upset that i am desperately wanna buy the Evo X, but in Malaysia it’s very hard to find with Manual box. every used car selling the SST version.

since day one it came here till today, still can’t find the Manual Evo X. really hope that this version will be available here, but of course the price would be very high, since the Subie’s S206 Nur could cost above RM300k, leveled with pre-owned GTR. sigh…

• llsaw on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:24 am

Err “Yokohama Volk Racing G25 tyres”?

• lancer ori on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:24 pm

All potong fan r low mentality always give stupid comments.insipirated r suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • original on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Finally people know the difference coz inspirated r suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • undertaker (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Virus protong fans menyibuk sggh tetamu tak dundang inspirated never same with an original.r u blind? Original always smart&macho looking good but pirated r cacat looking & sakit mata pandang nk copy tp nmpk cacat hahaha

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Inspiralotion wiralution or protonglution r dreaming shok sndiri.only pariah get it.RIP u all hehehe