SPIED: Kia KX3 B-segment SUV in full production trim

Kia_KX3_SUV_01

The Kia KX3 has been spotted in China wearing its full production guise. Taken from Chinese auto website Autohome, these fully undisguised photos confirm that Kia’s B-segment SUV stays true to the KX3 concept shown at the 2014 Guangzhou motor show recently.

And that’s a good thing. The only obvious change from concept to production is the shape of the front foglamps. The rest of it went through the inevitable toning down (smaller wheels, different light graphics, less showy grille, etc.), but overall it’s very faithful to the concept. Unlike certain Subarus

According to the report, the KX3 shares the same platform with the similarly sized, yet-to-be-launched Hyundai ix25. It measures in at 4,270 mm long, 1,780 mm wide and 1,630 mm tall, with a 2,590 mm wheelbase.

Two 1.6 litre petrol engines will be offered – a naturally-aspirated unit with 123 hp and 151 Nm, and a turbocharged version that makes 200 hp and 264 Nm of torque. The less powerful engine can be paired to either a six-speed manual or automatic gearbox, while the turbocharged variant is matched to Kia’s new seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

For now, the Kia KX3 is said to be a China-only model. But, wouldn’t you think it’ll make a great addition to Kia Malaysia’s line-up? Imagine it slotting below the Sportage, to go against the Ford EcoSport, Peugeot 2008 and the upcoming Honda HR-V and Mazda CX-3. Would there be any takers?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• The exterior looks too hard trying to be a porsche SUV wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 29, 2014 at 2:21 pm

The front lights looks like from a certain Porsche…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • nonameeee on Dec 29, 2014 at 2:30 pm

I’ll take the turbocharged 200hp model thank u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:18 pm

It will have 200hp for the first 10 minutes.

Thereafter, you will be the horsepower pushing the car to the road shoulder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • intermilan on Dec 29, 2014 at 2:33 pm

The front looks rather unattractive, trying too hard to emulate the Sportage success?

Overall, Kia SUVs look all too similar.. will face the same not-so-successful fate as the new Sorento perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Both the CX3 and HRV look so much better than this. Unusual for Kia, as they’ve been making good-looking cars. Has Kia lost its magic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • No more Value on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:58 pm

You have your own opinion but I don’t think this is not good looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:53 pm

You compare kimchis with China and India makes, this is what we call apple with apple comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Maseratits on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:15 pm

I’m waiting for Sam Loo’s “kimchi no RV” comment :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Please buy the Hyundai version.

It can at least be traded in. RV another story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • hakim on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:34 pm

The first thing came in my mind when i see the picture is, porsche cayyene.. Did u guys have the same thought too?

• it looks like a cute version porsche Cayyene..:)

• ong chin aun on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:23 pm

We can only admired , cos B- Segment car comes to M’sia, becomes A-segment car’s price .???. All sorts of duties,n taxes, boosted up the price. Afraid to face the challenges, coward n no prospects. How far U cN GO ???. M’sia will be left behind by many Asian countries like Indo, Siam n others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • KarNat on Dec 29, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Seems like the Koreans are running out of talent when it comes to styling…first the new Sonata which looks more dated than the current one, now this. KX3 looks like a less attractive 2008, and the Peugeot ain’t a looker either.

• Josh Ling on Dec 29, 2014 at 7:18 pm

the shape and design of the grille and the indicator reminds me of the original Subaru B9 Tribeca instead. and its headlights do look like cayenne and macan.

i think the look will grow on us soon.

• ong chin aun on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Korean cars are now very advanced in technology n stylist plus sporty. Fact is fact. M’sia will be lacked behind in the next decade. Hai is very pathetic to know people still water running deep.

• farhat on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:55 pm

My first thought; a next generation Daewoo Tacuma. You know, the only daewoo we used to see as KLIA taxis back in the early 2000s..

• ipoh lad on Dec 30, 2014 at 7:49 am

If you can’t afford Porsche Cayenne buy this LOL!

• wahhh!!previously AUDI-like,now PORSCHE-like.come on KIA come out with new KOUP.:))

• Sammy on Dec 30, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Wow… this is how a bastard child of Cayenne and Picanto would look like…

• 4WD tu!