Honda City Hybrid seen in Malaysia, launching soon?

honda-city-hybrid-spied-malaysia copy

The Honda City Hybrid has been spotted near Jaya One, PJ – we thank reader Kenny Loh for the photo. Yup, the JDM Honda Grace‘s LED tail lamps are a giveaway, and the Melaka trade plate leaves little doubt as to the unit’s origin – Honda Malaysia’s Pegoh plant.

The Honda City Hybrid was confirmed for Malaysia early this year. It’s set to be locally-assembled (CKD) at the new No 2 Line in Pegoh, alongside the Jazz petrol, previous-gen Jazz Hybrid and City petrol, and very probably in the future, the second-gen Jazz Hybrid, HR-V petrol and HR-V Hybrid.

The car was supposed to launch this year, but issues with the Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) one-motor hybrid system and the ECU – both shared with the second-gen Jazz Hybrid and HR-V Hybrid – had to be ironed out first. With its sighting in Malaysia, are we one step closer to its launch?

Perhaps more importantly, since tax exemptions for CKD hybrids will go on until 2015 ends, is it too much to hope for the Honda City Hybrid to undercut the top-spec RM90,800 City V petrol?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• najib on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:11 pm

apa guna? mahal giler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Terima kasih Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • King of B-Segment reigns on on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:03 pm

2015 another year for the best selling B-Segment car Honda City to populate on Malaysian roads yet again! Honda City Car of the Year 2014 and will be Car of the Year 2015!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:50 pm

With tax exemption, it should be priced below RM100k, like our Prius C last time.

Why Prius C/Prius so expensive now? Thanks to Proton and its high tax protection.

Proton should free Durex with their new car, coz PROTECTION always da BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
      • Allen on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:30 pm

You could ask UMW to invest the CKD faciltiies for hybrid model so that we can enjoy tax exempted hybrid car.

If Honda and Mercedes can, why can’t Toyota?
        Stop blaming Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Allen on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:31 pm

And I doubt you know that Proton cars need to pay excise duty as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Gojeng on Dec 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm

They know, but they will keep yapping the same thing over and over again until the rest of us muntah already.

• Jambuladdin on Dec 31, 2014 at 1:12 am

We know. We know Proton cars need to pay only 5% – 8% excise duty while other car manufacturers need to pay 17% – 25% or more! Why others need to pay more?

http://paultan.org/2014/12/04/khairy-jamaluddins-proposed-youth-first-vehicle-scheme/

• Mention only p1, why no mention about p2? Why?

Why Japs China US Europe also have sort of regulations, why no mention about it?

Because of p1?

• hamsat on Dec 31, 2014 at 11:44 am

hello,

proton only need to pay ‘lip service’ excise duty…

as for tax, I doubt proton cars had any actual tax in them (except sales tax 6%) price comparison between Langkawi and Peninsular Malaysia prooved all

• Peter How on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:13 pm

What is the motor hybrid issue about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • The hybrid tax exempt policy expired or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • kzm (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Nice! good for consumer

• This is one worth it car to buy! Even a petrol version of city is still worth it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • elson on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:27 pm

so happy to hear that, but the price will bounce back my excited

• meng meng on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:28 pm

So…. 130k-150k
    Who want to buy?
    Hmmmm……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Iron out the issues in your JDM market hybrids before you decide to sell here else more headaches.

• Too expensive on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Below 100k pls

• Lpost on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:51 pm

This will be ckd model, no point selling cbu unit wit high price tag. They should price this model rm85-90k due to hybrid ckd tax break.

• guess it wont be expensive since its a CKD, just like previous jazz hybrid CKD.

Another bad news to ancient 4AT Vios.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:17 pm

CKD hybrids get some sort of tax exemptions correct? Anyways, would be great to see more hybrids on Malaysian roads. The fuel price may be getting lower, but eventually it’ll go back up.

• iqbal1987 on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:17 pm

locally assembled hybrid car still tax free right? i see jazz hybrid still selling at 90k.

• Dont expect to be cheap. If they sell below 100k who wanna buy normal City?

• Hopeful on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:02 pm

You should say if they priced it like japan….
      our P1 and P2 lingkup overnight.

• Hocus Pocus on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Kerana P1, kami beli mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • In Thai Accord 180K, kerana p1 also kah?

Kahkah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Boleh on Dec 31, 2014 at 1:23 am

Hahaha. You’re trying to use Honda Accord Hybrid price to justify Proton? If Accord Hybrid is sold here, it won’t be 180k in Malaysia, it’ll be more than 200k! So, yes, it is because of P1. The people know the truth

• That’s normal Accord price lor, not hybrid. Compare it with price here.

• bobby86 (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I guess miti might extended ckd hybrid tax exemption after 2015 or eev incentives? :)

• Hopeful on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Please lar…
    This only selling in Japan for RM56k.
    Don’t know who to thank for the much higher cost here in Malaysia.
    Dulu cakap high tax due to subsidies on other things. Now free floating already, how come no free tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • good move from honda to CKD this new B segment hybrid. a good upgrade from the old Jazz 1.3 IMA hybrid. However, a few issues honda malaysia is yetto iron out:-

1) the quality of CKD hondas are really bad. the new city is riddled with sub-par assembly quality & materials…

2) This new get hybrid driveterrain is using dual clutch transmission & have proven to be problematic in overseas market…

• kiki lalaa on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:16 pm

this car might be expensive because most of the parts maybe imported but having the ckd hybrid exemption, so can reduce the price more… hopefully worth to buy as now petrol using floating price.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Most part look very similar to normal city…oni certain part is different.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:44 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, the owner will not have a hailat face

• CheapoRon95 on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Difficult to sell here. Unless Honda priced on par with it’s V spec sibling. Then it makes sense for buyer an outright reasonable alternative.

• tiger on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:59 pm

if hybrid so much more expensive than petol version (not few thousand but tens of thousands) me wonder who will buy, all the savings u pay upfront to gomen tax

• nzain on Dec 30, 2014 at 6:29 pm

i heard these model only for japan market but if to be release it here..might be great…adore their headlamp..damn nice but price wise probably higher than we expected hoh

• Urzu3 on Dec 30, 2014 at 6:55 pm

hopefully Honda Malaysia didn’t ripped off its specs..

• Anonymous on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Since Insight no more, RM100k will be the price.

• zamer on Dec 30, 2014 at 10:31 pm

i noticed a 2 year old Honda Insight has lost 50% of its value. anybody care to share why it is very badly depreciate?

u can verify at mudah where 2012 model selling for 48k when brand new is around 90k-100k.

it is just 2 years..what if 4 years? seems going to junkyard faster than other car

• AVH (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 2:40 am

Because the battery is due to be replace(5 years)…. RM6k for the Nickle Battery in the insight. Also Insight aren’t the most desirable of the Hondas.

• i think 55K should be the correct price point

• Krasher on Dec 31, 2014 at 12:57 am

Yes, for under 100k!
    It will be RM99,800

• tiger on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:50 am

i tink the gomen is killing the hybrid market wit ridiculous tax and prices…Honda Civic 1.5 Hybrid selling for RM185K vs about RM110K+ for petrol version…and many buyers probably didint realized the steep depreciation later due to cost to replace the battries

• Sammy on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:37 am

Hope this comes with an electric compressor rather then the current one in Jazz that shuts down when engine shuts off.

Price wise, I am not optimistic… it won’t be cheaper then the current City.

• Sorry if i am out of the topic. I am a 5 feet tall girl. Would like to know is it difficult for my height to drive a Honda City car.

• Will City Hybrid still come in? I wait till neck long long d…