Theophilus Chin’s Top 10 favourite renders of 2014

Theo top 10 fave renders

It’s the end of the year, which means that a proliferation of top five or 10 lists can be expected – our friend Theophilus Chin has come up with his own top 10 list, picking his personal favourite renderings of 2014.

The selection originally ran via his Facebook page on Christmas Day, but we thought it’d be great to share it, and Theo has graciously given us the go-ahead to run the lineup here – the accompanying notes for the renders are his. What do you think of the automotive manipulator’s personal top 10?

10. Mazda2 MPS (August 27)
Mazda2 MPS 10

I like this because it’s not something I’ve done before, rendering a mini hot hatch. I think this was also the first time I de-chromed a car and replaced the bits with a glossy piano black effect.

9. Nissan Almera Facelift (October 11)

Nissan Almera Facelift 9

I like this one cause it’s a huge improvement over the current Almera/Sunny in terms of looks. And quite frankly, it seems possible to give the car such expensive facelift to improve its look and overall proportion.

8. Proton Iriz R3 (November 8)

Proton Iriz R3 8

I surprised myself with this one. Every time I render something for Paul Tan’s Automotive News, I’d stress myself out because that site has some of the nastiest commenters, most of which are not constructive.

But this came along, and I’m actually proud of what I did and cared little of what they said. Besides, this does look hot. Oh, I’m also proud to have been able to remove noise and reflections from the surface and windscreen.

7. Audi TT Avant Concept (December 18)

Audi TT Avant Concept 7

I really really like the simplicity of this one, and it got shared in many other popular sites like WorldCarFans and Carscoops. If only Audi notices. It really needs to give its cars a more distinctive design.

6. Mazda MX-5 Coupe (September 15)

Mazda MX-5 Coupe 6

Many did ask why this looks like a two-door notchback and not a three-door lift-back. I simply wanted it to look like a smaller RX-8. In fact, much of the rear’s shape is borrowed from the RX-8. The MX-5‘s looks has certainly grown on me; I was sceptical when this car was launched.

5. Jaguar XE Sportbrake (September 30)

Jaguar XE Sportbrake 5

It’s not surprising to see three estates and wagons renderings in my list. I love such body styles. When I rendered this, I made sure it didn’t look like a scaled-down XF Sportbrake, especially with those unnecessary black rear pillars. If there’s anything I’d change, it’d perhaps be to lengthen the rear overhang.

4. Lexus RC GT (May 29)

Lexus RC GT 4

This was unexpected. I personally didn’t expect this to turn out looking as well as it did. I was worried this would have been a bulbous whale like the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe. Well, one can argue those rear seats are useless with that low roof. Still, in the world of virtual manipulation, one cares less of practicality.

3. Dodge Challenger Truck (April 15)

Dodge Challenger Truck 3

Simple, clean lines. And the fact that I like trucks and utility coupe gets this to the number three spot in my favourites list for 2014.

2. Skoda Fabia Sedan (September 2)

Skoda Fabia Sedan 2

I know many of you are wondering why this is here. And, more surprisingly, why is it number two in the list. It’s because I’m a huge Skoda fan, and I especially love the new Fabia. Though a little tall, I believe the Fabia translates well into a sedan, while not looking awkward like most B-segment hatchbacks that have been made into sedans.

1. Jaguar F-Type Shooting Brake (February 7)

Jaguar F-Type Shooting Brake 1

Hey, this made it to Top Gear. Enough said. Well, that sounds cocky. It’s my favourite because it’s a shooting brake. And the F-Type Coupe‘s basic proportion and size is so perfect that turning it into a shooting brake simply makes this, at least to my eyes, drop dead gorgeous.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 30, 2014 at 12:26 pm

No kimchis?

Perhaps kimchi traders like me would rate as below (from most profitable) :-

1) Hyundai Sonata
    2) Hyundai Elantra
    3) Hyundai Tucson
    4) Hyundai Santa Fe
    5) Hyundai i10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Proton should hire Theophilus Chin as designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Pakcik Schreyer on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Theophilus Chin as Proton chief designer = confirm Proton sales 10 million units globally.

If not, sorry lah Proton stuck with 130K car sales jaguh kampung.

• tommy on Dec 30, 2014 at 12:57 pm

I actually hate looking at his renders…sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • trollmaster3000 on Dec 31, 2014 at 2:41 am

you must be a proton employee then.. probably from the design department..

• tommy on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:25 am

Sorry to disappoint ya but I’m not. His renders may look better than protons but it doesn’t change the fact that they still look bad.

• shawal on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:25 pm

yep…the jag looks good , its featured in caranddriver…
    good job theo..

• Perodua Dua on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Mana Axia Turbo RS GT Advanced Version SE ?

• just wandering what type of software you use to do the rendering?or is it just Photoshop?

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Mostly Photoshop. Though sometimes Illustrator to render the panel gaps, or outlines and highlights.

• ilman on Dec 30, 2014 at 1:51 pm

no honda city? too bad… huhu

• “Every time I render something for Paul Tan’s Automotive News, I’d stress myself out because that site has some of the nastiest commenters, most of which are not constructive.”

Ouch!! Love this statement, sad but true. Alas, don’t mind them, just do what u love and what u think is right. U cannot satisfy everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Internal renderings on Dec 30, 2014 at 2:05 pm

I could be wrong, but I never recall seeing Theo with internal/dashboard renderings.

Time is ripe to be more inclusive Theo..

• Dapat betis mau peha on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Now asking Theo to do internal renderings. Then what? Clay models? Full scale prototype?

Even if Theo can do it all, Proton never hire him lah. Fool.

• Boo Hoo on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Good job Theo,

Haters will be haters, just continue do what you do best. “Padan muka” to all those bashers, macam la pandai sangat. These people only see the negatives in everything, negative people will only attract negative people. Are you reading this daily bashers in Paultan?

• Pakcik Schreyer on Dec 30, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Good job Proton for not hiring Theophilus Chin as chief designer.

Wasting talent in front of you and losing opportunity to sell 10 million cars globally.

The difference betwen 10 million cars & 130K cars is a great car designer: Mr Theophilus Chin.

• Mr Stigg on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Theo… pls render or illustrate a real and virgin ideas of yours. Dont do a facelift for all cars manufacturer. People always say u are a good designer but for me… u are only illustrator… please show to us your capabilities… if not.. people like Pakcik Schreyer is still confusing between illustrator and designers… Show to us Theo…we need guy like u to proved that we have a good designer for our local car manufacturer..please.. you can do it….

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Dec 30, 2014 at 4:50 pm

It is true I am merely an illustrator that digitally modify cars. Heck I don’t even know how to render in 3D. But believe me when I say there are talented product and automotive designers in Malaysia. Look at Proton Iriz, it’s a very well designed product. Have faith my friend, Malaysians are talented, just that some decision makers aren’t.

• sssangyong on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton never listen to others, why bother about Theo? He just sharing ideas.

If Proton can waste money on big losses, they can hire Chris Bangle last time. Now too late lah, better keep on syok sendiri.

• Tepat Sekali on Dec 30, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Mazda2 Sedan render by Theo is almost perfect prediction. 99% hit bulls eye.

• Hi Theo, i am a fan of wagons and shooting brakes because their long roof lines allow for more smoother look. Anyway i do like your renderings. Have always wondered how you managed the colour shades of glossy paintwork. Keep up the good artwork.

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:44 am

Thanks SWT, Honestly colour matching isn’t my forte. Thus it is crucial in selecting a donor part of similar colour, shadow and highlight to the car I am rendering on. Sometimes I desaturate the whole rendering and refill the colour to make it more consistent.

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 1:49 am

F-Type wagon.

I just wish someone at Coventry will pass the message to Ian Callum and have it done. 10/10 will buy if I had the cash.

• bubbaonsteroids on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:59 am

Dear Theo,

Great job done in 2014, Hoping for greater ones in the coming year..
    [ request : create an app for guys like us to make some basic renderings on our mobile devices ]

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:42 am

Thank you bubbaonsteroids. May 2015 be better for everyone.

• Hi Theo, thought Mazda6 Touring one of the nicest looking cars on the road even nicer than the sedan but back lamps etc seemed too small? Too fussy? How would you have rendered it?

• Sorry not the lamps , the chrome bar?

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Well, perhaps I’ll extend the chrome bars further into the tail lamps like as illustrated here:
      https://www.facebook.com/theophilus.chin/photos/np.109746427.1095872146/775639059138838/