SPIED: Next generation G11 BMW 7-Series revealed

g11-bmw-7-series-leaked-0005

Here it is, the next generation BMW 7-Series. These pix were uploaded to the Facebook fan page of a Swiss BMW fan club, and were first published by AutoWeek Netherlands.

The model here is the G11, which is the short wheelbase companion to the long wheelbase G12. Malaysia will likely get the long wheelbase exclusively just as it is with the current F01/F02 model, although grey importers do bring in the short wheelbase as well. The 730d badging on the rear indicates a 3.0 litre six-cylinder turbodiesel under the hood.

Speaking of hoods, the shut line now neatly meets the kidney grille and the headlamps, which essentially hides it. This is very different from the F01/F02 where the hood shut line made itself very obvious positioned a few inches aft of the nose of the car.

On an overall, the slimmer look of the car’s headlamps and tail lamps reminds me of the old E38 7-Series, which was the last ‘slim’ 7-Series before things really bloated up with the E65/E66 and the F01/F02.

This leaked car doesn’t have its ignition on, so we can’t see how the lights are lit up, but previous spyshots that we’ve ran can give us an idea.

The graphics employ thinner solid bars for both the tail lamps and the new ‘question mark’-shaped daytime running lights. BMW previewed the new DRL design in a few concepts – the BMW Vision Future Luxury concept, the BMW Concept X4 and the BMW Concept 4 Series Coupe.

g11-bmw-7-series-leaked-0002

The interior looks simpler than expected, especially when compared to what Mercedes-Benz has done with the W222’s interior. We’ve already had some kind of idea of it before this – previous spyshots have revealed a partly disguised interior before this.

Think F30 dashboard design, scaled up and given shiny metal buttons, and you get the idea. We also see that the steering wheel’s airbag cover has been given a leather wrap, which is a nice touch. Rumours are that BMW will even offer a leather-wrapped engine cover with the new 7-er.

bmw-7-series-IDRIVE

We don’t see the iDrive display turned on in the leaked photos, but we can refer to our previously published spyshots which show a completely revamped iDrive menu, this time featuring a horizontal list of a big icons instead of the current vertical text menu.

Word is that you not only get to control the new iDrive with the rotary knob, but it will be touch screen as well, which is similiar to what is available with Mazda Connect. Apparently there will also be a front passenger infotainment system – we wonder if this is a separate tablet or perhaps a multi-angle view display like Mercedes-Benz’s COMAND.

What do you think of the new BMW 7-Series so far?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam loo na teak on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Looks like a Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • Euro Five on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:38 pm

S class for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:20 am

It may look like a Camry, but it will certainly not be as durable, reliable and dependable as one.

Afterall, this is a sui kwan euro, so get ready with a second car when this one lands itself in the workshop for months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • Toilet Sam on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:40 pm

HOI ! SAM TOILET LOO… You drive Toyota… pls shut up. You are not qualified to comment about things you cannot afford and know little of.

Anjing menyalak bukit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • this is why S-Class is always leading in this segment…

• agreed Merc are now having much impressive design…the BMW new interior is too predictable, their avant-garde design style need to evolve coz its boring

• the back 90% looks lik Lexus ES….piece of shit. S Class looks better.

• pewpewpew on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:19 pm

can bmw get any duller than this??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:41 pm

vw passat is that you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Very nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • Autobarbarian on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:46 pm

So boring. Basically a stretched out F30. They did the opposite of merc who shrunk the s class to make the c.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • diesel powah on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:16 pm

the rear almost resembles the current camry model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • After looking at G11, I personally prefer the S-Class better.

Anyways, its an improvement over the previous gen 7-series (F01).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • SOLIDS SOLIDS SOLIDS………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Lane Tamer on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Definitely, it is for the cronies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • towkay on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:35 pm

And for towkay who do not turunkan harga barang at their shops. Buat bising sahaja tahu.

• U dont think honest businessman cant afford this? I know many businessman who earn honest living drives s-class or 7 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:38 pm

who, you ah? dei macha dont try to cover up the things you do by spreading your gospel on paultanorg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Proton cronies?

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:15 pm

I used to think the same when I was young and drove a Proton.
      Many honest people who run business properly drive S-class and 7-series, without eating and feeding (makan suap atau kasi suap).
      BTW 7-series is good as a passenger car. More safety equipment/structure and sound insulation from tyres in place of leather-wrapped engine cover. I have not opened the bonnets of my vehicles for ‘don’t know’ how long already.

• McBoleh on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Looks like Bmw is planning to give away the premium sales no.1 for next couple of years. I can’t find any good reasons to get a bmw as my next car candidate. CKD C250 AMG..come to papa..haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:12 pm

The 7 series have a new name.

BMW Camry 7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:21 am

Aiyoh, this one will end up behind Tow Mater most of the time lar

• shawal on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Targets a different kind of customers…
    Customers who would want to pay more for a large 3 series….

• BLT_CLUB on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:26 am

At this level of competition, it just doesn’t cut it. While Merc models seem to get more exciting, BMW looks to be regressing. The interior looks so dull compared to the S-Class. I won’t be surprised if this loses out to Audio even.

• DrRif on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:01 pm

OMG, I have owned a 320, 520 and 530 in the 90s, all from new, and all great to drive and to look at. Mercs used to be ugly in the 90s.

But now, BMWs mostly ugly: X4, X5, 3er, 7er, only 6GranC and 5er look OK. Mercs mostly great looking, A, C, S, CLS, CLA, SLS all look great.

BMW designers blind, I am not going to be buying one..thnx..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • No more Value on Jan 01, 2015 at 10:02 pm

At least M3,M4, M6 and Z4 still looking good…. Now mercs really have the best look among other competitor.

• DrRif on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:02 pm

OMG, I have owned a 320, 520 and 530 in the 90s, all from new, and all great to drive and to look at. Mercs used to be ugly in the 90s.

But now, BMWs mostly ugly: X4, X5, 3er, 7er, only 6GranC and 5er look OK. Mercs mostly great looking, A, C, S, CLS, CLA, SLS all look great.

Why would anyone buy this new 7er over the new S-CLASS????

BMW designers blind, I am not going to be buying one..thnx..

• panjang on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Can this thing drive itself?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:23 am

This car is probably programed to drive itself to the workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Josh Ling on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:47 am

Sam Loo, oh man, you definitely have a way to make my day!! lol……

• nabill (Member) on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:16 pm

might not look pretty bt it definatly has personality , its so big and bloated it fills up the any car park bay…
    i agree the E38 7series stil the best looking…classic and beautiful…

• roxas on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:39 pm

rear looks so camry

• Josh Ling on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:43 am

the rear is a killer for me, although it has similar design with the camry. have to wait till the official photos come up then can judge the whole thing though.

• This is not a pretty car..
    Now lets see what Audi comes up with..

• west end boys on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:17 am

time to sell my 7series so can get good resale value

• sreek on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:46 am

Guys I know this is not the right place but should I get the e300 bluetec hybrid or wait for the next generation e class?will it look very different?

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:52 am

I’m sorry but this by far is one of the few ugly BMWs, falling together with the E65 variant that looked so confused.

What were they thinking when the Mercedes S class for me looks so much better. The BMW will most likely be a better drivers car but at the price point, I would rather have a much better interior. And what’s with the rear… And the front, looks confusing, I see the BMW’s new corona rings with the flat top and bottom only looks nice on the smaller cars and SUVs, even the F10 with the squint lights is boderline odd. The classic circular ones add just that human personality to the car.

• BLT_CLUB on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:33 am

At the 7 Series/ S Class level, being a driver’s car is probably moot. These are basically limos, why would handling come into play? The customer base for these cars would have more than one car in their garage. Handling is probably handled by a Cayman S (at the minimum). No point having a driver’s car for the “driver”.

• Sammy on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:26 am

“What do you think of the new BMW 7-Series so far?”

Ans: Can I have the new S-Class thanks.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:10 am

A bit underwhelming looking effort from BMW when Mercedes and Audi makes amazing full sized luxury cars (the S Class & A8). Its not ugly, but the others are doing it better.

• Jules on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:13 am

Hmm got 716i? lol

• Rear part looks like Camry

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I kind of like the rear end – looks on par with all recent BMW models but the front looks off a bit though.

As for the interior…my gosh, BMW didn’t bother to update their interior as how Mercedes did with their S Class did they? Sure it looks different but not all that different.

All the best in selling this BMW, I certainly hope you don’t repeat the same for the upcoming all new 5 and 3 Series.

• pows lee on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:12 pm

bmw design maybe is old school abit . but when u driving bmw experience is better then other competitor .

• olio benzina on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:38 pm

It’s ‘king oogly. That’s what I think.

Stretching the inner headlight corners to meet the grille was done by Peugeot on their 406 facelift long ago with same aesthetic result.

Rear end looks heavy like a loaded diaper.

Tailpipes from Lexus LS460.

Should have not reverted to central gearstick just because new S class copied column mounted gear selector.

Another disappointing looking large German model to go with the new Audi Q7.

• The S-class looks to have thrashed the 7-series even before the 7-series is launched.

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:28 pm

People like Sam Loo cannot change the minds of potential buyers of Merc/BMW/other luxurious brands except perhaps Lexus; no matter what he said.
    We buy what we want/desire.

• With 730Li equipped with 2.0litre. I hope BMW price for entry level 7 will be cheaper than before. If price increasing, then there is no point to charge our tax based on engine capacity. Might as well just go with CO2 emission?

Besides, when is the price of car goina reduced? G isnt fulfilling it’s promises.

• Sandy on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:07 am

May be too early to judge, but the exterior design really looks quite distasteful. Really not a fan of the ‘headlamps fused merging into grill’ look, for starters.

• gibol on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:08 pm

hey guys, 7 series G11 is compared by S class ? ? ?

are you kidding me?.

S class level is a Rolls Royce & Bentley now