Audi to invest €24 billion to beat BMW, Mercedes-Benz; to feature 60 models by 2020 – report

Audi prologue

In its ever-intensifying bid to beat BMW and Mercedes-Benz, Audi will invest a total of €24 billion (RM102 billion) over the next five years – a chunk of which will be directed to the development “of electric mobility, connectivity and lightweight construction,” as Bloomberg understands.

About €16.8 billion (RM71 billion) or 70% of the total is said to be channeled into expanding Audi’s range of models in its portfolio. The company aims to have at least 60 models by 2020, an increase that will see the German marque develop and introduce a new model to fill every possible niche.

The ensemble of new models responsible for Audi’s onslaught will be comprised of a flagship sedan based on the Audi prologue concept as well as junior crossover, rumoured to be labelled as the Q1, that is expected to see the light of day in 2016.

Although Audi is second only to BMW in terms of global sales (a gap of 42,600 units in 2014), it still trails both BMW and Mercedes-Benz when it comes to performance in the North American arena. As a result, Audi is pinning its hopes on the upcoming Q7 e-tron to steal sales from the Tesla Model X SUV.

Two new assembly plants are also in the works as part of Audi’s aggressive expansion plans. The first is a facility in Mexico – due for completion in 2016 – which will build the Audi Q5 for the North American market. Following that, Audi’s new plant in Brazil is set to assemble the A3 and S3 starting next year.

The aforementioned injection of funds is part of Volkswagen’s main plan to surpass Toyota in global car sales. Under its parent company, Audi will invest a total of €4.8 billion (RM20 billion) annually on the development of new vehicles and technology as well as increasing production capacity on existing models.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Do you really think the Audi can beat BMW & Merc? I doubt they can. Maybe in the super car category but in luxury segment there is always the superior S-Class!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Competition is always better. I believe they’ll make it in the next few years (at least throw BMW off the 2nd spot).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
      • das auto on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:01 am

i think the a4 already beat the 3 series sale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Beat BMW using a lose control FWD, only a wanker believe this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • Dust auto on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Don’t forget Audi is just a VW with 4 condom rings on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Before they can get close to BMW, at that time they already taken over by Volvo.

• No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Seeing you using my name and talk shit was just damn funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Aaron on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Reply to your own post, can you be more funny than this? Nincompoop?

• No more Value on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:13 am

Know the situation first before you talking shit. Stupid

• That’s why they are putting in 24 Billion Euros..
      Either way, it appears the battle in this market is increasingly moving towards more compact vehicles.
      While the flagships remained the S class, A8 and 7 Series, the main driver for the battle between the German 3 will be mainly the small cars..

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:30 pm

That’s a lot of new models being cut from the same sausage…

The thing is, unlike the Mercedes, the A3 looks like a short A4 which then looks like a short A6.

Even BMW’s sausage cutting is not that bad…

• nabill (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:45 pm

If im the G.. I will send a delegate to Audi n discuss with them to spend most of that budget here… But who im i kidding….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Very ambitious of Audi. But please make sure their car is more reliable.

I see alot Audi owner are crying for repairing their car. Same to other Merc and BMW. But Audi the most breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:46 pm

In luxury car market, we are not asking for rock solid reliability/durability, as long as both are reasonable.
      To own luxurious vehicles, we must have big pockets, otherwise we will be crying. This differentiate luxurious vehicles like E-class/5-Series from Alphard/CX9/RX350 and other similarly priced ordinary vehicles. That’s how people look at us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • fanofthisite on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:07 am

oh dear. taukeys all over the world expect their S class , 7’s , Lexus and Bentleys to breakdown fashionably with them in it??

• You are idiot on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Where did you see people crying sending their car to workshops for repair? Are you sure they crying? Please explain?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:48 am

Come to my office area. Cheras desa tun razak. Talk to those workshop and stay there for a month. You see hell out of all recond car.

I bet you dare not touch recond car seeing how they cover the faults for the sake of pleasing the owner.

• You are idiot on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:37 pm

You talk nonsense. Just like your name.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Go buy recond and enjoy yourself.

Hope you dun fxxk it up.

• SamPondan on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Both you idiot and sam loo are toyota sales man. Dont be jealous kalau tengok orang lain pakai kereta luxury. Work hard pakcik.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 04, 2015 at 7:25 pm

I don’t own a toyota and neither a salesman. I own a proton and a bmw. Do your research before you tok kok here.

You can buy anything as you wish. Just don’t fxxk up after all.

• Sean Tan on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:19 pm

What is it so proud to own a proton and BMW with 9 years loan ? Some more recond BMW E46 model.

• tokmoh. on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Their Q7 is gonna fight with new Volvo XC90. The Chinese have deep pockets, so good luck with that!

• Sammy on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:17 pm

To beat BMW and Merc in Malaysia, the fastest way will be to let Proton rebadge your old model… like the A6 hybrid… and call it the Perdana Hybrid. Guarantee you can sell more then Merc and BMW.
    Save you billions in R&D somemore.

• Matrix on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:31 pm

HAHAHA!

Raced most of A and RS series at genting. Can’t even smell my CITY dust. i am just had 3-4 corners, the audi has gone. can’t chased me at all.

Audi have to invest €100 billion more to beat HONDA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • egodriver on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:47 pm

typical pariah driver, I bet they were just driving in their own and didn’t even bother to race with your shitty city. I think you drove past them and thought you won the race… cakap and shyok sendiri.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:10 am

Your City does not worth them to waste their petrol to race with you. Hopefully if you can get yourself a BMW, they may race with you. But normally they won’t because they are educated people not like you pretend to be a racer, put people life at risk in your shitty race with your shitty city.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 03, 2015 at 1:53 am

Hahahaha. Pity you dude. In your world is only honda the best. You smoke everything with your city.

And saddest thing is… you own the cheapest model of honda.

If I’m honda ceo, I thank you for buying honda but I laugh at you too for using the cheapest model to smoke others.

Dude… at least you buy my expensive model like nsx, s2000 or integra to smoke.

Buat malu honda aje.

• No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 2:11 pm

If I’m Honda CEO, I will feel shame if someone use City as a race car. City don’t even have Type R also. If it have type R, maybe we can pretend City is a race car

• Aaron on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:29 pm

The biggest problem here is you are not Honda CEO!!! So don’t talk corc.

• No more Value on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:15 am

Shut up. That is my problem if I want to talk cock or talk your cock.

• fanofthisite on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:12 am

why are you endangering others with your immaturity on the roads?

• Talking about A or RS? My Suprima S can beat you like drinking water! haha… go back accompany your mother la

• I think the greatest barrier would be their FWD technology. BMW and Merc use RWD in their saloons.

That’s also the reason why the japanese firms aren’t that successful.

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Offroader must be truly capable.
    People mover (like Alphard) must be really spacious inside.
    Q7 is neither. Onroad highrider and price wise, Cayenne is the smartest choice (you don’t argue with your 7-seater because it doesn’t serve the purpose, might as well get a proper 5-seater which handles better and speeder without 7 persons).
    60 models are useless if you just design/work inside your offices; for example you can have 100 models and yet your flagship sedan is still less desirable compared to S-class because you do not focus on it.

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:41 pm

I am referring to only Audi in Malaysia! Audi can invest twice the amount for all I care. With their current dealership such as Audi Euromobil in Glenmarie, the service was so bad!

Went there twice to test drive one of their cars as my company was giving me a company car. Twice I went, twice I was disappointed with crappy sales people that don’t even want to take the effort to approach you.

To make matters worst, they did not have the car that I wanted to test drive. TWICE!

They lost one potential customer. So, now… I am a happy owner of a BMW !

So, invest twice or even three times, if the people handling it is wrong, its money down the drain.

• Those small company ‘TO BAD’ cause they invest more on facility (even though still not up todate) rather than invest in Human Capital… This Malaysian Business Altitude dude, Don’t Dare to Loss in building up human capital/resources…

To gain Malaysian buyer TRUST, they should hold/running Training Center on top of Sole Distributor in Malaysia rather than holding Dealer & Services Center…. “TOO GREEDY”….

Now VW Group has been took over, would they do the same mistake as Euromobil or they will invest aggressively in building up Human Capital… wait & see…

• cipanhitam on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:05 am

Give more attention to this man opinion. *Clap clap.
        But sir, you words worth to give attention to.

Ya, we should wait and see as i heard VW improved a lot after so many complaints bout em regarding many of their products made in 2008 until 2011.

• They are counting on the new Q7 in the states, but too bad it’s ugly.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:36 pm

well, first of all, fix the way your car drives (dull), the car looks (all looks the same and audi is kinda losing the sleek style it used to have a8 and q7), fix your service centres and most importantly fix your salespeople. sorry, im still putting my money mercedes first, then volvo, then lexus, then bmw, then inifiniti, then jaguar….then only audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • penang playboy on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Lol, I think you can’t afford any of those. Go back and drive your proton and perodua. Dun comment on card tht you cannot even afford the wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • fanofthisite on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:16 am

wow. rich playboy kid trying to shut up ‘poorer’ ppl is it?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:00 am

yea….at least i can drive proton and perodua…unlike you and your rapid kl…cant even afford…everytime masuk bas curi curi masuk from back door

• No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:13 am

BMW the one who need to fixed their broken design. I dont care they looks the same or not. At least gimme a better look. See how old uncle car Mercedes done to their newest car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • mango on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:18 pm

competition is always good for consumers… with €24 billion can do hell lots development

• EpicFail on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:17 am

Proton uses €24 billion to “launch” just a car.

• Dr. Doom on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:33 pm

invest €24 billion to Barisan Nasional better. Then they can conquear the world!