Mitsubishi Lancer based on Renault-Nissan visualised

mitsubishi-lancer-renault-nissan-theophilus-chin-1

Click to enlarge the renderings.

Back in November, it was reported that Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) was mulling the idea of coming out with a C-segment car based on a Renault-Nissan model to replace the Mitsubishi Lancer, after the latter’s dismal sales run continued in Europe.

The report had indicated that the Renault-Nissan Alliance and MMC had agreed to cooperate on multiple levels, with two new models set to come about as part of that – the first will be based on the Renault Latitude sedan for the North American market, while the second will be a global offering competing against the likes of the Mazda 3 and Honda Civic.

mitsubishi-lancer-renault-nissan-theophilus-chin-2

Working on this basis, Theophilus Chin has come up with a hypothetical Lancer replacement – design cues borrowed from the Outlander PHEV Concept-S feature prominently, from the “X-shaped” front-end and wraparound headlamps to the elongated combination lamp design of the rear, with its cluster running across the bootlid in winged fashion.

However it shapes up, the move for a new car can’t come soon enough for Mitsubishi, in Europe at least – Automotive intelligence firm JATO Dynamics had reported that a mere 2,767 units of the Lancer were sold through September in Europe, compared to more than 396,000 Volkswagen Golfs shifted during the same period.

What do you think of the hypothetical new Lancer? Does it shape up nicely to the eye?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mugen on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Next, rendering of the evo eleven! :-D

• Fiore on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:47 pm

1 year later, Proton will copy it as new Inspira. Smart guys get it.

Then Mitsubishi salesman nearby put sticker ‘Smarter guys buy original’ on every new Lancer window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • Proton never copies.. Would be great if they did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
        • 1MDB (1Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:26 pm

BN cybertroopers will say this car is not halal. Ada elemen Yahudi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:27 pm

There are big difference between REAL SMART and THOUGHT THEY ARE SMART!

Look at Proton and Perodua then you know.

Copy Daihatsu, sell cheap, quality good, car maker happy customer also happy.

Did everything from ground up, sell expensive, unfortunately poor quality, fanboys syok sendiri, Tun happy, but can’t sell. Car maker not happy, customer not (never) happy also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • ae101 on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Whatever it is, sure malaysian wont dare to touch next lancer again. Inspira already did the damage. Don’t understand why mitsu gave official license to proton and what they gain back? Tech don’t seems to see it. Money wise, malaysia market damn small compare to other. The only thing is mitsu dealer loss profit.

• policeman on Jan 02, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Who gives a shit about the dealer?

• ProtonGSC on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Agree, 1st generation Inspira were good… BUT sincertainly proton change to CVT the car become a laughing stock…

Brilliant proton management that change it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Copycat on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:29 pm

The next inspira model after 10 years

• Is that the previous City or Preve headlight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • alphawolf on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Car manufacturers, please give this Theo Chin a job as a designer already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Jan 02, 2015 at 6:21 pm

A designer, designs.
      A photoshopper, photoshops.

See the difference?

Maybe they should give her a job of photoshopping their pictures in brochures since the like darkening their interiors in photos.

If you want a dark interior put in black or grey interiors. Why do you have beige interior and photoshop your pictures to make it look like gray?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:50 pm

In nowadays, Photoshop = one kind of design. Design is not only about skill, it also about ideas.

• trollmaster3000 on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:52 pm

there’s no such thing as a photoshopper larr bodoh.. that’s not even a job title.. photoshop is a software.. then what would you call for someone who knows how to use microsoft word..? a worder..? effin stupid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:15 am

windows user = windowser
          ios user = ioser
          android user = androider

• policeman on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:24 am

Grandpa,

Welcome to 2015.

“Photoshop” is a verb, just like “google”. Of course in the 70s they weren’t. Neither was “selfie”.

Kebodohan kau tu simpanlah sikit untuk anak-anak dan cucu, atok. Nanti habis, kau yang susah. Kan dah malu.

• For real. I love almost all of Theo’s designs. Better than a lot of the crappy weird angles you see on some production cars.

• Evo 11 please

• No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Evo sudah stopped production. If really have next evo, it wont be lancer anymore. Said Mitsubishi

• casper on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Make this happen and take my money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:21 pm

This is the new rebadged Inspira.
    It has been leaked out from Proton Factory

• citizen on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Proton Inspira next gen’ : THX GOD ~!

• weeee on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:31 pm

obvious design cues from the BMW i8

• suayb on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Retouched Kia Optima

• Jaybond on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:52 pm

I’ve always thought the front end styling of recent Mitsu’s SUV concepts would be great if implemented on a sedan car.
    On the other hand, it’s hard to say about the ultra-competitive & demanding Europe’s car/sedan market unless Mitsu could excel in handling & quality /design dept. Maybe Mitsu should emulate what Mazda has achieved in recent years..

• Heng Lee on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Official Mazda press release:

‘That brought Mazda’s European market share to 1.51 per cent for the third quarter – up from 1.34 per cent during the same period in 2013 and 1.06 per cent in 2012’
      http://www.mazda-press.com/eu/news/q3-sales-mazda-continues-to-outshine-eu-market/

1.51 per cent sounds not too much?

• Evo cream on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:01 pm

It front look like preve

• nabill (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:46 pm

That rendering has similar limes to da preve concept if u guys remember… Specially da sides n rear…

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Lancer: please improve your vehicle width and NVH.

• albag on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:28 pm

looks good in concept… but shit in production… that’s Mitsubishi

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:37 pm

proton, not mitsu

• awan berat on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:12 pm

stop overusing this theophilus guy rendering…it’s getting boring..this is not news..you should get a dedicated section for him since you guys obviously worship him..just my two cents

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:05 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• brobrek on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:05 am

bole la…

• darkermarker on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:29 am

ok la….

• Gedega on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:30 pm

similar to Proton Tuah Concept car?

http://paultan.org/2011/03/11/proton-tuah-concept-spotted-on-the-elite-highway/

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 1:57 pm

U all protong fans always give stupid comments& low mentality. Who do u thk u r..u r only the pariah drive inspirated cpycat lancer.u all not qualified to judge in ths forum cuz u r nit our mitsu families.shame on u sotong

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:21 pm

All wiralotion inspiratedlution jawajalution satayrialution supercat rima lution & protong lution r dreaming shok sndiri.they want2be friend wth the real lancer but unfortunately they r not our mitsu families. So dont be jealous.your stupid comments only rubbished