2015 Toyota Vios updated – keyless, push start for all

2015-Vios-Teaser

The Toyota Vios range will be receiving mild updates for 2015, with ads of the car appearing on our sister classifieds site oto.my. A check on Toyota’s official Malaysian website shows the above image, which teases new features for the popular B-segment sedan and confirms the impending update.

Three ads of the 2015 Toyota Vios are on oto.my, describing the G, E and J auto trim levels. The 1.5 G, the highest trim level below the TRD Sportivo, will now come with a black interior. The G is currently the only Vios variant with a black-beige cabin with beige seats; the others already have black cabins.

2015-Vios-Spec-Sheet

Click to enlarge spec sheet

Ads for the 1.5 E and 1.5 J auto tout the addition of keyless entry and push start, a feature that is currently present only in the G and TRD Sportivo. This means that in the near future, all Vios variants will come with Smart Key and a push start button, J manual included.

As for prices, it’s RM94,800 for the TRD Sportivo, RM89,990 for the G, RM84,300 for the E and RM78,800 for the J auto, all OTR with insurance. The J manual kicks things off at RM74,700. The latest prices are slightly higher than October 2013 launch list prices, which were RM93,200, RM88,500, RM82,900 and RM77,300 respectively.

Toyota Vios Malaysian launch, October 2013

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:28 am

Exp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:50 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 118
      • Proton Saga? You sure? Proton Saga is Savvy with booth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • No thank you on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Still no ESC and UMW is so smart to jack up the price then say give “angpaus” to reduce the jacked up price. Sorry no Vios for me, I’ll take the City anytime

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 1
          • Yes, get a city. With ESC and VTEC engine, Iriz and Suprima don’t stand a chance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
          • beelm on Jan 05, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Pandan ivtec? campro turbo can smoke anytime. Only FC can win a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
          • Acrix on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:15 am

beelm your campro turbo in city driving is 7km/L and highway 11km/L vs 12.5km/L city and 18.6km/L highway for the 1.5L Honda engines. If the FC in more efficient by 50% is considered “a bit” for you go ahead and keep your campro.
            With KL traffic jam go ahead and smoke with your campro engine.

• beelm on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:30 pm

7km/l? That’s wayyy to low, it’s 2.4l car FC lor, pity you.

City driving can easily get 10km/l and saga 1.6 oso can get 11 – 12km/l. LOL

Saga cannot smoke city 1.5l? That’s best joke!

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Toyota is the only automaker in Msia who does not support the BN car reduction. Look at PROTON, Perodua, Honda and others who working hard to reduce BOM cost car across all variant!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
          • Salambangi on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Dear Toyota Japan

It’s time now that you take over the franchise and run on your own-Toyota Malaysia rather than let UMW -Toyota screw up your bullet -proof reputation.Any reluctance on your part will ensure the beginning of the end (demise) of of your brand in this country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
          • Because Toyota does not support BN, that’s why BN has to send its Macai to bash Toyota. Once Toyota sells less(From Ah Beng’s BN car reduction plan), Proton will sell more and cronies will profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Proton Supporter on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Yarlo, Proton is better. Look at Proton, it supports BN and Dr M by introducing cheaper models like the Suprima S Standard which the rakyat can afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
          • ProtonGSC on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Yup support more on DrM and the AP cronies…
            Yes keep support !!! Cronies runs this country because of your support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • savvy with booth?

• aaron on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Oh come on, where is the promise by our beloved BN during the last election? Where is the promised 30% reduction in car prices? Now, the rakyat will be hammered by another increase in car prices. Up to RM4k increase in the Vios, with no additional safety features but instead irrelevant toys like keyless entry were thrown in? This is getting ridiculous. At least add in the toys without any price increment. Thank you UMW, thank you 47%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
        • Got, 30% price reduction for car parts if your Proton get flood. Not just Toyota, we will gradually increase the prices of all car manufacturers to protect Proton as there are too many foreign cars around. Dr M is not too happy about that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Heng Lee on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:17 pm

One ‘safety feature’ is the airbag, which shoots metal shrapnels into your body when inflating during an accident?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Lee Heng on Jan 05, 2015 at 4:05 pm

So Iriz 1.6 Premium got 6 airbags means metal sharpnels from 6 sides?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • longue on Jan 05, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Get your fact right. Proton does not get supply of airbags from takata. Better ask T N H lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • In fact, we don’t know who is Proton’s airbags supplier or whether they stitch it themselves

• jaggy on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:34 am

Of course you dun know because you dun read much, sure noobie noob
            Pity you

• Jimmy on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:11 pm

jaggy, you know? Please do tell, don’t just bash without substance. Pity you

• Primary School Student on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Proton dont have airbag, only got Swan schoolbag stitched inside

• Rr0l Emas on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:13 pm

No matter what Toyota add on, the ppl own Vios sure die in accident due to not enough safety features. Vios RV no good as 1st version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • IrizX on Jan 05, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Yes, better buy Iriz. Bullet proof and won’t die even when hit by 10 wheeler. Iriz is godcar so cannot die one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
        • there are still lots of cars offer only 2 airbags… not only Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Sure there are many cars have only 2 airbags. But toyota is the world largest car manufacturer. Doesn’t it should have more standard than other car manufacturers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • goshcar on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Jangan persoal!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Analyst on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Let’s analyst the so called “safe” Iriz:

Iriz 1.3 Standard – 2 Airbags
            Iriz 1.3 Executive – 2 Airbags
            Iriz 1.6 Executive – 2 Airbags
            Iriz 1.6 Premium – 6 Airbags

So out of the 4 models, only 1 model with 6 airbags? How many people you think bought the most expensive variant? Most will buy the cheapest variant. So, most Iriz owners of the other 3 models sure die in accident due to not enough safety features?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:19 am

Drag proton into this again. If proton really disappear from this world, I think many of you will cry. Because you cant troll anymore

• illis on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:36 am

@Analyst
            What you analyze? People here talk about VSC/VDC/VSA/etc, not number of airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Analyst on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:37 pm

@illis

“there are still lots of cars offer only 2 airbags… not only Toyota…”

They are definitely talking about airbags. Not just Toyota, Proton is also offering only 2 airbags. Please don’t cover up the truth

• alldisc on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:11 pm

lets not forget, proton could not improved on models like satria neo, exora, saga and persona which still have 2 airbags from 2005 until now (10 years)

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:40 pm

I would say hi to Honda City instead of this RV car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • Yes, city will smoke those Iriz and Suprima owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • City got no power to smoke preve turbo, let alone its Japs so so handling

• trolllp on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Not only Iriz and Suprima, City can smoke Huracan, GT-R, MP4-12C, LaFerrari, Venom GT, Agera R and Veyron.

Wooooowwwwwwwowwwwwwwwwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:00 pm

I don’t care about your pretend-to-be-racer smoke. I only care about value for my damn little money.

• OMG…So nice, but i meant the Yellow shirt Model, not the car…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Stupit toyot owners…push start is not newlah
      Toyota= sam loo= outdated= underspec= overpriced= lazy salesman= retard
      Conclusion= toyota owners is retard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 18
      • Honda on Jan 05, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Stupid Proton owners, want to bash but don’t know how to put in sentence

Conclusion = Proton owners are retard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Dude to me toyota, protong, perodua & kimciis the is at same category = bad judgement
          Honda owner also can be from the same line of retarded family because jazz full spec @ 92k still get rear drum brakes!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
          • ProtonGSC on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:06 pm

All because of the supporter that keep helping cronies and DrM AP buddies to gain more power… Rakyat (rich or poor) suffer heavy taxes.

• When you buy a car, you’re also a retard because you pay extra tax to G

• Who are cronies?

• Acrix on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:20 am

Full spec Jazz is RM87800. Where did you get the RM92k model??
            If all the car manufacturers you mentioned are rubbish then what are you using?? Not a VW i hope as thats worse than Proton

• kington on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:18 pm

To say other people being retards, you are probably the biggest of them all. Have some respect for other people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • Yo…those who have adequate funds, good judgement and capable of making rationale decision will not buy overpriced, underspec and poor safetyfeatures car unless you bought the car for the sole reason of styling/ desig…unless if you think buying vios because it is the best car and well equiiiiipped then i’d say you are retard

• Acrix on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:23 am

Since you are calling other people retard why don’t you mention what car you are driving?? It’s their own money and their own choice to buy whatever car they want and you calling people retard shows how small your brain is.

• Das Auto on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:49 am

What for respect stupid ppl that support bloodsucking companies? By doing that they are spoiling the market and overall we consumers get less value.

• And what to respect stupid people that support crony company that cannot survive without its tongkat? Need protection to appear competitive is bad for the market and the consumers

• what? on Jan 06, 2015 at 2:46 pm

what is wrong with you? If VW is really that bad, they already stop the selling. Dont tell me because VW is international brand excuse. Everything is made from zero, day by day they improvising. Even BMW or Merc also take years to become that good. but if you are a hater, remember this, haters gonna hate. My words wouldnt do anything good to you tho.

• TheRealMalaysian on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:10 pm

@Acrix
          Well.. I don’t agree that VW is worse than Proton..
          Proton is incomparable with VW, it has great build quality and decent car performance while Proton is still using the outdated technology.
          Honestly, I’d would go for a Polo Sedan rather than a Honda Jazz..

• Acrix on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:45 am

@Therealmalaysian: VW has really good cars but very poor reliability. At the price you pay for the car you would not expect the amount of problems the car gives. Once bitten twice shy. Imagine leaving your car in the service center for a month each year. Imagine having your car break down on your wedding day due to mechatronic issue.
            No matter how well the car drives or handles, after facing such issues like mine will you still support it? At least Proton problems can be fixed easily and the car still runs despite the quality issues which is why I say Vw is worse than Proton in terms of reliability.
            @what?: VW did a bad job here and will suffer like Proton as they are now infamous for DSG problem, mechatronic issue and poor after service now. From a sales volume of 20k in 2012 they won’t even achieve above 8.5k sales this year. Shows how much the image of this brand has dropped. Their issues are real, the problems are real and not resolved. Malaysians are very unforgiving when it comes to reliability issues as can be seen with Proton which VW will share the same fate now.

• TheRealMalaysian1 on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:33 pm

@Acrix Thanks for reply me. Yea.. i know VW had poor reliability last time but now they have improved a lot already as you can see they had took initiatives on their after sales service as well as product quality.
            They had proven that since the they announced the expert programme.
            As i know, there is no perfect car in this world, you can’t expect your car is problem-free.

• Acrix on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:15 pm

@TheRealMalaysian
            No car is problem free and that is a given. However we need to see the severity of the problem. When you encounter mechatronic or DSG issue with VW car its a really big problem. The gear will not engage and you are stuck either in first or second gear. This occured twice so far in my Scirocco. 30000km first mechatronic issue and 60000km second time same issue. Both times needed to put the car at service center for a month and this is only 2 years of owning a brand new car! Others might say the issue is resolved or they are improving their services but i can honestly tell you its not! After the 2nd time repairing the DSG now the engine is leaking due to shoddy work!! Now its another 2 weeks in the service center to repair that problem. Many fellow owners are facing the same issues and problems and the service centers are always full of cars with mechatronic issues. Oh and it was mentioned they will loan a car to us.. guess what its normally out of stock or unavailable as too many owners faced same issues while too little cars are available on loan. If its not because of the warranty i would have just done the mechatronic repair outside and will be fixed in a matter or days not a whole month! While the car has been really good to drive but the overall experience with a VW has been tarnished for me and there will not be any more in the future

• If you think its expensive then cheap Hyundai is your choice since Hyundai for poor man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng Vios TRD turbo godcar on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:41 am

OMG I just had an orgasm!!!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:29 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 219
    • Normally I’d refrain myself from saying bad words… But seriously?? Toyota all and all is a good brand… But we need to teach UMW a serious lesson on valuing Malaysian’s safety and not only care about profiteering

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
      • Arrogant Toyota on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Dear Leo, I agree with you, but only one point. I think Toyota itself is very arrogant not to hear customers’ voice. I check other countries Toyota website also. VSC is not included in all Vios except Australia, Europe, and North America. I think UMW is totally powerless not dare to ask VSC from Toyota HQ in Japan. And this Toyota HQ is very very arrogant until now not learn the lesson of big failure to Honda City. Dig your own grave Toyota. People will not buy until you put VSC in your Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • alxdc on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:44 am

are you saying, mercedes, audi, bmw, ferrari,and all the cars that comes with ESP/VSA, 6 airbags, has poor chassis design, and toyota vios has the best chassis and it doesnt need all these safety features?….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:54 am

Just in case someone listens to this idiot…

Of course it is absolute nonsense. A strong chassis doesn’t help at all if the rest is missing. Run into a wall. The wall is not damaged, but you get hurt. Put a big mattress in front of the wall. Run again. This time it doesn’t hurt. That’s an airbag.

That the car itself is strong helps lower repair bills, without airbags you still die, but hey, the car can be fixed.

Of course if the car is not strong enough airbags won’t save you. You’ll land softly, before being squeezed to death.

Example: Datsun Go. Airbag, no airbag, still deadly. The area where the passengers sit just completely crumbles. However the VW Polo without airbags is deadly. The chassis is strong, but the passengers impacting the dashboard and steering wheel kills them. With airbag the same car is safe.

VSC is important because it helps avoid accidents. If you don’t crash in the first place, you can’t get injured/die. Also you don’t have to repair your car, which is expensive and makes you loose RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:18 pm

u very sure this car have that good chasis?
      watch all this

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=iihs+toyota

• karam singh on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:22 pm

wait for kimchi update their spec
      lots3 than this two things…

• Nazgul on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Sometimes Dr.M was right.
      This guy actually says this is unbiased opinion.
      Oh God help us.

• Man with normal frame of mind on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Oh yes. World most fantastic, Strongest and best chassis-ed moving coffin with four wheel.

• I sense sarcasm force is strong in Maserati’s comment. C’mon people, your sense of humour has gone down the drain ah?

• WILLIAM CHUA on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:31 am

additional feature with an additional vehicle price.
    it seem reasonable if add-ons the safety feature instead of Keyless entry and push start button.
    ESC/TC should be add for every variant of vios to confident all consumer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • And still no additional safety features like Stability Control. What a piece of junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
  • powershot (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:35 am

still no esp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Car price increased? Oh.. that’s how MAI gonna justify the 1% to 3% decrease after GST. I wonder what they gonna do to reduce 30%…

http://paultan.org/2014/09/11/car-prices-reduced-1-3-gst-mai/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • CheapskateUMWkroni on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:41 am

No esp, go dai la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • Crash test on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:42 am

Rubbish, still no ESC. And very limited safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Saga Owner on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:19 pm

What rubbish? My Saga no ESC rubbish ah?

• Saga is based on old savvy, why want to butthurt pulak, vios new but no VSC.

That’s sucky big time

• Saga Owner on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Hey, have some respect ok? There are still thousands of Saga owners without VSC that cannot afford to upgrade to cars with VSC thanks to you know who. Why sell Saga without VSC to us in the first place? Now we need to sell our Saga to buy a safer car. Don’t be selfish and think of yourself

• Then people from graveyard also might ask similar question, why my car didn’t equip with seatbelts?

Why no seatbelt? Go figure if you have brain.

• @o3

You should your brain when replying if you have any. Tell me which cars don’t have seat belts even is old car? Seat belts are there since there are cars. Also, the difference is your so called “New Saga” is still selling without VSC, so Saga Owner has a valid point. Why still selling without VSC? Don’t tell me Saga is “old car” but still selling as new

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Bung

looks like your impression about grave is just 50 years something. The car in 100 years ago got seat belt? You sure?

• No need Push Start. Give us VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:56 am

Any additional airbags with that? Is traction control/vehicle stability control standard?

• No thank you on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:01 am

Still no ESC and UMW is so smart to jack up the price then say give “angpaus” to reduce the jacked up price. Sorry no Vios for me, I’ll take the City anytime

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Jack up the price now.. And compensate with the angpau. Then GST hits. Drop the angpau and drop the price.

End up with the same old same old.

The City V is a much better preposition than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • noreasonwhy on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:04 am

to all the car manufacturers, please keep on putting the pressure on UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Matrix on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:05 am

Upgrade so much also loses to city.

City is a proven car! I have raced on track get a good lap.

At cornering, those 300-400k sport cars can’t beat me at genting.

My advise, City is much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 52
    • 300-400k sport cars can’t beat me at genting?
      No need that high range sport cars. My Suprima S can smoke you and any cornering and stright line too. wanna try?

• JokeOfTheYear on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:31 pm

WTF, 300-400k sport cars can’t beat your 1.5L joke? I only need sub of your 300K and easily smoke your 1.5L joke with the FORD Fiesta ST.
        Forget about racing a Renault Megane RS, Ford Focus ST,

It’s just 5th day into the new year. You already made the joke of the 2015.

• Matrix on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:38 pm

So sorry lor. make you laugh.

FYI, i already beat fiesta and focus ST few times.

Never try with Megane. it’s cold car.
          Can’t see it at genting.

• matrixdumber on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Any drill to show?
            Jangan sembang lebat je

• Matrix on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:37 pm

come.. if lose, how?
        burn car?

• pirlo on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:03 pm

haha sembang. dalam internet, semua nak sembang letup. padahal hutang kereta bulan-bulan dengan bank, mak yang bayar. isi minyak minta duit dengan papa.

if that 300k car is kancil, then i believe your 1.5 liter can beat it.

puii.

• hngghh on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Matrix if you are manly enough show the pics lah

Or else you are just wet dreaming!!!!

• What the fish on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:55 pm

I don’t race, but I drove both the city and the ecoboost 1.0 to genting and I don’t see any way a stock 1.5L city can come close to the 1.0 let alone the st

• CIKITCIKIT on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:06 am

AFTER THIS, NEXT SYMPATHY THING TO GIVE WILL BE VSC FOR ALL VARIANTS

• mamat on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:13 am

1st!!!!
    still damn expensive for 1.5L without esC? now got hike price.. LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • azhar on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:16 am

and they still dont get it…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:46 am

Hope that Japan Toyota will come and please sack the marketing team or marketing Director.

UMW are shit with marketing strategy !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:56 am

I don’t think they can add airbags or stability control to this car without redesigning it. There is no version of this car anywhere with these features.

• jacksonljs on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:34 pm

As i said before which is quite true, UMW is in dire need to be booted out from selling Toyota cars in Malaysia and let other distributor or perhaps reappoint Borneo Motors to do Toyota business in Malaysia. Again and again this company has ZERO respect towards carbuyers (who knows it might get much more worse than chapalang Protong)

• ahlee bin ahtan on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:19 am

2 AIR BAGS only?life is cheap by UMW..Untung Manyak Wang maaa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:21 am

Sonata and Elantra trade-in prices will dive another 20%.

Great news for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 62
    • dr.terror on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:00 am

you got 2012 elantra with rm40k price tag? i pay cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 44
      • jacksonljs on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Support… I also interested to get 2012-2013 Elantra (RM30k at most also can) as a spare car, but i only looking for 1.6 manual (no automatic for me)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
        • viosnoRV on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Only 30k Same Lorrrr would like to sell old Altis to you

New Elantra? Daydreaming

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:11 pm

When we see so much dislike on a comment that troll a person, and so much like on the comment of the people that being trolled, we know that it is the same person who keep dislike others comment and keep clicking like for his own comment. hehehe. Funny

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:32 pm

All my Hyundais are exported. Get better profits :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
      • How much you sell then? Some are willing to pay you the “better profit” price.

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:44 pm

I need KIA Forte. Help me grab one and I pay you extra RM20K for the price you sell to me. Deal?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:55 pm

I only deal Hyundais

Export margin is a trade secret

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Then Sonata 2013. Sell to me, I give you extra RM20K

• Sam Loo Macai on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:07 am

2013 Sonata a you cannot get for 90k. But I got camry 2013 2.5V for 90k if you are interested. Also 2012 altis 1.8G for 40k.

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:41 pm

I dont care whether RM90K or RM200K, as long as sam lorr sell me a sonato, i pay him extra RM20K. I dont need camry, thanks

• Is there a feature to make it less ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • cocul on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Put some chrome finishing to the grills so it looks like same lorrr mouth with braces

Kakakakakakakakakaka

• In my opinion, I would rather opt for Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) than keyless entry/push start.

I hope more focus is put on safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Nazgul on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:25 am

WTF keyless and push start and you called it an upgrade? Shame on u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • istvan on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:26 am

no ESC?
    Add ESC then only i consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Still tHe range topping …NO VsC/vsa, 2 airbags, no auto cruise, no rear aircond, no hill start assist , ancient 4AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • NX ohh NX on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:27 am

The lexus NX ad keep poop out is very annoying,disturbing me to view all those amoi pic (WTH) and this super sam loo favourite car,that comes with keyless push start,new year sure sale like hotcake!Lol

• ultimate question is – is VSC made standard?? Or have they (UMW) omitted this safety feature as usual??
    And since they do not mention anything about transmission, am we can safely assume that the ancient Dino-era 4 speeder will soldier on this model huh??

• Please include VSC for all the varient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • BrianXYZ on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:37 am

Whatever. With the Yen value dropping plus ‘City’ making huge dent on Vios’s sales, UMW could do better I guess. Disappointing that there is no improvement on the Safety features. If you value the life of your family, please buy a 5-Star Safety Rated car. If you can afford Vios, you can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Hahaha on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:43 am

Ahh no VSC bye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • ProtonGSC on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:44 am

Hahaha adding gadgets and increasing price! bye bye and RIP UMW Vios….

UMW are shit with marketing strategy please sack the marketing team or marketing Director.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Ella Honda Girl on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:45 am

Only upgrade to keyless and start and you call new car??
    this is stupid.only stupid people will buy this dangerous car.
    My Honda City latest more better than this dangerous vios.
    I am only young girl and I already make right choice by choose Honda City than toyota Vios.
    Support Honda forever!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • farghmee on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:54 am

rm70k++ xde stability ctrl? cannot brain.

• MEH…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

• sorry…cant accept the steering wheel…

• Who said Vios got 2 air begs only? this time they give our extra 4 in yellow….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Aiyo, add more airbags lah instead of push start.

• Year 2015, year Malaysian to ditch out Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • noreasonwhy on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:13 am

UMW, wake up! Stop dreaming!

• Still sleep by Txxxxx company , they still at 1998~ SEG model with STD 2 air bags and ABS , I still driving this SEG model with 2 airbags , because not need to change , Toyota don’t have new model safety features model till 2015 for range 1.5~1.6 models.
    Thank you for Toyota ,I save money till 17 years no need change car.

• Joker on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:17 am

Oh yeah top spec variant with keyless entry n push start but without VSC n oni dual airbags…
    It’s like driving a living coffin everyday…
    Once i test driven it with da UMWToyota salesman beside me telling me no VSC no use 1 etc…
    I go throw a corner at high speed with fast aggresive steering the car skid with no mercy…
    I look at da salesman n he straight away diam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:27 am

Ahmad Maslan said car price should go down but Now Seeeee, even Godcar also hav to increase price. I would like to advise YB Ahmad Maslan to drive this car. It really suits you

• usha - usha on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:33 am

Boring…

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:48 am

I think the problem is that this car was developed for the ASEAN market, so they never designed it with safety in mind. It wasn’t designed for more than 2 airbags, and VSC was never developed for it. So where with other cars it is trivial to add those things they need to redesign the whole car to add the features to the Vios.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:53 am

Frankly, I love the Vios because of its superb ride comfort and decent drive, despite being widely criticised for its ageing engine and 4-speed auto. In fact, the gearbox is perfectly adequate for normal city driving and it shifts very smoothly, although it does have a tendency to stay long at lower gears (Okay everyone’s favourite Pug 208 is also a 4-speeder so). To be honest, the Vios can proudly be the class benchmark in terms of ride comfort; it glides over lumps and bumps very well unlike the Fiesta sedan and the cabin is very well insulated unlike the City and the Almera (There’s the noisy roof issue though).

Okay all the good things aside, no additional airbags and no ESP really puts me off. Plus, it is incredibly pricey and all models across the range get similar mechanics with the more expensive ones getting (useless) features like projector headlamps, leather seats and awful bodykits (which you can live without). And then, while the drivetrain does it job relatively well even after 10+ years being used on 3 generations, there’s a desperate need of innovation, perhaps?

So for those who have 80-90k for a B-segment sedan, go for the City V, or E. If you really really want a Vios (for hell knows what reason), a J model will save you some cash OR get a used Vios G, which is pretty much the same thing as the current Vios G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:49 pm

It does not sui kwan/kwai tai like euros and kimchis and it has great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • Normal_User on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:39 am

I have to agree with u. It seems to be the best B segment for comfort. At first i thought Almera has the best suspension for comfort, followed by city and lastly vios… Until i owned myself an almera & drove friends’ city and vios. However, it doesnt mean that its superiorly spongy & cushy. The suspension feels just good by just a small margin, i repeat, better by a small margin compared to city & almera. City has better handling & steering response, while Almera has spacious rear legroom with the most affordable price (top spec equals mid-low city/vios spec). IMHO, all three cars are comfort oriented… U need to sacrifice fiesta/swift like handling to ensure ur family gets plenty of comfort at the rear. And thats considered enjoyment too.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:53 am

That’s true. All three cars have great suspension setups but the Vios is slightly better than the other two. The City might have the sharpest handling and most power among the trio but those are more significant in the previous generation. The current one rolls around corners (just like the Vios) and the CVT is drab, making the car feel slow, made worse with the Econ mode switched on. The Almera, sorry to say, is a very boring car to look at and to drive. It however does have a very cushioned ride and legroom is humongous, but due to its narrow proportions, it might be a bit hard to fit three adults into the back seat.

But as you said, all three cars are comfort oriented and they fare well in this department. However, getting a City V would be the smartest choice these days. If your budget only limits you to the Almera VL, then IMO the Vios J will be a better pick than the Nissan. Although it does have significantly less kit than the latter, the Vios wins over ride comfort and fuel efficiency. And let’s be honest, the Vios has a much better looking exterior and interior. You can always live without stuff like auto air-con and leather seats anyway.

By the way, the Almera facelift is on its way to Malaysia soon, in late Jan or Feb if I’m not mistaken (the brochure is out, go get one from Nissan). Let’s see how it will fare against its rivals by then.

• alxdc on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:55 am

in respond to Maserati(Official)

are you saying, mercedes, audi, bmw, ferrari,and all the cars that comes with ESP/VSA, 6 airbags, has poor chassis design, and toyota vios has the best chassis and it doesnt need all these safety features?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:52 pm

these automakers are giving these features to justify the price tag, its simple really…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Samad Jain on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:07 pm

hahahahah….Funny la Toyota.

Even my 5 years old scooter got push-start feature…long time oredi.

Accesories shop could install a push-start button in just half hour and cost below RM100.

So, Is this news, Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Proton Fanboys (Official) on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Really!Still no VSC,ESC?Come on!90k+ spec also no VSC,ESC!Proton all the way!Go go Proton!!With Proton Iriz Premiumnd also standard spec under Rm 62k,you can get Vdc,2 airbags for standard and executive,6 airbags for premium.Go Go Proton!!!

#OwnerOfIrizPremium

#ToyotaShame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:12 pm

There is one more concern with Proton VSC and airbags: Do they really work when you need them the most?

We all knew how good is Proton’s quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:18 pm

How do you know it will not work?

• voire on Jan 05, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Since when got p1 airbags? p1 dun make airbags or those safety gadgets.

• proton engine got common leaking problem… somemore respond lagging… u own more in safetly but weak in machenical

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Jangan persoal Godcar!

Godcar no need vsc, no need justify increase price when fuel price reduce, bcuz it’s Godcar!

In fact, syukurlah RV Godcar increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • james on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Toyota always increase price for new variants…
    Not worth the money…
    NO ESC/VSC NO BUY… that easy!

• spongewai on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:53 pm

good news to add keyless entry but bad news is where is the more safety feature??!

duhh

• horrayooi on Jan 05, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Wake up Toyota. Give us 5 or 6 speed conventional auto or Altis type cvt with torque converter. How can you sell the car costing RM74-94k with antique 4 speed auto. If like Myvi or Alza we can accept (4 speed auto) because the price is cheaper.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:24 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
    • Bristol on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:23 pm

RV Kimchi more than Sushi now, nobody want to eat sushi except aunties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 05, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I always encourage sorhais to buy Hyundais brand new.

Within 18 months, more than 50% of these tai lan ngongs will sell them off at hailat prices. This is where I help them with my Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Ya, seems very logic. KIA cant even been traded out.

• wah please sell me 2014 hyundai i30 RM 60k, i give u cash !

• mael lambung on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:40 pm

last year i have been try test this car..overall in term of quality good,comfort but interm of performance and price its not compatible and it juz b segment..with this price i better i should buy preve with c segment..or another b segment honda city…iam not supporter in any car brand but i look at valuable for money but my choice is still goes to preve…in term of warranty 5yr ..monthly payment, oil,maintnance, tol n etc..i can save for the money based on the budget…

• panjang on Jan 05, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Hahaha…no doubt the car is sound.
    The wording ‘stunning’ is an overkill.
    Wow,stunning push start button.

Grow up umw.

• Rr0l Emas on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Dun worry only auntie buy this type of car, a MAN won’t get cheat by Toyota ugly tactics

• Bimmer on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Real man buy BMW or Lexus, only auntie and poor man buy Proton or Toyota

• berann on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Same engine and gearbox from 1st generation vios in 2003….haha…I think this engine n gearbox will continue to use for next 30years. Toyota “moving forward” ???

• BLT_Club on Jan 05, 2015 at 3:47 pm

I hope that push start button can stabilise the car like ESP. And the smart key can cushion the impact to the passengers during a collision. UMW = cheapening the lives of Malaysians since forever…!

• Albert on Jan 05, 2015 at 4:05 pm

UMW is a big fat tool of PNB to heap misery on car buyers who have 7-10 years hire purchase loans.
    When GST kicks in in April,what will be the new pricing?
    Come on,UMW…insaf lah….you are punishing your loyal supporters just cos you need to produce record dividends for amanah holders.
    Toyota,no doubt is a good brand but UMW , dont compound the misery of the rakyat who have multiple instalments besides car.
    Your service centre in Selayang has a very bad track record…45 days just to replace my remote alarm/boot motor which went haywire.

• Image ID – 202379 so pretty!

• Those that criticise actually jelly of our Amois. The “quality” is better than Proton

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Keyless entry? Ok fine this considered as safety features. Push Start? What point i give extra money for only keyless entry and push start? VSC makes more sense.

• darkermarker on Jan 05, 2015 at 7:29 pm

UMW saleman and saleswomen definitely wont be receiving any angpow bonus this year…by selling this junk.

it would be lucky if they could even retain their job in half of year 2015.

Good luck, Toyota…

• jacksonljs on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Somehow these so-called ‘friendly’ sales advisors, even service advisors are not spared (but most of them have very bad attitude, especially the way they are selling their cars and dealing with customers is like insulting their intelligence) need to learn their hard lesson like what happen to most Proton salesperson last time during year 2006.

• Ong Chee Boon on Jan 05, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Wow. Just wow. I am totally speechless.

It’s a whole new year 2015, and they only just added key-less and push start, adding black interior.

Still no VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL & 6 airbags

And they got the nerves to INCREASE the price tag while ignoring what customers want. No matter how comfortable the Vios can be, this is way too greedy and unscrupulous.

Honda City already had them in 2014. They offered good infotainment system, new exterior design, offering much better FC than its predecessor, and offer LOW ER selling price. Now i see more honda city 2014 than the “new” vios on the road even though the Vios is being launched earlier in 2013.

Did UMW Malaysia think we Malaysians are really that blind and stupid?

(My family now owning a TRD vios dugong model. It was the best model at that time, about 4-5 years ago where no other brand could compete. Now time has changed and UMW still assuming this model is a cash cow by just adding such really-not-that-important features? Really facepalm.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:14 pm

This is Toyota. Thats why it can sell even more expensive with lesser spec. Added push start and keyless entry is a bonus to malaysian. Appreciate it.

#JustTrolling

• TRDer on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:15 pm

TRD badge adds how many HP?

• samelorstpd on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Look at Same Lorrrr , badmouth skill is very good. That’s why he can get bonus every year.

• Toyota Junk on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:00 pm

By getting this junk car on the market without ESC, 6 airbags etc.

UMW sales is going to lose Honda Malaysia for hundred miles soon.

• Ali Karim on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:10 pm

*sigh* Another sad sad story of Toyota. First they killed the Camry and now the Vios! :-( I thought the American version Camry will come to rescue. Instead they decided to use Asia as the dumping ground for the failed models. I hope Toyota buckles fast, save the loyal customers the misery.

• big dog on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:21 pm

now that the popoerty market cooling down, better to invest in a Vios cart, the prices going up

• Richard Woo on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:57 pm

If those Vios models fitted with the DRL,CVT-I7 gearbox as in the Altis models and VSC it’s going to sell even better.For those G and TRD models should be fitted with Bi-Xenon lights since it’s a Bi-Halogen already at the moment so any facelift from here should not be an issue.Those UMW folks please consider these..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:54 am

Bi-Xenon means the headlight level must be adjusted automatically. Also the lenses must be designed differently. It’s not so easy to upgrade.

VSC needs to be developed for this car… which will take quite some time and money. Lots of testing and adjusting to be done. Normally it’s not difficult to fit a car with VSC, because there’s a version somewhere around the world that comes with VSC, so all the development work was already done. That isn’t the case with the latest Vios.

If only Toyota had used the current Toyota Yaris/Vitz as basis for the Vios, rather than the previous Vios which was based on the old Yaris…

• Really on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Looks like UMW still haven’t learn their lessons that car buyers are getting more conscious about safety and value. Perhaps another year of Vios selling less than the Honda City MAYBE enough to wake them up. I said maybe because old habit die hard.

• Yahoo on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Toyota Vios TRD still 2 airbags. Without VSC.
    Honda City V Spec has 6 airbags. With VSA.
    As a smart consumer, which one would you choose?

• commenter on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

@acrix Dont be so pessimistic. The DSG problem is actually resolved by now. You can actually google about it, how VW take this problem very seriously. You can check this URL 1st then google another. Yes it ruined their sales few years back, but bro, thats not the end of it.

http://paultan.org/2014/11/03/volkswagen-expert-programme/

• Acrix on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:48 pm

@commenter
      Do you actually own a VW or just taking this and copy paste?? The DSG problem is not resolved. My early 2013 Scirocco 1.4TSI DSG failed twice in 2 years times! Walk to any service center and see. Ask any VW owners that owned their car for at least 2 years and see. Heck the best way is for you yourself to own one and experience what we VW owners have experienced and come back here and tell me if you won’t be so frustrated. VW announced DSG issues have been resolved in Oct 2014, yes and i brought my car to be checked and changed transmission fluid as per their solution and given the all clear even before this announcement and guess what, my DSG kaput within 3 months after that and of all days on my wedding day! My car left at service center for an entire month and no courtesy car as it was all fully booked. Now my engine is leaking after taking it back from the service center. So commentor please go ahead and buy a VW to prove me wrong about VW since you are SOOOO OPTIMISTIC.
      No doubt they are trying to improve on VWM issues but its a little to late. Damage has been done and reputation has been stamped on their brand. 2013 saw VW sales drop by over 50% and in 2014 sales was even lower although they gave countless promotions and high rebates. Now they have increased the price of all their cars so i say good luck VWM.

• @Acrix

I drove a toyota camry last year and my brakes gave me a lot of problems in which once nearly got me into an accident and after sending back to the service centre and been fixing since then, the problem is still there. I believe every brands will have their own problems and now i’m driving a Golf GTi which gave me less problems compared to previously.

• No arguements, Ptoton bashes all other brands as my 2 years EXORA got ABS failure 3 times, all 3 times are still under warranty and got them replaced FOC.

AND i wish to grand world championship to Proton as my exora prompts the ABS failure again yesterday, this is 4rd times within 2 years!

Proton BOLEH! Yeah, i am looking to sell my Exora and leave PROTON to people who appreciate it so much.