BMW Laserlight system goes intelligent at CES 2015

P90143177-highRes

As you may already be aware of, the BMW i8 lays claim to being the first production car to feature laser headlights. The main benefit of said system is, of course, an active range of up to 600 metres as well as being less harsh on the eyes of pedestrians or other motorists.

Not content with being the first, the firm is set to present an intelligent BMW Laserlight system at the upcoming 2015 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas this January. While specific details are still sketchy, the new system is now hooked up to an array of sensors, cameras and driver aid systems.

bmw-i8-laserlight

No doubt that this will enable the lighting system to automatically adjust its range as well as activate the high beams when necessary. In relation, BMW will also showcase Organic Light system which features OLEDs (organic light-emitting diodes).

Previously seen on the BMW Vision Future Luxury concept, OLEDs differ from normal LEDs by generating light across its entire surface, as well as being only 1.4 mm thick. By allowing the modules to be activated independently, designers are granted more freedom when it comes to designing the shape of the lights.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Later no pass by JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • As far as im aware Audi R8 LMX was the first production car to feature laser lights, wasnt it?

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 05, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Not really. If I am not mistaken the LMX was a limited production while the i8 is a series production.

• darkermarker on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:22 pm

langgar lampu, lampu pecah………surely cost a bomb….

Even taukeh oso cannot tahan the replacement cost?

Audi lamp oredi cost thousands to replace….imagine this…

• If the laser gets mis-aligned, you burn the car in front!

• How much does this car with 1.5 litre engine cost with EEV incentive?

• Bimmer on Jan 05, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Good job BMW. This is what i call a true R&D, not “Rest&Dining” of Proton. Supporters everyday only know how to talk about “VSC” like some high tech equipment in the future. Muak aku dengar sahaja

• Alex V on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:20 pm

later front page car laser beam burn petrol station and banned from refilling petrol