2015 Mazda 2 appears on oto.my – launch imminent?

Mazda 2 R Spec IIMS 1

The launch of the new 2015 Mazda 2 looks to be nigh – the latest ad on our sister classifieds site oto.my lists deliveries to start between end-January and early-March, so the local introduction should be held at an earlier date. The copy estimates a price of between RM85k-RM88k, right in the ballpark of the indicative pricing teased by Bermaz in October – RM85k for the sedan and RM87k for the hatchback.

Specifications and equipment for the Thai-assembled fourth-gen DJ listed in the ad pretty much mirror the tentative spec sheet – power comes from a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol four-pot with direct injection and a 14.0:1 compression ratio, producing 115 hp and 148 Nm. Channeling the power to the front wheels is a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

Kit count appears to be high for the B-segment, with keyless entry, push-button start, Mazda’s MZD Connect infotainment system complete with a seven-inch LCD touchscreen, paddle shifters, a reverse camera, leather seats, automatic air-conditioning, i-stop automatic start-stop system and even a head-up display. The only area it seems to fall slightly short is in safety – just two airbags, although stability control is fitted.

Mazda 2 Sedan Thailand 9

According to the ad, the new 2 will come in four colours – Soul Red, Meteor Grey, Aluminium and White. A three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package is said to be offered, just like other Mazda models sold here.

We’ve of course driven the 2015 Mazda 2 before, and you can read our impressions here. You can also check out our coverage of the Indonesian-market version, as well as the world premiere of the sedan at the Thai Motor Expo last November.

GALLERY – Mazda 2 at the 2014 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS)

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Salambangi on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:44 am

Nice kodo design language. However, I notice that Thailand assembled cars to be slightly low quality especially the plastics used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • We’ll wait and see.. confirmed Thai Fords are lousier, let’s hope for the best.
      But.. why no love for the 6 speed manual. Demit.

• IrizX on Jan 06, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Iriz, your time is up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • notso on Jan 06, 2015 at 3:42 pm

2 airbags for 85k?
          Come on, should be 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Thanks to protection, you only get 2 airbags for 85k

• Mazda 2 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Yes,it is time to buy Proton Iriz.
          Just Rm 63000 you can buy Iriz 1.6 Premium Cvt.
          and also 6 airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 40
          • kadajawa on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:01 pm

For RM57721, you can buy the Jazz with 6 airbags in Langkawi. Why should people buy the overpriced Iriz?

• Time to sell Iriz, time to get rid of the awful CVT. Definitely nothing is “premium” about it

• aaron on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:20 am

Still much better than locally assembled cars. My bro’s f30 3 series and my dad’s mazda cx5 fit and finish are awful. Rattling noise, quality and feels are terrible. I just have no confidence over Malaysian assembled products. Even thai assembled cars arw miles better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • 2 airbags? this is absurd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Iriz Standard and Executive also come with 2 airbags. So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • But Premium 6 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Why should people pay more for safety? This is absurd!

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:37 pm

ayoo

I see… your life doesn’t worth few thousand dollars.

• Your life worth only few thousand dollars or the extra amount that Proton ask you to pay? Is it No more Value?

• ayoyoo on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:06 pm

For the same price,you can get a Pug 208 with 6 airbags.

• Great car, really great car, but the price is just insane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Price high so later can drop price to janji ditepati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:56 am

If Iriz could be priced RM60k, why not Mazda 2 for RM80k++?

The money is not for Mazda itself, they all flow to government, eventually Proton’s pocket.

Buy or not, all Malaysians are subsidizing Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • illis on Jan 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Any evidence / proof p1 get that money?
          Dun tell me about asking, that’s not a promise to get/give

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Any evidence / proof the sun is hot?
            Dun tell me you feel hot under the sun, the sun is millions miles away, not a promise to get/give you warm.

See the way ppl challenge common sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • illis on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Stupid analogy, you only create chaos only to believe in common sense.

If like that why T made those recalls?

After somebody gave proof and sued them right?

Ptuih.

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:55 pm

I see, Same Lorrr have no skin or even nervous system. He cant even feel the heat of sun. Are you human or are you living thing or not?

• Savvy Velu (SV) on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:23 am

Worth twice better than Iriz, any given day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • bororo on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:38 pm

2 airbags?
        Kthxbye

• Iriz Standard and Executive not 2 airbags kah?

• ayoyoo on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:10 pm

85k cannot give you 6 airbags like the 208 kah?

• Pegot 220088 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Want 6 airbag car??

Proton Iriz
            1.6 Premium Cvt,price Rm 63000

Honda Jazz V
            price is Rm 88000,expensive little bit,but gearbox is Cvt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 32
      • Mazda 222 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium Cvt is 6 airbag and price only Rm 63000.

So Iriz better and more worth than this Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
      • Mazda 2 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Worth twice better than Iriz, any given day

Who say??
        Proton Iriz worth four times better than this Mazda.

Iriz 1.6 Premium Cvt is only Rm 63000.

you cannot get new Mazda 2 at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
  • Everything about this car was fine but why the Hatch is more expensive than the sedan? Because of power to weight ratio?

• Anonymous on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:07 am

Because of our tax structure. Hatchback in Malaysia is defined as sporty similar like sports coupe hence the higher tax imposed.

• Because of our national carmaker, any car besides Proton in Malaysia is defined as sporty hence higher tax is imposed

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:42 am

Generally speaking, all things being equal, hatches are more expensive and difficult to build, owning to additional strengtening and rear glass hatch needed due to lack of a aft crossmember (to facilitate fold down seats).

Also, the hatch is also likely the lower volume seller, so per unit costs are higher.

Ironically, decades before, hatches and coupes tend to be the cheaper body style of any model.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

U r rite to doubt this: And becoz the hatch uses less metal ti built, it should be cheaper. But i think they predict that the hatch will be the lower volume seller, thats why the price it higher

• Josh Ling on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:37 am

it’s been a norm in malaysia, guess it could be due to higher kit count (some they will include things that are not available in sedan variant), or simply because they look sportier and / or better than the sedan, or they just want to get higher margin per car, as we all know sedan definitely will outsell hatchback here. the only exceptions i can think of are jazz/city and mirage/attrage, where the hatchback variant is cheaper than the sedan, but these hatchbacks are neither as big nor having better as well-specced as the sedans as well.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:11 am

Why on earth are leather seats deemed more important than airbags?! What was Bermaz thinking? If they switched those it would be a great offer. Now it falls back behind most Proton models…

• Depends,

I sit on the seat everyday.

But for the past 12 years of ownership of car with air bag, it never popped once.

I know accident can happen anytime but i believe good attitude, and good driving skill is better. In this case ESP is included.

Anyway, it is better if more airbags count but again, i can reduce my accident percentage by having good attitude and good driving skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • hantu on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:19 am

No Skyactive-D offered?

• spongewai on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:45 am

good car, good design but remain 2-airbags

err

• Those Mazda3 buyers will be crying because do not get head up display

• If the specs and price is confirmed, can say bye bye to Vios. Strong contender for City.

• blackbox on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:55 am

VIOS won’t die. They target those who prefer 4 speed gear box. In today market C-segment car only VIOS come with 4 speed gear box. If you want less gear VIOS is your only choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • KKZOOM on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Oh Dear, Oh Dear…. please do not compare this M2 with the regional design Vios and City.

Come on guys, compare with the same segment which are globally available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Mazda 2222 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Mazda 2 not worth,Rm 85000 to Rm 87000 and cannot compare to Honda City.

Honda City until now still many people buy,and this Mazda no chance to compete.

City E price is just Rm 84000 and very worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • whitebox on Jan 06, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Since when Vios is C segment?

• Josh Ling on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:40 am

after the takata incident, I don’t think 2 airbag is considered as safety falls short again eh? having more airbags might just be a potential safety hazardous. lol…..

• azhar on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:46 am

nice!!..but with all mazda cars,interior space is not as good with other cars in the segment

• wtf?! on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:49 am

minimum 6 airbags with VSC no matter big car or small car. Kia and Proton can do so no reason for the rest for not able to do so. Picanto/Rio/Iris/Preve, all these fellows are below 75k price mark.

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:59 am

Did you know that this car is the same price as myvi in Japan? But in bolehland tax so high this car become expensive only for rich people. Even stupid protong got tax oso!! Why so greedy even local car want to tax as well??? Blood sucking gomen!!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 12:42 pm

So Mazda Malaysia thinks we have thick skulls so they took out 4 airbags and say we can live through the accident with our kids. Bravo, I’ll pick another brand that has 6 airbags and VSC as standard.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 06, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Sod it. Another good car ruined by lack of proper safety gear.

Bermaz needs some head knocking to put in superfluous accesories instead of safety gear.

The government is partly to be blamed also. Due to high duties, every RM spent on safety gear is also taxed, so it becomes expensive for consumers.

Even imported child seats get charged full taxes. This shows how much customs or the government really thinks about safety.

• Angry Parents on Jan 06, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Screw Proton! Even child seats also need full tax to protect Proton. Also, we get less safety kit as car manufacturers are reluctant to include them due to high duties. Why must we compromise our safety for Proton? Is the safety of a child not as important as the protection of Proton kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • berger on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Honda can give 6 airbags in Jazz, 87k.
          Blame p1?

Cannot brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • Mazda 222222 on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Honda Jazz V is 6 airbag,price Rm 87800 or Rm 88k.

Proton Iriz 1.6 Cvt Premium also 6 airbag,price Rm 63000.

Ini hal Mazda Malaysia tak boleh bagi 6 airbag,nak blame Proton??

Must be stupid Mazda supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
    • Bad joker on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Why worry about how many air bags it has? Just make up for the shortfall and pad the windows with your own lounge cushions!

• NeoBro on Jan 06, 2015 at 1:23 pm

I was just going to say “take my money now!” until read the 2 airbags statement… Disappointed with that! Now my money goes to some other other makes. Boo!

• Das Auto on Jan 06, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Where is Mazda 3 CKD? Been waiting for that for ages!!! What is bermaz doing?

• Thai boy on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:36 pm

QC should be good as it’s a global model and Thailand is responsible for South East Asia diesel only for Thailand and Europe where Euro 6 available, this car soon big hit in Thailand

• Thai boy on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:02 pm

5 DOORS definately cost more than 4 DOORS, no? Facts

• car-fans on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Mazda Malaysia Tipu ! Mazda Salesman show latest price Salon & Hatchback same price RM87,956 not including Navi System with Optional RM1,200 !!!!

• CyberPatrol on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:51 pm

What I like about this car is Mazda claim of highest level of car-and-driver connection, or jinba ittai (horse and rider as one). Can’t wait to test drive this claim. And SkyActiv-Body which hardened by 22%, and two(2) air-bags, IMHO, air-bags only mitigate injury during 40-50km/h impact but above 80km/h impact I think air-bags can’t help instead a Gods help indeed to live and see another day.
    Price reduce by 10% will very competitive in mass market B-segment already crowded with foreign auto brands. Again that business model on local distributor have to decide on CBU or CKD. Maybe a with option for EEV application