Toyota makes available hydrogen fuel cell patents used in the Mirai, royalty free until 2020

Toyota-Mirai-USA

Here’s something unexpected. To spur development and introduction of innovative fuel cell tech around the world, Toyota is making available thousands of its hydrogen fuel cell patents, royalty free.

Announced at the 2015 Consumer Electronics Show, this initiative will see Toyota invite royalty-free use of approximately 5,680 fuel cell related patents held globally, including critical technologies developed for the production Toyota Mirai, revealed in November 2014.

The list includes approximately 1,970 patents related to fuel cell stacks, 290 associated with high-pressure hydrogen tanks, 3,350 related to fuel cell system software control and 70 patents related to hydrogen production and supply.

“At Toyota, we believe that when good ideas are shared, great things can happen. The first generation hydrogen fuel cell vehicles, launched between 2015 and 2020, will be critical, requiring a concerted effort and unconventional collaboration between automakers, government regulators, academia and energy providers,” said Bob Carter, senior VP of automotive operations at Toyota USA.

“By eliminating traditional corporate boundaries, we can speed the development of new technologies and move into the future of mobility more quickly, effectively and economically,” he added.

Toyota’s initiative builds on previous commitments, including financial support for the development of hydrogen fuelling infrastructure. In May 2014, it announced a $7.3 million (RM26,002,336) loan to FirstElement Fuels to support the operations and maintenance of 19 hydrogen fuelling stations in California. Toyota is also collaborating with Air Liquide to develop and supply a network of 12 hydrogen stations for New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island.

2016_Toyota_Fuel_Cell_Vehicle_033

The patents will be made available to automakers who will produce and sell fuel cell vehicles, as well as to fuel cell parts suppliers and energy companies who establish and operate fuelling stations. Companies working to develop and introduce fuel cell buses and industrial equipment, such as forklifts, are also covered. Requests from companies looking to adapt fuel cell tech outside of the transportation sector will be evaluated on a case by case basis.

Patents related to fuel cell vehicles will be available for royalty-free licenses until the end of 2020. Patents for hydrogen production and supply will remain open for an unlimited duration. As part of licensing agreements, Toyota will request (but not require) that other companies share their fuel cell-related patents with Toyota for similar royalty-free use. Not sure if major carmakers will take up the offer, but we’ll see.

The Mirai – ‘future’ in Japanese – is powered by hydrogen, which is of course abundant. Using no gasoline, it emits only water vapour and “refuels” in roughly five minutes. The five-seater has an active range of up to 483 km, Toyota claims. Not just a concept car, the Mirai goes on sale in the USA this year for $57,500 (RM204,772). More on the Mirai here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Savy Value (SV) on Jan 07, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Faster lah UMW, pasang it here! Perodua Murai local CKD price RM99K.

No need buy Iriz Electric also RM99K, better trust Toyota quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Ice Kacang on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Toyota car quality is good, but how about the hydrogen fueling station? It is hydrogen man. Anything happened you pray you have bought enough insurance for your family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Toyota is car maker while UMW is ‘pengedar’. Toyota build good car but UMW make it become a bad car. Anyway did you convert your hydrogen into twin turbo?

• Yes trust Toyota build quality, even some deaths caused by its “quality”

• Don’t trust Toyota, trust Proton’s R&D. R&D like Punch CVT that has rubber band effect can slingshot the car faster to the afterlife. This is Proton’s R&D(Race&Death)

• LOL…that bumper looks like something from the back alleys of Chan Sow Lin

• rolandchoo on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Royalty free, come on, there is no free meal in this world. This is called strategy.

It is like taking drugs. Suck you in first with free drugs, later slaughter you lah when you depend on its patent, ha ha.

• Low inflation on Jan 07, 2015 at 6:47 pm

does tat mean any auto manufacturer only can use this tech free for 5yrs. after onwards then toyota may charge super high price for the patent? or it wil cont to b free?

• Ronaldo on Jan 08, 2015 at 12:27 am

You know Tesla also did something similar right? Now what did Proton do? Suck rakyat’s money by short charging for 6 airbags?

• Chris (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:49 am

I thought Tesla is free forever? Or am I mistaken?

Imagine you spend the next 5 years developing your own fuel cell cars, surely you’ll infringe a few patents here and there considering how many Toyota filed.

So by the time you finish R&D, and put the car into production, it’s already 2020 and Toyota will come knocking on your door, asking for royalty fees or you have to stop selling your car, or see you in court.

Scumbag in disguise?

• Same L0rr on Jan 08, 2015 at 1:33 pm

First, why do you still need to do R&D when you are given free patents? Secondly, where is R&D of Proton? Other carmakers have showcase their technology but Proton? Still Rest&Dining ah? Rest&Dining tak apa but why ask the G to grant billions for the so called R&D?

Songlap in disguise?

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Later in USA this car will be hated like the Prius and get smashed by a Tank like in Motor Trend’s Roadkill channel.
    Toyota makes most hated car but still have Resale Value and Reliable

• raychoo on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Lucky they didn’t make the design royalty-free too…

The Toyota Mirai. Redefining Fuggly.

• Observer on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Royalty free eh…
    Sounds like something somewhere within the patents / designs they just cannot fix / understand… so let all other manufacturer use it and see who can figure it out…. then Toyota copy back…hahaha

• Same L0rr on Jan 08, 2015 at 12:37 am

Stupid observer, Toyota releases free patents also want to bash. What did Proton do from billions spend on R&D? Proton, can share 1 patent ah, if you have any?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • bangun harimau on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Eww..weird design..big car body with small tyres..
    Looks like futuristic car derived from the 70s idea..

• 2 technologies on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Looks like a battle between 2 technologies, Hydrogen Fuel Cell vs plug-in electric car, same thing that happened with Blu-Ray vs HD-DVD ( Blu-ray won ) and VHS vs Betamax (VHS won).

The timing is too much of a coincidence since Tesla did the same thing few months ago, and now Toyota sharing its patents?

• Jimmy on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Good move. Thumbs up.
    No free meals, true. But so what?
    You give me your knowledge, I solve part of your problems, okay wat.
    I mention it here, it is okay to have some degree of corruption (eat and feed) be it monetary or power, as long as it is not excessive. This is reality.
    Are we so naive to think that there is such thing called total corruption-free?

• Same L0rr on Jan 08, 2015 at 12:39 am

You should ask Proton where the billions spend on R&D went

http://paultan.org/2014/07/18/proton-wants-govt-pay-rd-costs/

• WaJib on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Oh.. Damn it. After see it I just no mood to eat my McD chicken

• Nailinthecoffin on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Is this the nail in the coffin for oil company?????

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 07, 2015 at 6:26 pm

very good of toyota. This is mark of good people. What about proton? When will proton give car for free to rakyat? This is what mamakthir promised when he open proton, right or not? Now not only car not free, got tax somemore by gomen!!! Greedy mamakthir and gomen

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 07, 2015 at 6:42 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a Toyota or Honda, it will have great RV

• Green on Jan 07, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Good Move..
    This can ensure higher production of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell system, that lead to lower cost of production. Bringing us nearer to the future.

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:01 pm

If there was a better designer to design this car, this car could be a legend. Too sad, the designer team was not Pininfarina and Bertone

• Sounds like they’re desperate. They know they can’t make hydrogen cars happen on their own like they did with hybrids. Doesn’t help that they’re spearheading the movement with a model that looks like it had every inch of it beat with the ugly stick. With Tesla, they proved you could have an electric car that’s both exciting and efficient, with looks that aren’t polarizing. Sorry, but can’t see the appeal of this over a hybrid/ pure EV, especially since you’d be pretty much stuck in California/Japan for the foreseeable future.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:44 pm

From an engineering standpoint, FCVs are brilliant.

Toyota has been surprisingly slow compared to Honda who already have the second feb FCX Clarity, and even Hyundai’s first Tuscon FCV.

Can’t wait to see what the Germans will do it.

• Nubis auto on Jan 08, 2015 at 1:14 am

it not easy to get hydrogen gas. we need electric to extract from water.

• Not a fan of toyota, but this tech definitely works for me as commute despite its polarising styling, 3 minutes for 483km range at RM200k, i wish to have one of this.

• Kosumaledoko on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:38 am

This is a good move. Sharing of green technology for better future.

But extracting hydrogen is still a problem. If too much electricity/power are use to extract small amount of hydrogen gas, it’s still not cost efficient and doesn’t help the environment much.

• Sammy on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:24 am

I urge proton to seriously exploring at the possibilities of using the free patent. No point paying catchup with our thai counterpart. We need a quantum leap.
    Also, as an energy production nation, alternative source should always be explored. Energy and fuel are the bread and butter of our economy.

• Proton Supporter on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:23 pm

You are suggesting Proton to use Toyota’s patent?! Tak boleh lah ni, supporters will object…

• First is Lotus using Toyota’s engine. Now you want Proton to use Toyota’s pattern? Proton, do your own R&D and don’t be lazy

• Sammy on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:37 pm

That would be ideal, our own R&D, but that would take lots of time and resources which proton doesn’t have. unless you want it to suck more from our pocket.

Nothing wrong with that in my opinion. Infiniti Q50 is using merc engine and gearbox. And most companies rely on ZF and the likes for gearbox and other parts. If we don’t have the volume, is a big risk to invest in a technology that may not work out.

• Toyota has a chance to start with a plain sheet of paper and they designed a nose heavy FWD. Geez, these guys have no imagination.

Makes me applaud Tesla even more. Their car is like nothing else on the planet. The car floor is the battery which means it takes up zero space but also lowers the CG right towards the floor. There is compartment in the front and rear. The tiny engine no bigger than your printer has 400hp.

No doubt Toyota may end up selling more of this Mirai if the price is right. But I won’t be bothered with it

• Sinki on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:45 pm

You know there’s a car called LF-A if you want a perfect weight distribution right? Do you know that in the LF-A, you’re actually sitting on top of the CG, which is more impressive than Tesla! No doubt Tesla is very good if you’re looking for a super hybrid car. Mirai is just a normal passenger hybrid car. The next Supra might be a hybrid though

• Takeo1070 on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Wonder whether the engineers has studied the Hindenburg Zepplin incidents before venturing into this tech..