Proton offers flood victims 6-month instalment delays

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

Proton has announced that Maybank, AmBank and Bank Muamalat are offering a moratorium of up to six months on car instalment payments and repayments for those affected by the recent East Coast floods, as well as a one-off waiver on late payment penalties.

The national carmaker said that the move will allow affected owners and their families to take things one at a time in the aftermath of the calamities. It urged those eligible, however, to contact the banks directly and submit their requests as soon as possible, in order to give them due notice and avoid penalties.

“We initiate this call to inform our Proton car owners who have a car loan with these banks to contact the respective banks immediately as this would help lift one burden off their shoulders temporarily,” said CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah. “This kind gesture from these banks provides us a basis to discuss with other financial institutions to see if they are able to extend similar assistance.”

Note that these facilities will not be limited to Proton customers – the said banks are also looking to provide up to six months’ grace period on all loans (not just automotive hire-purchase) on a case-by-case basis.

Meanwhile, the Proton Flood Relief Mission to the East Coast is moving to its second round, happening from January 7-9. The volunteers will assist in the cleanup of schools in Tanah Merah in Kelantan, as well as providing essential items in Temerloh in Pahang.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Happy on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Good job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Pee Dua on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Perodua also must help la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • TNB Tipu Rakyat on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Proton is no longer a GLC and is helping out. …What is our GLC doing ? All pretend nothing happen

I want to bring attention to TNB…

HELLO CEO TENAGA NASIONAL … petrol price down 60%… why TARIFF DIDNT ADJUST ?

CEO TNB you buat Bodoh ? You think the Rakyat is STUPID like you ???

??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
        • Flybyhacker on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:20 am

Sorry, TNB power generation fuel mix is 62.6% gas, 20.9% coal, 9.5% hydro and 7% from other forms of fuel.
          7% just Oil-fired/Biomass powered.
          Is Petrol same as GAS ?

• Low Budget on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:31 pm

TNB do not generate electricity themselves but purchased at fixed price from 1MDB controlled electric generation companies, whether price of oil come crashing down or not, TNB still pays the old price. If not 1MDB will go bust much sooner. You see, the people need to subsidize 1MDB.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Without flood, Proton already so problematic. Now with flood, how much you gonna spend in garage?

However, no matter your car damage serious or not, your RV close to 0 or not, you still have to clear your car loan. 6 months delay for you to find water fish buy your Proton.

Once you are with Proton, you are in vicious spiral, the flood will worsen your situation. Sorry for all flooded Proton victims.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Proton is one pariah company. Take so much from the rakyat. Every year take billions from the kerajaan. Where the money come from? From our Income Tax lah. Mana lagi.

Proton should give at least 1 year interest free. Or Offer free repair to all cars.

Proton owe us this. Because of Proton we have lost billions of Ringgit that could have gone to build schools and hospitals.

Because of Proton too and protection of it, we lost hundreds of billions USD from car companies who jumped into Thailand to set up factory.

Because of Proton too, we lost hundreds of thousands of jobs that went to Thailand too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Observer on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:55 am

Please show me proof of this “every year PROTON takes billions from kerajaan” accusation… as far as I know they only received 100 mill yearly from R&D purposes…even that is strictly for RND (read: Tun M electric car project)…
            Realy please do show proof of the so called “billions” you claiming… if no proof or u can’t even show one shred of evidence… then you’ll just a bastard spouting nonsense making slander towards PROTON.

• Inilah on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Now this is what I call best! 6 months delay is like a dream come true. Definitely help in times of crisis.

• abang. you tau apa itu IPP ka?

• Terima Kasih on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Thank you Proton. 6 months is no joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • TNB Tipu Rakyat on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Proton is no longer a GLC and is helping out. …What is our GLC doing ? All pretend nothing happen

I want to bring attention to TNB…

HELLO CEO TENAGA NASIONAL … petrol price down 60%… why TARIFF DIDNT ADJUST ?

CEO TNB you buat Bodoh ? You think the Rakyat is STUPID like you ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:59 am

TNB is one big cheat. This is to feed the cronies. Now oil and gas is at the lowest in history. Last time when pariah TNB naik harga and tariff, they said it was because oil and gas naik. Now oil and gas turun, they should also turun.

Malaysia is the only country in the world where normal households spend RM300 to RM450 on their electric bills. Nearly 20% of most people’s pay

• Flood Victim on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Just give for free lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 36
    • Later people ask for free cars, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Albert on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Mppp,Simple….Go to Cayman Islands…plenty of FUNDS there…..you know belonging to who..Billions of US Dollars.

• Albert on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Food Victim,Proton missed the point ,your brand new Suprima hancur 100 %….so whats the use of the moratorium? During the 7th month,the bank’s legal department will demand payment and blacklist the poor 10 year loan car buyer,who lost everything.
      Proton should have funded the extra premium(30 %loading) for flood insurance for those East coast motorists to cover for annual floods,in the form of ” flood relief discounts”.
      A moratorium is just buying time.If your proton hancur 100%,can you continue the 9year instalments and buy another smaller car at the same time?If you default in instalments,you will surely disenarai hitam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
      • tourist on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Errrr no, thanks, not my taste

• Flabergasted on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

OMG Albert. Your level of IQ really astounds me. Proton didn’t cause the flood. So, why should proton fund the extra premium like u said? The fact they have gone and took the trouble to get the banks to give a 6 month delay in installments is more than good enough already.
        There are other brands of cars which were affected by flood in the east coast, but how many of those companies do you see coming forward to extend a helping hand in this time of needs?
        Dont try to talk big and blame proton in every single thing that happen in this world. To me, you really sounded like a ‘pencacai’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • Albert on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Flabergasted pencacai,Do u know what the hell is going on in Proton?Those dead wood management knows Proton’s sales will continue to dip.Imagine,2 plants capable of 1.2 million units,only producing 115,000 units for 2014,plus top secret number of cars(especially suprimas)basking in the sun(unsold).My insider told me many of those dead wood refuse to go to tanjong Malim and fighting hell inside.They are just buying time by coming out with all these social programmes(which are not wrong),to deflect criticism at their awesome sales,which dipped by 23,000 units compared to 2013.In 2 years,if sales dropped by a total of 40,000 units…..you wont be able to call people names at this forum.Why?Proton would have stopped and called it a day,cos MMC is not willing to continue national service.
          All of the forum writers will be writing about Perodua,renamed PERTAMA fighting with other car makers,minus defunct Proton(heavily in debt).
          This forum is not for badmouthing people with wrong names,you shithole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Flabergasted on Jan 10, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Oh Mr Albert, once again you have proved to me that your IQ level is rather amazing and I dont mean that as a compliment. First you bashed proton for not doing more after the recently disastrous flood in the east coast when it’s clear as day to everyone that the floods has nothing to do with the poor management of proton holding. And when i pointed out to you that they are actually doing something to help the people as compared to various other car companies, then you divert the argument into what proton is failing to do as a national car companies. Since when the issue of not covering the extra premium for flood insurance has anything to do with dipping proton sales and thousands of unsold suprimas that are basking under our sun?
            I am fully well aware that proton has not lived up to expectation even after years and years of protection from the government, but I am also intelligent enough to know that not all the problems in this world is caused by proton, which for in this case, the floods. Proton should go bankrupt if they don’t buck up and improve their image and their sales as that is the nature of businesses, but to associate the company with every bad things that happens in your surrounding, well, that only happens when people like you try to act smart and talk big in front of the crowds. Okay Pencacai?

• Low Budget on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Just wondering which insurance companies will take up flood insurance knowing that flooding is a sure thing in East Coast yearly.

• Alamak on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Standard hp/ auto insurance don’t cover natural disaster. Unless your vehicle is parked at a privately owned place and it got flooded, you can claim the said owner for compensation, but nowadays building owner will just stick a notice saying park at your own risk. So basically u’ll need to buy a separate natural disaster insurance and it is not calculated based on your car type/ where you stay/ work etc. cost of living going up, people will not pay for the extra premium.

• Albert on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Low budget,some insurers still provide flood insurance BUT at a huge loading of 30-50 percent on top of the basic premium.
          But how many are willing to pay extra until it is too late,like what happened in kelantan.

• paku pakis on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

does proton has an offer for the flood victims to repair their car and the owner will just need to pay 50% for the parts like honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:10 pm

It does – a 30% discount on parts, as well as a waiver on labour charges.

http://paultan.org/2014/12/26/proton-we-care-prihatin-banjir/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • MoFaz original on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Kereta sudah tenggelam lagi apa mau bayar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
    • karam singh on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:21 pm

dah bagi betis, nak peha ..
      dah la pinjam duit bank, lagi mau bising
      bencana alam mana boleh elak,
      mcm tu semua bnd yg tenggelam dlm bnjir consider free ke ?
      be professional.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Unsung on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:57 am

Kereta sudah tenggelam Proton belum tenggelam mah. Proton tenggelam tak payah bayar lah

• no need pay lah on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:11 pm

First time there’s something good to buy and own proton on prone flooding areas.
    So next year and years on. Continue to flood . So can delay payments till Proton cars scrap and movable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • First thing first.

The flood is not a joke.

And the buyers owe the banks, not Proton.
      But Proton is good enough to talk to the banks.

• Pay instalment for flooded car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • commenter on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:44 pm

No, pay for your comment
      Ok, go to sleep

• jemah on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:36 pm

i’ll pay for kepala bapak kau yg dah putus ditetak

• mama jemah on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Kereta mu belum dibayar hutang, kepala bapak kau putus ditetak pun tak cukup bayar installment

• Low Budget on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:42 pm

It is paying installment for the repair of the flooded car and at the mean time the actual loan repayment got deferred by the banks.

• MoFaz (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:17 pm

you’re not original.. you’re MoFaz tiruan!
    those without flood insurance still need to pay for their car installment and pay for repair too. those with flood insurance can repair their car using their insurance coverage and pay installment, unless if the damage is very bad and declared as total loss, those with flood insurance don’t have to pay anymore.

• kanakuning on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:20 pm

I think it’s a commendable move by Proton considering the huge number proton owners in the affected areas. Reading the article, this waiver on loan instalments appear to be offered by Banks probably on request made by Proton.

Some car companies have started similar programmes earlier focusing on discounted repairs, including Proton. But where loans are concerned, this could be the first. Hopefully more Banks join this list and perhaps offer assistance to owners of cars other than Proton.

Perhaps other car companies can take the lead from this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • AbsolutKev86 on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:09 pm

as long as they dont charge interest for the months that are exempted then it is fine….

• Haters gonna hate. Good move Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Takde ke instalment delay for cars that stalled and taking months to repair? Most are because Proton doesn’t know the cause of the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Wow, this is very moving proton. Nice job! Hopefully other banks will follow suit and I see that there is potential that it could also extend to other loan such as house loan etc.

And stop condemning people that try to help. At least proton try. What did you do to help the flood victims?

• Priscilla on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:34 am

I remember how proton took care of my dad saga. Even with the warranty finished, they still offer huge discount on parts and not charge on labour knowing that my dad is only an old pensioner. After my dad died in 2013, I took the Saga for normal maintenance to the SC. They recognized the car and ask where is my dad? I was surprised how close these people are to my dad that when I mentioned he died, one of the girl working there even cried.

• As compared to numerous people cried because Proton cannot fix the problem like engine bocor, electrical fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • JoeRadzif on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:48 am

2nd Hand Car also get waive?

btw, Good move Proton.

• Sammy on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:51 am

You are making all the right noises proton…
    Well done.

• Wayang2 on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Wayang kuat! U kasi kete free pun tak laku la. Tak payak malu2! Rakyat sudah bersusah bertahun-tahun bayar lebih for milo tin. Now time for u to close shop. The same goes for perodua. Money sucking milo tins!