Taxis not using meters tops complaint list – SPAD

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 259

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said that it received the most complaints relating to taxi drivers refusing to use their meters, according to a report by The Star.

The English-language daily quoted SPAD’s head of customer service Zachary Ismail as saying that other top complaints involving taxis include not using the shortest route and unsafe conduct of the drivers.

“We have a lot of taxis in Malaysia, so it is natural we receive the most complaints about them,” he said. “Last year, 24,343 complaints were received, where 9,892 were related to taxis, 7,984 against buses and 5,714 against lorries. The rest were on railways and terminals.”

Although 160,000 complaints were made over the phone to SPAD last year, most of them could not be investigated thoroughly. “Many calls were just rantings and scoldings,” he added.

Zachary urged individuals to provide relevant information when lodging a complaint, in order for SPAD to improve its processes. The details should include the person’s name, IC number, mailing or email address, contact number, details of the incident, registration number and type of vehicle, the vehicle’s operating company and pictures or video, if possible.

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 265

Moving forward, the commission will be streamlining its complaint handling process, making it easier to report on poor public transport experiences. SPAD will also be adding SMS notifications on the status of the case, live web chats, mobile counters for lodging complaints, a case monitoring website and a dedicated phone line connected to SPAD at public transport hubs.

“This year, we will be updating the complainant at all critical points – from the moment the complaint was registered, to the moment the investigation is launched and completed, to the resolution of the case,” said Zachary, adding that SPAD is also working on addressing complaints more efficiently.

Zachary also claimed that the increasing number of complaints made in 2014, 69% more than the year before, showed that the public was becoming more confident with SPAD. “The average wait time for a caller before his or her call is answered is seven seconds. As you can see, we take complaints very seriously,” he said.

Individuals can send complaints and feedback to SPAD via Twitter (@aduanSPAD), calling its hotline at 1800-88-7723, sending an email to [email protected], fax, letters, texting “SPAD Aduan” to 15888, or lodging a report in person.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Best part is there is a sign on the taxi telling the customers not to haggling. Maybe that sticker should pasted on the foreheads of the taxi drivers with the no haggling sign facing them.

And for fark sake…can the government just approve a higher base rate. They also tak cukup makan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • van sapu on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Tunggu apa lagi SPAD? Very busy tangkap UBER lagi kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • ProtonGSC on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:38 pm

SPAD and MAI/MITI were all shitting with Rakyat.

What they do for Rakyat???
        Listen but no action that’s Bolehland Govt department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
        • News to me on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Our Taxis got meter ?

Ministers all sleeping … not doing their jobs.. GAJI BUTA every month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • trollmaster3000 on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:56 pm

meter hanya sekadar hiasan.. daylight robbers mana mau pakai punya..

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:14 am

Go and see SPAD big boss gaji. His gaji alone is RM100k per month. So you can understand. We pay so much of money to the pariahs at SPAD and they don’t do anything.

You know why?

They are all on the take. Teksi drivers bribe them like crazy!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:16 am

You want to be rich, either join BN or join SPAD. You can be driving a Porsche or Ferrari in 2 years time, cash fully paid.

• hondaman on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:56 pm

if u google, less than 10 uber cars was caught wherelese there are a few hundred taxis caught for various offences…. just because uber like to create more marketing hype via controversies u thought the authority only catch them ehh? U sama saja macam pemandu-pemandu teksi yang takut kepada 50 bijik kereta uber walaupun ada 37,000 teksi di KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:36 pm

If SPAD was just as diligent trying to catch UBER with plain clothes officers parading as customers, they would have solved the problem with taxi’s that;

1) refuse a client destination for whatever reason
          2) refuse to use meters
          3) driving dangerously
          4) with unprofessional conduct
          5) unsafe and unmaintained vehicles

Why do they still need the public to phone in? Then claim insufficient info when people do call and rant.

Let’s face it. SPAD has no political will to improve the system in fear of breaking their master’s rice bowl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • 10 of 50 cars is 20%. I googled for SPAD catching taxis, each time is also only 10 taxi’s, double digits NOT triple digits like in your comment. Maybe SPAD each time got quota of 10-15 summonses. Finish quota, go minum kopi. So 10-15 each time, out of 37,000?

• How ironic:

Uber – highly praised and well received by users about the standard of service and their positive experience. SPAD proactively take swift action and go undercover operation to nab the drivers. No need to wait for complaints from users.

Taxis – heavily criticised by users. Numerous complaints made by public. SPAD talking about complaint system bla bla. Why cant SPA do similar undercover operation to sweep the taxis clean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • SPADpunCARImakan on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:51 am

SPAD also cari makan.., they also need to kowtow to their master.. just google how many politician own the taxi company.
          no wonder we will not move anywhere with regards to taxi services. Let’s go use UBER in droves! ajar sikit all this taxi gangsters.

• SPAD is still did not come up with plans to overcome “Taxis not using meters”. Actually they earn their respect by developing the numbers of complaints through statistic. All the taxis outside hotel / chinatown / Berjaya Times Square / Central Market / NU sentral / AEON BIG / Kota Raya – Mydin Pudu / UTC opposite hotels / Swiss Garden hotel / MY Hotel and Bukit Bintang narrow roads does the overcharging price but use the neter reading if detect or arrest on arrival by SPAD.
      In Singapore they dont do statistic to overcome the complaints.. they solve it right away by taking stern action to the drivers. Here, SPAD need full particular of complainants which complainants will never do that. Its seems THE HEAD OF SPAD still unable to find the right officer to take charge on Ongoing problems which are really shaking the Government ability to show public and tourist they are capable in addressing the issue on time

• Klaus on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Thats why Malaysia needs Uber, better ban the standard taxis rather crackdown on Uber.

Waste of space and resources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Paul Wee on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:55 pm

“Zachary also claimed that the increasing number of complaints made in 2014, 69% more than the year before, showed that the public was becoming more confident with SPAD.”

Sounds to me the service quality of public transport got worse year-on-year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • MitchelJohn on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Not sure if I should comment seriously or not when every time an article about SPAD comes up.

• Never ending SHIT story….whats next???

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:20 pm

In UK, you can get lotus elise as taxi, mercedes s class much more common. Here in Malaysia, taxi all lousy old proton. Driver all umnoputeras and all rude. Very shameful if tourist ride our taxi. The way to complaint oso complicated need to have this and that info. SPAD sincere or not to help or just obey with umnoputera taxi driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • hondaman on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:00 pm

u can get the same premium vehicle in malaysia too laa… airport limo taxi service even provide u jaguar cars. SPAD need to info too ensure that it is a genuine. What if i complaint u drive dangerously but i don’t give my info & it can’t be verify cz no evident?

• Hondashit on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:55 am

lu sapa? macai SPAD? Macai taxi? so defensive againts comment towards taxi or spad? just accept the fact that most taxi in KL are all rundown taxi. filthy.. smelly.. that’s not including the driver which looks unkempt; shirt also very dirty.. picking nose..
        fuii.. like this still want to defend to death all KL taxi!

• Reaper on May 28, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Why are you specifically stating “umnoputera”? This has nothing to do with race. Keep racist refrences out. Just say taxi drivers.

• complain king on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Waste of time to complain. This is Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • When you don’t complain or report, they will say, “See! Improvement! Complaints and cases dropped.”

• Chow 1 on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Sorry to say most Malaysia’s Taxi drivers are the worst in the world. They are dishonest, samseng, unprofessional, and a disgrace to the country image. They used to cheat only tourists, now they openly cheat locals too, what a shame.

• Sammy on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Wow, is like the discovery of the century for them.

So SPAD, could you tell of all the complains, what did you do with it? How many percent investigated / action taken /resolved /pending? Or it just goes into a black hole….

And is already a clear indication that it is a big issue. Do you have a strategy to eradicate this as whole? By when?

Or you need more complains to be sure??

• Taxi permit are own by retired Army and some cronies, what the do is to rent out their permit and the taxi to people
    If SPAD want to solve the problem then stop all he alibaba business and give taxi permit to people who want to make a living same goes to bus company

• transformer on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Msia taxi industry has been world renown for its lousy service, lousy attitude and yet still overcharge.

this is why UBER comes into place. competition is good for rakyat and consumer!

still remember in old days, provision shop/mini market charge so high for daily necessities and after Hypermarket arrives, most provision shop wind up.

• Botak on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:40 pm

And yet they still worried about UBER more than this problem. As is all the UBER driver were serial killer. Pfffftttt.

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

They sleep well.

• protonsucks on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:18 pm

chau hai SPAD,all this time u dont know at all mea ??
    been so many years and now only u bring up the issue ? ??

LAP SAP SPAD LA!!

• albag on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:26 pm

LOL got the data dy… SPAD masih lengang lengang relax je… hahahaha!

• Samad Jain on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:11 pm

SPAD officers all looks like pregnant…
    Too much “kopi” and didn’t do work.

Kasi tutup SPAD. Makes no difference with or without SPAD.

• SPADpunCARImakan on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:57 am

see the boss lah! how big the stomach! makan sana.. makan sini.., forever taxi will never improve lah!

• CyberPatrol on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Sigh..this is another gossip story. No Key Performance Index (KPI) mentioned. I’m not impress and tired of their gossiping talks and plenty excuses.

• xoxox on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Yea…taxi doesn’t have meter…well, what have you done to tackle this? Spad

• twitter is not functioning… SPAD, i give u one tip.. just go to Batu 3 KTM station undercover.. try ask for TAXI to go TTDI Jaya…

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:06 am

Anybody know the reason why a taxi must have a 1.5 liter or bigger engine?

• Limbo on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:02 am

If Malaysia taxi service is really good and reliable, Uber will not survive in Malaysia. There are so many taxi gangsters waiting in some areas and what does SPAD do?

• silver on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:58 am

Spad should just go to bukit bintang area in the morning and pretend to be a customer they would have easily caught 20 taxis ripping people of . If local taxi driver are more honest people would not have switch to UBER.

• no action, talk kok only

• Sayeed on Mar 05, 2017 at 11:36 am

Just now I hired one taxi,my destination maybe less than 1 km.
    Normally if I go so taxi rent 3 rm.
    But I asked to the driver to go Chan saw lin LRT. he said this is so near,why you hired.
    I said actually I’m so late for my office.
    Then he said ok no meter, just 4 rm.
    I said okay.
    then he started to drive like a crazy driver,
    window was opened, And he was smoking, at a time he attempt to accident, but finally we’re saved.
    The Taxi number is HWE2915.
    Hope Government start to look about taxi services.
    Actually we’re really proud of Malaysia.

• Tasnim on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:50 am

HBE1533 the taxi number chited with customer.he take the customer 135rm but fare only 35rm

• Dharshini on Jun 04, 2022 at 10:47 pm

Klu nk tunggu depan mall tunggu customer tu . Ddk je dlm kereta . Perempuan habis kerja . Tunggu kat bus pun nk gossip gelak mcm bodoh. Ni number kereta HBB2624 . Berlaku depan Ampang point . (4/6/2022/ Saturday) time 10.20pm. Dh tua still gatal . Gossip pasal perempuan kat tepi jalan tu tolong jgn buat lagi. Onrg habis kerja tunggu bus bkn nk layan benda2 bodoh mi semua bkn sehari setiap kali .