2015 Toyota Vios gets updated inside and out; keyless entry now standard across the range, from RM75k

2015-toyota-vios-updates

The third-generation Toyota Vios has been updated with a number of exterior and interior improvements for 2015. Among the raft of changes included, Smart Entry and Push Start is now available as standard across the entire range. The door handles and rear garnish strip on the 1.5J and 1.5E variants now sport a chrome finish.

Moving up the trim line, the 1.5G model receives an all-black leather interior, replacing the previous beige colour scheme – reminiscent of the treatment found on the other variants. The 1.5G adds on scuff plates on the door sills – also standard on the 1.5E version. A portable tyre pump comes as standard across the range.

Further upgrades on the 1.5G variant arrive in the form of blue-coloured front footwell illumination while the range-topping TRD Sportivo model features a similar setup, albeit with an amber-coloured setup. In-car entertainment for the 2015 Vios comes courtesy of two new optional platforms.

The new DVD-AVX system features a 6.1-inch screen (an increase over the old 5.8-inch screen) with USB, SD, AUX and Bluetooth capability along with a reverse camera. A 7.0-inch touchscreen system with WiFi, HDMI, Bluetooth connectivity as well as Voice Recognition capabilities and reverse camera come with the more premium DVD-AVN option – which boasts a new layout over the previous system.

2015-toyota-vios-updates-2

A security/solar film is available optionally on the 1.5J and 1.5E variants while the G and TRD Sportivo models have it as standard. A five-piece Aerokit with LED daytime running lights is available for owners looking to spruce up their ride.

Technical specifications remain the same with the 1.5 litre, four-cylinder VVTi-equipped 1NZ-FE powering all variants. Power figures are 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. A four-speed auto with Super ECT is standard on all but the 1.5J, which features a five-speed manual.

Prices for the range begins at RM74,700 for the manual J variant (the auto is priced at RM78,800), RM84,300 for the E, RM89,990 for the G and RM94,800 for the TRD Sportivo. All prices are on-the-road with insurance. A three-year/100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first) is offered.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• This car can be free for all i care it still looks uglier than a baboon’s backside.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 82
    • Then you must be a fan of ugly Almera’s design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 107
      • Gargantia on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Even as a 1st gen vios owner, I will choose latest City over this…

RIP UMW vios, UMW keep making fall/fail/bad marketing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 19
        • priusD on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Same Lorrrr why Vios dun have VSC??
          Dun tell me to get 2nd hand Prius C, it’s crampY!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
          • Don’t get Vios, get Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 27
          • socai on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

Don Say VIOS..

C segment Altis cause 114K also don’t have..

2.0 Camry E also don have..

Shame on you Toyota..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
          • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:49 am

Nobody is touching Toyota now. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
            Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 20
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:03 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 160
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:05 am

I rather buy a good Korean car with this money. Sorry I have been bad mouthing Korean cars before. After seeing this high pricing by the UMW conman, I am now in full support of Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:36 am

There are higher end Altis and Camry with VSC and more airbags. All Lexus comes with these safety features also.

Can’t afford? Get a second hand Prius lar, only RM100k. Fuel saving somemore.

Still can’t afford it? Then stick with the Preve/Iriz lor. You know what you will be getting. RM10k discount for 2013 stock, interested??

There are ALWAYS solid reasons behind good and bad sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 92
          • masakmati on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Bodoh comment from maseratti and sam. Both are toyota sales man who are too free at the showroom now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Same Lorrrr is a disgrace of a salesman for UMW. No class and a pariah by nature. Come here and talk rubbish all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
          • Have Mercy on us BN on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Where is najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Already 2 years have passed. BN and UMNO Tipu rakyat lagi kah?

Woi BN, 250,000 people in Malaysia lost everything they ever owned. Everything destroyed in the floods. Only their lives left. Everything they worked for the past 30 years all lost completely.

And you BN don’t feel sorry for your rakyat who is suffering? Still want to maintain high car prices? 99% of those suffering are the poor Malays who lost everything they ever owned. Even homes also hancur BN.

Our biggest payments in a month is our house and cars. Car payments make us suffer a lot. Most people need two cars because 1 car Emak use to take kids to school.
            So, it is better BN reduce car prices, that will be a better way to ease our burden long term.

Have mercy on us BN. Please have Mercy on us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
          • Najib on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:57 am

As long as there is Proton, tak payah fikir mahu turunkan harga and you know why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • So if i say the Vios is ugly it means i like the Almera design? Lol your logic is incredible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
        • Yes, according to supporters comment if you read the previous articles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:15 am

Wake up Malaysians. Vios and ALtis all over the world got VSC. Malaysia ONLY country VSC is taken out. For you to die!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
          • Masakroti on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Maserati, show me which country Vios got VSC. Don’t just talk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Never ever buy a car without VSC. Google Paul Tan’s article on VSC. You will know how dangerous a car without VSC is. EU has made compulsory all cars must have VSC. UMW thinks our lives are peanuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • LoLol on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:09 am

Lol. Tht sounds like the logic of a boy who hasn’t even hit puberty. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • Those who hit puberty will fap to Iriz backside

• You prefer Iriz backside?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • medic on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:31 am

Is this toyota news even worth to be posted in paultan? Cheh, waste data only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • shahril on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:48 am

I disagree with u…all toyota’s production is the best..in fact all Malaysians should own a toyota..any kind of it..be it camry, altis, vios etc…toyota = excellent engine, excellent fc, excellent drivetrain..and oglf course well loved by everybody in the world..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 52
      • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:10 pm

What?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • P1 Best on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Go back to school learn english if you don’t understand

• Newcomer on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:09 pm

He is just being sarcastic lol, you go back and learn more how to use an internet

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Yes, be grateful, it’s got a 4 speed auto , like what my grandpa used to have.

• shahril on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:06 am

Actually all toyota’s production..is the best..be it camry, vios, altis etc..every Malaysian should own one toyota..toyota = excellent engine, excellent fc, excellent drivetrain n of course well loved by everybody in the world..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 30
      • intermilan on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Kalau ye pun, post 1 kali cukup lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • shahril on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:08 pm

sorry bro…hehe…igt the first comment tu tak approve..tu yang hantar komen lagi sekali..hehehehe

• Peter on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:08 pm

nice but not affordable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Work harder and stop complaining, then you can finally own a TRD vios like me.

By they way, when is UMW going to give us the underbody neon lights for TRD spec? Please upgrade to bigger muffler too since you have increased the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 62
      • shahril on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:54 am

Good for u for owning a toyota..having a toyota will never be a mistake..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
        • jacksonljs on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:10 pm

…until one fine day you will be landed few months in hospital plus few tens/hundred thousands ringgit for hospitalization bills due to car crashes that supposedly can be prevented with stability control equipped.
          These modern days, buying an ‘expensive’ overpriced cars without VSC (especially automatic/CVT cars) is idiotic and suicidal (or merely ‘luck’ testing) as well as deserved to be junked/boycotted at all cost.

• shahril on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Ok jackson..no worries..will opt for 2.5 camry then..complete with airbag, vsc, trc, rear camera…just name it..hehehe..of course this car will guarantee no hospitalization is needed even when u are involved in a horrible terrible wost car accident like lady diana or karpal sing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • jacksonljs on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Not necessary a latest Camry 2.5, Altis also can, in fact it’s the cheapest Toyota with VSC (but only top spec 2.0V that comes with complete package with option of 7 airbags package).

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:27 pm

And don’t forget your 4 speed auto transmission, very advanced.

• stupid msian cars on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Stupid idiots will spend all their hard earned money onto cars. Dumb dumb…… cars in Msia is one of the highest in price. I will never be a dumbo like you. Your entire life will be indebt5ed to the banks. Dont tell me you paid cash for it. You do not belongs to the rich category. You are a kok talker only. Pui!

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:48 am

You poor thing, so much anger. Four speed is too much I guess.

• Finally their eyes opened after losing sales to honda City

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
    • karam singh on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:14 pm

but still, cant compete against City/Jazz
      All those accessories can be bought aftermarket..
      Safety equipment, need to be improved.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:32 pm

They will continue to lag behind everyone with the lack of airbags and VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • Abu Sayur on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:23 am

But still they fail. Keyless entry for wad? Useless option, better put airbag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota has officially lost their crown to Honda in the passenger vehicle segment. An article just came out in carlies as of November sales, Honda has overtaken Toyota in passenger vehicle segment.

• tiger on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:15 pm

pls FIX the SUPER UGLY FRONT BUMPER STYLING 1st

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
  • Albert on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Dear UMW….please dont add to the financial woes of 7-9 years loan striken buyers.You should upgrade on comfort but maintain the same price,cant you do some form of national service? There must be some balance between profits and social obligations.
    In Bolehland,most of the cars are owned by banks.In UK,most of the citizens there own cars.
    The rakyat,inadvertently are just hire purchase slaves to banks(tho their existence is useful).
    Insaf lah,most of the cars buyers by race are your amanah contributors.Look at Nissan,the facelifts are better looking without price hiking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 7
    • Ismail on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:03 am

Cannot later Proton and Dr M and the cronies marah

Must increase price for non local cars so locals will only buy local cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:24 pm

So basically now you can start you car and take off faster, rather than taking time to turn the key and contemplate about your purchase and the fact that you are amongst the very few still at risk of spinning out at every puddle of water. Lowers mental fatigue and stress everytime you get into the car…. I think

The lack of VSC is still worrying, and the fact that Honda overtook the UMW Toyota as the leading foreign-passenger car segment proves that Malaysian are warming up to the idea of safety, most City I see around are the E variant which lacks the top end V’s side-airbags…. But at least it still has Stability control.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Spot on.

Seriously Toyota, what were you guys thinking….
      This is not 2006 for goodness sake, the first thjng they need to do is get rid of the product planning team. Were they that oblivious to the market?

By the way the beige interior actually looked nice. At least it mentally prepared you for the airy feel when you get airborne after slipping off a sharp curve on a slope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Outdated on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:48 am

Toyota still dwelling in 2006 as the engine and gearbox is from that era. ;)

• Bob Vettel on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:00 am

Toyota is still the top non-National car brand in Malaysia, which means there are still plenty of suckers who will buy the crap they’re offering.

Stop buying & you’ll get a better Toyota.

• jacksonljs on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Although i am one of Toyota supporter (but i only prefer Made in Japan Toyota, not the UMW Toyota cars that smells good only for few days like new ‘jamban’ nowadays, even those ‘buruk’ but well maintained Wira/Waja or Myvi still lot more better than brand new Vios actually), i have to agree with your comment.

• UMW bro.. UMW :) they capitalize on the loophole of automotive industry in malaysia which doesn’t make more airbag standard or VSC…

• cendol (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:35 am

Sudonano, Can I know what car you currently driving?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:01 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Aero (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:38 am

I’m with you. Honestly, I don’t see what’s so hard about turning a key in a slot. It’s not rocket science, and it’s a very, VERY satisfying thing to do in my honest opinion. Pressing a button on the other hand… it feels artificial… it feels like a video game…. if I wanted to press buttons all day, I’d get myself a copy of Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo.

Of course, I’ve not taken leave of my senses. Yes, keyless entry has a ton of advantages, but is it worth trading an ounce of convenience for a boatload of safety ? Why can’t UMW Toyota give an option for a safety pack for the Vios, for a start ? Only the Corolla Altis has a safety pack, and the Altis was never and never will be a best-seller in B-segment favouring Malaysia. It’s 2015 already, and not much has changed with UMW Toyota. On the other hand, Honda Malaysia, ETCM Nissan and Mazda Malaysia all offer at least two models with 6 airbags and ESC / TRC. UMW Toyota only has 1 model, and you still have to pay extra.

I was actually quite surprised that Honda Malaysia overtook UMW Toyota in 2014, it was faster than I expected. Honda Malaysia’s emphasis on safety has paid off, and UMW Toyota is paying the price for their ignorance. However, I sense an impending Category 5 sh*tstorm coming in the next few days… why ? Because Proton sold even less cars in 2014 than in 2013, and Perodua has almost doubled Proton’s market share in the latter months of 2014. This will not look good on Proton’s yearbook, but it’s the harsh truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Im totally against UMW but regarding push start keyless entry, its a very useful feature to me, saves trouble digging keys from bags or pockets and fumbling with the keyhole. Key remains in bag. Almost all new cars come with it even supercars. It is replacing the old method. Nowadays when someone talks or buys a new car, i see people asking does it have keyless? Waiting for my cars warranty to expire to install a third party one.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:56 am

Please head to a kimchi showroom and buy a rotten cabbage immediately then.

Action speaks louder than words :)

• RicoT on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:07 am

Developing VSC for a car is not easy and cheap, there are a lot of characterization and research needs to be done. Vios was never intended to be sold in Japan, and only be sold in countries where VSC is not compulsory. Therefore, Toyota R&D never look at implementing VSC into Vios, thus saving cost. Honda City, on the other hand, is intended to be sold in Japan where regulation requires new cars be fitted with VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Vios is sold in Australia where VSC is mandatory. So R&D costs is not an issue. Stop making excuses for a company that does not value our lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • AVH (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:18 pm

The previous gen ‘dugong’ vios is sold in Japan as I believe the yaris sedan. Hack it’s even sold in the safety stringent north America. And I believe in that market it comes with not only stability control but NINE airbags

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:00 am

Vios in Oz is the Yaris Sedan

• chrome door handle? what so special about that? looks so old fashion. apek style.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
  • TOO MANY VIOS ON THE ROAD!!! SO I SAY MEHHHH :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • dfgdf on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Blue-coloured front footwell illumination, ah bengz fav. Toyota know how to tackle market but failed pricing and safety features. Btw, did toyata fix the milo tub/zinc roof problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • William on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:44 pm

i would rather they take all the upgrades off and give me VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • Blaze (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:23 pm

VSC and side airbags? They will fix these items only when the gomen make it compulsory….. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Blaze (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Typo… “Fixed”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
        • policeman on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Ini mesti tak pergi sekolah. “fixed” konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • No typo. Your first sentence is correct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • William on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

i have to agree that government has to make it compulsory for the carmakers to slam in VSC as a standard option. I’m staying in Australia and I own an Almera. Almera, Yaris and City here comes with stability control as a standard package

• VSC VSC … wake up Proton. You are supposed to compete with P2 but instead, you are competing with Toyota, a foreign car brand. Malu la.

• hafizan89 on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:54 pm

So you pay more to get more bling but not more performance or safety?
    This is why the tin milo sells well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Safety is more important than appearance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:11 pm

No. Having no regard for safety makes you look cool.

Like walking on ledge without any safety harness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • saiful on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:31 am

And driving without seat belt. Also having anal without protection

• Inspector on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:09 am

Policeman, please jump off the cliff

• not cool on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

No. You walk the ledge yourself. You do not put your loved ones on the ledge too just to be cool.

• darkermarker on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Toyota, please make the blue-coloured front footwell illumination blinking and flashing..syncro to the techno-song.

Malaysia Ah Beng and Ricer-wanabe simply adore such fancy lighting….

The lights will make Ah Beng feel like exclusive car owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • I wonder if my children if they buy Vios in coming 10years will still be using the same engine. Hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:36 pm

this update will not save the vios from poor sales.

honda city will still beat it.

The vios will need a revamp to beat the honda city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Actros Tan on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:40 pm

But…… Still no ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Of course it doesn’t have vsc, esc and other safety shit.
      What do you aspect?
      Spec wise like city?
      In your dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Wat the “dot dot dot” adding a useless keyless entry.. how hard is it to turn the key for ignition?

Important things like airbags and ESP you tak pasang.. tapi pasang semua yang bukan bukan.. padan muka losing sales to honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Lolol on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Still 10 year old engine and 4 speed gear box. Out of date. And whoever says its ok, its robust… is probably unker and ah pek.

Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • carlies on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Nicest front design cross the segment. Will get this over others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • no point of these cosmetic thgs…. we need safety thgs…
    stupid toyota never learn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:27 am

I believe VSC is a super expensive thing. Until now UMW still don’t want to add VSC, VSC must be very very very expensive thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Yes, after so many years, Saga still not fitted with VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • tatu880 on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:07 am

So your beloved Myvi has VSC?

• lala no brain on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:23 am

Comparing a 100k vios to a 35k saga?

• Supporters No Brain on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Only with protection. Vios is same price with Saga in open market like Langkawi. And Saga still no VSC

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:57 pm

So Vios does have VSC? It is really a big news. Dude

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:12 pm

This year saga will have another facelift hopefully it will be all new saga, lets see whether a 35K-45K car have VSC or not.

• ah haha, sales not good. even with these update, still no match

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • pak kai on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:14 am

May I know where do you get your data from? Or just plain “I see more City/Almera on the road than Vios”?

Funny, cuz despite all the new City and Almera clearance, they’ve never dropped out of 3k units a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • I think UMW just refused to put on more safety features, don’t know why. I think they are well-aware that the downside of this car is lack of those, but instead of doing that, they go “aaaa screw it, we won’t do as what u want, we are UMW, we are very geng maaaa, put bling2 first!”

• Still rubish in and out! NO AIRBAGS extra, Only stupid bought Vios!

• horrayooi on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:58 am

Transmission still 4 speed auto. For RM74k- 94k price you need to give value for money to customers, not just smart entry and push start features which is cheap add on. Wake up Toyota. 5 or 6 speed auto or Altis type cvt with torque converter. That is features customer want.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:30 pm

I suppose Toyota sees it different, want more gears, but other brand.

• Cutester on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:18 am

Singapore’s Vios G spec comes with auto climate controls (digital aircond) while here is still no where to be seen even on G and Sportivo spec. What a rip off.

• toyota rice bowl on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:18 am

Wake up! 5speed auto or cvt with torque converter is the features we want not just pust start or smart entry which are cheap features.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Obviously we are not the target market. Maybe target market wants 4 speed, easier to count.

• Wait,the highest spec cost Rm94k+ with a sporty design like ricer,same technologies like the first generation of Vios?How about safety?Esc,HHA,Brake Assist?Forget it!With the Proton Iriz,starting from 42k,all the safety like Hha,ESC,Brake Assist,got all in the range.Go go Proton!

#GoGoProton

#ToyotaShame

• oh yeah proton gogogo… 1 cent 1 quality. one day while u driving on the road, your engine is on fire suddenly, then u know why choose better quality car.

• include this for u…
      #ProtonShame :p

• I am happy with my Proton Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • kumar on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:36 am

VSC and airbags must be standard for all cars on the road.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:14 am

Fantastic news for me.

18 month old Sonata used to trade in for RM50k, now RM45k

18 month old Elantra used to trade in for RM42k, now RM38K

Really gotta thanks UMW and DRB for bringing in new sushis that will send shockwaves to kimchis up to 2 segments up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Grandma, go back inside and have a nap! You scared people outside here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:53 am

There must be a reason why Toyota is top seller.
    There must be a reason why Toyota is king of the castle.
    They must be doing something correct.

• takNakP1 on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:57 pm

there must be a reason why automotive industry is still surviving in Bolehland.

there must be a reason why Malaysian is willing to pay 9 years loan.

there must be a reason why Malaysian is willing to pay more tax to the BolehJaya

there must be something WRONG!!!

• P1NakSonglap on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:33 pm

There must be a reason why Proton is surviving even though it is selling less!

There must be a reason why Malaysians don’t want Proton!

There must be a reason why Proton won’t close shop!

• ss427 on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Seriously people, I can’t imagine you guys getting excited over a car with a 15 yr old engine and an equally old 4AT. And the Chassis dates back to 2002 as well.

All these just because Toyota give u push button start and new colors?!

FYI, UMW didn’t even equip your Vios with auto climate control. SG market Vios comes with auto climate control. Not that it matters, but you guys are still being short changed badly.

I don’t know la, but with such excellent Korean offerings these days, can anyone still bother with a Thai made Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Strongly encourage you to buy an brand new Hyundai.

Remorse will set in right after you pay the deposit. When you collect the car, the hailat feeling sets in immediately.

1 day after you bring the rotten cabbage home, friends and neighbours give you a funny look. What they are saying is that “why this fella so tai lan ngong one, buy a korean?”

3 months on, your bosses deny your promotions coz you are not deemed trustworthy, your friends start to stay away from you. You park far far away at family gatherings.

6 months on, you start to scout around used car yard & online ads for the value of your kimchi. You will realise that the value is now around 1/2 of the purchase price.

12 months on, you don’t feel like renewing your insurance & road tax on the car. Die die also must renew coz no way to sell.

15 months on, you will find that my car yard will offer you the best Hyundai trade in. U come in, I show you the Hilux, you scream Hailat and I write a cheque for you.

You head down to a UMW Showroom and order yourself a real car and a few weeks later will be the happiest man alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 22
      • blaster88 on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

According to Malaysian Institute of Road Safety, an average of 18 Malaysians die of road accident every day!!!! Wonder how many lives can be saved if cars have safety features?

No pointed having high RV when you cannot “cash” in…..get the drift?

• Vincent on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:14 pm

No money you go buy Proton la. No need bising bising here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Actually, these fellas should look at used KIA.

KIA cannot be traded in so they are best traded online directly by the owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • They are so obsessed with Proton that they don’t just buy, they’ll fap to Proton’s design

• SAfrican on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:11 pm

But the important thing is did they add anymore safety kit to it?
    Get with the program Toyota!

• Suren on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:47 am

Since 2003, its still 109 horsepower with a 4-Speed Tranny..? Any changes to the 1.5 Engine..?

• acolyte on Jan 11, 2015 at 5:48 pm

seriously toyota… there is a reason why J spec still got so many ppl buy despite the kosong spec, it is the price factor!!! most ppl who buy this spec doesn’t care for those fancy toys like the push start/keyless entry system.
    Now you force your customer to get this thing added with over a thousand ringgit cost, when you can get this thing installed at any acc store with much lower price!!
    why can’t you just give the fking VSC instead of this useless toys???

• For those who can understand simple English, can read below article written by Paul on the importance of stability control feature in a car:
    http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/
    And for those who think they are the expert of car, a car safety features are divided into two categories:
    1. Active safety features include ABS, BA, EBD, stability control (it’s called different car manufacturers but they all serve the same purpose, e.g. Toyota calls VSC, Honda calls VSA, Nissan calls ESP, Hyundai calls ESP, Kia calls ESC etc), traction control etc.
    2. Passive safety normally refers to airbags.
    As you can see, active safety features are more important than passive safety feature. Meaning to say, 6 airbags or 9 airbags are not going to save your worthless life unless it comes with all those active safety features listed above!
    Suffice to say that, none of the above is going to save you in anyway if you don’t wear safety belt in the first place.
    These safety features, be it active or passive, only serve as good as secondary risks mitigation after your safety belt.
    If you are speeding like 170-200km/hour, id doesn’t matter what kind of car you drive, you still die in a car accident.
    Because at that car speed, none of the above can save you when your car lost total control, turned upside down, flip flop several rounds or in the most tragic way, it bangs into a solid object, e.g. another vehicle, concrete wall or worst of all, a cement or steel road divider.
    I believe if car can’t kill you no matter how fast you go, then Paul Walker would be alive today to finish his the fast and furious franchise no. 8, 9 and so on.
    Every time when I am smoked by a heavily cosmetic modified Proton Saga or Wira, I pity them.
    Not that I feel ashamed when my Honda City is smoked by lower powered car, I pity because these drivers are not endangering himself but also endangering the lives of his family members on his car.
    Please give it a thought on what I have written above every time you are behind a wheel.

• tonberry on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

wah, saga dpt keyless entry ngan push-start. eh? ni toyota ker?

• lalazai on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:45 am

erm, maybe a turbocharged version, with extrabig muffler and spoiler, and a wing o that it can literally fly fast… who care about vsc? (i refer to umw, and majority of malaysian). as long as the car have 2 airbag, and abs, and very tahan langgar, then it is a safe car (malaysian logic).

• kelvinyam on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:51 am

no dual vvti, no vios. still old tech..

• Cardutywhengodown? on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:52 am

Whatever toyota do cmon la.. No VSC? even proton shXX has got some in IRIZ. Other manufacture has started include VSC go study with KIA, Hyundai, Honda , Mazda..need to list somemore??? Push start for what?? It’s only cosmetic for car not any benefit plus for safety and performance.. – feeling annoyed.

• lancelot on Jan 25, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Everybody keep telling that UMW dont prepare enough safety to the car. No VSC, limited airbag.
    UMW can put all the safety features to the car. But it will increase the prices of the car itself. They put only the minimal safety to ensure it can compete with other car maker.
    Actually vios has the same standard/price like SAGA. But due to tax you need to pay almost 40k more for it.
    SAGA has VSC?
    7 airbag?

• chin peng on Feb 02, 2015 at 4:26 pm

woahhh push start button??very new features??haha lameee…this dugong is slow..safe fuel my ass..parts is crazy expensive…apek2 always drive laju2 of this dugong to show of…sohaii

• CK Siew on Feb 04, 2015 at 10:31 pm

First time buying Toyota Vios . Regret to say that poor quality encounter which unable to set by the Toyota Service Center by given a stupid reason as standard noise unable to rectify . Toyota Culture now is very poor without any improvement taken . Just simply want to close the case . Do not support Toyota anymore. I believe that Nissan , Honda even Proton will be better the Toyota in term of is cost + service . Toyota obtain best service award for many year with such poor service to customer like us … DO NOT BUY VIOS

• toyota_looser_engine on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:36 pm

RM80k no VSC engine vvti only. city got vsc an engine ivtec far more technically superior than a rubbish corolla dual-vvti. vios vvti? is super rubbish compare to city ivtec. better keep money in Amanah Saham 1 Malaysia and earn dividends and go vacation oversea or buy property with that 80k ++ interests! please be wise. ivtec over vvti anytime! vvti is looser’s car.ivtec rules!

• toyota_looser_engine on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:39 pm

ivtec over dual-vvti anytime! vvti? rubbish engine! ivtec technically superior and genius than dual vvti. only genius can understand why ivtec over vvti rubbish

• EHERMMM on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:41 pm

TOYOTA?!HAHA seriously..

• harkmee on Mar 08, 2015 at 7:57 pm

This vios vvti only HAHAHA looser. Shameful crap still want to compare with city ivtec. This vios same level with preve iafm+ only if not lower. Toyota dual vvti also uncomparable to honda ivtec technology. VSC also dun have. Low class technology but expensive. Look at camry 2.0 also vvti only haha uncomparable to honda civic also but at accord price. Funny how camry struggle to keep up pace with civic ivtec.preve cfe also can smoke camry.camry makan minyak more than preve sum more HAHAHA

• wanfly on Sep 13, 2015 at 1:07 am

pergh…x jd la amik vios…huhu..ty all