2017 Volkswagen Phaeton to ride better than S-Class?

Volkswagen-Phaeton-Malaysia-0013

Often overlooked by customers shopping for a luxury sedan, the Volkswagen Phaeton is best described as underrated. Despite having an array of technology on board – besting even some of its more popular rivals – the Phaeton struggles to register any sign of interest in all but the most discerning of drivers.

All that is about to change, if reports by Auto Motor und Sport are correct. The next-generation Volkswagen Phaeton – due to arrive at the tail end of 2016 – will be the “the most comfortable car in its segment.” As a stark reminder, rivals include the Audi A8, Lexus LS, BMW 7 Series, Jaguar XJ and Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

Technical specifications are sketchy but it is reported that the Phaeton will arrive with an air suspension setup that employs an array of cameras and sensors to scan the road ahead before making the necessary adjustments to ensure an unperturbed journey. A semi-autonomous feature is also rumoured to be available.

The Volkswagen Phaeton was actually offered in Malaysia at a competitively-priced RM638,888 in V8 non-FSI form. Specs for the Phaeton included a 335 PS/430 Nm figure courtesy of a 4.2 litre, V8 engine. A six-speed automatic transmission sends power to the rear, providing a 0-100 km/h time of 6.9 seconds.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Phaeton in Malaysia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Rat race on Jan 08, 2015 at 1:48 pm

By 2017, MB will have an updated version of their 2015.. its a no ending rat race

consumers are the victims

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:20 pm

That’s why balancing factors comfort, affordable price, build quality, fuel consumption, RV etc., Toyota/Lexus still your best choice.

There are reasons why Toyota the largest car maker in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Blaster88 on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Errr Samelorrr….how about safety for Toyotas sold in Malaysia? Is UMW Toyotas still the best choice? You conveniently “forgot” to mention this very important factor…smile.

• HEad With no brain- on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:57 pm

SameLorr…

“Toyota/Lexus still your best choice” ??

Who gave you the right to choose and speak on everyone’s behalf here ?

Don’t be an assuming prick-head

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:42 am

Our Altis and Camry have VSC and more airbags. All Lexus has these safety feature. If you can’t afford it, please don’t pretend these models don’t exist.

For the Head with no Brain: I said “your best choice”, I didn’t say “your only choice”. It is your freedom to get bad choice (e.g. Proton). Get it? See who is brainless here. lol

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Your comment made my day. Biggest joke of today

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Mentioned again, Ferrari and rolls royce or at least bentley or Jaguar is my best choice. I don’t need Same Lorrr to choose for me.

• Is that a clone PASSAT ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • SamLoo on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Imagining the Directors and Datos come with their S-Class, BMW 7 Series and Vellfire… all jockey will direct the driver to the designated reserved car park. And I am sitting in this Phaeton, the jockey will knock on my window and say :”boss, parking kat belakang…”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Datos are showoff their Germany’s luxury car while we sitting here go look for a parking. “Rich people first,Poor people later”

• shhhh jangan bising on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:59 pm

vellfire kreta jepun murah la.
      xde class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Been there , done that.

Kena exactly as your story . Drove my car ( mk6 gti ) to the jockey parking in front of the Providence and they asked me park at the back or in the basement. Din’t realized the place was surrounded by V12s and V10s or at least V8s…

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Brandnew Alphard is used at leisure time, not for formal functions.

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:37 pm

I’m only here for the DSG jokes & rants :p

• Matthew on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:59 pm

No one will talk about the DSG at here..
      This car is equipped with 6 speed automatic transmission instead of 7 Speed.. As i know, the 6 speed transmission won’t have any DSG issue..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:09 pm

worse…multitronic issues

• yaya toure on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:52 am

yeah. why everyone still bother to talk about dsg anymore? @dodgeviper88 you happy now?

• awg1031 on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:46 pm

that looks cannot win over merc..

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:07 pm

We don’t look at looks.
      Class is the most important factor.
      S-class is equivalent to a swimming pool in a bungalow.
      Do you want a 5000 square feet bungalow in KL area or a 20 000 square feet bungalow in Raub?

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:30 pm

I agreed with you that class is more important but this VW looks make it like no class.

• Lane Tamer on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:13 pm

VW must be smoking pot in making this statement…

• Mercedes Benz S400L Hybrid 588k and what is the world this Volkswagen Phaeton 639k. Why should anyone need to waste their time considering to buy this car???

• ProtonGSC on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Cronies and Ministers in Bolehland, not they money anyway.

• powershot (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:39 pm

in terms of looks, I still prefer the upcoming BMW 7 series G11

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:01 pm

It looks like a Passat. Sorry VW, but nobody buying a full sized luxury sedan would want to be mistaken for owning a “rakyat biasa” Passat. Improve the design, then you might get more customers.

But by making it plush (to rival the S Class) wouldnt that mean directly competing with the sibling from Audi (the A8)? Why steal sales from your other car? Thats just weird. VW is not a luxury brand, its a people’s car in Germany. They should minimise the tech and sell it below A8 prices, as a value buy proposition. Sort of like a stepping stone before buying an Audi for your next step up the automotive ladder. Then after Audi, you can go for Porsche, Bentley or Lambo.

• 2nd hand rv drop like durian also don want to buy la…

• Blaster88 on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:06 pm

VW cannot be made to look better than Audi which is the mass produced premium brand for the group. Even though they share similar platforms and technologies, Audi is still a notch or two above VWs esp in terms of design and quality….if the Phaeton is as good an S Class, then the A8 would be like a Rolls? Having said that, Knowing VW, it would still be a great ride…just don’t expect the quality and built to be as good as an Audi or S class…

• Night Hunter on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:10 pm

The next gen will be death on arrival like the current one…

Nobody in the right mind would buy a souped up VW… badge matters in this segment… And designing it like a giant Passat doesn’t do it any favour either…

• skatax on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Phaeton to S-Class is what Skoda Octavia to VW Golf. Technologically advanced but very uninspiring to look at. How could they when you are only allowed to play with sets of straight lines to shape a car? Get that right and it will sell like ‘burger bakar’ I tell you.

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Improve the design please. Seriously this design looks like design of 5 years ago. At least use the design like VW CC

• not gonna make any difference. Why would any rich man want VW? VW offered to give the Pope a VW for free. The pope rejected and rather bought his own mercedes!

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Let’s just don’t care rich man will buy or not first. At least VW have to make a better design to help them to sell the car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:55 pm

just a vw

• Even if Phaeton can fly and sail on sea also NO ONE will buy it! Balik la VW! got own luxury brand Audi also want to tembak sendiri! VW must be inferior complex…

• Josh Ling on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:24 am

As long as it is VW, it won’t be a big seller. Sorry, but badge does matter sometimes, especially in higher-end car market. and i have not even started to talk about the look yet, which i believe it will look exactly the same like other VW cars…..yet again!

• TheRealMalaysian on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:45 pm

I pretty like the interior design of this car.. Car cabin looks very luxury..
    Personally, I’m more concern on the interior design and car performance rather than the exterior design..

• Not a bad car..
    This car has great horsepower and it can reach 100km/h in 6.9 seconds which is quite impressive..
    The headlamp also very nice.. It looks very ‘clean’..
    I don’t like those headlamp with weird shape.. such as ‘eagle eye’ like BMW 7 series..

• Anton Sevidov on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:04 pm

No effin way. It’s freaking Volkswagen.