Mazda CX-3 to launch in July – CBU 2.0, sub-RM130k

2015-Mazda-CX-3-005

According to a CIMB research report, the Mazda CX-3 is expected to launch in Malaysia in July, to rival the Honda HR-V, Ford EcoSport and Peugeot 2008. This is earlier than the end-2015 timeframe previously indicated by RHB Research.

The report says that initially, only the CBU 2.0 litre variant will be brought in, and that it’s expected to be priced under RM130k. By way of comparison, the top-spec Honda HR-V is estimated to cost around RM120k, while the Ford EcoSport and Peugeot 2008 are priced at RM93k-104k and RM120k respectively. The report adds that Malaysia is the only ASEAN country that has been given the rights to distribute the CX-3 so far.

Unveiled at the 2014 Los Angeles Auto Show, the Mazda 2-based high-rider is expected to launch in Japan in March. Confirmed engines include a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel and a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol, mated to either six-speed manual or SkyActiv-Drive auto ‘boxes. Front- and all-wheel drive versions will be available.

Excited yet? In the meanwhile, check out the detailed image gallery below.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• cik ja on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:56 pm

I’ve always interested in HRV, but the price n spec was such a let down. I will get this one if they bring the 6 speed manual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Almera on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:27 pm

I doubt they will bring the manual for CBU version. If they follow Mazda 3 CBU footsteps it will be just 1 variant until they CKD it here.

• Get the Bigger Brother.

CX-5 2.0L @ RM137k

you can nego with salesman to get to RM130k.
      Below RM135k, easily.

CX-3 CKD will come, possibly RM115k-RM120k anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:37 pm

still recommend CBU, CBU quality is worth the extra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • jolly idiot2 on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Madza will fail again in Malaysia market again. They are over confident on their pricing. Try open and close the door, it feel like one junk piece of light plastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
  • LLembu on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Mazda very aggressive to kill the H & T brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • The more competition the better. As seen in the City/Vios/Almera fight, City tops the others in specs so Vios and Almera has no choice but to immediately come out an updated version or facelift with better specs to fight. However despite the Mazda good looks i don’t think it will beat the volume of the other 3 jap B segments as Mazda has always been more of a niche market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:57 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:51 pm

as long is not sam loo toyota or syed mokhtar honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • moveon on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:24 pm

tired of reading this sam loo toyota etc etc.no other better things to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:29 pm

u cannot sell ur car, time to change job la….come sell mazda….better future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
          • mazdasuc on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:24 pm

But airbags only 2.
            Next!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Ya, you are right. But not the sushi car with RV.

• Bob_B78 on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Let the price war begin!
    Who will benefit from the price war?
    That will be us consumer.
    Just dont skimp on the safety features…

• Too expensive for a B-Segment SUV. Add a little more money you can get the Accord which is a D-Segment or the CX-5 which is a C-segment SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • W204 C63 AMG on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Not everyone wants space. The CX3 with its 2.0 engine will be much more fun to drive and toss around than the cars that you mentioned. The Accord that you mentioned comes with a 2.0 engine, and it’s underpowered as hell.the same with the 2.0 cx5 too. There’s always a niche to fill. Cx3 is a niche, they won’t expect it to be a best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Iam a future HR-V / CX3 buyer.What about the odd display & crampy rear seats? Pls advise

• MitchelJohn on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Joey, watch this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0X4qTlPVcQ
          (First drive test from Australian car reviewer)

skip to 1:15, you’ll get the idea on the space in the rear passenger.

It’s less spacey than the HRV but being less taller than the average Australian, it doesn’t really look that bad tbh.

• Ananz on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:24 pm

If CX-3 pricing is close to 130k then just add 3k more to get the CX-5 mid spec instead….. With such a small difference in price won’t it be better to get the bigger CX-5 instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Agree but CX-5 a lil too big for a young adult somewhere between the ages of 23-26 with an average of 165 cm – 173 height / 55-65 kg weight . Just my opinion thou .

:D :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Ray (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:57 pm

165-173 is a bit on the short side for a young adult male, frankly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • brazbuz on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:45 pm

But i never saw mid spec cx5 on the road. Most opted for high spec 2wd version. Cx3 will fit just fine with sub rm130k price. This really made hrv look overpriced. Come on honda msia,price it lower towards official launch

• AVH (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:57 pm

So how low the HRV should be price than?
        I’am honestly curious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Afraid on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:10 pm

The CX-3 is going to be priced even higher than the HRV… so how come its the HRV thats overpriced and not CX-3??

• brazbuz on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Based on specs that we have right now,the top spec should be around 115k and starting price is 99k for standard variant

• brazbuz on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Sorry this should answer AVH question. HRV looks overpriced due to it is ckd with 1.8 that not par with thai high spec model whereas cx3 is cbu and fitted with 2.0 eng. Based on upcoming mazda2 spec,definitely cx3 will equipped with an array of gizmos too

• AVH (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 7:59 pm

So basically now the HRV is about RM5k more expensive than it should, a real bummer

I still think it’s attractively price because iam comparing it to the Civic 1.8, given that it has a newer transmission and much more toys than it. Not to mention it’s higher. Personally I don’t compare price to segment, the Cx-3 is also smaller interior wise(us comments not mine), some of the toys are missing from the HRV. personally both are fairly well priced.

• noreasonwhy on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:19 pm

According to the report, CX-5 facelift is coming in Mar/April which is about same time with US/UK. And CKD M3 will be introduced in Mar, price between 110k-120k.

If they are true, 2015 is going to be year of Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • aaron on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:11 pm

You forgot that the CX-5 is locally assembled, whilst this baby CX-3 is all the way from Japan. First batch CX-5 which was assembled in Japan cost close to RM160k though.

• Jimmy on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:32 pm

I hope buyers are conscious about 6 airbags and ESP.

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Hope the one dislike your comment can be more conscious about their life.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:37 pm

But thats too high, it must be priced at RM50k and comes VSC, 6-airbags, navigation, maassage chair, Lasers, AESA radars and Nuclear propulasion or the Paultan community will protest in anger!!! B-segment cannot price this high.

On the side note, I am interested with the CX-3, Its a cool looking car with one of the best looking interior, RM130k seems fair if you are getting a 2,0l engine, But looking at US-spec videos, it looks slightly cramp inside. Hopefully it will come soon enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • MitchelJohn on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Saw the video review by an Australian reviewer on the CX-3

When he was at the rear passenger, his legs really do look a bit cramped.Then again Australians are taller than asians so hope it’s not really that cramped.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Back about five years ago, my parents were in the B-segment market that will ultimately led to the purchase of oour Honda City E. We were looking at the 2, and found it abit cramp at the rear. The decision was to get it mostly for family use so we went for the City, which balance space performance and aesthatic.

And I belive the same will happen here, The CX3 will please people who are either single or young or perhapse a small family. The HRV meanwhile will please that that has a lager or growing family. It does seriously looked cramp inside, but I dont think that will matter much to the target market.

• Nice. Need this ASAP.

• MeSoBusy on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:42 pm

ya right, some report also said Mazda 3 going to launch in Q4 2014.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:51 pm

130k is a bit too much for a B-segment SUV, add in a few grand and you can already get the larger CX-5 which in mid spec is already very well equipped. The HR-v is still a better buy, in fact best among all its rivals in Malaysia- the Ecosport looks and feels cheap, doesn’t drive like how a Ford should be, has build quality and practicality issues (the side opening boot with a huge spare wheel. Watch the Carbuyer review of it on Youtube); the 2008 is okay, looks great inside out and drives decently but it’s a bit on the small side, albeit larger than its 208 sibling. The top spec Honda costs about the same as the Pug but it is significantly more spacious and seems to offer more value for money, though the 2008 might have a better looking interior.

I’m obsessed with the CX-3’s looks and tech but it’s way too small to make sense as an SUV, frankly. It might appeal to those who prefer form over function though, and since the pricing is tentative, let’s hope that Bermaz doesn’t jack the price up too high. Don’t forget that you have an entry level CX-5 hovering near 130k in your lineup Mazda.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Wait, I take my words back for saying that the car might be too expensive. If the 130k model is an AWD (and considering that it comes in CBU form from Japan?) then the pricing should be okay… But I’d still take the HR-V over this anytime. And the pricing is still unconfirmed so just hope for the best :)

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Oi Mazda better bring in 6 airbags for this CBU and CKD model.

I’m more interested with the diesel version though so I think will have to wait longer for that to arrive after our petrol stations start introducing better fuel next year.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 09, 2015 at 5:58 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:12 pm

If you can offer me a sonata with RM50K, I pay you cash directly.

• Come MAZDA give us a good price please!

• MitchelJohn on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:53 pm

I’m ready to throw my money at Mazda’s car dealer XD

• Good car! Waiting for the news,and could possibly get one.

But I’ll probably wait until it’s CKD.

• ford ecosport does not belong to the category ^^

• Blaster88 on Jan 11, 2015 at 7:14 pm

I see a lot of comments that says that “if you put in a few thousand ringgit more, you could get the CX 5 which is bigger etc. etc. etc.” But does size ALWAYS be the key or only criteria? Mazda has done a great job with this CX 3, looks really good and if they priced the CKD right sub RM100k, I believe they would see a lot of these! It would appeal to the Gen Ys and young couples. If you could pay a few more $$$ and be a bit more adventurous…., may even be a good alternative to the usual Vios, Altis, Jazz, City, Civics, Polo, Protons etc. Kudos to Mazda and Bermaz!!!!

• Almera on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:31 am

The CKD CX-3 will probably only be in the mid-late 2016 and i highly doubt a 2.0L engine CX-3 will be sub 100k even in the CKD guise. At the most its probably at the 110-120k range unless they change specs and put a 1.5L engine in.
      The facelifted CX-5 will be launched soon and honestly most people would go for the bigger car that’s priced almost similar to each other so size is ALWAYS a key criteria for the majority of the population. Only a very small minority would prefer looks over space and practicality. Suitable for the single and well to do young adults but not so much for couples that want children due to the lack of space in the CX-3 compared to CX-5.
      Compact SUV like CX-3 and HRV is really mainly for a niche market and you will not see many on the road.

• blaster88 on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:36 pm

I am not sure….remember the Toyota RAV 4 craze many moons ago? The reason there is not much interest is due to the fact that there are not many choices. More importantly, buyers have more disconcerting taste nowadays…I personally feel that the Civics, Altis, Jazz, Myviis, Protons etc. esp in the styling dept is looking very tired and “me too” to me.

I believe Mazda has a winner here… young and adults would like the CX3. May not be as niche as we think…

• tiger on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:08 pm

under RM130K too expensive even from Japan. if under RM120 that will kill a lot of other , like H, P….
    come on Mazda Malaysia, you should win first rather than wait until CKD. by the time, a lot of potential SUV buyer already go for HRV..

• yipyong on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Whatever people say. Im still gonna get this car. So H & T salesman, stfu

• ahchai69 on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Most m’sian analyse car base on selling price. No doubt affordability is the main factor in deciding the car to buy. For those who can afford, i’ll personally advise to buy car built in japan. The quality of car built in m’sia or south east asia simply doesn’t match those from japan. Very unfortunate we pay a lot on import duty for car built in japan. One can only experience the difference after few years of use..

• Hi Jonathan. Thanks for the review. Does the CX3 comes with a spare tyre? Full size? Thanks mack

• adllas on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:04 pm

when open for booking