VIDEO: Nissan Almera’s new Android head unit

AlmeraFL_Nismo_Int_03

It looks like every carmaker is into offering Android-powered head units these days. Malaysian Nissan distributor Tan Chong is the latest to join the pack with this 6.5” touch screen Android head unit offered as part of the Nissan Almera’s ’Navi with Internet Package’.

The package costs RM7,000, but doesn’t quite just consist of the head unit – it also includes leather seats and door cards plus Solar Gard Armorcoat tinting. The leather on its own costs RM1,800 while the tint is priced at RM1,400, so I suppose the head unit set is valued at RM3,800. The head unit also includes a reverse camera and GPS navigation.

nissan-clarion-ax1-0036

When you start it up you’re greeted by a six icon screen. From here, you can pick the iGO GPS navigation software, Phone for hands-free calls, as well as Radio, Music and Photo & Video which are self-explanatory. There’s also something called Infogo App Garage, which is familiar – Infogo is the brand of a music store by Prodigium Mobile pre-installed on the Clarion AX1 Android head unit.

The 2-DIN head unit’s faceplate has no branding on it but we started to suspect it’s actually a Clarion AX1. This was confirmed when we opened the iGO app to check out the GPS navigation feature – the start-up screen clearly said Clarion AX1.

There’s no Google Play Store support by default on the AX1. So it won’t be easy to get Waze onto this, although users of the Clarion AX1 have previously reported that it is certainly possible. The head unit is loaded with an app to stream radio channels from around the world, as well as an app that can access DLNA servers to play media. If you run a DLNA server on your phone, the head unit will be able to play music, photos and videos from there.

The Infogo App Garage provides a way for you to install new apps, but only two apps are of interest so far – the Infogo Music Player for you to buy, download and play songs from Infogo’s music library, and a HyppTV app for you to watch TM’s HyppTV channels on the go.

We confirmed that the head unit isn’t disabled when you release the hand brake and shift the gear into the D position, so all of these can run on the go, which will be useful for the front passenger.

The head unit can connect to a WiFi hotspot or use Bluetooth tethering for internet access. You can either run it off your phone’s internet connection or buy a device like Celcom’s 4G LTE PortaWiFi for a somewhat permanent internet connection in the car for the head unit.

nissan-clarion-ax1-0015

Another feature that the head unit has over the normal non-Android head unit in the TCAT DVD Navi package (RM1,000 cheaper) is VAPS, which from what we understand is powered by Arkamys. You can tweak the sound stage using the VAPS menu and there’s even a Child Sleep option to reduce the volume at the seat where a child is asleep while keeping the volume higher for the other occupants.

Finally, the head unit runs Android version 2.3.7 in case you’re interested to know. We played around with the head unit a bit – watch the video below to see how the user interface and how it responds.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I can always stick my phone on dashboard for mobile connectivity, GPS and Apps, I can always do an after market upgrade for my in-car entertainment..
    But i can’t add in additional airbags and ESP after market.. Why Tan Chong like any other distributors are giving something that we don’t really need?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:18 am

teana xv shud have 1 then……an even better 1…
    at least equal or betters the hyundai’s

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:24 am

Android 2.3 is so dinosaur age when where r already inanticipating lollilop or at least kitkat. TC Nissan should do better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:30 am

Trying to see hypptv or any other live video feed while driving is just a hopeless gimmick. Our 3G line speed & coverage is so poor that its impossible to constantly get continuous data for the video. If you happen to park in a spot with uncongested & full line coverage, then its fine. But there is no way we can experience non-interruption when driving in Malaysia.

• Potato Head on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:33 am

Still ALMERA! New Myvi far superior this inferior product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Kardashian on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm

WTH! where is android auto? or apple carplay? this doesn’t justify the rm3800! not to mention the ancient android gingerbread *vomitted*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Storm Teacup on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Brother’s accessory shop selling RM450.

Whats the big deal here ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Hi Paul, no video attached, kindly take a look.

• Hahaha Nissan on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Pay so much but only get a stupid Android 2.3.7 head unit with no Play store? what a joke. I can get cheaper head unit with the same functionlaity at less htan Rm3.8k. Heck, even a flagship samsung costs less!!

• fariq on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:51 pm

This is how you sell ugly & lousy cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • X celcom on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:17 pm

please nissan/ tan chong for low end version option simple GPS like Myvi is enough.

• wow nice! Proton please take note! upgrade your android HU in Suprima S and Iriz to this standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Pretty interesting feature in that fat Almera,never been a fan of it but its pretty interesting for small and big family. The best thing is it can download HyppTV! :D But it would be a problem if people use it wrongly.

• berkata benar on Jan 11, 2015 at 6:27 pm

preve bila pulak nak facelift?

potong………………. macam potong lah…
    tunggu lagi 10 tahun pun belum tentu ada facelift

lagi2 pengurusan baru yg diterajui tun det mamak tu…
    model saga baru pun dia cakap kalau nak buat model baru pun bersyarat… syaratnya mamak tua tu cakap… kalau nak model baru saga si iriz kena laku byk dulu baru potong akan keluarkan model baru saga.

MASALAHNYA SEKARANG… LAKU KA IRIZ TU? nak nampak sebuah kat jaan raya pun payah… laku ka kalau mcm tu…

axia dah berlambak kat jalan raya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Chill dude, proton is just a car company. Dont like dont buy.

Go and hug yo mama, make you feel better ok?

• cendol (Member) on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:25 pm

I can just stick one new Ipad Air 2 on the dashboard and it costs HALF the price

• crk928 on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:37 pm

The head unit was the major turn off when I also booked the teana 2.5. For a car built so well the dashboard and radio was unbelievably low end.

• policeman on Jan 11, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Even Sakai have seen a touchscreen head unit.
    What is so special about this junk that a topic has to be created?

• Samad Jain on Jan 11, 2015 at 11:55 pm

oredi made profit from rakyat selling below standard car….

and now, squeezing more profit selling outdated head units…..

Imagine malaysian getting screwed time after time….for their hard earned money…Well done, Tan Chong, you have spectacularly screwed dear malaysians to no end…

• Danny on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:32 am

Saw many people looking for almari’s at Ikea over the weekend :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • crap, TCAT product is low quality, my sylphy navi broke down many times.

• submarine on Jan 12, 2015 at 12:20 pm

TC shd be coming out wt better head units years ago. When I got my nissan back in 2008 it was installed with one that plays only CDs and radio while MP3s and USB connectivity were already commonplace then. Can TC do something more constructive by listening to feedbacks? Where are the 6 airbags in the serena? Stocking new head units can also become news, TC shd be looking back and check what went wrong. Behind times perhaps?

• According to this post

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

All new vehicles sold after that must be fitted with TWO airbags. Why is this car allowed to be sold with just ONE of them (for the lowest spec). Anyone please explain???

The readers? Editorial team? Please?

Thanks

• topsyboxyturvy on Jan 13, 2015 at 12:47 am

quite old android, but show me a lollipop or ipad that will let me play music from my usb, connect my phone over bluetooth and call someone and still get navigation guidance.

I have lolipop on my S5 phone and crash from time to time…i wouldnt like that to happen in my car.

• bloptra on Dec 31, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Fit for the bin if you can’t install the world most used Waze. iGO is so very dated.