Lexus GS F – 477 PS super sedan makes Detroit debut

Lexus GS F-06

The 2016 Lexus GS F has made its debut at the 2015 Detroit Auto Show. We’ve had a small pre-show preview, but here’s a full gallery of the BMW M5-chasing super sedan from Japan.

But unlike the M5 and Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG, the Lexus GS F uses a big naturally-aspirated V8 engine, just like how the Germans used to in the good old days. The high-revving 5.0 litre lump makes 477 PS and over 530 Nm of torque, and is mated to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. There are four different modes: Normal, Eco, Sport S and Sport S+, the latter designed for the racetrack.

The GS F tips the scales at a class-leading 1,830 kg. Fuel efficiency is also helped by an electronic valve train that allows the V8 to switch between both Otto and Atkinson combustion cycles.

Lexus GS F-13

The hot GS features structural reinforcements and a unique suspension system as well as upgraded brakes with bright orange calipers. The wheels are sexy 19-inch multi-spoke items with front 255/35 tyres and rear 275/35 rubber. Rear-wheel drive, of course.

Tuned at the Nurburgring (not just Fuji), it features Lexus’ Torque Vectoring Differential (TVD) that’s also found in the RC F coupe. TVD has three modes – Standard, Slalom (emphasising nimble steering response and agility) and Track, which enhances high-speed stability.

“The styling philosophy of the GS F is one of ‘form following function’. For example, the GS F’s spindle grille was born to further improve the car’s aerodynamics and internal cooling, while the air outlets in the front fenders, first applied on the IS F and then the RC F, have been adopted in the GS F because of their efficiency,” adds Yoshiharu Nakajima, project chief designer.

The GS F can be had with a top drawer 17-speaker Mark Levinson sound system, but one can also listen to the big V8 in Sport S and Sport S+ modes. The RC F’s Active Control System is present, but the sound is better here with the rear speakers chiming in.

The paultan.org Japanese Car Owners Club (er, just me and Greg) thinks the GS F looks fantastic. What say you? Watch the live reveal video from NAIAS 2015 (look out for a special guest) and browse the gallery below before deciding.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gajen on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Love the exterior and interior! just wish it had more hp

• Quite a good-looking model, but could use more power, though being much lighter than the competition.

Should Lexus switch to turbo-charging, they would have no problem at all, as the huge spindle grille would definitely provide sufficient ventilation.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Sushi cars rock!

Kimchi cars also ok, provided you are driving it for 10 years. Else you will be crying with its RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:46 pm

I will laugh to cry after looking at your comment first before i cry for the RV. I wont sell kimchi car. I scrap it. Scrap it still can recycle, sell it? Just put inside your yard, waiting to be scrap because u keep introduce Hailat to your customers. So better I scrap it at the beginning

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:09 pm

You can scrap it, burn it, flood it, freeze it as you like. No one will bother how you torture your car and waste your money, I won’t even give a shit.

So for your next car, you have to buy the car with its 100% car price, without any value from your used car. Now wonder the best car you can drive is still kimchi cars after so many years.

Good RV enable the car buyer to upgrade their car, see the common pattern now (Perodua Myvi -> Toyota Vios -> Toyota Camry/Altis -> Lexus/Mercedes), at the end of the day, you don’t pay much more for your Lexus compared to the time you paid for your Myvi; while yours is (Kia Cerato -> Hyundai Elantra -> Kia K3 -> Hyundai Elantra facelift). Pathetic.

• I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Then don’t tell us your RV stories. We don’t give u a single shit either.

• Same L0rrr on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:46 pm

If you don’t bother my comment and RV, why bother read my comment and reply? Just because you don’t like to hear about RV, I can not share information here? I wonder do you grow up in North Korea? Good friend of the almighty general? Lol

Don’t bother read Lexus, Mercedes or Toyota news, because forever you CAN’T afford it without realizing the importance of RV. Pathetic and ignorant bread jam.

• I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:29 am

People who afford to buy a Lexus and Mercs don’t give a shit to your RV. Only poor people like you will only care for RV. Can’t even afford the depreciation rate of the car.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Clearly you are not one of the Lexus/Mercedes owner, so don’t pandai-pandai talkok on their behalf.

You have no idea how the rich thinks, that’s why you are not one of them.

More expensive is the car, more concern they are on the RV. This is experience from selling cars for years.

Typical Proton fanboys: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

So syok and pandai? Get an Iriz then!

• Poor man talk big on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:33 pm

junior Toyota uncle sales man talk big…hahahahahah

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:13 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

Kimchi cars are OK to use for 10 years if you have a tow truck operator as a buddy

• shawal on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Higher road tax than nsx in bolehland…

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Dat RC F GT3!!! HNNNNNGGG!!!! *zip ahhhh…..

• Cool Car! on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:22 pm

At least Lexus bothered to make the car look different from the standard GS. Looks stunning for a super sports sedan. E45 looks almost identical with the regular E-class and the M5 looks Identical with the regular 5 series. The GS-F makes the rest look boring but damn the HP.. its pretty pathetic compared to its rivals..

• They call it sleeper with monster beneath innocent silhouette. While this, hmm

• W204 C63 AMG on Jan 14, 2015 at 4:38 pm

This so called GS F is not supposed to be an F. If you look at the numbers, this car competes with the Audi S6, BMW 550, not the M, RS or AMG. This should have called this the GS F-Sport.

• bro,its powered by a 5 litre V8 so of course it has to compete with them M,RS and AMG..

• carazy on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:28 pm

I supposed, based on the RC-F review, most probably this car cannot challenge the mighty M5 or AMG. Lexus should build more “driver car” is they intended to compete with the big dogs. Lexus should forget Toyota in their mind, if you want to play in the luxury performance, doit hard.

• If you see things historically, BMW/MBenz took decades to make their cars the way they are now. This included pre-war racing & engineering.

Lexus is relatively new to the scene, and with a decade of pushing their limits (LFA, entering all the 24h races, and now RC..etc), they had to cram all that into a few years. That takes REAL hard work.

Making a “Driver’s car” as you put it so simply, takes years to do.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:34 am

very nice…..but i think they can be more extreme even

• Josh Ling on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:58 am

kudos to lexus to sticking to the NA route still. and if they keep sticking to this route, they are gonna do really well as nowadays less and less car manufacturers are willing to come up with a big NA V8 engine anymore.

call me old school or whatever, but there’s some magic that the turbo V8 is missing, that NA V8 has.