Perodua sending 100 volunteers for flood clean up

Perodua Flood Volunteer-01

The massive floods that swamped the East Coast have subsided, but there’s still plenty of work to do. The most important at this juncture is cleaning up the houses and facilities, and Perodua is assisting by sending some 100 staff volunteers to Pahang, Terengganu and Kelantan. The disaster has displaced nearly a quarter of a million people.

“The 100 people we are sending are part of our volunteer programme to assist community-based projects nationwide,” said Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. He added that Perodua has already sent a “scout team” early January to access the situation and report back on what items are needed.

The company has also set aside RM400,000 for the victims of the flood, said to be the worst in over 30 years. So far, RM90k of the fund has been spent on emergency rations via Majlis Keselamatan Negara. The remaining RM310k will be used to aid families with school-going children with essentials.

Aminar added that Perodua’s flood relief programme, which was introduced in 2011, was still in affect and offers 20% discounts on selected parts on affected Perodua vehicles. Perodua will also reimburse towing service fees up to RM100 to the nearest Perodua service centre.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Botak Head Aminar on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:03 am

Thank yu for doing this Perodua. We appreciate this. But what is more important Aminar Botak head is that you reduce the car prices. That will help the flood victims and also the other 29.75 million people in Malaysia who are paying high car loans.

Aminar Botak head should reduce their car prices baded on Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. The 2 national car companies should be the ones doing it first.

Or are the national car companies like VW? Increase their car prices acorss the board by up to RM5000 due to greed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Please Putrajaya, please HELP on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:42 am

Each GLC should send at least 100 people to help. Lazy GLCs.

Our government should also send few thousand people from Putrajaya to help. Malaysian government is the most bloated Civil Service in the world. 10 people do 1 person’s job actually.

So, half the time, in Putrajaya, they hardly do any work.

Please Government of Malaysia, please get a few thousand Putrajaya workers to help the victims. Malaysia Civil Service has 1.5 million people. Largest in the world.

In comparision, Australia, has only 300,000 civil servantas to cater to more population and bigger country.

Time for the lazy Putrajay workers to pitch in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Bravo Perodua on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:51 am

Bravo to Perodua. Boo to kaki kerajaan. Minum teh dan makan kuih lapis 8 kali satu hari di kantin, tapi tolong orang kena malapetaka susah

• Jadual Pekerja Kerajaan on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:07 pm

I have travelled all over the world, nobody beats our kerajaan workers. Come in at 8am, straight to kantin. 9 plus stroll into the office after mega heavy breakfast.

At 11, again minum teh. At 12, start getting ready to go makan. 12.30 go makan.

Come back 2pm to 3pm. Laugh a bit in office, shake legs, flirt or kongkek at the Pintu Rintangan Api or cium cium dalam bilik stor or Pintu Rintangan Api

Sharp 4 balik rumah.

Total work time = 2 hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Low Budget on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:51 pm

No wonder many of them are overweight, just like many of the ministers with fat double chin.

• Get your facts right. Ministers are ministers, civil servants are civil servants. Ministers come and go. Civil servants remain foreva

• Lain tempat pun ada cium2…hahahha

• I couldn’t agree more buddy

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:52 pm

I agree, I agree

I think instead of become public servant, young people should go into business, can become succesful like me drive honda civic somemore. I can teach you how to play magic so you pay less tax. Invest in property oso good, can mark up house price make instant money.

• Low Budget on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:53 pm

They should indeed send most of the military men to help out, there is no war going on and most military men have lots of free time.

• frossonice on Jan 14, 2015 at 1:29 pm

http://web6.bernama.com/bernama/v3/bm/news_lite.php?id=1097858

Some of them already did it la. Don’t simply suka hati whack them.

• tun M pakar segalanya on Jan 14, 2015 at 1:14 pm

proton mana?

• one plant in shah alam and another in tanjung malim. If you are referring to SC or dealers, there are plenty nearby.

• http://paultan.org/2015/01/08/proton-offers-flood-victims-6-month-instalment-delays/

http://paultan.org/2015/01/06/proton-helps-flood-victims-under-flood-relief-mission/

http://paultan.org/2014/12/26/proton-we-care-prihatin-banjir/

Enough tak bro ? ke nak lagi ?

• tun M pakar segalanya on Jan 14, 2015 at 6:53 pm

ini la jadinya kalau masuk SRJKC… bahasa melayu langsung tak paham