Volkswagen Red Campaign: up to RM9,999 off red VWs

2105_VGW_14 CNY Campaign_Eng Half Page 26.1x18cm

The Chinese New Year is around the corner, and with that come the festivities – and the deals. Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) is offering rebates of up to RM9,999 as part of its Volkswagen Red Campaign, which also celebrates its ninth year of operation. Customers who purchase selected VWs in red at any dealer before February 28 will be entitled to the “ang pows”.

The deals include RM3,999 off a Polo 1.6 (hatch or sedan), Jetta or Beetle 1.2 TSI, RM4,999 off a Golf 1.4 TSI or Cross Touran, RM5,999 off a Passat, Tiguan 1.4 TSIScirocco 1.4 TSI or CC, RM6,999 off a Golf GTI or Golf R, RM7,999 off a Sharan, Tiguan 2.0 TSI or Scirocco R and a whopping RM9,999 off a Touareg.

Obviously, there are cars on the list, like the Jetta, CC and Touareg, that aren’t available in red, so we’d imagine the other colours will do for those.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Zookie on Jan 14, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Shouldn’t it be yellow in color? Has anyone heard of red lemon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • waaaa… padai la ini VW. last time mark up price kaw2. this time gv rebate on red colours only? manyak pandaiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • blaster88 on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Dead on! Raise price and then discount on red…..don’t you feel insulted by VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • subby on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:58 pm

We dont need VW in Asia, only need Japanese cars

• herbie lover on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:23 pm

hye bro.. sorry interrupt, just to say i didnt like ut statement.. bcause im one of beetle fans.. why we don’t need vw in asia? haha hope u go watch whole asian film or commercial, magazines.. too much vw models on that stuff.. like beetle, golf, kombi. bcause of their beautiful n unique. read their history bro.. year after year, for me, vw is one of the best car maker in world..

• true indeed on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:27 pm

With VW joining the competition i think its a good thing for other car makers in Malaysia. They will actually want to stay ahead by surpassing other competitor with design and everything. VW quality is indeed best among world car makers. Let people choose. Choice, its not yours to make. @subby

• Ex owner of beetle on Feb 12, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Wait until your beetle has problems….

• Josh Ling on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:15 am

later on GST lagi higher the price, and then lagi greater the rebate. and people will think VW cars is a bargain….

• faster! on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:56 am

thats why u gotta buy any car u want before the gst starts. btw, how do u know that the VW rebate will be higher after gst? o.O

• Matthew on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Stop condemning again..
      VW increased their price, you condemn and now they offer you lower price, you also condemn.. What do you expect VW to do?

• still will rosak, btw theres more than 20k discounts on gti and r models too..vw feeling the heat as consumers are skipping their products thanks to their excellent product quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • superbly on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:59 am

do you own any VW sir? please state what is your model and your problem sir. Dont just bang bang in this comment section. We need prove from the owner itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • Very Worried car on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:09 pm

You must be katak di bawah tempurung or you must be VW salesman.

Ask 10 vw owners, 9 out of 10 will tell you it’s a car they regretted buying.

• There is no such data to prove your words..
          In fact, 5 out of 10 VW Owners, they didn’t share feedback through online media while they didn’t face any issue with their cars, thus, people will never know those positive comments from VW owners.. People will only condemn when they felt inconvenience. It’s not good for you to speak for those unsatisfied VW owners..

• Ex owner of beetle on Feb 12, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Are you a owner or sales man???

• lolol on Jan 14, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Hey! Thts same color as your face when u get mad at the vw for breaking down on you.

Subtle msg vw subtle msg lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • so lame... on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:03 pm

hey, that is also the same color as your face gets very embarrassed by the fact VW that your fact is totally wrong. Dont u guys get it that VW has resolved most of the problems now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • subby on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:57 pm

You made my day !

• if anyone pass by old klang road VW car stockyard there are too many VW cars waiting in vain for buyers. eye sore really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:05 pm

i know its mean , bt that discount amount is the same amount for a new dsg box!….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • UcantcMe on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:17 pm

You would not want to spend your Chinese New Year at workshop >_<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:28 pm

after increase so much price…giv discount like this cos they know their cars cannot sell already….ppl all buy mercedes nowadays…becos quality german sausage got value, budget ALDI VW sausage no value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Crap German Engineering. Still want to con Malaysians into buying DSG which has been declared not suitable for Asian traffic.

• @Middle Age Driver

Where did you find the source stating that DSG is not suitable for Malaysia traffic? Not all german engineering is bad, the 6 speed DSG wet clutch which found in Golf GTI has no problems, the only which has problems is the 7 speed DSG dry clutch in which it is already been resolved.

• nasi sudah jadi bubur on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:11 pm

then might as well change the promo to buy one vw free one dsg gearbox….

• Sam Tow Truck on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:12 pm

And get 1 year free Sam Tow Truck. 24hrs 7 days a week. Best in KL, JB, Singapore and Hatyai.

Never leave home without Sam Tow Truck. Gunala VW tanpa was-was.

• So little discount? I tot should be like 10% or more

• unforgiven on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:14 am

Usually you should be able to get more discount than the stated discounted price. I do noticed a lot of VW in KV now.

• therealmaserati on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:47 am

Dont understand how rm10k discount is considered “whopping” by paultan.

In reality its peanuts . If its like 50k discount then it “whopping” la

• Stanley Free Makan on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:52 am

Increase price then offer discount? F*** off lah!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Why don’t VW assure all new owners that their car won’t breakdown by giving them a guarantee contract to buy back the car if it does. Since VW is so confident that all matters have been resolved, then I see no reason or lost for VW to provide such a guarantee. Owners don’t want free parts or repair. They just want a car that is reliable & not have them stuck in the middle of no where.

• ChongYK on Jan 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

@Middle Age Driver

Volkswagen don’t provide such guarantee because the matter already resolved and no point they providing such thing since there is not longer any problems related to DSG. What if the problems arise due to reckless driving habits that cause the car to breakdown? So should Volkswagen buy back the brokedown car as well? Pretty make sense right?

• #prayformalaysia on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Its not about increasing prices of the cars and giving discounts. Its about the strength of the currency. RM weakens = purchasing power becomes lesser that’s why you feel its not a fair deal by increasing prices of the cars and offering discounts. VW offers discount to try to balance the situation for malaysians.

• Not only Asian suffer DSG, the same issues happen in USA. Well for Europe are mostly manual gearbox, thus not many are affected.

Look at the latest automotive report, VW Group may overtake Toyota as no. 1 Automaker in the world first time ever. Why? because it is VW Group which Skoda and Audi had dramatically increase in sales by 10%, where VW rose by just 2.4%.

• muradnathan on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:35 am

Yes increase price then give discount is utter nonsense, probably understand that they are desperate to clear stocks and also their dealers are shouting as all their cash are stuck in slow or not moving at all stocks. They should find a way and sincere way of offering discounts or at least some free service package or whatever to downplay the already bad image of their service quality and after sales. The days of information sharing is fast now and no longer one can assume we are bunch of suckers that by increasing price then later give discount, people would not know.

• Used Car Dealer on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Buy VW, unless buying cash, be prepared to top up if you ever want to trade in or sell your car within 3 years.

I just told a poor jetta guy with a 2 year old car, our trade in price is rm65k and he still owe the bank rm110k. Really Hailat.

• TheRealMalaysian on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:09 am

New Jetta is selling at RM134k+ and your trade in price is rm65k, you sold out your 2 year old Jetta for 65k and you owe banker RM110k? Did you ever pay attention during your math class?
      Or else, you must be signed up for some special package for you car loan which cost you have to pay more..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:25 am

eh vw, today euro devalue, so price decrease or not?

• Ted9622 on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Having discount is better than nothing right? I believe if the rebates amount is more than 10%, surely people will complaint and request for like 20% or more..