2015 Perodua Myvi – now with four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating thanks to improved vehicle structure

myvi-asean-ncap

Perodua is clearly proud of the facelifted Myvi’s four-star ASEAN NCAP rating, which is one star up from the pre-facelift’s three-stars. The awarded stars are featured prominently on the company’s website homepage and the new crash test result sits on top of the Myvi’s safety page.

“We have enhanced the vehicle structure to better withstand frontal impacts in line with global standards,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh at the launch of the 2015 Perodua Myvi this morning. The four-star rating applies to all six variants of Malaysia’s best selling car.

safety

Going deeper, the new four-star rating consists of an 11.55 point Adult Occupant Protection rating and a 71% Child Occupant Protection Rating. Four stars is actually the maximum that the Myvi can get because it does not come with electronic stability control, the safety net that ASEAN NCAP has made mandatory to get the maximum five-star rating.

This is up from the pre-facelift car’s three-star rating, which consists of a 8.71 point Adult Occupant Protection Rating and 54% Child Occupant Protection Rating. In addition, the 2015 Myvi passed the UN R95 side impact crash test requirements as per JPJ rules.

View our launch report for full specs, pricing and a live gallery of the refreshed Myvi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Why can’t MAI make safety as standard in malaysia???

Since we (Rakyat) pay heavily to taxes, we should gets better treatment.

MAI still fooling with Rakyat even now 2015???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:14 pm

because some of us still dont have enough money to buy more proper car.

But, NCAP had it tested .. so its up to us to choose which one to buy.

• George Abdul on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:30 am

Is Rakyat not enough money to buy?

OR our market car price in Malaysia are over expensive due to heavily taxes on car?
        Even local car are expensive if not compared to after taxes CBU car.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Myvi is such a low class car, I have no idea why people even buy it. Many people will complain that they buy it because they cannot afford luxurious cars like Toyota but the truth of the matter is that, you cannot afford expensive cars is because you are utterly lazy and don’t want to work hard.

If you work hard, you don’t have to aim so low in life to own a pathetic Myvi as your family car. You will be ablt to own a nice D class sedan like the Camry.

So, instead of blaming the Government for all your troubles and problems, work harder to earn more money. Time to stop being lazy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • you need to be understand that not all the hard work pay well. sure, everyone want to drive a luxury car, who don’t want? some married coupled work their ass off day and night to provide family (children, folks, bills, insurance, loan). every family have their own difficulties. you never understand their pain unless you in their shoes.

I think myvi is a good car, it’s affordable to most of people working out there.

I don’t know you’re born in rich family , or still single or have no commitment. That’s a very irresponsible statement you made there. Some one need to knock some sense into you.

• 800kmhcruiser on Sep 20, 2017 at 6:00 pm

I drive a myvi to work as an airline pilot.

All these mercedes, bmw, camry, civic drivers depend their life on me when they become my passenger.

Only a fool pride themselves of liabilities that devalues the moment it rolls out of the showroom.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:47 am

iriz got complete safety spec…ppl sed like..”oh mahalnya”.

• Abraham on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:58 am

Proton: Saga 1 star only? Faster, resend new one! 3 star! Saga FLX!

MIROS: Nothing wrong! Kalau tak kasi re-test, merajuk nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • bapak on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:11 pm

owh…

• Myvi got 5 stars actually but hidden, the extra star is for trusted & loved by Malaysians.

Iriz got 5 stars safety but zero star for trusted & loved by Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • ben yap on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:23 pm

how was the structure improved? should share into details rather than just talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • MusTanG on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:43 pm

How structure improved? Lemme help answering.

Automotive maker usually will add patches (sheet metal brackets in form of patches) on joints (between two bracket/link) to stiffen the connection. Usually the thickness of these patches ranging from 1.8mm to 2.5mm.

Other alternative is also replacing spot weld with body adhesive.

This is normal practice throughout the whole world.

Just sharing :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:19 am

as easy as redesigning the crumple zone to divert crash energy away better. compare the myvi in picture… even severe damage, the front door still looks intact and possible to be opened by rescue/paramedics. this was not possible during kancil/kelisa/iswara/wira era.

• brazbuz on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Improve car strength without increase the price. How much the profit margin for pre-fl myvi huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Evident of pure capitalist in action, poor previous myvi owner.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:49 am

like how myvi remove rear arb (compared to passo/sirion)? there already profit few hundred rm for each car.

• naqib on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:31 pm

vehicle structure bahagian mana tu? mesti ramai bakal2 pembeli nak tahu.. kalau part tu boleh tukar.. mesty owner2 sedia ada myvi sebelum facelift nak jugak tukar n improve vehicle structure kete diorg.. kan?? boleh laa perodua jual n upgrade kan komponen tersebut.. kurang2 boleh selamatkan nyawa incase eksiden.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Tell that to all the 1-star saga owners to upgrade to 3-star.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:50 am

beza dgn pre fl..pillar A. maybe tht area.

• farghmee on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:53 am

peh..cmne ko nk spotweld sume balik?

kalu structural/chassis mmg xde harapan la.
      kalu equipment tu mmg ada sikit chance, tp xsenang jugak.

• naChe on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Not bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:36 pm

It’s like a celebration they got 4A’s in their exam when the total score is 5A’s haha damn foolish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:41 pm

they still cant get 5 star even with ESP coz 5 star AOP is 14 n COP is >87%..point they got is well within 4 star.

• Nonsense car. LOL Iriz looks and do much more than this piece of re-facelifts sai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
    • U gt buy iriz already? what color and what cc o? if u bought ady, then good lah, if not, just shut up and go buy iriz.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Well comparing the pre-facelift and post-facelift Myvi in these pictures, there are definitely improvements in the way the body deforms. Now at least there is a very good chance you can open your door than the previous iteration of the Myvi where the B-pillar just jelly up.

Sad thou, even with the improvement, it dosen’t lessen the chance a Myvi driver will see the ditch or a tree up close and personal, but at least now said driver and their passenger can walk away from it and not stuck there helplessly and also see their destroyed car in great detail.

As for the Myvi itself, I find that is more of a downgrade in the 1.3l, the reflector type lights looks cheap, the 1.3 almost act as nothing more as a showpiece in the showroom for salesperson to persuade people for an Axia Advance. I also find the interior less attractive, the gloss looking penal on the dash. The nav unit looks like a aftermarket 2-din version now. The dash cluster also went for orange, which is a major disappointment for me as I like the bluish tint on that in my Alza.

Overall, yes is safer, but also a whole lot more dissapointing. And on the argument of safety, you do know that they could have done more, Stability control or such. Not sure how much will it affect the sales as currently, the Myvi is THE no-brainer decision of the segment. Will it’s domination of the Malaysian market ends with its 9th year? All I know is sits not a car I would recommenced to people in the market…. Get a Axia, or a Picanto or even an Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Aye. Pre-fl’s turquoise meter panel is good “cool” color to the eye. I find “hot” colors like red, orange is more stressful to my eyes.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:52 am

the missing projector is disappointing. on a bright side..hey no more glaring projector if myvi/alza carry passengers behind.

• Bah.. Just barely passed for 4 stars. Axia scored 12.91 where this more expensive car scored 11.55. Shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Aero (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Myvi’s score is lower because its body frame is weaker than the Axia’s, even though both cars got the same safety equipment (2 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA).

• ohyeh on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:49 am

Nevermind, p2 fan valued tapau hook and retractable cup holder more than safety.

• akulah on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:12 pm

The CEO said that Perodua will not aim for 5 Star rating, hence you can forget about VSC in their car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:50 pm

I applaud them for doing this (though my suspicion is that the original Daihatsu was designed with these structural elements in the first place, but Perodua removed them to lower the production cost for the Malaysian market. That’s why it was possible to easily upgrade).

Unfortunately for Perodua this achievement pales a bit in comparison to the 5 star result the Iriz gets. Especially since that isn’t even taking into consideration side impacts, where the Premium Iriz would do really well, whereas the Myvi would be pretty bad/deadly.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Perodua is so thick skinned, they have the nerve to celebrate their 4-star ASEAN NCAP ‘achievement’, and yet their Myvi Standard G still doesn’t get ABS, EBD and BA.

And even if it did, so what ? 4-star ASEAN NCAP is nothing lah, don’t flatter yourself Perodua. If you can get 4-star ANCAP (Australia) or 4-star EuroNCAP, then we’ll see. ASEAN NCAP standards are from the mid-2000s. If you send your new Myvi to Australia or the U.K., you’ll automatically get ZERO stars (barred from sale), why ? Because Perodua still doesn’t equip their new cars with ESC or TCS. Not even the RM60k Myvi Advance.

And even if you guys did include ESC, so what (again) ? Your new Myvi only gets 2 airbags, maximum. Not even side airbags are offered, let alone curtain airbags. Yet, the Japanese market Toyota Passo / Daihatsu Boon has side and curtain airbags. If you give an excuse like ”The Myvi was only designed to hold 2 airbags ”, that would be an outright lie.

And even if the Myvi gets 6 airbags, so what (yes.. again) ? The Myvi’s body frame is not strong enough. It doesn’t have hot pressed components. Even with 6 airbags, there is a chance that the driver’s / front passenger’s compartment will collapse from the impact. The airbags will not save the driver / passengers, and if they do, they will suffer serious injuries.

I can still go up to the point of driving dynamics, and next generation safety systems (lane watch, sign recognition, autonomous braking etc.), but I think I’ve made my points quite clear. You have a LOT to learn Perodua, don’t stop with this 4-star ASEAN NCAP. If you keep improving your safety record, and improve it quickly (as in, in the next 2 or 3 years to 5-star ANCAP levels), then you will slowly build up genuine respect from educated Malaysians who care about their lives and the lives of their loved ones. Otherwise, Perodua will forever be associated with poor or uneducated Malaysians, who are too stupid to realize the importance of safety, or Malaysians who think that ”Oh yeah, I’m a good driver, I don’t need airbags and ESC to be safe on the road !” This is the worst kind of mentality.

It is good that Perodua actually gives a sh*t about safety at all. At least, there’s some hope… but as I’ve said many times before for the last half-decade; I will never support Perodua if they never learn how to develop their own cars, without help from Toyota or Daihatsu. Until Perodua can prove that they actually have brains and skills by making their own indigenously designed car, Perodua will always be second to Proton in my book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • Your book? Other than you & that few proton staff here, who bother to care your book?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • bebesr on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:56 am

This exactly happen when 10 years old car being FL thousand times, modern day safety feasures and standards not in mine that time. Improve body structure at tgis point of time also useless. Now people know immediately that tgis model although just launched 1 day already outdated by 10years in safety.

• die hard Fan on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:15 am

I agree with you..
      Dont be like India market.. get 0 star..
      Give 0 star car for India market because they think most people there are not aware about their safety..

Please think again MALAYSIAN..

we are car producer country..

• donno on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:11 pm

The real story is…

The 1st generation myvi chassis structure is almost wholesale similar to Japan passo and boon, including all the high strength steel reinforcements.

The 2nd generation (lagi best) as a cost saving measure (kaizen) deleted a lot of this high strength reinforcements. Some of them, like a left to right floor stiffener under the front seats are gone altogether. This is why the 2nd generation myvi is not exported to UK. Unfortunately during this time also the asian NCAP came to being, and tests on this model shows up the shortcomings of the deleted reinforcements.

So now what they did is to put back all the reinforcements as per the original myvi. That’s why the crash tests of the latest model is better than the previous one.

• donno on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:17 pm

There is no way the improvements can be retrofitted to the lagi best myvi. The reinforcements are welded as a part of the chassis during bodyshell production. So to feel safe either this new one, or the 1st gen myvi.

• ahtoos on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:01 am

If i remember, even the first production of myvi the cross bar in the door panel is like a broom srick only. Just that the diameter smaller. In some cases the glue to hold this cross bar crack and the cross bar itself detached. Yaw……..

• donno on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:32 pm

The myvi is currently the default choice of the segment. Seeing the new one, with questionable styling and obvious downgrading of specs I can see people actually will go for the axia instead which is opposite of what happened with the myvi-viva pairing of late.

Iriz…

It is good on paper, great and really well thought of design. I really wanted to see it topple the myvi sales. But as usual proton as a company let its customers down. Launched with all models on sale while all this time only the 1.6 model is actually ready and in production to be delivered to the customers. It is launched while tuning and calibration problems with the 1.3 auto transmission is still haven’t been solved. I know lots of 1.3 Iriz customers fed up of waiting for their cars and cancelled thier orders and get an axia or myvi instead.

• Exactly! Only p1 only deliver 1.6 cvt and 1.3 manual in 2014. Those booking 1.3 cvt and 1.6 manual have to wait way too long to get the car. End up cancelling the booking. So this gives excuses to the salesmen of the other side to compare the sale saying that iris sale is low, so nobody buy. But the truth is p1 d**n slow on delivery.

• 4star proud on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Cant believe this! Only 4 star but soo proud, is it 4 star maximum score?

• sastu on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:05 pm

The result suggest that p2 admit the dangerous of previous myvi, that explaint their ‘hard work’ and proud feeling to publisize in a grabs even about the new result although not a 5 star and even score less than axia.

To existing myvi owner, you are indeed driving a dangerous myvi.

• sastu on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:06 pm

The result suggest that p2 admit the dangerous of previous myvi, that explaint their ‘hard work’ and proud feeling to announce the result in a grand even although not a 5 star and even score less than axia.

To existing myvi owner, you are indeed driving a dangerous myvi.

• Contender on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Perodua has achieved what Daihatsu & Toyota not able to do …. where a so called facelift have increased their NCAP rating ! Perodua took 10 years of R&D and finally with this facelift has achieved that ….. Malaysia Boleh ? Amazing isn’t it ?

• farghmee on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:14 am

kamon bro, don’t say like that.
      P2 said they enhanced the structure, thus getting 4* AseanNCAP.

• too much on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:26 pm

paultan, there is too much of coverage of this already. please stop it.

• policeman on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:02 pm

I smell fraud. BPR must launch an investigation. This is bullshit!

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:46 pm

I’ll take this with a pinch of salt.

ASEAN NCAP itself was a bit dodgy when they allowed Proton a retry before the first official release of the results. How is that possible? None of the other NCAPs do that. Now this?

On a whole the new Myvi is just a mere attempt to cheaply retouch the car to keep itself relevant. Is it sufficient? No. The Iriz is a much much better car and that is coming from someone who is not Proton’s biggest fan and not a CVT fan. Funny how the Proton just feels so much better inside than the Myvi. Then there is the Picanto. For the money if you don’t mind the smaller cabin, the Picanto is very accomplished too. Great fun to drive though the lack of the 5th gear in the auto tends to cause droning at highway speeds. Then again it is a city car.

Perodua’s biggest failure is the lack of realisation that the market will change this much in such a short time. They never expected Proton to offer ESP on the Preve and eventually making it standard on the Preve, Suprima and Iriz. Neither did they expect the Picanto either. I think the issue is that the Myvi being based on such an old platform can’t support these new technologies just like the Vios.

• Same L0rr said: Asean NCAP 5 stars just for wayang only and sendiri syok. Therefore those Vios, Axia and New Myvi get 4 stars can consider as rubbish.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:19 am

Asean NCAP is crap. Can’t produce a high std car just lower the safety std as the bulk of M’sian are dumb & gullible. 5 star Asean NCAP car can’t even pass EU safety or else they will be shouting very loud by now.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:15 am

4 star is respectable. however this is asean ncap….doesnt hold any weight actually

• Absolute Rider on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:54 am

Good for Perodua, as they improved the Myvi.

Sorry for pre-facelifted Myvi owners, your Myvi officially obsolete. Less resell value.

• joanna on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:13 am

Both Iriz and Myvi are hideous. I can’t understand why people can say Iriz is a thing of beauty after i look at it’s rear.
    Pernah test drive Iriz. Rear seat sangat cramp. CVT very sluggish and loud too. Driving dynamic very poor. And the interior look so cheap. You can hear the engine screaming like hell.
    Same thing goes to Myvi.
    Kesian the Malaysians. Just because of buy Malaysian-made car rhetoric and dogma, we only have two affordable choice. P1 or P2.
    Both are pathetic. Both use subtle attraction of patriotism to force people to buy their products.
    While Hyundai-Kia takes all the maki hamun to go forward, P1 and P2 just being so ignorant and arrogance. Never want to evolve.

• Asean NCAP.
    Euro NCAP
    Australian) ANCAP

Which NCAP to trust. For sure I’m not going to trust ASEAN NCAP because, a dead machine (perodua new myvi) without 6 airbags and ESP got 4 star acknowledment from ASEAN NCAP.

If this car tested in Euro NCAP most proably will get “two DEATH star”.

• mampumilik on May 24, 2015 at 9:13 pm

tAK PAYAH NAK KOMEN LA…BELI YANG YOU MAMPU MILIK LA.NASIB BAIK ADA JUGA KELUARAN MALAYSIA, BOLEHLA JUGA PAKAI KERETA KALAU TIDAK BERPANAS BERHUJAN LA AMBO