SPIED: Honda Civic Type R on test in snowy Sweden

Now that the debut of the new NSX is finally out of the way, we can focus on Honda’s next high-performance car scheduled to be unveiled – the new Honda Civic Type R. Seen here is the upcoming hot hatch undergoing winter tests in the snowy landscape of Sweden.

We first saw prototypes of the new Type R on test way back in August 2013, and since then there has been seemingly endless rounds of teaser photos, concepts and even videos of a prototype being driven.

The good news is that we probably won’t have to wait much longer as bookings for the car have already opened in the UK – all you need to do is place down a fee of £3,000.

Honda-Civic-Type-R-006

Touted to be the most extreme and high-performing Type R in the 22-year history of the red ‘H’ badge, the Civic Type R will be powered by a new 280 PS 2.0 litre direct-injected VTEC Turbo engine with a 7,000 rpm limit, paired to a six-speed manual gearbox. That’s not quite the stratospheric redlines that we’ve used to with Type R engines of the past, but the new turbo does offer significantly more torque.

There’s also a new ‘+R’ button, which upon being pressed will activate a mode with heightened engine response, with torque-mapping changed to a more aggressive and performance-focused setting. The steering becomes more responsive which, together with the new four-point Adaptive Damper System, delivers the “ultimate handling experience”.

Will the new Type R be able to break the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R’s front-wheel drive Nurburgring record of 7 min 54.36 seconds? We’ll see.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• siaokia on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:53 pm

cant wait to see it launch !! its gonna make me refinance my house loan for this !

• Steve Jobs on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:12 pm

snowy Sweden = Snowden.LEL

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:20 pm

I rather married with Honda Civic Type R than girls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Beng Kia on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:36 pm

You can’t buy this car, neither can you get a girlfriend. Too many pimple faced 14 y/o on this site. Hasn’t school started already?

• ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Tomboy Alice on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Much better than my lousy vw golf

• alldisc on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:21 am

still using torsion beam axle like previous model?

• blaster88 on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Resistance is futile….the days of high revving engines are numbered. In our quest for fuel economy and more power, small force induction engines are the future (Hybrids of course).Guess you cannot beat the principals of Physics…

Honda has eventually capitulated…..having said that, it would sell like hot cakes, still a bloody type R!

• civic owner on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:51 pm

lousy car…poor performances