F20 BMW 1 Series facelift unveiled – new face and rear end, 116i and 116d get 1.5 litre three-cylinder engines

bmw-1-series-f20-lci-facelift-model-lines-11

The F20 BMW 1 Series three- and five-door hatch range has been given a much-needed facelift. This is pretty much the last we’ll see of the rear-wheel drive 1er, as the next generation is set to adopt the new front-wheel drive UKL platform used by the 2 Series Active Tourer, the new MINI and the next BMW X1.

Looks-wise, quite a bit has changed – and for the better, we think. A reshaped kidney grille is flanked by new, slimmer headlamps with nicer-looking corona rings (at least they’re in one line now!). New front bumper with larger intakes, too.

LED DRLs are standard; options include full-LED headlamps, LED fog lamps with cornering and LED High Beam Assistant. Round the back, you’ll see new L-shaped LED rear lamps that eat into the tailgate, and a restyled rear bumper.

The interior hasn’t changed much save for the addition of glossy black on the centre stack, but auto air-con, a rain sensor, tyre pressure indicator showing each individual wheel, BMW Radio Professional and 6.5-inch central display with iDrive are now standard equipment, while an 8.8-inch navigation system with the bigger touch-enabled iDrive knob is available.

The 116i is now powered by a 109 hp/180 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine. The 136 hp/220 Nm 1.6 litre four-cylinder that powered the pre-facelift 116i is now used by the 118i, and the 170 hp/250 Nm version found in the pre-facelift 118i is now used by the 120i. The 125i keeps its 218 hp/310 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder.

Now for the diesels – the 116d and 116d EfficientDynamics are now powered by a 116 hp/270 Nm 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine (previously 114 hp/260 Nm 1.6 litre four-cylinder), while the 118d, 120d and 125d get a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine in 150 hp/320 Nm, 190 hp/400 Nm and 224 hp/450 Nm states of tune.

All engines feature BMW’s TwinPower Turbo technology. Six-speed manual and eight-speed auto gearboxes, along with xDrive all-wheel drive versions, are offered, and the auto ‘box is now capable of referring to navigation data for transmission management.

The hot M135i‘s 3.0 litre straight-six benefits from a small 6 hp boost to 326 hp, while retaining its 450 Nm of twist. The rear-wheel drive version gets from 0-100 km/h in 5.1 seconds (manual) or 4.9 seconds (auto) before topping out at 250 km/h. Like the 118d and 120d, the M Performance model can be specified with xDrive. So equipped, it does the century sprint in 4.7 seconds.

Options include adaptive suspension, M Sport suspension, variable sports steering, M Sport brakes, radar-based Active Cruise Control with Stop & Go function, Parking Assistant (auto parallel and perpendicular parking), camera-based Driving Assistant and a reverse camera.

F20 BMW 1 Series LCI

F20 BMW 1 Series LCI Urban

F20 BMW 1 Series LCI M Sport

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kl fella on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:54 pm

the front looks so much better now..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
    • ThePowerofDreams on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Nice ass..

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:34 pm

BMW is doing very well globally but in Malaysia, it is dwindling market share. All because of the 2 year warranty BMW Malaysia is giving.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in the world, not just Malaysia alone, giving a mere 2 year warranty on their cars. Nearly all cars in Malaysia have upped to 5 years warranty. Proton and Perodua also giving 5 yrs warranty Mercedes also giving 4 years warranty.

Yes, we all know what happens to BMWs right after the 2 years warranty is over…..problem after problem. Each time, no less than few thousand ringgit to repair!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Expensive 1.5 engine 3-cylinder hatchback, people buy and love it.

Cheap 1.6 engine 4-cylinder hatchback (Iriz), no one bother.

Why? All about BUILD QUALITY!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • Talkcock on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Dont talk cock laaa…that 1.5 liter engine is with twin scroll power turbo and that 1.6 liter is normally aspirited. Which one do u prefer?

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:01 pm

I prefer bulletproof 1.5 vvti with advanced timing chain. Powerful, smooth and indestructible…it is second to none. BMW will kwai tai after 2 years. While Iriz after 2 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • have to disagree with this, because bmw breakdown rate is not much less than proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:28 am

Your statement tells us that you have never own a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Bimmer fan on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Those bimmers you see breakdown are those ppl that want to drive BMW but got no money to service and maintain the car. If properly maintained its most likely (breakdown) problem free for at least 6-8 years.

• I’ve got disagree. Driving an E90 now for 4 years. Never any major issues so far. Apart from things like the aircond and faulty rain sensors.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Definitely no BMW experience, or bought a lemon of a car.

• Bimmer on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:27 am

Will get this over Iriz, cannot stand the rubbish CVT

• neemfa on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Now the front end is more acceptable than before, but I prefer the pre-facelift rear. the 1-series is more likeable now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • good. the current version 2nd hand value sure will drop now.so who dont mind driving ugly 1 series can happily buy

• Good… looks 100x better than the previous angry bird

• cendol (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:49 pm

THis means 316i LCI is coming soon. Can’t wait to see what changes there is.
    If price still no different, or reduced, it is better

• cendol (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:58 pm

If 116i gets 1.5L engine, will the price be cheaper than RM170000?
    The price of 116i 1.6L is 170800 now.
    By right, price should be cheaper.

• kusochon on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:10 pm

bagus lah… hidung dah tak nampak kembang sangat macam dulu..

• W204 C63 AMG on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Does that mean the next gen 1er will use the same platform as the current gen Cooper? Anyway, the current gen Cooper shares literally everything with the 2er including the platform, engines and tranny, am I right?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Front now looks better but the rear….mixed feelings about it as all the rear tail lights now looks pretty much the same in all the current core models. Good to know that BMW now offers better standard equipment…but honestly those optional stuff previously (auto air cond, TPM, etc) were supposed to be standard in a premium brand like this.

What I do not like however is that the 116i, 118i and 120i are now weaker than the pre-LCI cars.

Will be interesting to see how BMW Malaysia spec its model and pricing. The pre-LCI 116i came with nothing and its missing some pretty basic stuff like front parking sensors on its entire line up.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Have to agree. The front seems much nicer but the rear…. What were they thinking? In that sense the old one is not too bad.

I’m more surprised by the petrol engine lineup really…the 116i is now putting out numbers a naturally aspirated 1.5 produces…. Whuuuut

• rizal on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:59 pm

any idea when coming to malaysia? mid 2016 perhaps?

• kiamsiap on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Woo hoo…now you pay myvi roadtax with bmw and a 3 cylinders. I am sure fuel economy will be much better than milo tin perodua.

• wanker newbie on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:41 pm

I already knew the 1 series facelifted is coming but I still go ahead and bought mine. At least I get to enjoy the drive which matter the most.

What I feel 1 series should come standard….a reverse camera and keyless entry. Even the cheap kimchi had better creature comfort. Of course, the total package of the bimmer, it is an exhilarating drive.

• waterman on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:08 am

BMW doesn’t put kimchi car in their eye, they just follow what they want.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:21 pm

The lower range are considered entry level BMW’s, priced more affordable to first time owners who do not want to spend more but wants the experience. We can revisit the Korean cars with BMW’s standards in say ….. Another 10 years from now?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

The old one did not stand a chance with the A250…this looks better..

• Cadbury on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:46 pm

three cylinders engine? just forget it. sure will feel engine struggling when hard driving.

what make BMW ‘BMW’ is their 6 inline engine – minimum. Driving 0-100 below 6secs and the car feel so effortless.

anyway BMW is much2 better than any asian cars for sure.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:07 pm

nice…but still why buy this over excellent a-class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • because its RWD

• I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:30 am

Why?? Because we are young, a-class is for old uncle like you.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 17, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Everyone little boy here including you will become uncle one day.

But not every uncle can afford the A class.

• paulnut on Jan 18, 2015 at 6:14 pm

There is ni issue to be an uncle one day,however it is important that you can be an uncle with wisdom and integrity.

• rizal on Jan 18, 2015 at 12:46 pm

a class looks for uncle?
        err…i think u need to update ur outdated brain..

• blaster88 on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:26 am

Why? Barring any comparison with the new 1 series, coz I have not sat or drove one yet…. Compared to the GTI, the A250 transmission is sloooowwww! Nothing compared to the DSG in the Golf GTI. Back room is very cramped, engine and ride quality are both rough and the waiting list is still long. I waited nearly a year…..good points are that the after sales service is 10X better than VW and it comes with a 4 year manufacturer warranty – key word here is “manufacturer”.

Performance and handling wise….cannot beat GTI lah..

• Paulo on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:49 am

it baffles me how the 1.5 mill only puts out 109 hp/180 Nm

while Ford’s Ecoboost 1.0mill puts out 125 HP/170 Nm

and this is BMW we’re talking about. lest it be one of those euro eco-minded blasphemy.

• After a brief research, all this small bmw engines (1.5/1.6) are actually Prince engine! Which means -> same as Peugeot. Low cost entry weak performance. Sums it up.

• sutheshkumar on Jan 18, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Then you have done a bad research. while the 1.6 engine are Prince units, the 1.5 is not. Its a totally new engine developed by BMW itself. Prince units are developed to be shared with PSA and they are equally powerful.

• Bimmer fan on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Obviously the 1.5 litre is tuned for economy duhhh

• nice…if bmw malaysia improve its current 2 years pathetic warranty, will consider a beemer in the future…comeone, at least a 4 yrs warranty like a merc will gv me some confident in ur products

• sutheshkumar on Jan 18, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Jon, the M135i acceleration figures is in reverse. The auto is actually faster than the manual and that is also the picture of 125i M Sport. Surely you knw that M135i mirrors the coupe sibling with tailpipes at each sides?

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:18 am

Yawn….
    BMW has lost its way.
    They should change the Head of design soon.
    From 1 series to 7 series, nothing catches my eyes.

On the Merc side, I told the sales rep, give me ANY car from A, CLA, GLA, or C. ANY car!! He get to pick which one he wants to sell to me, so long as he can deliver it.
    All he can say is “JUNE”. Even the first batch CKD C is booked. Unless I don’t mind the Old C, which they still have a few stocks…

Facelift? Fuel Efficient? RWD? Warranty? Most of the buyers don’t ask those stuff. Just make the damn car look cool and have star factor…

• Sounds like your only care about the image/looks of the car. A, GLA, CLA and then the C class has a big price range difference.

If you can afford the C class, why even bother about the lower range A,GLA,CLA. The drive is miles different.

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Well, I wont say is just me. Otherwise the waiting list for the car won’t be this long?

You can make it save fuel, RWD blah blah,… If you can’t make it sexy, you will end up like BMW trying to give away Bell & Ross watch to lure customer.

A, GLA, CLA, there are practically the same price at around RM240k. The CKD C indicative price is RM260k. Big price range difference? I am not sure.

The drive is different? Again, I don’t think you get the point…

• Oh you’re referring the A,GLA,CLA 250s range and not entry model. There’s no CKD new C-class yet is there? I think they said middle of the year they might introduce it but currently the CBU c-class is 280-315k.

I dont agree with you but can understand. Just saying my thinking is more along the lines of, if you have that kinda of money to spend and you’re below 40 years. Go for the best car and not the looks.

IMO, the GLA,CLA,Aclass(entry to mid range spec, not talking about the AMG ones) isn’t a proper Merc. I’ve test drove the CLA and the A-class, it is quite disappointing in terms of handling and interior. Drove the F30 320i & 328i and they both feel alot better to drive but the interior is quite dated even though there’s more kit than the mercs.

Such a problem lol, i’ve got 250k budget for a car and I don’t know what to get.

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm

I don’t mean to sound arrogant or anything, but really how many on the waiting list actually test drove the car? Is just the way how this market segment is. Feel free to disagree, the numbers don’t lie.

Is abit like trying to explain why iphone sell so much better then the rest even there are cheaper, better spec phones out there.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Some people buy for different reasons, car is also a fashion statement accessory. Some buy for technology and others for sheer driving pleasure. It takes all kinds. Some just don’t know la.

• csteoh7828 on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:36 pm

The car is now on sale in Malaysia.