Perodua Myvi facelift ASEAN NCAP results released

ASEAN NCAP has released the full results and crash test video for the 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift – the refreshed B-segment hatch now comes with a four-star safety rating, one star up on the pre-facelift.

Central to the improved safety rating is an enhanced vehicle structure that better withstands frontal impacts in line with global standards, according to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. The four-star safety rating applies to all six Myvi variants.

Specifically, the new safety rating consists of an 11.55 point Adult Occupant Protection rating and a 71% Child Occupant Protection Rating.

Four stars is actually the maximum the Myvi can get because it does not have electronic stability control, the safety net that ASEAN NCAP has made mandatory to get the maximum five-star rating.

This is up from the pre-facelift car’s three-star rating, which consists of a 8.71 point Adult Occupant Protection Rating and 54% Child Occupant Protection Rating. In addition, the 2015 Myvi passed the UN R95 side impact crash test requirements as per JPJ rules.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Myvi got 5 stars actually but hidden, the extra star is for trusted & loved by Malaysians.

Iriz got 5 stars safety but zero star for trusted and loved by Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 80
    • driver on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:49 pm

are u high or something?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Abu Sayur on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Who cares about safety. Give me the aero kit n sport rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Myvi is a low class car for low class people. I don’t know why people aim to buy such a low class car. People complain that cars are costly.

But do you know why you cannot afford costly cars? It is because you are lazy and do not want to work hard. If you work hard, you will have the money to buy better C or D segment cars.

Stop blaming the Government if you are poor and low class. You are low class and poor because you are lazy and don’t want to get out of your poverty stricken state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 51
          • Politic on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Why some of the comment feels like its actually reverse psychology.

• Politic on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Why i feel some of the comment has a different meaning? Is this what their call reverse psychology?

• Super on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:19 pm

sound like poilceman..

• xem6861 on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:37 pm

People tend to buy B segment car not because lazy you assh*ole. Most people are not willing to starve and save up money to feed those bloodsucking bankers and insurance company. As long as it accommodate daily transport need as well as reasonable safety apply. Cry over price hike but willing to pay RM2k above for any car above RM100k doesnt seem any smart.No point buy big car but scare off speedtrap. After all,you still have to drive below 80km/h in most of the city road, it irregardless how high your car displacement is.

• fanofthisite on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:56 pm

sakit jiwa ke?

• Don Juan De Marco on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Zero star..zero star. Total BS..

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:02 pm

It is bullshit to claim Iriz has 0 star.

But it is true that:
        Even Iriz has 50 stars like on US flag, no one bother to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Albert on Jan 18, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Same Lorr,Iriz has one more star,called “EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN” star.

• No one must know on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Nampaknya ada orang minum banyak sangat air ketum ni. Dont be retard plz.

• Twinkle twinkle little star..lalala

• After comparing Iriz and Myvi crash test, the Myvi did improved a lot since the last test. And this will probably be another nail in the coffin for Iriz. Not that Iriz is a bad car, just P1 as a company whole, sucks. Karma.

• George Abdul on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Actually is not P1 fault,
        People’s and the management that make Proton suck shit.

DrM ego and pride that make it fall. Even ministers of MAI scare of him asking another ridiculous R&D for Proton.

• stupid comment of the year

• fanofthisite on Jan 17, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Child try growing up and contributing to this forum intelligently.

• 4star proud on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Haiyoyoyo, enough promoting this 4 star creature. If 5 star than worth talking.

I prefer vsa in p2. Only then got real news….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Iriz Forever, Hooray!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
  • Fly me to the moon on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:34 pm

ASEAN NCAP Rating Went Up! Price Go Down! Cepat Puji Kerajaan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • toyotafan on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Was this Myvi a specially made one for ASEAN NCAP testing or a randomly selected vehicle from the showroom or Perodua Yard? There is a big difference between the two.

I think people should ask this question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • thank you on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Congratulation Perodua/Daihatsu/Toyota. Keep it up to increase Asean NCAP rating.
    Congratulation also to PROTON because make us open our eyes on car safety rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • akoo (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:56 pm

just wondering why the side mirror is like that?

• No one must know on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Wow not bad at all for the price. And its an increase from the previous model. Keep up the good work Perodua. Hope the next gen myvi achive 5-star rating just like Iriz. Cheers :)

• No one must know on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I bet if this myvi has ESC it could potentially got 5-star. It just my though. Cheers :)

• kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:01 pm

still cannot as myvi point is 11.55..they need 13 n above to get 5 star

• Even got ESC also cannot get 5 stars because AOP too low

• milo kosong ais kaokao on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:32 pm

no matter how many star this car have got, malaysian buyer will still rate it as hot as pornSTAR… base variant dont even have abs, speechless. Welcome to Malaysia, a place where most driver care nothing about safety, know nothing abt vsc, the only concern is the 42inch plasma tv at the front console, better still with touchscreen,. or bodykit, or anti snatch hook, tapao hook, or a push star button, leather seat, better still with astro reception to watch football while driving… wake up people, toyota/perodua/umw is taking advantage of our ignorant on safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • True bro, when I told my friends vsa is a must, most of them will reply :” haha bro, i Dont race, I drive very slow only.” Adui, vsa is a feature that not for you to race but you won’t know when your car is losing control due to oil on road, tyres puncture, avoid object on the road with high speed, and so on.. wake up people..

• wayangkulit on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:15 am

did you also tell your friend
        each VSA has different performance rating?
        each VSA is programmed differently ?
        VSA has no universal standard yet?

did you also tell your friend
        that logic programmed into VSA is no match for human logic?
        that having VSA doesnt mean immortality and crash free?

• leonardo on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Errr….horeyyy?

• Louis on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:21 am

6 variants all 4 stars, cmon how can a car (G spec) without ABS and EBD can qualify for a star. I think ASEAN NCAP should make ABS EBD mandatory to get at least one star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • galaxy on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:35 am

Hi Louis, NCAP is all about post-crash test. In other words, after an accident occurred where its not about pre-crash at all.
      Hence, no point to have ABS and EBD after an accident happened. Airbags, body structure, and chassis were most important parts here.
      So, please be careful when post your comment. Please be constructive rather than simply criticize things. Have a nice day..

• vincent on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Sorry to say that I see this as a syiok sendiri safety test, try to take it to Europe and take their NCAP test, you sure they can score a 4 stars? I doubt it.
    What I mean it is a syiok sendiri test is because the car is crashed at much lower speed, I don’t think Myvi feel 4 stars compare to a Ford Fiesta, do you?

• ollie on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:35 am

Seems there’s a daily update on this trash; so I will update daily too.

1. Overpriced, under-specced. Believe me, with car interest rates currently so low; go for a better car and stop thinking that the Myvi is your only option. Mitsubishi Attrage, Honda Jazz, even Suzuki Swift will give you much better for the price paid. Monthly is just RM150-200 extra but you’ll be much safer and comfier and your car will last longer.

2. Stop supporting the national car makers. Developed countries are developed because they maximise their competitive advantage. We do not have an advantage and we will never have an advantage as we just rebadge cars from Toyota, Mitsubishi etc. Proton and Perodua survive because Malaysians do not do enough research and are not aware of their options in the current competitive car market. Many, many cars available in the 60-80k range.

3. Buy second-hand. A 10 year old Toyota/Honda will still be better than a new Myvi and cost just 25-30k. Interest rates are low, you can get a loan for 4-5% which adds up to very little over 5-7 years. Myvi loan may be 2.5% but add it up over 7 years and you’ll be paying more. Calculate it in detail before you take a loan. Maintenance costs will also be lower.

Lesson: Stop supporting Proton and Perodua and support the liberalisation of the Malaysian car market. Your tax payer money and mine are being fed to these companies and distorts the car market. This has directly caused the creation of the rempit and resultant crime as kids can’t afford cars or they are not aware that they can buy cars that are not Proton and Perodua. Thanks!