Proton-Perodua market share falls below foreign brands for the first time – effects of liberalisation?

MAI_14_15_review_ 006

At last week’s Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) Review and Insight 2014/2015 media briefing, the think-tank revealed our market’s 2014 total industry volume (TIV) of 665,675 units, up 1.5% from 2013’s 655,793.

Not groundbreaking, but the breakdown of who sold how many proved to be more interesting. It was revealed that Proton and Perodua managed 17.4% and 29.4% market share respectively, which amounted to 46.8% of the pie for the national carmakers. This means that local brands accounted for less than half of all cars sold in 2014, and non-national makes now have the lion’s share.

MAI’s figures match those shown at Perodua’s 2014 business review briefing yesterday. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) will release official 2014 figures later this month.

As the image below shows, Proton controlled over half of the domestic market back in 2001, and its current 17% share is less than one third of what it used to enjoy. Perodua’s performance over the past decade has been a lot more consistent. Put together, the national carmakers’ share of the market has seen a steady drop over the years, but the point where they surrendered the lead to the non-national makes happened last year.

2014 malaysia market share

Perodua boss Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh calls this the effect of liberalisation of the Malaysian automotive market, something he has pointed out over the previous few business briefings. “Competition is far more formidable than previously expected,” he said in July 2014.

Non-national segment leaders Toyota, Honda and Nissan have been aggressive in the B-segment, introducing new entry-level models with prices that encroach into the top end of traditional Proton/Perodua territory. Nissan’s Almera in 2012, Toyota’s Vios in 2013 and Honda’s 2014 City and Jazz are prime examples. The latter was the biggest gainer in 2014 with a market share jump of 3.7%.

Will this trend continue? Yes or no hinges on Proton’s performance, as Perodua has decent momentum with the strong-selling Axia and the just-launched Myvi facelift. P2 has set a sales target of 208,000 units this year, which if achieved, will be a record-breaking year for the market leader.

MAI predicts that local brands will make a comeback this year to take around 52% of TIV, which is tipped to reach 700k. Would you be willing to bet on that?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:12 am

Malaysians should let Proton and Perodua know that we have had enough of their low quality, low specs, high price, old technologies, no new models (10 year Myvi is still facelifted).
    Proton And Perodua please wake up to globalisation.
    WE no longer live in Malaysia only and insulated from outside world.
    Please wake up.
    Stop being a frog underneath a clear Glass Cup, Can see the world outside, but can’t jump outside

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 17
    • P1 severely need a global partner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
      • Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Honda Malaysia secretly married with Proton, never tell parent back in Tokyo Japan. Thats why no news about it reported by NHK. So malu kawin koboi kah? Next time honeymoon in Bangladesh new factory. AhBeng will become bellboy put ‘no disturb’ sign at hotel room.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
        • Jimmy on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:58 pm

The United State of Amerika has decided to collect more taxes on cars/vehicles by imposing 200% taxes on vehicles; however they worried that their citizens will get angry and will not vote for them, therefore under the name of Patriotism, they impose standard tax on Ford/GM etc Amerikan vehicles and start taxing 200% all foreign vehicles; in fact, if possible, they want to tax 200% on all vehicles. Under the name of Amerikan Patriotism, support national vehicles konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
          • MAI - The Con Artist on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Madani Sahari is actually a puppet used by the Government to confuse the car buying community to con them into paying high car prices.

Before Madani comes out with all his predictions and analysis, may I remind you Madani, whatever you have told us in the past has not come out at all. In the past you told us that the Government was moving towards EEV. Many people took your advice and bought Hybrids. Then suddenly, Government themselves pulled the plug on the tax issue and said no more tax benefits on hybrid. So many people were left stuck. Honda also took Madani’s advice and set up billion dollar plant to CKD the Civic and Jazz. That also went down the drain.

Billions wasted because Madani gave “false” direction to all the local companies to set CKD Hybrid in Malaysia. Those who bought Hybrids also now suffer because Insurance premiums have gone up (Insurance companies now value your car not RM150,000 but RM250,000) and to replace a stolen Civic Hybrid would cost that much.

So, current owners of Hybrid suffer with higher premiums and also nobody wants to touch these cars in the 2nd hand market because the price is like yo yo.

So what happened Madani? You always come out with heavy duty charts to show Government encouraging EEV and Hybrids, now apa jadi?

Second issue is, Madani should, before coming out with all his usual nonsense from his mouth, he should ask his boss Najib, what happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Najib, before the elections last year promised all MAlaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN in. He said not to trust PKR because PKR was dishonest. he further stressed that BN always kept their promises and that it was 100% sure he would reduce car prices by 30%

So what happened to Madani’s boss Najib and his promise?

Madani, instead of kipas Najib and waiting for your Datukship, do something for the rakyat. Even the AP issue also you have not sorted out. the PEKEMA theives are stealing so much from the rakyat and MAI and MITI and the Government close an eye. 30 million people suffer just for 20 PEKEMA members to make billions per annum each.

So, why Madani you come out with all this analysis and prediction when two most important things you have not done

1) Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices 30%
            2) Abolishing the PEKEMA AP conmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Perodua might care if people don’t buy their cars. But Protons?? The senior management just relax shaking legs in office flipping Mercedes S class brochure.

Proton golden way of operating business: Can’t sell car? Burn more money doing useless R&D (e.g. testing the Iriz in winter Europe) and ask for more government’s fund.

Buy Proton or not, every Malaysian is subsidising it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • The united state of your English is very bad.

• trollmaster3000 on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:54 pm

proof of your claim..? or it’s just BS..

• Jimmy on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:08 pm

There is no such country named United State of Amerika.

• Proton SUCK our Money on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:54 pm

In the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM70,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM35,000). After discounts, the Toyota will be US$18k and the Almera about US$8k.

Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

We are fed up of Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
        • You should be proud of your country, u can produce cars and exempted from taxes. Im my country a Suprima S sells @ 135k. Preve 125k. You dont live in s country wealthy enough to provide you with duty free cars. Go to america, you will see how expensive it is to run a car. Their insurance cost is so high that instead of buying a car you will use public transport.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:00 am

Agree, somehow we and more Rakyat need to be educated about Bolehland and outside world.

BUT MAI keep fooling with Rakyat that OUR Malaysia car price is cheap !!!

MAI never listen and never take action. Purpose to benefit cronies? Wonder why?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
      • MAI - The Con Artist on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Can Madani explain why we are losing billions to Thailand every month whilst MAI is costing the Government millions to pay MAI staff?

Malaysia was on its way to becoming the Detroit of Asia in the 90s. But the AP system cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

We lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

A word of caution to Madani and the idiots in MITI, Malaysia might even lose existing companies who are already CKDing in Malaysia. BMW, Mercedes, Nissan, Honda and Toyota might even close up their plants in Malaysia to open up in Thailand.

This is so worrisome. Despite Thailand having an unstable economy with riots and bombing, no stable government, yet car companies still prefer Thailand to Malaysia. Makes us wonder…..what is wrong with Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Proton, just close shop. That’s best for the rakyat. What’s best for the rakyat is what’s best for business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:16 am

Once Proton cars are made in Bangladesh, AhBeng will proudly call it as fully imported CBU cars. Yes imported from Bangladesh. Malaysian design, made in Bangladesh. Globalisation in full glory!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Don’t you any chores to do instead of keep mentioning my name and bangladesh? Do you have problem with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:16 am

cant blame myvi 100%. it’s toyota. u blame myvi..dont forget vios been using the same engine n box since first gen. but still people buy the car? why? “batak brand” orang kata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • takNakP1 on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

it also shows more Malaysian will choose the difficult path for better quality that is to buy more expensive car & longer loan.

bankruptcy from car loan is increasing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:19 am

This shows its about to end for proton. Perodua still have a few more years to play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:19 am

Yes it’s Karma, 30 years of rakyat suffering now being repaid to Proton in loss of market share and multi billions of debts and huge losses year in year out.

The Karma only stops once Proton relocated to Bangladesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • asal comment dia asyik bangla je ni???

• chin peng on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:15 pm

because this apek love bangladesh amoi maybe..

• IrizX on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Bangla got amoi??? I thought all batang only. Always walk and hold hands together. Never see Bangla female before.

• Agreed, the figures do not lie. We as a society always think that the local car companies are so big and so powerful that we’ll never be able to change things. However, look at the tobacco industry, just like our local car industry it had huge control over public policy and that control has been broken. The battle with the tobacco industry is a perfect model of how an industry’s irresponsible behaviour can be changed. Look at the chart, we’ve been voting with our hard earned monies and buying non local cars for years, it seems the day has come when these local car manufacturers are going to pay for their irresponsible behaviour. Today is the day we show them that they can no longer influence public policy and that they can no longer hide behind duties and taxes. Once more into the breach my fellow petrol heads, WE WILL CRUSH THEM!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:03 pm

to be fair some of toyota sold vehicle is non passenger car..where all vehicle sold by p1/p2 are passenger car (PC). toyota is number 1 in commercial vehicle (CV).. those total figure above combine PC+CV.

• kzm fanboi on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:06 pm

yes. you’re right kzm.
        that’s why the roads are filled with prewe and sukimar and the just released irisz.

my god there’s so many of them. hardly see any new jazz or new city or almari on the road as there’s just too many protons back to back. hilux and vios and camry and altis confirm no can see. i think i’ve never seen the toyota cars on the road, just protons.
        lots of toyota van and lorries, but not toyota cars.

like you said, on the road only toyota commercial vehicle, not toyota passenger cars. anyone who drives know this for a fact. right kzm?

kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:47 pm

lol..of coz im rite it is so obvious..the article said clearly said bout total market share..as reference if u read total market share 2013..out of 91k (13.9%) toyota vehicle sold in 2013 29k is CV..im oni stated that is obvious..again if u dont like my point just thumb down.
          http://paultan.org/2014/01/22/maa-2013/maa-1/

• Your taxi used Toyota or proton? 1 year how many units must taxi company buy? u know?

• Atoy-ot on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Because of Malaysia got a lot idiot like you play around

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:19 am

What happen to Proton? Steadily decrease sale every year only 17% market share despite receiving protection and fund aid from gov. Just close shop lah. Maybe they should just decease the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 107
    • better sell it off than close shop..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:08 am

Maybe RM2 billion from MITI enough for Proton to open new factory in Bangladesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:25 am

I’m all for it if that can keep the Banglas from coming over en masse… How about Proton in Bangladesh, Perodua in Indonesia as well…?

• Super on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Perodua dun hv factory in Indonesia. They sold cars under Daihatsu badge over there.

• poorton on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:13 am

They need to change their design language.
      Their new iriz is “unique” to some but I think majority will think its ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:27 am

It is ugly, nuff said. Even the new yet ugly Jazz still looks way better and more functional than this piece of trash Iriz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Not to forget part of the 17% includes purchase by gov department. To name one preve tat is used by police n perdana by gov official

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:14 am

My comment had more significant number of likes than dislikes yesterday. Today got more dislikes. Weird. Maybe some macai or proton folks abused the dislike button there.

• joyah on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:25 am

in my dream people will not buy Perodua with only 2 airbag and not enough safety spec, but dream will not come true i guess.

Proton is better and improving, just need some kick .

in the end people will keep buying toyota, honda & nissan.. we have enough of this crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • In your dream people should not buy perodua and buy proton so that you can keep your job isn’t it?

Keep dreaming. Proton is declining steadily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:29 am

He needs to learn how to jump ship when the time comes. Until then, he only knows how to either jump into the sea, or go down with the sinking ship…

• Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:13 am

Toyota will kick Proton from 2nd spot this year. Only 10k units separate Toyota and Proton. How pathetic. That’s why better relocate factory to Bangladesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:18 am

just bcause of the brand. wnna talk abt crap? almera design..faulty rear bearing (2nd time warranty claim). in the end..it’s all about brand.

• the real answer on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:19 pm

well, i think Proton’s quality still lack behind, i have one Almera and one Saga… my Proton broke down on the road for 15 times at least and my Almera none… Driving experience, maintenance and fuel consumption also played a huge part…

• youarenotreal on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:39 pm

I have saga and almera too. Almera no power at all, FC soso saga drivebility is better, no break down summore, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:28 am

i think toyota will get 2nd place in 3 years from now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • kington on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:44 am

Yes, it would be good for UMW to feel the retaliation of Malaysians. Enough of ripping us of. The same goes for DRB HICOM Honda. Decent specs but i feel the new local Hondas are actually poorer these days in terms of build quality.

I think Perodua has already guaranteed some of theirs sales for a few years to come, due largely to the perceived quality generated by their earlier cars. My mom’s 2000 Kembara lasted us 6 years with absolutely NO problems at all as compared to my 1995 Wira manual. Those days i’d spent more time washing and doing DIY on the Wira while the Kembara was a joy to wash despite its high roof and i’d take it to go shopping during the weekends.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:32 am

7 years on a Kembara here… Unfortunately that has changed. Perodua has gone up their heads about the success of their MyVis that my Alza being the 5th car from Perodua suffered so much problems. Too bad since then I’ve misplaced my trust on Perodua quality…

• I never believe P2 quality since the 1st binatang born in Malaysia.

• stranger on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Agreed.

Honda may provide a lot of safety specs and accessories to its cars, but the quality seems poorer than previous years, especially since DRB HICOM bought over Honda Msia.

Those CKD models interiors are getting lousier.

• if you consider all the toyota grey imports in market like estima, vellfire, etc… i think toyota is already #2..??

• Looking at how P1 is doing.. Karma
    I don’t mind trying out P1 again, if only they rid of any GLC and management people. Time to run this company as a company. So P1 management, if you do love P1 so much, please tender your resignation and sell it to a capable company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Josh Ling on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:29 am

with the current proton offerings, and the facelifted myvi?? no, i don’t think so. unless they start to have some crazy promotion with their cars.

even though the non-national offerings are more expensive, they compensate them with better equipment level, more effort in providing good services and improving the cars etc. and you can literally see the improvement in many of the non-national new cars over the old ones, e.g. new honda city and jazz. heck, even the toyota vios has a much better look than previous one, and better equipped too. unlike certain recently-launched national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • prabowi on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:25 am

No other words to say this. Someone who make decisions at p1 n p2 is either lazy or dumb. P1, since gen2 cant even sort out their gearbox right until now. P2, still treating msian safety like no class cant even fit in a vsc eventhough their donor car is actually equipped with one and cost even cheaper. National cars is digging their own graves right now.

• Obviously (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:32 am

Non-nationals compensate with better equipment level? I disagree. Tell me in 15 words or less how the top-spec Toyota Vios (the best selling non-national car) and the Almera has equipment levels that are very different from the top-spec Perodua MyVi. Only recently they upped the ante by providing keyless entry and push-start across the range. Heck, the Vios even loses to the MyVi in that it has no anti-snatch hook and retractable cupholder! A pretty cabin may not be as practical a cabin, haha. Only the Honda City’s and Jazz’s equipment levels far outdo the Perodua MyVi yet it’s not that far off Proton’s Iriz and this is only if you buy the full-spec City and Jazz.

The non-national brands do not always provide better service as well. It varies a bit across different brands and also across different SC’s and showrooms. I’ve heard unsatisfactory retellings of experiences at my local Honda SC, for instance, and it is pretty much agreed that Ford and Peugeot have a long way to go to hone their customer service skills.

Only in the new Honda City and Honda Jazz do you see any marked improvements from the old cars. The “all-new” Toyota Vios, on the other hand, looks like it just received a super facelift and major interior refurbishment. Nothing much that is truly groundbreaking, except for the major step-up in interior perceived quality, ride comfort and exterior appearance.

Imported cars are really that much more accessible now and there’s still that persistent mentality of “foreign is better” amongst many of our nation. I won’t comment on whether that is good or bad, or whether that is a true saying or not. In some cases, it may be true but the difference may not be that much of an improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • I disagree too. Non-national compensate with generally better quality product and customer service.
        Screw your brother’s mother-in-law experience. You can come out with few bad experiences with non-national cars. We can give you tons of problem with national cars and they usual “biasalah, ini proton ma” reply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Josh Ling on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:13 pm

try to compare the complains people make for having a national car and those having a foreign car, and then tell me that it is always “foreign is better” mentality or it is undeniable fact that non-national cars are better.

ask yourself, if national cars are so good and have tonnes of improvements over the years, why many people are still willing to buy non-national ones, which are always more expensive and less value for money??

• IrizX on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:30 pm

The Vios is not the best selling non-national car anymore. It’s the Honda City. The figures above are total. Toyota has lots of sales from their hailat and other models.

• Statistics wont lie. Proton drop is a free fall. Perodua stats is about the same. Meaning the market share have switch from proton to non national, not perodua. Proton would probably be a dead man walking by 2020. How ironic is that? Unless some kind of renaissance is happening at proton. DRB Hicom takeover so far is a false dawn. Yet to announce their new master plan. Are u still in coma proton? After years of bullshiting malaysians, u should repair ur image first, gain back their trust. Probably then only people will start buying ur cars back which is actually not that bad anymore. Would love to see proton succeed again if u no longer bite our arse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Why would you want to see proton succeed again? They have been screwing the people without mercy for 20 years. Let’s screw them without mercy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • prabowi on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:39 am

That is what u call patriotism, a quality that most people now days dont have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
        • Patriotism is to kill this parasite so that it won’t continue to burden the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • Pretended patriotism today is too often the last refuge of scoundrels which so many in all ages and countries use to cloak their own self interest.
          Your views are misconstrued, rather than true patriotism today being a quality that is in short supply, it is however more correct to say that most people use pretensions to cloak their self interest.

• prabowi on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:53 pm

I take pride in what this country have achieved. Even it is as shitty as p1, it is still an achievement. There is absolutely no harm to anyone if p1 succeed, unless u r some how depending on the non national business which now expose ur cloak of self interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Abu Sayur on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:55 pm

LOL proton a achievement and yet u call it shitty? More like AN EMBARRASSMENT.

• Take pride even p1 is shitty?
            Dude, take more enfagrow. Your brain cells are not connected.

• Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:11 am

DRB now using profit margins from Honda and Deftech to support dying Proton and Lotus. Hidup segan, mati tak mau.

Now AhBeng must accept new gaji minimum RM850 in Bangladesh Proton new factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • prabowi on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:32 am

Its DRB who bought proton from the g. so they have to bear the burden. Unless they want to be bailed out by the g again n get instant profit

• Abu Sayur on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:56 pm

More like the Macai fools must accept low pay

• Low Budget on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:37 am

If Perodua can achieve 208K units this year, it will be at the expense of Proton that is for sure.
    On the other hand, Toyota shares are creeping upwards, this will have an effect of lots of Toyotas appear in the 2nd hand market, RV of 2nd hand Toyotas will be dropping..

• No…
    Foreign cars will lead the way, wait till Mazda introduce their new 2, CX3, Honda HRV, etc

The reason is P1 and P2 dont offer SUV, crossover, premium MPV, 4×4 and luxury segment. D-segment only for official use and not for sale..

There are more demand for D-segment, SUV, and entry premium segment but P1 and P2 dont offer them.

Price of foreign cars has not doubled for the last 10 years unlike food and houses which already doubled or tripled. More and more ppl can afford them these days.

• i personally seeing almost everyone that i know, after buying P1/P2 as their 1st car, will change to non-national car when they hv more money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • logika on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:53 am

simple logic la, p1 & p2 prices increasing over the years

soon prices reaching near rm70k price range of some other foreign brand car…so ppl rather buy other brand

• proton can continue syok sendiri with its ride and handling like the best thing to woo people to buy their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Steve Jobs on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

if excise duty exempted.Plotong Pelodua close shops already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Regina on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Yup, and the thousands of people working at Proton plants and at all the local companies supplying Proton will also lose their jobs.

Good idea huh? Very clever la you :)

• Steve Jobs on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:58 am

First and foremost,like it or not.safety features should not be compromise across all variants.

• More than anything, I think the decline in Proton and Perodua’s sales is the perception that the public has on the national car makers.

Executives that just entered the workforce would surely want to impress both their girlfrens and prospective mother-in law by driving a Japanese make (shows they have good career trajectory).

Given that they are priced within the rm65k range, with a diff of 10-15k from national cars, I’d think it’s reasonable to assume that those young execs would tighten their belt a bit and spread the loan to 7/9 years.

These young execs once formed the bulk of purchasers, but with more and more Jap makes offering 60-65k range, I’d bet that Proton and Perodua’s market share will see a continuous decline over the next few years.

The only sales that can sustain both companies would probably be the BLM/Iriz/Myvi/Axia range at 35-40k.

• I bought foreign cars after I grad 10 years. I got no one to impress but wanting to ensure the comfort and safety of my parents and siblings when I ship them around..

I have never bought any P1 nor P2

• Regina on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Kinda agree with this. I work at an MNC where the population is almost all in the “young exec” category. Looking at the parking lot, I see that the foreign:local ratio is like 75:25.

Lots of Hondas, Toyotas and KIAs with a fair bit of representation from Hyundais, Mazdas, Volkswagens and even one or two BMWs and Mercedes.

Then I drive on, park and walk away. While I walk I turn around, look at my Proton, smile and walk through the doors to get to work.

• symusty on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:28 pm

True. Proton’s latest offerings are actually a massive improvement to their previous offerings. Compare Proton today and 5 years ago, it is very different for sure. They kinda just need to prove that they are worth it over the Japanese rivals.

Perodua, on the other hand…..all they have is affordability, really. I personally don’t like them for no progress in the local car industry.

• rickyll (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:14 am

MAI’s forecast should never be taken seriously. They just tender a set of figures to show that they are doing some works instead of wasting our public funds. They never take into considerations things such as economical environment of the country, competitions from inside out etc., when they said national cars are going to get 52% of the market share this year. 700k may not be difficult to achieve but for Proton to sell 150K is simply over confident. (Perodua has forecated to sell 208K which is achievable) At the end of the day, one wonders why there is a need to set up such an institution in the first place.

• Goldbull on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:17 am

Wonder when and what will happen when ASEAN trade frees up… Agreed that in the first place there shouldn’t be anymore cronyism, etc. if we really want to succeed.

• dewaSemut on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:18 am

Can these figure means in general Malaysians enjoy higher income, thus afford to own more expensive non-national cars? These trend will continue and will not stop.

P1 & P2 need to spread their wings to find new markets as their future in local scene is bleak.

• ThePolygonal on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:20 am

Well if only Iriz is sold around RM 30k, it might just work, Proton might get the market share back.
    It’s all pricing. Earn more per car or sell more cars?

• Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Iriz can be sold for RM30k price, with condition must assemble it at Bangladesh factory. Cheap cost, gaji minimum RM850 for AhBeng take it or leave it.

• saya kawan najib razak on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:39 pm

iriz kereta kualiti global.. mana boleh jual murah… tak boleh …kena jual mahal baru org beli kata Tun Mamak.

• Simon Ng on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:35 am

I will not be surprised the government will find some ways or policies to pull back foreign car sales in the name of protecting the local car industry.

• Adik manis on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:33 pm

That’s why the Car Scrap Policy mooted again. Must help Proton from bankruptcy. If not, no choice but relocate to Bangladesh new factory. AhBeng crying now new gaji minimum RM850 there.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 11:39 am

In order to Stem the drop of P1/P2 sales, Government should increase incise and excise tax duty to ridiculous level in order to give P1/P2 a fair playing field.
    Like in golf , also got handicap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:24 pm

in proton’s case , i think they should not get obssessed with local market only as theres only so much u can sell , msia istelf is a small country with so many cars sold here , its only natural u get smaller piece of the pie…
    they should be serious about exports n diversify their profit source rather than just from locally , maybe one way to change publics perception is for those export markets give good feedback about protons and that surely will filter down here in our land n perception can only improve from there…
    exporting to third world countries rather than tough markets like Australia and UK….
    in p2’s case , they are on high now , but like in every market , its not gonna last long , someone else will take over ,i hope , unlike proton , they do have a plan when things go downhill later….

• Regina on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Agree with this. I don’t understand why Proton is not flooding 3rd world countries with cheap cars. It’s quite hard to sell Protons in developed Europe or Australian markets owing to the technological disadvantage.

But I think Proton should look into places like South Africa, Egypt, South America and Eastern Europe.

• Jokovi on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:26 pm

The doings of Perodua is exactly the undoings of Proton. Perodua focus on their best selling small cars like Myvi and Viva or now Axia. They improve on them to meet their customers to retain their customers liking. Proton, on the other hand, has been fighting a losing battle against the bigger cars like the Civic, Altis, Accord and Camry. In doing so, Proton has neglected their best selling Saga and Persona. Proton should concentrate on upgrading the Saga and Persona so that the loyal owners can always look forward to their new all new models of the same names. In this way, they can at least retain their existing customers while attracting the new ones..

• Bristol on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:26 pm

I proof already Malaysian not capable build a quality car. Even the simple technique copy and paste also dunno

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Proton case is not the brand, it is the way company has been managed. their top bosses are losers, arrogant and people who were in banks, pos malaysia or alam flora. they were asked to move there and run a car company!!! kia was a dead brand., we saw what happened when they got a new designer and new style and also management. this is what proton needs to do, instead of blocking talents and giving millions to useless companies to do simple work that can be done in a mechanic shop at a lot cheaper and focus on hunting new technology and rewarding people who achieved a good result, they should start cancelling all the crony agreement specially the work with very much over priced work given to few companies for their Honda Perdana cars and also Hybrid cars they did. then we will see a rise in car name and sales. politics is killing p1 and I bet tun M does not know the true story in his company either. people just want to make him believe all is OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Increase in TIV? doubtful – seeing this economic trend
    Increase in local national brand volume – possible with the introduction of Iriz.

• Faridz on Jan 16, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Expected. But this doesnt mean Malaysian are rich and G can have the right not to reduce car price. Excise duty to be precised. Let the car be expensive at its own market rate and let the buying power decide which brand survive and top the chart. Not by implementing artificial formulation (Excise duty and tax) to survive.

Its like a girl with botox and another with natural beauty. Everything in Malaysian market is fake and being manipulated to the result wanted by someone and not letting it compete by its own. Which in return produced lots of incompetent ppl in the field. Those only know connections and also sit back and relax.

• jimmy on Jan 16, 2015 at 3:39 pm

number look familiar ….. 47 vs 53…..

• Purotong on Jan 16, 2015 at 5:09 pm

I feel good to see proton suffer. Proton should have closed shop long ago.
    However, we will still suffer because the LOW IQ cacat rubbish will find way to pump money into proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Regina on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Yeah, because all those Malaysian workers working throughout Proton’s supply chain should lose their jobs right?

It’s good news to see your fellow Malaysians be unemployed and experience hardships right?

• saya kawan najib razak on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:35 pm

ini semua berkat kepintaran tun mamak… tun mamak memang bijak…

• Boo Hoo on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Not only Perodua, Toyota is also selling crap to our people. 10 years from now we will have similar conversation to Proton/Perodua bashing about Toyota. Well, a lot of people still the crap they are selling, and loudly being proud of driving crap cars.

• cemuih... on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Am I the only one around here who buy cars that hardly seen on the road? Myvi, vios nak muntah dah tengok kat jalan. Orang utara kata cemuih…

• Regina on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:39 pm

19.3% = Kimchi?

• Super on Jan 17, 2015 at 2:18 am

At least P2 dare to the market analysis between national n non-national car. I dun think P1 aware about their declining graph since they still feel complacent.

• Protiga on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:07 am

Surely there are as many people who prefer to buy affordable cars with boots as there are many who prefer cars without boots. Rather than compete head-on with Myvi and Axia, Proton should continue to improve and upgrade their small cars with boot to cater to their niche market. Also not to waste time and money developing building cars to compete with the renowned brands.

• xe145 on Jan 17, 2015 at 7:02 pm

That’s why our national car can’t enter international market share. They keep focusing on malaysia market share. ‘JAGUH KAMPUNG’ sungguh.try go global.i don’t think they can survive.

• tiger on Jan 18, 2015 at 10:49 am

me cant understand why P1 wasted tons of money to develop a bootless Preve (than trying to convince the rakyat its not) and now trying to take on P2 head on with the ugly Iriz…the Art of War sez u DEFEND yur STRONGEST POSITION (Saga AND PERSONA) and send all yur troops to attack the enemy’s strongest base!!! if me the new CEO surely will sack the whole marketing tim involved

• tiger on Jan 18, 2015 at 10:51 am

umm i mean u dont spend all yur time and resources to attack the enemy’s strongest base, instead defend from position of strength..the Saga’s strength is people who dont like bootless cars like the MIVI no choice to get the SAGA or PERSONA

• Boo Hoo on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:07 pm

No need to kecoh2 la you all, Japs sell cars at higher price but lousy specs over the Korean cars you guys will still buy the Japs just because of the brand name and “resale value”. Haha. Talking like all are car-guys only, for all you know all are driving Toyotas, paling kuat pun Toyota Camry. What a joke!

• chin peng on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:19 pm

we still talk bout local sales while tokey balak at kelantan have their own private jet…meh

• I have pitied how Proton has lost it shares in the Msian market despite all the effort to make good and safer car. This what happens in business when you loose the confident from ppl. What Proton needs right now to gain rakyat’s confidence and to do it alone, I don’t think its gona work anymore. Partnership or even alliance with another Carmaker is the key as this is not something new in car Industry (Renault-Nissan Alliance, Ford & Mazda Aliiance, Volkwagen & Audi). If Proton can get those kind of alliances and build more quality cars, then Proton will survive. If not then it will be great challenge both for Proton and Malaysia.

• malaysians are now richer than bf to afford foreign cars.

• anak malaysia on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:19 am

Padan muka proton… sapa suruh jual mahal-mahal?? Into your face, proton!! And learn!!

• bughead spitvenom on Dec 27, 2019 at 11:49 pm

If proton wants to do well, they must accept to tap in foreigners workers and researchers. The world is too competitive for anything national, not just proton. Wallahi don’t give a f$ck if it’s entirely engineered by Malaysians, the whole idea is to be able to sell more cars. Just stop rebadging foreign cars that’s all.