Volkswagen offering 15% off flood-damaged parts

Volkswagen Expert Programme 11

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has announced a service campaign intended to assist VW owners whose cars have been damaged by the massive East Coast floods.

VGM is offering affected customers a 15% discount on vehicle parts that have received flood damage. The campaign runs from now until March 2015.

Affected Volkswagen owners can contact Volkswagen dealerships along the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia and speak to their after-sales team.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wow thats a lot ! on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Wow! thank you VWM for the massive 15% discount on your expensive yet delicate and sensitive car parts! this 15% will definitely help a lot! Don’t worry about labour charges. Us VW owners are wealthy enough to pay for that!

• DSG is STILL a Problem on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Can see this is not sincere. Now flood problem nealry a month. All other car companies within a week made their sincere offers.

Can see VW was pressured by the other car companies otherwise they lose face.

But why give only 15% when you just raised prices up so much? Average RM5000 increase. And that also, DSG still not sorted out.

Even in 2015, VGM has already got complaints from year end 2014 models sold in Malaysia. The DSG is still not sorted out and yet, VGM dare to increase the prices.

In actual fact, DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia. VW AG Group in Germany already, in black and white, confessed regrettably that their DSG boxes cannot handle Asian hot weather climate and also Asian traffic jams.

That means, in Europe, where the weather is cooling and less jams, the DSG box won’t have issues. But in hot countries like Malaysia, the DSG will be prone to CONTINUOUS breakdowns, juddering, halting and complete stall.

So, every VW with DSG boxes sold in Malaysia is illegal and a lemon. VGM will come out with statements that the DSG is sorted out every other month, but Facebook comments don’t lie. Non stop, even until today, people are going into service centres complaining about their DSG. In most cases, it is the tow truck that brings the car in because complete breakdown.

Most customers have to wait a good 6 weeks in the workshop or SC because it takes that long to replace the whole DSG box. But even when you replace it, the new box will also breakdown, as seen in all the Facebook complaints in VGM Facebook page.

Many VW fans will say all these Facebook comments are false, but check deeper and you will see, each and every facebook comment is by individuals with about 200 friends and have opened their facebook account no less than 5 years now. So, unlikely they are fake comments.

I hope VGM can be honest and just sell non DSG cars in Malaysia and compensate all those you sold a lemon too. After all, VGM knew about the inherent faults of their DSG way back in 2010,

VGM is a shameless company trying to cheat Malaysians of their hard earned money. This is not some RM50k Myvi. Most VW owners fork our RM200k to buy a lemon that gives them problem after problem.

VGM had 3 Managing Directors in less than 2 years. Why did they leave? Very simple. Each of those managing directors were told by VW AG that DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia because DSG cannot handle hot countries.

So, those MD told the VGM management that. VGM management being unethical and no morals say, no such thing. We sell in Malaysia whatever we want. We don’t care about quality and we just want volume.

So, they made sure all the MD kena sack if they did not change their view. If they promoted the faulty DSG in Malaysia, the MD could stay on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • NightOwl89 on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Perhaps,you didn’t know that the DSG issue has been resolved since the last recall. Well..I owned a Polo 1.2 TSI since 2013. In middle of 2013,I noticed that my car had juddering and jerking issue while switching to 2nd gear and my car has been broke down for 1 time due to the gearbox issue which caused me to stood at the roadside and wait for the tow truck to come over. My car was fixed on last year while VW was recalling all those affected vehicles. Since then, all the juddering and jerking issues have gone. So far, my car does’t give me any trouble.
        This is my personal experience with VW. I’m quite satisfied with my car but not the service center as they still didn’t meet my demand and there is one thing I don’t understand is why i have to book appointment in advance just for a normal service(change engine oil,etc). Hopefully they will take initiative on this issue.

• TheAnonymous on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Hm.. Not only VW requires earlier booking for normal service, Honda service center also need you to make earlier appointment as they are not only serve one people.. You can’t blame on them with this issue.

• Stanley Free Makan on Jan 16, 2015 at 6:32 pm

15% discount still costs money. I am looking for free parts.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Our Government so scared of VW cause they are DRB Hicom and Syed Mokhtar is the PM in Malaysia

China government got so fed up with VW and their lies in China, they told VW China to give all existing customers who own VW cars 10 years warranty.

If don’t give, VW China kena firing squad.

• Ah Beng Kia on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Whose sales is dropping faster? Proton or VW?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Proton dropping sales in Malaysia is like VW dropping sales in Germany… it may not drop as much as VW in Malaysia but it is still a SERIOUS case!!!

Imagine Toyota dropping sales in Japan? Hyundai dropping sales in Korea? Ford dropping sales in US?

But Proton dropping sales… everyone expected that. What do you expect from a Proton???

Personally I do hope Proton could sell more, so it suck our tax payers’ money less.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:33 pm

VW sales so bad last year. People cannot bear the fact DSG is still faulty and the SC takes 5 weeks to make appointment to repair my car.

So, 5 weeks I got to take teksi if my car cannot move?

• Matthew on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:15 pm

You can always ask for courtesy car.. VW had launched the mobility guarantee programme which will provide courtesy to their customers if their cars have to stay at service center for more than 24 hours..

• Matthew on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:46 pm

As Matthew said, VW will provide courtesy car if your car break down and have to repair more than 1 day in the service center.

• shawal on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

oooo

i tot veedub is giving 15 discount to damaged parts in their stock due to floods…

hahahaha

• nabill (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Pathetic attempt this… When othrs offer 50% n delay in installment, all u can do is 15%???

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:34 pm

VGM should offer 10 year free warranty. China Government could not tolerate VW nonsense, told them to shut up and give compulsory 10 year warranty to ALL customers.

• holofanboi on Jan 16, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Oooh!

Those with dsg problems should now intentionally pour muddy water into the engine compartment to get the miserable 15% discount on a brand new dsg gearbox.

Note: Brand new DSG gearbox costs a whopping 22k. Twice the price of standard auto of other makes.

• na bei on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:24 pm

vw should offer 100% refund to all vw owner for their lousy car without any condition

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:01 pm

pandainya….should be free cos the parts already damaged before flood

• kardashian on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:02 pm

only 15%???? soo stingy wor! look at Honda.. they’re giving out 50% discount.. typical VW.. not only its a pain to maintain but its a misery to own!

• maXref (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 5:04 am

100% discount sounds good? Then, you’ll complain why they’re not giving pocket money on top of it

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Those poor souls that are left with the dreaded DSG failures have given up protesting in from of VW HQ Bangsar

• vw ex-fan on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Those who boycott at vw now drive toyota hilux. They realised SamLoo is right. After so many incidents and sam tow truck comes to the rescue with toyota hilux, they finally see Jap rocks.

• You was just simply bashing on VW.. why suddenly bring in the protest event topic?
      It has been past long time ago and currently, there is no more dsg issue already, issue has been resolved by changing gearbox oil. Did you see any VW break down since the last recall?

• VW Passat Owner (2014 model) on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:45 pm

My 2014 Passat broke down 4 times last year. All DSG related. So how?

• Vw can eat? on Jan 17, 2015 at 12:44 am

VW markup +50% from market price and now they give -15% claim helping flooded cars

= profit

• maXref (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 5:02 am

VW basher in 3,2,1… Typical malaysian mentality, do anything also must comment negatively as if they’re expert at it.

Stereotypical paultan readers:
    1. bash proton
    2. bash VW
    3. bash every cars that beyond their budget n blame the gov for it (tax la n this n that)
    4. deluded retards who always think their cheap car is better than a premium car that costs 10 times more
    5. RV n hence bash korean cars

Only in malaysia la ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • wayangkulit on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:28 am

even if give free also complain

• paulnut on Jan 18, 2015 at 6:19 pm

F..thats true ,the sam and maserati scored 1-5 as above. By the way, they are junior toyota sales men where showroom is empty,so, nothing to do, write childish comment

• Loinki on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:26 am

True bro. I dont think that its needed to bash any car manufacturer just for the sake of hatred. Sometimes some of us here, just pretend to own a car like VW or Proton and said this car is shit lah, no use, better throw in the perak river lah blah blah, but the reality is, they just wanna to add up some fire without any good reason.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:07 pm

VW salesman trying to do a cover up. Trying to show that everybody bash aimlessly.

Well, no other car company has had people protesting with banners and in anger. The whole Malaysia is talking about VW protest in Bangsar.

• PowerToThePeople on Jan 17, 2015 at 6:30 am

First, increase price of entire range of cars, for the howmanieth time in a relatively short period of time.

Second, start failing to fulfill promises made regarding courtesy cars and warranty periods.

Third, offer the lowest amount of assistance to the already hard-pressed victims of the flood.

Result, status crazy Malaysians are still willing to bend over and take it up the arse from VWGM.

What in all holy hell is wrong with our society? Does a badge really warrant the headache which comes with the purchase? Your neighbour will be jealous for maximum one week, and your friends and family’s excitement/curiousity dies after they’ve sat in the car. Your troubles are however not leaving you as easily as that.

Wake up Malaysians.

• wayangkulit on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:40 am

First, nobody forces them to buy a VW or any car for that matter. Its their own choice, people get sucked in is because VW offers them cheaper German made cars

Secondly, if you want better after sales service, you can try Merc or Bmw however their models are more expensive than VW.

Personally Ive never had problems with the three pointed star models

What is wrong with society nowadays ?
      Buy a cheaper than competitor model but expect it to performs on par or exceed its more expensive competitor?

• Ring Your Morality on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:34 am

Well said bro. Its hard to see this kind of comment nowadays. All ppl know is bash bash bash. No one forcing anyone to buy any car, its their own choices. My personal point of view, i think its better to put things back to their places. Do the right thing for once like supporting by saying good things instead of stating hating comments.

• Acrix on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:50 am

Totally agree with you!
      Some will have the balls to tell you to don’t be so pessimistic, DSG issues have been resolved, VW improving their services already and other nonsense.

I doubt they will say that if they are genuine VW owners and have faced all the issues that come with a VW car.

• Change, People! on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:45 am

Malaysian bro, Malaysia is already on track to the first class world countries, but its ppl minded is still on third class. Too many typical minded. Lets just relate the VW cases with this problem, starting from 1 person who owned a VW then got problem, the
        news spread unpredictably fast, and the others, just nodded “Yeah, its true VW sucks hard.” But when the problem already resolved, the rumors about it still wont stop, its spreading fast like a virus, man!

• VW Passat Owner (2014 model) on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Hello bang, I own a 2014 Passat. My car has broken down 4 times last year. The last time was in december 2014. All DSG related.

But big boss in VW Malaysia said all DSG resolved in July itself.

Macam mana?

• No more Value on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:17 am

15%?? Raise your price and only give 15% discount for changing damaged part?? I really can imagine how many red word in your financial statement.

• Anakjambi on Jan 18, 2015 at 11:40 am

15 % je…hmmmm…mcm tak ikhlas je…

• Euro X on Jan 18, 2015 at 9:23 pm

VW “German Engineering” … cant stop laughing…

• toolate@example on Jan 18, 2015 at 11:32 pm

too little too late for VW to make this gesture. 15%, gotta be the lowest discount offered by any car marquee in Malaysia.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Flood lama sudah habis la VW. Baru sekarang nak tolong?

• You feel that its too late for Volkswagen to take out their helping hands right? Look at Kelantan now, my friends that live there told me the flood is back. So tell me it’s too late for Volkswagen to lend their helping hands now?

• Ted9622 on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Not only VW.. I think every SC also need their customer to make appointment in advance.. If not it is not fair for those who made appointment in advance where everyone can just simply walk-in…

• KeyboardWarriorsEverywhere on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:37 pm

That is why people keep complaining about their after sales service. In fact even my aunt wants to service her myvi she had to book a week in advance. Maybe VW is longer because of the amount of VW cars is too many compare to the ratio of workshops around. Instead of condemning the after sales how about all these people who complain about VW after sales write to VGM to open more authorised workshops.
      I drive polo cheapest spec also have to wait la think those drive higher spec VWs no need to wait meh. Patience is virtue.

• Ted9622 on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:13 pm

People does not satisfy easily, when there are discount, everyone wished it could be more than what is offered….