BMW 2 Series, 3 Series, 4 Series get new engines – 5 Series, M3/M4 and i8 to receive additional equipment

2015-bmw-4-series-coupe

BMW is set to roll out a slew of updates across its range for the year 2015. Among the changes include engine upgrades being introduced on the 2 Series, 3 Series and 4 Series range as well as additional equipment options and new trim lines being added to the 5 Series as well as the M3, M4 and i8 range.

Beginning with the 2 Series range, all models will receive the latest in BMW’s TwinPower Turbo technology. The 218i Coupe and 218i Convertible will receive a 1.5 litre, three-cylinder petrol mill pumping out 136 hp and 220 Nm of torque – paired to either a six-speed manual as standard or an eight-speed Steptronic automatic.

Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.8 seconds (8.9 with the auto) for the 218i Coupe and 9.4 seconds (9.6 with the auto) for the 218i Convertible. Fuel consumption is rated at 17.8-19 km/l for the coupe while the convertible chalks up 16.7-18.2 km/l – equipped with the manual gearbox. The Steptronic provides a (slightly) better rating of 18.1-19.6 km/l on the coupe and 17.2-18.9 km/l on the convertible.

2015-bmw-2-series-m-sport

From March 2015 onwards, the BMW 220d Coupe can be ordered with BMW’s xDrive four-wheel drive system. Equipped with a 190 hp four-cylinder diesel mill and an eight-speed auto as standard, the 220d Coupe will go from rest to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds while recording a fuel consumption figure of 21-23 km/l.

Another addition to the range comes in the form of the BMW 214d Active Tourer, sporting a three-cylinder diesel engine with 70 hp/220 Nm and a century sprint time of 12.9 seconds. Fuel consumption is typical of a modern diesel, with a figure of 26.3 km/l and a CO2 rating of 104-99 g/km quoted.

A supplementary ‘Travel Package’ for the 2 Series Active Tourer comprises of longitudinal rear seat adjustment, roof rails, tables that fold down from the back of the front seats and a luggage compartment net. The updated trim lines available across the entire 2 Series range now include the Advantage, Luxury Line, Sport Line and M Sport selections.

2015-bmw-2-series-active-tourer

An updated Business and Professional navigation system on the 2 Series Coupe – with an 8.8- and 6.5-inch display, respectively – offers new graphics as well as the ability to revise its maps via a mobile phone connection. New, light alloy wheel designs will also be available on both the coupe and convertible models.

As for the 2015 BMW 316d Sedan and 316d Touring, a new 2.0 litre, four-cylinder diesel unit with 116 hp and 270 Nm of torque will feature under the bonnet. Equipped with the optional eight-speed Steptronic automatic gearbox, the car will accelerate from rest to 100 km/h in 10.6 for the sedan, the touring adds another half a second.

On the 4 Series range, BMW will debut a new entry-level variant, called the 418d Coupe, in March 2015. With a 2.0 litre, four-cylinder mill pumping out 150 hp and 320 Nm of torque, the 418d Coupe gets from 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds irregardless of transmission options. A more potent 2.0 litre, four-cylinder diesel engine will power the updated 420d Coupe, 420d xDrive Coupe, 420d Gran Coupe and 420d xDrive Gran Coupe.

bmw-twinpower-turbo-four-cylinder-diesel-engine

With 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque on tap, the 420d Coupe goes from 0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds (7.1 with the auto) while the addition of the xDrive system to said model hampers the century sprint time by one tenth of a second. The xDrive also impedes fuel consumption as the 420d Coupe’s figure of 23.3 km/l gets increased to 21.3 km/l, equipped with the Steptronic automatic.

The 420d Gran Coupe, on the other hand, charts a 0-100 km/h time of 7.3 seconds with the automatic, with xDrive slowing it down a tad to 7.4 seconds. It sips fuel with a rating of 23.2 km/l with the automatic transmission, while the xDrive model with the same gearbox records a figure of 20.8 km/l.

Things are a lot less technical on the 2015 5 Series range as a new Edition Sport trim is featured on both the sedan and touring model, excluding the BMW M Performance variants. Opting for the Edition Sport trim brings along new 18-inch, double-spoke alloy wheels, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, LED fog lamps and BMW High Gloss Shadow Line accents inside and out.

2015-bmw-m3-frozen-black-metallic

On the BMW M3 and M4 (both coupe and convertible), the introduction of new BMW Individual colours including Frozen Black, Frozen Silver, Frozen Red and Frozen Brilliant White sum up the changes. On the BMW M4 Coupe, additional BMW Individual leather upholstery in Opal White, Amaro Brown, Golden Brown, Cohiba Brown and Nutmeg are available.

As for the BMW i8, additional standard equipment and an updated interior options are featured for 2015. A ‘Pure Impulse Experience’ programme, which comprises of lifestyle products in several areas, is included in the range of features. A new Carpo Carum Grey interior scheme with an optional leather engine cover and black-painted brake calipers round off the updates.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• BMW 2 year Warranty on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:39 pm

BMW is doing very well globally and with these new engines, really WOW!.

But in Malaysia, it is dwindling market share. All because of the 2 year warranty BMW Malaysia is giving.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in the world, not just Malaysia alone, giving a mere 2 year warranty on their cars. Nearly all cars in Malaysia have upped to 5 years warranty. Proton and Perodua also giving 5 yrs warranty Mercedes also giving 4 years warranty.

Yes, we all know what happens to BMWs right after the 2 years warranty is over…..problem after problem. Each time, no less than few thousand ringgit or even tens of thousand ringgit to repair!

Many owners cry after 2 years when their ever problematic gearbox needs to be replaced. That will be RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:16 pm

dwindling market share???
      u do know that last year they had a double digit growth….
      yes i agree on the pathetic warrenty they provide …. that ZF auto they use is very robust n reliable ,maybe u heard of one or two cases n u assume its the majority… most complains from owners is not much mechanicals bt jus the low rent interiors n plastics they use….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:30 pm

I can confirm, after 2 years, car got lots of problems. Why do you think there are so many 2013 and 2014 BMWs for sale?

And the owners, even after use 1 year also, sanggup lose RM100k on their car just to sell it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • E90 2011 here. No issues except aircond and wiper rain sensors. Just service it well and it’ll drive well.

• Your key point is warranty . noted . you cannot afford la !

• Sammy on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:12 pm

They just had a road show between 16-18JAN that comes with 5 year warranty. Did you manage to get one? No? I thought so….

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Sad but true.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:54 pm

i think u meant vw or audi. those piece of junks are unreliable.

• alan davidson on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:18 pm

brother, what u mean piece of junks are unreliable? are u one of vw user? what’s ur ride? what’s problem u got? let’s share mayb we can get some new info for us

• morecylinder on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:32 pm

3 cylinder era is coming! I wonder if future 1 or 2 cylinder motorcycle engine + turboboost will be fit into a BMW vehicle?

• diesellover on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Why the flurry of underpowered diesels? When are they ever gonna be bring their 3.0 liter turbo diesels here??

• bmw2years on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:45 pm

I like bmw very much since i was a boy and it was my dream to own one. Unfortunately last week i placed a booking on w205 due to f30 2 years warranty. I hope bmw malaysia will give longer warranty to give us d confident. Hoepfully 5 years later i will switch to.bmw if d warranty is longer.

Anyway…the article is so similar to another blog… co sharing?

Also,.no.mention of 1.5 petrol engine for f30?

Ps: hope i will not regret on w205.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:00 pm

CKD model coming @ a lower price (and also a damn long waiting list) and possible extra spec list but hey CBU isn’t bad either =]

Anyhow is BMW Malaysia still doing market research on whether to bring in the 2 Series Active Tourer? They have been launching all their other models rather quickly but not this tourer.

• Habib on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:53 pm

VW more negative feedback. ZF gearbox is consider very reliable gearbox. But it is driving habit that kill the gearbox. Get real, and get a BMW or Audi. Don’t go recon, you may save up some day relaxing more instead of getting problem fix, my experience.

• dino bambino on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:47 pm

not only vw got more negative feedback i think.. such as honda and toyota, they also got negative feeback.. it’s normal.. depend for what we like.. its not fair to conclude like that.. cause vw had been named as car of the year for golf n polo past years ago..

• ABTguy (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Since young I don’t really like BMW, either its styling or its performance engine that does not last.

But wow, I like the 3 cylinder engine as it’s so frugal. I hope in future they will even launch 2 cylinder motorcycle engine and put it into their cars :D

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:22 pm

^ This guy never played Need For Speed Most Wanted which features BMW M3 GTR and never watch old motorsports.BMW wins by motorsports.

• jtiongwl (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:54 am

I am doubtful that can the diesel BMW coupe with the Euro 2 quality diesel fuel in Malaysia? Anyone has experience please share with me. I do appreciate much on this.

Thank you very much.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:42 am

Why everyone complain bmw for 2 yr warranty? They are offering 5yr BSRI which cover all service and repair charges for 5 yrs. Yes, they might not highlight the word WARRANTY.

• Yeah.. you can also add from the additional 2 years + 3 years for 7-8k. Which might not be worth it. Try being friendly with your salesguy and they might give you 5 years.

• blaster88 on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:50 am

The diesel options are interesting indeed. The advancement in force induction technology has benefited the diesel engine the most….The power, economy and torque there generate vs similar engines 10 years ago is mind boggling. If Euro 5 comes to KL and else where, I would seriously consider a diesel car.

• Josh Ling on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:06 am

i wish i could buy a BMW with a manual gearbox and small cc engine (preferably diesel) in malaysia soon. it must be a blast to drive!