GALLERY: 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift vs Proton Iriz

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 001

Here we go again – Electric Blue meets Atlantic Blue as the stalwart Perodua Myvi comes back from the facelift works to continue keeping Proton’s baby challenger, the Iriz, at bay.

We’ve of course extensively covered the differences between them before, and many aspects of the Myvi – including dimensions and mechanicals – maintain status quo, so we’ll concentrate on what’s changed and see if the tables have turned.

Inclusive of engine and gearbox options, the 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift offers six variants, priced between RM41,500 and RM58,500, OTR with insurance, while metallic paint is an extra RM400.

That’s between one and four percent cheaper than before, comfortably undercutting the eight Proton Iriz variants that cost between RM42,438 and RM62,438, with metallic paint a RM450 extra.

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 003

Both give you a five-year/150,000 km warranty – Perodua discontinued its free service programme upon upping its warranty period from three to five years, for all of its products.

Subtract gearbox options from the picture and you’ll find a Myvi variant for every Iriz variant – two 1.3 versions and two bigger-engined versions (Myvi 1.5 versus Iriz 1.6). That’s because every Iriz variant can be had with either a manual or CVT, whereas the Myvi 1.3 Premium X and 1.5 Advance are auto-only variants.

You can be the judge in terms of looks, but few can deny the Myvi’s increased presence brought about by the massive grille that comes as standard on the SE and Advance.

Of course, the Perodua’s new LED light guides (SE and Advance only) pale in comparison to the Proton’s LED DRLs, and lest we forget, projector headlamps are no longer standard across the Myvi range; on the Iriz, they are, along with aeroblade wipers and auto headlamps, which the Myvi doesn’t have and never had.

However, all Myvi variants except for the base Standard G now get front corner parking sensors (which no Iriz variant offers), and the Myvi Advance gets a reverse camera to match the Iriz Executive and Premium.

Improving the Myvi’s already excellent practicality is a tissue holder behind the front passenger seat, an anti-snatch hook, a retractable cupholder and a flip-down storage compartment on the driver’s side panel. The Iriz claws back convenience points – all variants except the base 1.3 Standard have three USB ports (two for charging), and the top 1.6 Premium boasts keyless entry and start.

Finally, safety. Thanks to an enhanced vehicle structure, the Myvi is now a four-star ASEAN NCAP car, although with two airbags and no stability control regardless of variant (Standard G doesn’t even have ABS!), it loses out significantly here. The Iriz, a five-star ASEAN NCAP car, has stability control and hill hold assist as standard, and the 1.6 Premium gets six airbags and belt-up reminders for all seats.

For differences in exterior and interior dimensions, performance and boot space, check out our earlier Proton Iriz vs Perodua Myvi comparison gallery. So, Betul2Onz or A Malaysian Icon Made Better?

2015 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

2014 Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

Learn more: ,

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• myvi winning on the fuel consumption only.. so i still prefer iriz..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 291 Thumb down 45
    • From picture, Myvi seems like winning the rear leg space. Iriz gear knob needs to be improved, perceived quality very cheap. However, the small details (power window/mirror) is better than Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 71
      • AVH (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:51 pm

I notice that I find problems in the Iriz in it’s small detaiil (fiddly Aircond knob for example), while the Myvi, I find positives in its small detail (Better positioned gear lever in the automatics)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 54
        • Wrong.. based on car base website myvi fc is doubled than iriz even with smaller engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
          • Based on REAL usage, Iriz fc is like lembu drinking water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 92
          • Same L0rrr on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:10 am

Will Iriz just another Savvy? We will see.

I only have 2 questions now:
            1. If it is so good, why it is so few on the road?
            2. Proton fanboys so excited of the car, why aren’t they buying it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 77
          • paulnut on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:13 am

Are you saying your 25old son proton saga is better? If proton suck, why you bought him proton. You slap your own face pakcik sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Iriz better than Myvi in terms of body structure, safety and ride & handling. PROTON had improve a lot after the management takeover, smart people should buy Iriz..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:46 pm

If you are referring to my son’s car, it is a CT200h. You better slap yourself to make sure you see the right thing.

Again, no junk (e.g. Proton) allowed at my house, as junk always attract pests (e.g. paulnut). Disgusting.

Proton always use this trick like “Smart people get it”, “Awesome people own it”, “Elite drive it” bla bla bla… But end up sales still like shit. I guess the marketing team is as relax as the R&D department : Makan Gaji Kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 43
          • steven see on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Sam always fart in front of others but dont admit it. Please pakcik, no need to be shame if hour son use proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • Steven See, you seem to know what car his son used very well. Are you his son?

• Observer on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Poor AVH, get thumbs down because supporters don’t like the truth. Cannot criticize the almighty Iriz even for a bit. Gave you a thumbs up for speaking your mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Rr0l Emas on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:01 am

Myvi gear lever position is wrong, not fun to use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Myvi – no need update, run smoothly

Iriz – need update, extra memory RAM avoid lagging

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 52
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Myvi win on engine AND auto transmission (even antique) still better then proton CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 125
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:17 pm

My Iriz 1.6 CVT drive from KL to sarawak.
        Had no problem at all… you never drive you never knew how good is Proton CVT !!!

Even Honda CVT and BWM CVT also loss.

Proton best2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 115
        • Woi AhBeng, how do you drive from KL to Sarawak?

Teach me Master!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 10
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:52 pm

What I mean is whole KL or whole sarawak had no problem…

You test drive you will know noob.

Proton Iriz best2 and DrM our saviour not cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 86
        • Suzanne Peordua Owner on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Yes i agree that Honda Cvt and Bmw gearbox also loss loss loss!!

In terms of unreliable,junk and noisy gearbox.

Your Iriz Cvt is the best!!!
          Unreliable and noisy,irritating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 67
          • Suzanne Peordua Owner on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 168
        • ya bro, proton is the best! love it since 1984

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
          • Najib on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:45 am

Thanks to Proton, the G has more revenue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
          • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:03 pm

I love visiting Proton service centers 5 times a year, “Biasa lah ni Proton”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Crony on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm

We love Proton, providing source of income for us since 1948

• Stupid ah beng on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:25 pm

talk is cheap… rarely see any Iriz on the road in Sarawak here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Really? I drive my Iriz 1.6 cvt sensibly commuting from cheras to putrajaya, 3 days a week with 60km per trip on highway, plus some short trips around cheras, and a trip from cheras to kuala pilah through LEKAS (190km), ended with 60km worth of fuel left in the tank. I only paid for 26 litre of fuel (RM50). According to the trip meter, the car averaged 7.5l/100km.

When i drive the car before its first service (1000km), the fuel consumption was bad. I am able to get the result above after the first service.

Not bad in my book.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 20
      • Correction: a trip from cheras to kuala pilah and back, 190km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
        • Diss-illusions on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Thanks for sharing! Hope to get the manual.. Looking fwd to the frugality..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • ProtonGSCC on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:15 am

What? Only 13.33km/l for highway, some more a b segment hatchback?

My 2001wira 1.5 manual can do the same, and it is a sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
          • 1.5 vs 1.6
            ~1tonnes vs 1,1xx kg
            Manual vs CVT

haiz, kid you know how to compare or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Iriz owner on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Got 560+km full tank for my iriz..from alor setar to wangsa maju plus my trip to work on the next day..got full tank next day almost 37L.. Normal day got 420-460 km for 35-37L..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • armandd on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:26 pm

My Suprima FC improved quite a bit after 1000km service. Then it became even better after 10,000km service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
      • Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:05 am

Good testimony. Perhaps some people out here just cant accept the fact that the Proton car is better this time round and I have to admit, it is. If only people would actually go and try out each cars before passing judgement.
        Real world FC depends heavily on the weight of our right foot. We complain so much about FC, but when we stop at RnRs, we keep our engine running for hours (example). Drive smart and we’ll see that it saves our money on fuel.
        The only complain I would have for the Proton is the CVT whine in the auto unit. Therefore I’d go for the manual until they sort it out.
        As far as looks are concerned, I hate the tall gear lever and the rear bumper with its roundish contour around surrounding the wheel. Other than that, its well designed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
        • It is always like that at PT.. mostly are just pretending they know everything and love to condemn when they never really own or even ride in it.
          so to those who want to buy a car.. dont read what people say in the comments.. but read the article and go take a test drive.. join the car forum websites and ask question.. that’s better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Everytime there is a P1 vs P2 article in Paultan the comment section sure meletup…

I just want to say something. P1 has to realise, it has only itself to blame for all the perception of the public towards P1.

Reputation is one of the most valuable intangible in any business. Its harder to build than to destroy, but once its built, it becomes a sustainable competitive advantage that is often hard to copy by its competitor.

P1 has harmed itself by many years of putting sub-par quality cars in Malaysia. It has built a sustainable disreputation for itself. Who has never talked about the era of P1 power windows problem? These things you cant erase from consumers’ minds and word of mouth easily.

I am not saying i have answers for P1, but i am saying p1 has to recognise this themselves in order to turn around the company. Leaving in denial will not amount to any good.

The other thing is, p1 (and its advisor) cannot blame malaysian consumer this and that.. mentally tak bagusla, tak patriotikla, whatla.. who do you think you are? At the end of the day p1 is a seller and many malaysians are the buyer. It is the job of the seller to convince the customer to buy not the other way around. As advisor or company, if u fail this task, then it is your failings in a free market environment in your job. Then leave this to somebody more capable la.. and please leave the politics out the door bolehka? To win, this must be managed truelly like a real corporation, sans any cronyism. The only objective is profitable growth.

And all these ppl wishing p1 to close shop. Think again. Right now p1 is too big to fail. The impact to Malaysia is going to be huge in at least the short to medium term. So many cars on the road is p1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Chickenatr on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Even after P1 already undertaken by another entity, people still gonna bash ’em.

And even last time after Proton activates 10-y warranty over power window, with better reliability on more recent models, people still haven’t shying away of highlighting this age old issue. Sure, you might not be one of ’em though, I’d hope.

I’m not saying you’re totally wrong though. Reputation is king. But then despite all P1 hard work in recent years, all they got in return is more disses and disses. With this trend in tact, I can’t see how they can distant themselves from their past ‘reputation’, although in decades from now.

Well, I’m not another P1 apologiser. So I’d just say P1 better give up, close shop, so you guys won’t get hurt anymore from ‘bad press’ despite all the efforts you’ve thrown into.

• sukai on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:07 am

That very sad. I dont want this knowledge and technology only monopolised by western and eastern only..

Malaysia is the only one car manufacturer that create car from the scratch around our region. Thailand, Indonesia and others only a assembler(same goes with perodua)

When Japan, Korean, America, German and many more are proud that their country can produce a car, we malaysian annihilate the only car’s manufacturer that have future to compete a big and established car’s manufacturer.

I am proud that Malaysian can produce a car from a scratch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • Indera Putera on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:54 am

Technically Perodua is not suppose to be called as 2nd M’sian car manufacturer. Neither should be compared totally M’sian car vs M’sian car i.e Proton vs Perodua car.
            I would say perodua’s products almost assembly of Daihatsu. Most vehicle of Perodua were just re-badge/re-designed & manufacture. How can they claim Axia is a M’sian car when you can see it as Daihatsu Ayla in Indonesia! And that’s the reason Perodua vehicle not really having much complains/problem from buyers because they are Daihatsu’s products. And by the way before i forget, MyVi is Daihatsu Sirion!

• Indera Putera on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:07 am

MyVi = Daihatsu Sirion
            Axia = Daihatsu Ayla
            Kelisa = daihatsu Move
            Kancil – Daihatsu Mira
            Kelisa = Daihatsu Cuore
            Rusa = Daihatsu Zebra

• Sam Loo on Oct 26, 2016 at 8:23 am

Proton Wira = Mitsubishi Lancer
            Proton Saga = Mitsubishi Lancer
            Proton Inspira = Mitsubishi Lancer
            Proton Tiara = Citroen
            Proton Savvy = Lotus

• Carbon fibre on key fob? This is new invention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • kulri on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 174
    • safersa on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Is that how you convince yourself to accept the fact that myvi is less safer than iriz?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:12 pm

In the end myvi n iriz ABS is made by same company…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Most of the parts used in Proton and P2 also sourced from the same company, but why Proton’s quality so bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
        • P2Qok? on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:24 am

perception, P2=daihatsu=toyota. in fact, P2 not so good either. but P1 CVT is a big let down…

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:46 am

Quality of the assembly work at the production plant counts a lot. If the parts fitting are mis-aligned or forced into place or bad quality parts are not rejected by the assembly workers don’t hope it will last under the hot and humid climate.
          In short quality control during assembly process is ultra important.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Why wouldn’t the Iriz ESC work? It probably comes from the same supplier as everyone elses ESC, and it has been tested a lot. It works.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Observer on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:56 pm

the point is…is there even cases that the ESC doesn’t work? If no proof, then he’s just trolling… making speculation… don’t fall into his trap…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • Marieta on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Those saying ESC on IRIZ (even Preve) not working is a bull or don’t even know what ESC is…It isn’t supplied locally…they are licensed and manufactured by BOSCH

• driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:41 am

here’s your vaseline Myvi owner ror…

• jemah on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:54 pm

siapa pilih Iriz komen 1
    siapa pilih myvi komen 2

*kalau tak pilih mana2 pergi mampoi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 62
  • Proton win lah, Myvi overpriced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 19
    • Of course win lah, in bolehland win but globally?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:50 am

P1 did not win in Boleh Land except during the period when P2 has not enter the market.
        Now in year 2015, the race has just started and P2 has started off the block 1st and P1 need to catch up fast.

• here, no one can beat P2 in terms of sales.. people still think P1 quality is bad, P2 quality is good.. so better P1 concentrate on global market.. P1 said mau jual iriz in UK, when???

• Aero (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:56 pm

It’s like comparing Amber Heard (Iriz) against Miley Cyrus (Myvi).

One is memang beautiful, understated and elegant…. the other is trying hard to be, but ends up looking too brash, aggressive and shameless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 20
    • And yet amber heard acts in terrible movies that nobody watches while miley cyrus makes millions on a single song. Still, i do think the iriz is prettier, but its not going to make me buy a proton after my experience with their awful reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
    • Ray (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Fair comparison, but at the end of the story Miley is more popular than Amber Heard, unfortunately.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m no Proton basher or Myvi supporter, but as far as sales figures are concerned the Iriz is currently flopping despite being better equipped than the Myvi. The Iriz certainly deserves more attention.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
      • Aero (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:00 pm

I’m afraid you’re right, Miley is still wayyyy more popular than Amber. Can’t argue with that.

It’s because production of the Iriz has not hit full swing yet. The waiting list is very long. I don’t know why, but I’m guessing that Proton does not want a repeat of what happened with the Prevé in 2012; production was rushed, and the early batch was full of reliability issues. I’m guessing Proton wants to monitor the Iriz production carefully so that any problems can be identified and remedied early on. Just my guess.

Fingers crossed, the Iriz will be reliable. That’s the biggest question now. The only thing that is holding potential buyers back.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
        • Ray (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:27 am

I’ve heard of the waiting list issue, they’re still working hard on the manual variants and the CVT needs to undergo some kind of software update (if I’m not mistaken) which thus retards production, I guess.

People over here seem to love the Iriz a lot, but the amount of praise doesn’t really translate into real world sales figures, apparently. And yes, the main thing that puts most people off is reliability, I guess, not forgetting the awful ownership experience that Proton is infamous for (in the past, if I have to be specific). Let’s hope Proton solves all these with the Iriz and perhaps our home grown Amber Heard can grab some attention away from the overrated Miley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0rrr on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:20 am

Proton fanboys are so excited of Iriz, and keep on asking people to test drive it, but they don’t even buy it themselves.

Syok Sendiri and test drive won’t help Proton.

Talk is cheap, where is your action(buy the car)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
          • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:57 am

Proton is unlike Hyundai in the past where the Americans and Europens joking about the reliability, the difference between Hyundai and Proton is Hyundai takes humiliation as a challenge to improve and Proton still syiok sendiri with their ex-boss, namely Mahaleel who keep insisting Proton is tip-top quality despite the fact that Proton owners during that time was cursing and spitting at them, now that Mahaleel was gone for good but the damage will take a long while to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Not full swing? Not rushed? How many car you are producing per day? 50?

Don’t want to repeat mistake or problem with low order + design problem? Cakaplah. Jangan malu-malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
        • Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:10 am

dah launching dekat 6 bulan still not full swing yet.. so bila boleh full swing?. 2106 or 2017?. Or may I suggest, why not you stop prodn for suprima, preve, persona n saga then focus on iriz prodn in order to get ‘full swing’. Lagipun, model2 yg lain tu byk kat stock yard. clearkan dulu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • What nonsense,6 Months? You guys seems to exaggerate the facts. Fact 1: 25th sept 2014 is the official launching date.
            From and including: Thursday, 25 September 2014
            To, but not including Tuesday, 20 January 2015
            Result: 117 days
            It is 117 days from the start date to the end date, but not including the end date
            Or 3 months, 26 days excluding the end date.

Really cock talkers. Can’t afford to buy a car but talk like you owned the car before. Really Idiotic malaysiam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Super on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:53 am

so apa result sales volume in 3 months 26 days?..

Axia launch 2 weeks early already delivered 29k unit as of 31st dec. What full swing are u talking about?

• Uzair on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:31 pm

brash, aggresive and SHAMELESS hahahaha good one brother. i agree with you 100%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Minister on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:27 am

The one asking for money from G to do “R&D” is the SHAMELESS one

http://paultan.org/2014/07/21/proton-requesting-rm1-7-billion-funding-reports/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • Perodua tak buat r&d..mmg la tak minta..cuma copy paste kereta boleh la..proton start from 0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:12 am

mana pegi profit dulu2 zaman copy paste mitsubishi? zaman2 market share proton 60%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Anticopypaste on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:54 am

emm perodua copy paste. Yang proton inspira bukan copy paste lancer ke. Perdanacord bukan copy paste honda accord ke. Talk shit la proton supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • Anticopypaste on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:55 am

emm perodua copy paste. Yang proton inspira bukan copy paste lancer ke. Perdanacord bukan copy paste honda accord ke. Talk shit la proton supporter. Talk to the mirror la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • ciakap on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:30 am

at least, Proton have own R&D car and Copy paste..

PErodua?? only copy paste..ONLY!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • joanna on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Iriz is beautiful? Elegant? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 49
      • Rosmah on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:19 pm

I like Iriz

• Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Yes… for this segment, it is. What car do you have in mind for beautiful and elegant in this segment? Share us your thoughts…

• anntoy on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Perodua….Replacement model for Myvi plzzzz….penat tgk rupa tu je….stakat minor change pastu nak gempak….kalau boleh n berani NCAP test 5 star….rakyat Msia dh pandai skrg….Come on perodua!!!

• rogrog on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Both got ahem ahem on the internet.

• Scirwode on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Somehow I can see that comparison! Anyway, I’ve been using the Iriz for the past 2 months that I have it and I really enjoy the quality feel to it, and the 1.6 in the version I have really allows it to accelerate. So far, this is the first Proton car I’ve own that doesn’t have an issue out of the showroom. The only complaint I have was that the brakes would squeal when you press the pedal, but I put that down to a new car. Now, it is very easy and smooth to drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 6
      • ruffstuff (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Brake sound like metal grinding? That’s ABS in the work. Normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Stuttering when braking hard is ABS in the work. Grinding sound? Shouldn’t be. ABS works by letting go of the brakes when it loses traction, so that the tyre can regain traction, and then brakes again. It is quite noticeable when ABS kicks in (you can even feel it in the pedal).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • i went for test drive for the 1.6 full spec. it took about 1.5 sec b4 the throttle respond and the engine sound so terribly loud, like it’s crying for mercy…
        i will never buy iris, for a 1.6 it doens’t give the feel of acceleration in such a small car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 59
      • mim (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:09 pm

That probably means it’s fitted with high temperature rated brakes. They usually squeal when cold. It’s normal in Protons. Quite annoying but at least it’s good.

Some service centres switch them with lower temp (standard) ones when an owner complains abt it though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Aero (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Glad to hear, congratulations on buying a new Iriz.

The ‘squealing brakes’ issue is not serious. It’s just that the brake pads / discs are uneven, due to rust (most likely), which may wear down some of the brake pads and produce an uneven metal surface. It’s a common problem in many new cars, rust on the brake pads is normal due to our tropical weather. But dunno why Proton has it worse than others. Anyway, after a few weeks, you won’t hear that squealing noise because the brake pads would have been worn down a little, and the surface should be even / smooth again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • Aero (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Correction, I meant brake rotors, not brake pads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:28 am

Like the Proton mechanic said “Biasalah boss, ni Proton mah”.

My very first Proton never failed to get its rear brakes jammed, after going to Proton sc countless time change brake pumps change brake hose change brake pad change this change that problem still the same! Proton mechanic also no clue.

We don’t hate Proton nor we like to bash Proton. We were just Proton victims, like so many many other Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
          • bashicn on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:10 pm

But that cannot beat T brake issue and unintended acceleration, lol.

Real moving coffin!

• hashtag on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:09 am

Yeah . me too . been using Iriz for over than 2 months . i really like the safety , handling , interior and exterior design . looks ‘gagah’ . if you guys wanna talk bout really cheap FC go for AXIA . if you guys choose what I state earlier go for IRIZ . i really cant get why Malaysian will choose this new Myvi . or maybe , just maybe they all preferred 9 consecutive years top B segment sales .
        think before talk . coz talk is cheap :)
        my 20cent opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Marieta on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Man, I agreed with this statement wholeheartedly

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:15 am

betul.. memang myvi beautiful, understated n elegant..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Of all the comments on Paul Tan, This comment probably aged the poorest

• Tuk Tak Terbatas on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:00 pm

nice try proton and perodua but i still prefer my e class coupe. my girlfriends 40 years my junior love to ride it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 63
    • dodgeviper88 on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Yea, cause that’s the only thing your girlfriends can ride on

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
  • SeeSeeOnly on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:09 pm

see the key fob only now which one win, worlds apart..TOPKEK

• Bote Kesar on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:19 pm

people still buy myvi because of the lesser fuel consumption than Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 39
    • Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Yep, and then regret that the car they bought don’t handle so good, start modifying here and there and end up having higher FC. Its how you drive that dictates FC most. Figures that are published are based on standard cycles.

• Cannot compare la…..myvi is far better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 87
    • proton is improving bro, it will be good fight between iriz and myvi tis year. axia oredi out of the game

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • yes you are right. but the freaking fact is now Axia is the best seller…

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:06 am

Axia out of the game? Ha,ha,ha…
        Its still game on situation. 60K++ booked, 30K delivered, another 30K waiting to deliver during this quarter, and new booking rolling in…
        This is the only car that lower middle income family can afford to own, go get one yourself for your kids.

• driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:46 am

explain better in terms of what?
      handling? safety equipment? nvh?

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:16 am

reliability, RC, RV, after sales service…

• Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Nah, I buy a car that I enjoy driving em. Not to sell. The level of equipment and safety features on the Iriz is way too superior over the Myvi that the RC RV Rwhatever attributes the Myvi has cannot convince me any more… sorry.
          Not to mention, P2 after sales service is not too dissimilar to P1s either.
          So yeah! its a proton for the missus this time round.

• Super on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:56 am

I hope the 1 unit Iriz that u bought can boost Iriz sales. Last year recorded less safe car sales the most by Proton.

• Super on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:39 am

Enjoy driving are subjective. Those 800k myvi users enjoyed driving myvi because of many factors. Reliability one of it. Will you enjoy driving cars which always give problem to you.

I owned brand new proton twice beforehand. I enjoyed the ride, handling of the cars even though the safety aspect no so conscious like nowadays. I didnt enjoyed on the car reliability. Regularly to Proton svc ctr to complaints this and that.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:59 am

I don’t give a shit whether the car I buy boosts sales or not. I buy it because its good.

• Super on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:50 am

Enjoy driving are subjective. Those 800k myvi users enjoyed driving myvi because of many factors. Reliability one of it. Will you enjoy driving cars which always give problem to you.

I owned brand new proton twice beforehand. I enjoyed the ride, handling of the cars even though the safety aspect no so conscious like nowadays. I didnt enjoyed on the car reliability. Regularly to Proton svc ctr to complaints this and that

• nzain on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:31 pm

pricey myvi against worth iriz…iriz win..will ask my sis to buy these awesome iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:09 am

Win in the specification department, but loss in the ‘Perception of Quality’ department.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:33 pm

This is not even a contest,not even close… Its like world cup final germany vs congo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • The bank bumper of Myvi 1.5 is a copycat of that of the new Jazz. Only the 1.3 back bumper is original but looks ugly. No push button start and key-less entry is a setback for Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • BOYRACER on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Let the battle begins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • This makes me wonder, why can the MyVi looks so ugly but the Iriz looks so good?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
  • The Iriz’s CVT is a major deal breaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Buy manual solved problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
      • Auto bro ape kelas manual….zaman batu ke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • sepul on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Both also good if you know how to use it properly.

• abangabu on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Real men drives manual… nape? tak reti main clutch ke der? engine mati ke cane? ke takde lesen manual?

• kzm father on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:03 am

You go ride basikal if can solve traffic jam problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Archangel on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:35 am

Like Harvinder mentioned in one of Driven Series Season 2, real men drive with three pedals (manual). Those who drive with two pedals (auto) are panzies. Hehe.

• Huehue on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:58 pm

I think if the myvi had 5 star safety rating, it’d be just perfect. (maybe a lil bit more fuel efficient too hehe)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • Driver on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Handling wise?

• Huehue on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:10 am

yala what i meant by 5 star safety rating was by having all the safety equipment thus the handling will improves

• driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:27 pm

No matter what they do, this gen Myvi wont get 5 star, current AOP rate stuck at 4 star rated. no matter how many airbags or ESC etc they put in.
          handling wont improve by just adding safety features u know… u should know that basic thing.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Not accurate bro. In short, good handling comes from good vehicle geometrical setup, suspension setup, steering setup, power delivery etc. and less so from safety equipments. When it comes to handling, P2 cars are way behind compared to P1s. But then again, P2s aren’t built to have superb handling.

• olio benzina on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Just a little bit more to go to get 5 star rating to be perfect.
      Put ESP as standard.
      Use strong hot forming pressed steel like Proton and VW.

It will also help if Perodua design own cars than just ciplak Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • fobby on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:32 pm

I dont think so. They not even have the skills at designing a modern key fob. Their key fob design is lagged behind by 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Driver on Jan 19, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Anddddddddddddddddddddddd people still bought the Myvi. =(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • I know right… what are they thinking!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Souya Tempe on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:23 am

I’m thinking about horrible P1 rear design. Seriously P1 Tuah look sooooo much better then the preve rear end. They almost got me. If they could design the rear lamp from round r34 or civic it will be a huge hit. Well a huge hit for me.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:01 pm

I’d pick the Iriz…but that’s if I’m in the market for one but I haven’t seen all that many on the road lately….but throw a stone and you’d most likely hit an Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Suzanne Peordua Owner on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Axia is everywhere.

People want cheaper price,fuel saving and reliable car.So??Perodua Axia of course their choice.All new model some more.

and you got more money,go for City,Vios,Jazz or Almera,more better than fuel drinking Proton.

Go to Damansara,Sunway and Bangsar area and Axia is everywhere.

Proud Axia SE owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 65
      • ciakap on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:01 am

people most likely to buy axia for the time being.. but i dont expect axia owner will be use that car more than 3-5 years..

buying underpowered axia’s car, buyer will move to more bigger cc car.. they buy because it is cheap ONLY!!

• Just like everyone buys local made for the first time and move on to foreign brand after.

• Huzaifah on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Still wondering why Perodua did not swicth the transmission to CVT. Old School 4E-AT gearbox no pickup. Based on my experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • pick up far better than iriz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • Iriz cvt more pick up??? Are you crazy…hahaha…4 speeder myvi is from toyota bro….iriz cvt is 30 years ketinggalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • You want Perodua to put Punch CVT like Proton to Myvi?

• There are other CVT manufacturers out there. Myvi (Daihatsu Boon) doesn’t seem to be using Punch’s model. (But I do not know whose are they using.)

• They probably source from Aisin, as both Aisin and Daihatsu are under the big Toyota umbrella. But this is just my wild guesses.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:20 pm

The Iris just feels nice, compared to the Myvi. The only reason why people tend to overlook it is cause they don’t know it exists and feel that it is a Proton, so it will be crap unlike the Myvi which in 2005 did have better quality than Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • TheDean on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Myvi’s tail light design still bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • roxas on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:43 pm

pitting the myvi beside an iriz, only makes the iriz looks more expensive and handsome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • hakim on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:48 pm

even on the interior finishing, the iriz wins. except for the aircond knobs.. they look super cheap.

• Yes, Iriz is overpriced but ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:49 am

what overpriced? its the same price as a myvi but better spec.

• spongewai on Jan 19, 2015 at 7:57 pm

blue color is my most fav color

however, the winner i choose is Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium not because of the color, its about safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Perodua’s playing the “Cheaper Price” card. Put same price with Iriz la. Then we can see who buy more Iriz or Myvi FL.

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:22 am

Axia advance is the same price with Iriz 1.3 low end. Yet axia making sales..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • yeah because it’s cheap. fullstop

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:25 pm

roro – u dun understand the statement. If compare Axia advance n Iriz 1.3 low end, it is at the same price. If talking about cheap, of course Iriz 1.3 low end cheaper than Axia advance. But yet Axia advance is higher in sales. The point here, the price is not the only factors contributing for bigger sales. Otherwise, saga sales overtake myvi long time ago..

• raptor951007 on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:03 am

Maybe because axia’s fc is better

• pompo on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:59 am

here we go againnn comparing Axia with Iriz. Dude their not even in the same car category!

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Just comparing the price even diff segment as to relate to the above question.

• myvi girly, iriz manly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Bimmer on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:21 am

Both are for Makcik. Real man drives A Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:55 am

A class? real man? i guess ur a sissy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • You better change your brain. A class owners can easily smoke you. Then you’ll know who’s the sissy

• driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:25 pm

comparing “A Class” with this budget segment hatch?

A class owner can smoke me with what? weed?

at least i have a brain that can think properly =D sissy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Bimmer on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:33 pm

@driver

A Class owners of course can smoke your Iriz lah. You no money then don’t say A Class owners sissy. Go syiok sendiri with your Iriz, sissy driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • BelakangClass on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Haha! You’ve just made the AAA class owner angry my fren.

• masmera on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:33 pm

after 5 yrs the iriz owmer will mumble with a lot of issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
  • Albert on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Till today,I hardly see Iriz on the road.However,those Blockbuster AXIAs are caught many a times zooming in and out of traffic.
    Proton has a total combined production capacity of 1.2 million cars annually and yet customers are complaining about poor deliveries stretching to 90 days and above.
    Perodua,I believe is operating at maximum capacity and seems pretty competent,alto they are producing more expensive variants,wanting to profit more.
    The Iriz,like Preve and Suprimas are supposed to be game changers,but realistically they aren’t.
    Something is holding up Proton’s progress.Until they sort out their production hiccups and bad CVT gearboxes,I don’t see Proton surpassing 100,000 units sales in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • hakim on Jan 19, 2015 at 11:47 pm

it seems dat proton are focusing on producing the 1.6 premium order for now. the 1.3 standard will be getting their car later. so late, that some of them even cancel their booking. kesian proton.. hope they can boost up their production.

• I believe McLaren can produce cars faster than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • frossonice on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:50 am

Why are you still comparing Iriz with Axia when Paultan produced this article which clearly show the real competition for Iriz, which is the MyVi. How on earth to compare Axia with Iriz when the cheapest Axia is RM25k while the cheapest Iriz is RM42k and even then, they both are not in the same segment.

Proton still do not have a competition for Axia, unless the rumours about them building an A-segment car base on Honda Brio is true.

• Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:27 am

dulu masa mula2 launching, proton fanboy jugak yg sibuk compare2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Suzanne Perodua Owner on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:13 am

People now smart already.
      they dont want to spend Rm 70000 to 80000 on those fuel drinking,terrible quality and unreliable junk like iriz,preve and suprima.

Rm 70000 to 80000 people will choose City or jazz than Proton so called game changer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • Alson P on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Iriz….Betul2Onz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • stupid msian cars on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Both are ugly and useless to the core!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • Sh*t. So many variants on the myvi? I dont even know which is which.
    Why dont you just create a base model, then let us choose all the options!!
    Stop confusing me with all the variants!

• panjang on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Iriz wins in term of spec-fact
    Myvi wins in term of sales-fact
    Iriz wins in term of safety-fact
    Myvi wins in term of brand image-fact

Biggest fact-Malaysian cant afford better specced car which is why the winner for Malaysian is always the lower specced car which is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • The winner for Malaysia is always the G. The loser is always the rakyat that pay overpriced car and tax to the G. Thanks to the G protecting Proton that Malaysians can’t afford better specced cars. Terima kasih Proton. Even if you win over Myvi, there is nothing to be proud of

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • frossonice on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:45 am

As if Perodua is not guilty too.

They sell small car at super expensive price even though they are one part of local car brand which being protected by the government and makes tonnes of profit which end up to foreign coffer and all they can do since 1994 is change the bumpers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • fast not furious on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:50 pm

As usual bashers would be having their awesome moments of bashing up Proton all day long.. But come to think of it, Iriz doesn’t look that bad except for the fact that the rear looks a little tiny next to a Myvi..i just there are too many Myvi’s on the road n driving one makes me feel like an ‘Ah Beng’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • slow and steady on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:55 am

You don’t know ‘Ah Beng’ drives Iriz?

• ahbeng123 on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:35 am

no i dont, but for the past 10 years the best and award winning tailgating high speed car on the road belong to myvi………….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:30 am

better take the bus

• GreatWall m4 on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:36 am

Hopefully, Driven can come out of videos comparison between myvi, iris, and great wall M4 top spec n low spec. Which one is more value to buy? Since their price range very similar…..

• peter leong on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:23 am

Although proton has been a failure since day one,BUT i believe this round it fares much better especially with the upgrading of safety features such as ESP ,TC, 6 airbags which is already a compulsory features for manufacturer in Europe!!… But in malaysia car makers like to TRICK user with gimmicks such as skirting , LED lights push start button to lure them to buy… which eventually they able to

• wahwah on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:32 am

dont forget anti snatch hoooook and retractable cup hooooolder. P2 even spent a loooot of money to advertise these two features in full-colored 1 page of mainstream newspaper, you know……. to suggest that how important are these things…. compare to VSC…………

• Suzanne Perodua Owner on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:24 am

Hahaha people now smart already.
      They know that an unreliable and terrible quality car fit with all safety like 6 airbag and Vsa also no use.
      Preve,Suprima S and Iriz.
      Failure model!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
      • driver on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:59 am

still bragging bout your axia?
        too bad it doesnt have all those safety features, if not you will feel like driving a god car.. wait.. vios god car isnt equipped with those features as well…

• farghmee on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:25 pm

suzanne,

kalau mamapu pakai axia, belilah.
        kalau xmampu pakai iriz, diam2 sudah.

kalu full safety specc’ed accident mati, tu kira nasib xbaiklah.
        kalu mampu bli tp xbli full specc’ed sbb brand perception, accident, menyesal pun tara guna.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:53 pm

So you’re smart then? … :)

• ciakap on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:38 am

people buy axia because it is CHEAP ONLY!!

Else?Nothing to proud

• buyer on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:41 am

Dua2 kedekut taknak bg armrest

• wonno on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:25 am

compare this IRIZ:
    http://paultan.org/2015/01/19/perodua-myvi-facelift-2015-proton-iriz-gallery/proton_iriz_-023/

with this MYVI:
    http://paultan.org/2015/01/19/perodua-myvi-facelift-2015-spec-by-spec-comparison/2015_perodua_myvi_facelift_-023/%20%20%20%20%20

iriz won……………

• waaa… look at both luggage spaces…

• Giler Battle on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:37 am

Tahniah Joe Flizzow dan Sonaone atas kemenangan sulung di juara lagu yang ke 29! Hip hop untuk rakyat.

• Furmy on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:44 am

We are Right-hand drive, same with JAPAN. But why Proton’s car signal stick is on the left? Quite funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • P2Qok? on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:33 am

japan does not create the standard, left or right no problem. the problem is not using the signal at all, haihhhhh……………………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • abg misai on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:50 am

What I know why they did that is they are aiming to sell this model in European market such as in the UK, which the signal stick is located on the left side of the steering (same as conti cars).

• farghmee on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:28 pm

it’s funny why some people have hard time blending with surrounding environment.

• Helloo….I think Produa producing unsafe cars for years & they have taken a lot of lives. Why now only they want to improve the structure of their cars. It should been done years ago…..the idea of handbag anti theft hook is likely to attract more thieves to break into your car la….bad idea la Produa. There should have compartment where praying eyes cannot see the handbag….

Just my 5 cent idea la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • eeazee on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:57 am

Well I dont know which one is better but people seem to be trending towards Iriz. Everyone in my office are thinking of buying the Iriz especially the girls. They say the Iriz is so cute and classy compared to Myvi design. Both my sisters already bought Iriz for their own daily usage. They seem to enjoy to comfort. My brother is thinking of upgrading from Myvi to Iriz. Even my uncle bought an Iriz for his pasar car.

This is just my observation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • jangan syok sendirilah. Let the sales figure talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Super on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:30 pm

esok dlm article lain dia kata auntie n uncle dia beli iriz plak.. we have seen the tactic b4. end up with nobody in his family buy any iriz actually..

• najib on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:58 am

myvi win la, tak payah compare dah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • How much profit proton get from every single Iriz? RM600?

• Those Proton clowns still thinking hard and wondering why their junks are not selling despite putting in so many things.
    First it’s your brand. Proton is long associated with lousy quality products and it is still.

Second is your attitude. Marketing 101 – Do not insult your prospective buyers. Don’t go around asking how much people know about cars.

Third is your attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • car-taker on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Insult what?
      p2 dun have VSC later people complain, is that p1 fault?

• p2 no vsc, no one complain except p1. This is not the first time p1 being a sore loser. Last time their savvy claimed to have high strength steel also no one give them a hood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • The Blackhat on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:21 am

My sister just booked an Iriz. Just to clarify, the 3 year free service is no more on offer this year. Your article states that is still is.

• Richard on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:31 am

On paper I prefer Iriz, but
    On experience, I will not buy Iriz.
    The key issues are – Reliability & After Sale Services.
    Improve the quality of Proton in all aspects rather than just showing off with new gadgets.
    Compare with your main competitor, Perodua not Ford Ecoboost or P 208 & etc.
    Win Perodua over the reliability and offer better in value not on Paper.
    Goal sekarang is regain the market leader. After that baru plan other.

• takNakP1 on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:40 am

LOL…
    End of the day Myvi & Iriz – WINNER
    Rakyat – LOSER

is all depends one how much more tax you want to contribute for someone to go shopping.

• balan on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:17 pm

But then there are people who dun pay tax but kecoh like they pay 1 mil every year!

Ptuih!

• ayooo on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Any news how many booking already for this myvi facelift? I think might be more than Iriz since Myvi is the love of the nation.

• berserker on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:46 pm

luckily i get the manual trannty

• C.P.MOHAN on Jan 20, 2015 at 12:59 pm

I find it assuming that the debate is which entry car is better. May be it is important to Malaysians but ALSO compare Total Car Value versus Total Income.

• New MyVI is like Malaysian ex gf/bf. hehe

• lim guang eng on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:19 pm

a complete facelift by perodua again…yup same lorr love it..

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Why you use my leader name? Use some other name ok!!

• itu road bully pakai Honda CRV lorr..

• BLT_CLUB on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Myvi vs Iriz… Iriz vs Myvi. Who cares la? These are entry levels cars which don’t excite and are really a dime a dozen. Round and round same s**t. Proton=lousy quality, bad fc, suck money fr Government. Perodua=not safe, low tech, face-lift like not change. Wei, why don’t you all just work harder and buy a conti? Don’t think in Malaysia you can work 9-5 and buy nice car. Dreaming kah? Put in the 12-14 hour days, take initiative. World don’t owe you a living. Then you can own a nice car. Else stick to P1 and P2.

• Uzair on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:06 pm

I bet you haven’t get yourself to test drive an Iriz yet. My advice to you is that go to nearest proton dealer and book a test drive. You would be amaze at how continental the Iriz is. Whether you still willing to spend double on Conti car after that, I leave it to you

• Hew Zi Jin on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Cheh,Iriz win!Now also in Usj 12,my neighbour already receive their Iriz premium,plus meI am satisfied with it!Now also many people already receive their Iriz.Yesterday,i visit the Perodua and Honda showrooms.Firstly,i go Perodua.I see the new Myvi interior and exterior.Then the salesman come,he ask me what car I used,i said I use Iriz.Suddenly he said that the Iriz is far better than the Myvi.Same to with the Honda.I go to the showrooms with my sis because she is going to buys her first car,she plan to buy Jazz.Suddenly,the salesman ask me what car that my sis want,my sis said Jazz.Then the salesman ask me whether the Iriz that park outside is mine or not,i said yes.Suddenly he said to my sis….

Salesman:You better buy Iriz.

My sis:Why?

Salesman:Iriz is far better than the Jazz.The interior,exterior quality,fuel comsumption,safety is on Iriz.And the price also is worth it.The Jazz is not worth it with its price.Starting from 72k,,really not worth it.Plus,Iriz is Global rated.

Then we walk out and when to Proton showrooms.Discuss,and then straightly book one solid white premium Iriz.See Proton Haters,who wins now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Really? on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Honestly, are you telling the truth or you make this up?

• Hew Zi Jin on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:32 am

Bro,why I need to lie?Lie also no use.Bro,just face the fact that Proton win.Just one words I want to say,Proton have made big improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Really? on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Can you tell me which Honda showroom and the name of the Honda salesman that recommends you to buy Iriz?

• I fan of Proton.. but your story it quiet unbelievable.. haha.. Usually i heard p2 salesmen talk bad about proton and kia, of course.. but if it’s true.. then good ;)

• P2 save fuel? Only aunties said so.
    P2 reliable? Only aunties said so.
    P2 less problem? Only aunties said so.

• Super on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:44 am

SO all 800k users all aunties?.. where is your data?. please paste here

• jeffeny on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:17 pm

I’m iriz owner, the iriz is better than myvi, this is truth thing.
    However, iriz only lost in quality.

even the after sales service that proton provide the good service to me, this is truth.

• DesertGoon on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:20 pm

imo, iriz looks better… stylish. other than that i have no experience driving both iriz and myvi. :)

• It’s so fun reading all the car xpert comment. I wonder what car they use…

• johan23 on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:26 pm

just want to get opinions from you guys. Im fresh graduates and looking for a car below rm65k, which is economic, good fc for a starter. Any suggestion? Myvi advance? Neo r3? Iriz 1.6?

• Muhammad Yazid on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Hey Johan.I am a fresh graduates too.I think the Iriz is a very good car for the starter.I am the owner of the Iriz 1.6 Premium.I just collect it yesterday.So far the performance,handling,fuel consumption all perfect,and its safety feature like Abs Ebd Hha Esc,can be get in all ranges of Iriz.Plus,its Global Standards.Or if you want the sporty look,high performance,take the Satria Neo R3.It’s even better.I used to test drive my sister Neo R3.It’s perfect!Performance,brakes,fuel consumption all perfect.But one thing that I mostly love is it’s handling.You will never regret.OK,hope you make a good choice.Just one words I want to say,Proton is not like last few years ago.They now already improve a lot.

#ProtonThenNowForever

• Brandon on Jan 11, 2016 at 12:15 am

Happy Iriz owner as well :) just needs a bit of maintenance every now and then. Proton still has consistency issues with their manufacturing process. I hope to see greater things with Proton in the future as well. However, i wish they’d stop it with the pretentious labels like ‘premium’. C’mon la… a great product speaks for itself. There are still some people who clearly need to leave Proton.

• Qu Puteh on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:55 am

both car are good in their own feild. for those who still new with driving world myvi would be the best option you have BUT once you had involved in major accident and luckily you still alive, you will really2 apprecited all those safety features offering by Iriz.

Actually I did some own analysis and I found most major accidents involved with Perodua cars – Alza, Myvi, Kelisa chances for the driver and passengers die is very high compare to proton.

• Brandon on Jan 11, 2016 at 12:09 am

Well, perhaps it is because there are a higher number of perodua users on the road.

• Anyone notice the new Iriz front plate keeps falling off? I saw not 1 but 2 units of iriz without front plates already.. hmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • iriz vs myvi?? both are malaysian product.. why must anti proton? i also dsnt like proton..after iriz come out i think this car better than myvi..bcause has ABS,ECS ,6airbags..and also sme vvt engine..juz myvi improve at timing chain -_-. goodjob.. please support our local product…nice effort proton and produ
    frm solid white iriz owner

• shafiq on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:00 pm

i’m the owner of iriz premium 1.6..you can bash proton..but,plz test drive first..compare with myvi..so you know better..most of them condemn proton..what car you condemn?persona?saga?try first iriz looo..the handling is stable when entering a corner with such a speed compare with myvi..you dun know anything when u r hatters..if you r buyers, plz test drive 1st..before this i hate proton product n want to buy myvi..after i test drive..i choose iriz..it is fun to drive compare to myvi..

• pierson on Feb 23, 2015 at 12:47 am

i think myvi is proven in d market …engin..gear box..comfident…but the key should upgrade…i just have one 1.5

• peter on Mar 02, 2015 at 7:52 pm

like myvi buy myvi … like proton buy proton..don’t argue…

• Firyxx on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Proton’s engines are mostly designed by Lotus. Iriz interior looks much better with the leather trims unlike MyVi with cheap plastic. You can’t prove me wrong. Deal with it.

• jibby on Apr 20, 2015 at 12:01 pm

iriz seminggu keluar sudah ada problem, safety banyak pun tarak guna kalo takleh pakai, bongok

• shafiq coz on May 12, 2015 at 1:29 pm

I alredy use tiara and savvy.. its selesa but when come part.. like 2 cut my feet.. iriz vs myvi.. hmm I prefer iriz.. not becoz i have his brother but itsb lot better than myvi on safety n its powetrain.. myvi to many on road n dah muak tengok.. now my tiara using suzuki G13B.. savvy using saga engine i got from my frends.. now iriz for my newly colection.. feel sick many myvi car on road.. make some diffrend on my self.. not just using car that from 1994 till now just change bumbper..

• iriz copycat on Jun 07, 2015 at 1:20 pm

proton iriz need so many air bag, doesn’t mean it will be more safety. when accident happened, the people in the car cannot came out from the car. due to so many air bag pushing and it may cause difficulty to breath when all 6 air bag is out at the same time. if there is a oil leaking in the accident, the passenger in the car must came out from the car but not stay in the car with air bag.

• Brandon on Jan 11, 2016 at 12:02 am

As an Iriz 1.6 cvt owner, my only gripes about the car are 1. Interior build up 2. Software on the android powered on the infotainment system and reverse sensors. For 1., Almost everything is bloody plastic. The interior part of the doors drive me nuts especially. When you press the doors they bend. That’s premium plastic for you. For 2., i had a problem with my left reverse sensor at the get go. Got it fixed, now my right side isn’t working properly pulak. Sigh… the infotainment system goes wonky sometimes too. Sometimes, nothing seems to respond. Other than that, I really do like this car. It handles well, and is comfortable. If I could afford a better car of course I wouldn’t choose a Proton. However, I am glad I got this over the Myvi (what features again?)