SPIED: 2015 Mazda 2 hatchback spotted in Malaysia

MAZDA2-MALAYSIA-TRAILER-0004

Lo and behold, here’s the 2015 Mazda 2 hatchback in Malaysia, pictured here before it’s launched by readers Hakimin Zahid, Cliff and Kas Gan. It looks like the new B-segment hatch is already on its way to showrooms.

That, paired with the fact that Malaysian brochures and even the official price lists have been circulated on the Net, means that its launch is imminent.

At this point, there’s little that we don’t know of the upcoming Ford Fiesta-fighter. It’ll be priced at RM85,470 (OTR without insurance) – the same with the sedan variant – and come with very decent specs, including keyless entry, auto air-con, leather upholstery, MZD Connect infotainment system with six speakers, and even a head-up display.

These new pictures confirm the standard two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels and the reflector-type headlamps (instead of the fancier projector unit with LED daytime running lights). The sedan version should get the same wheels and headlights too.

Common to both variants will be a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected petrol engine with 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. Airbag count won’t go past two, though thankfully, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) will be offered as standard.

It won’t be long till the official launch now, but want to know if it’s worth waiting for? Read our first impressions of the 2015 Mazda 2 hatchback to find out.

Mazda 2 Hatch at the 2014 Indonesia International Motor Show
Mazda 2 Sedan world debut at the 2014 Thai Motor Expo

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Unless it has the projector headlights, I’d go with the 208 or Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
    • Honda Jazz better on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Honda Jazz is a better buy:
      – Cheaper
      – Looks better
      – Ultra Seats
      – 4 more airbags
      – 4 hp more
      – Bigger in every dimensions
      – Drinks less fuel
      – 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 41
      • Shing Huui on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Both Honda Jazz and Mazda 2 is good looking car.

Honda City 2014 owner,
        and like Mazda so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:15 am

Mazda 2, City or Jazz, sushi cars rocks.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:07 pm

My money is also on the Jazz due to the points given above although the price is about the same after the Mazda 2 adds in insurance.

I will be in the market for a second car for my wife and my newborn later this year and major priority is 6 airbags, VSC and spacious interior and the Mazda 2 unfortunately does not 2 of the 3 that I am looking for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
        • why not fiesta better
          -hp
          -torque
          -control
          -stability
          -7airbag
          -fuel consumption
          -sound system
          -looks nice and solid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Hoormilla on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Saw only two new Mazda 3 Skyactiv in Penang until now.
        and it is one of the best looking Japan car,beside new City and Jazz.

honest said,this Mazda 2 Skyactiv not very nice in design,but can compare with both new City and Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • 2.0TSi on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Can smoke 2.0l car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
        • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Hell yea Mazda 2 can smoke V6 3.0 litre car at traffic light while sleep in the bed.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:42 am

can smoke any vw, becos your vw will be stuck beside the road with hazard lights on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
          • u smoke me, I smoke u. live happily ever~~

• LOL.. are you sure this car smoke VW? How if VW Golf GTI? Still can cut off?
            Golf GTI has greater pickup power and horsepower than this car.. even though is Polo 1.2 TSI also can get rid of this car.. Since the last VW recall, I can’t even see 1 VW break down on the roadside. Did you see any vw breakdown since the last recall?

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Mazda trearted Msian as 3rd class citizen get cbu thai, Singapore 1st class citizen treated with cbu japan with more color more complete spec.
        *SMOKY ROSE MICA only at Spore look elegance.
        *The 2 only look good when interior cockpit /leather in milky color.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • Mazda 2 2015 price
          Singapore SGD 120K++ ,
          Malaysia MYR 85K ++
          What do you expect?
          Operation manager in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • azhar on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:48 am

u want to pay 100k for mazda 2 arrr?..if u want CBU japan badly, go import yourself..rakyat want cheaper cars

• Puh-leaze!! on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:20 am

Oh great. A Honda fanboy. Here’s a response

Honda Jazz is a better buy:
        – Cheaper – does not equate to value.
        – Looks better – says your eyes.
        – Ultra Seats – WTF? Are they super ejector seats?
        – 4 more airbags – hope they are not Takata ones.
        – 4 hp more – more fuel burn in heavy traffic.
        – Bigger in every dimensions – porky.
        – Drinks less fuel – according to what test?
        – 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage – yippee!

Seriously why do you guys go through so much effort comparing your Hondas? Do you do the same to other makes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • AVH (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:42 am

Yea I also hope that the Mazda do not have faulty takata airbags

http://www.autonews.com/article/20141212/OEM11/141219944?template=mobile

• Raikkonen on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Butthurt City/Jazz owner or Honda salesman. Take your pick Paultan.

• nuged on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:32 pm

i disagree with u about the looks of honda is better..
        i think mazda2 looks better.. its more for youth.. younger looks.. it looks sharp bro..
        this car will have its own ethusiast..
        this will make a rival to toyota and honda in malaysia..
        this car also better cuz it has skyactive = better fc bro..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:26 pm

mandatory 2 airbags only complain. seriously vincent tan mazda, this is a great car, there are many ways to cut costs for this car, i just do not see why removing the airbags count to two is a great idea when i can get a proton with more airbags. you should look at syed mokhtar honda as a rival and not sam loo toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Hoormilla on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Yes Vios cannot compare to this Mazda.
      tin kosong car like perodua..

I think new Mazda 2 can only compare to Honda.
      -Honda Jazz and City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:00 am

however….mazda is slowly turning into a toyota…specs of cars getting worse and worse…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • whoareyou on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Who is Sam Loo?
      Care to explain?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Sam loo is a butt hole

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:24 pm

someone who can convince you to buy toyota camry when you are about to buy a porsche 911….stay away from him

• AVH (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:31 pm

It looks like a great alternative to the current crop of RM80+k Japanese, the City E, Jazz V and Vios G. The RM3k pricier Jazz V should be its closest rival thou edges slightly in its safety suite, The more spacious and versatile Jazz also seems to be aimed at outright practicality, but it honestly pales in comparison when it comes to style and performa….I mean zoom zoom. Six-speed paddle-shifters and MZD-infotainment will definitely appeal the younger folks.

Bummer for the lack of a six-airbag variants, two tone dash or the fancier projector lights, but hey all its forgiven as its not a Toyota or a Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • Price without insurance on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:38 pm

The price listed for this Mazda 2 is without insurance, as the Jazz V’s price is with insurance. Therefore the price will be the same or even pricier for this really small Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:02 pm

With insurance it would cost almost RM90k. And no,this is not the reasonable compact car for its price.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:19 pm

If it came with 6 airbags, I would have given this my favourite hatch nod. Too bad, what a waste of an otherwise brilliant hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Walau on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:07 pm

People are always saying that City or Jazz have more HP than this new M2. But did they even realize that M2’s 1.5 GDi has more torque? 148nm as early as 4000rpm(compared to City’s 145nm at 4000+).

If you urge to engage a full throttle after the traffic light turns green, yeah I bet the M2 will head first. And I’m sure that people won’t choose M2 over City just for that purpose, didn’t they?

• But I do have a concern, 148Nm pushing 6 gears, does that mean the gearbox is always kickdown-ing to lower gears to get enough thrust?

I’m not good at understanding theories behind gearboxes, anyone mind sharing a piece of mind?

• Gen2 (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:07 am

I think it simply meand its a 148NM engine with a 6 speed transmission. For NA engine, you always gotta work harder (throttling with higher rev, most of the time above 3,000 to 5,000) in order to get the peak torque and power you want. For turbocharged car, peak torque and max hp come at a much earlier rev range, ie: 1,500 to 4500rpm.

Since Mazda 2 is eqipped with a conventional auto than a CVT, yes, you’ll have the kickdown feel when you engage lower gear for acceleration.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:42 am

The Mazda uses DI whereas the Jazz does not. In theory, DI engines will have more power & torque than one without DI.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:08 pm

I thought the Mazda 2 is really sporty reasonable cheap compact car but when look at it,how cute and small it was,if I buy it I would considered as gay because driving a women’s car to the meeting also with its meh horsepower and all torque punched at 4,000RPM what? Better gget Honda Jazz by term of look,safety,price,power and cheap fabric interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Wantbuycar on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:49 am

LOL, strange, I thought jazz looks gay? This Mazda has more fierce gentlemen look

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Nope,Honda Jazz looks more appealing than “cute” Mazda 2 only for hairdresser.

• nuged on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:36 pm

i disagree with u about the looks of honda is better..
          i think mazda2 looks better.. its more for youth.. younger looks.. it looks sharp bro..
          this car will have its own ethusiast..
          this will make a rival to toyota and honda in malaysia..
          this car also better cuz it has skyactive = better fc bro..

• roxas on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:24 pm

nice but the mazda 3 is already smaller thn other c-segment…so tis is gonna be too small too

• Josh Ling on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:10 am

they should have another higher-end variant later on, which adds on airbags projector headlights and all the more advanced safety suites: Advanced Blind Spot Monitoring (A-BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) and Smart City Brake Support (SCBS).

Mazda 2 is well-kitted i must say, but still lacking quite a number of stuff when you compare with the one that the overseas market is getting.

• Honda who? on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:19 am

Why compare with Jazz? Such an aunty car which lacks character and driving enjoyment. Mazda 2 is also crampier inside but so is the Fiesta which has been a success. This would likely take it to the Fiesta than the boring Jazz which targets a different market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Handling and fun is key on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:40 am

Exactly.

LOL, I think PT’s comment section is being frequented by Honda & Proton salesmen these days.

The Jazz which I have tested and also recommend for space and practicality (but note that it sucks at high speed and I’m sure this Mazda and the Polo and Fiesta all beat it here) has pretty bad steering, body control and handling, and don’t even get me started on the CVT, which although is much better compared to the one on the Iris, young people like me who enjoy driving will never go for a CVT lah! Hard fact! :)

Only a fool will claim that the latest Skyactiv cars are not economical and also fun to drive. When it comes to noise, wind and ride refinement, they have all improved compared to their previous generations for sure. It won’t beat a euro car, like the Polo (drove in Australia), I’d rather have the reliability of a Japanese car compared to those, plus the fun and probably better handling around corners, which we all love from city cars.

Only a fool will also compare the interior of the latest Skyactiv Mazdas to Hondas. I don’t think I need to elaborate here, but I’ll also add that the navigator and system that Mazda uses in the 3 which I tested here (and what we will get on the 2), is way better and modern (Facebook & Twitter with ease too) compared to the ones on the Jazz.

My only complain about this Mazda 2 here, is the lack of some things you find in overseas models, but perhaps they will address that with the CKD models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • CKD models always come with fewer accessories or features. I think there will be more features for facelift model in 3 years from now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Ananz on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:44 am

Couples wanting to start a family or already with children would go for the Jazz while the single ones will likely go for Mazda2/Fiesta, but once they married and want start family will revert back to Jazz or other more practical cars. That is the cycle.
        Cars like Fiesta, Mazda 2/3, Focus which are very good drivers car, fun and handles really well but its comfortable only at the front. Try sitting at the back and you would regret it. Other than that, the NVH is poorer compared to other Japanese makes.

• perodua no need salesman, no need promo oledi.. sure no.1 in Malaysia..

• Sammy on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:07 am

Jazz and Mazda 2 is off course competiting products.

Otherwise who do you think Mazda 2 target market is? Yuppies whose doesn’t even have money to pay phone bills?

• Will go and have a look at the Mazda2 since is shared the same chasis with the Cx3. I’m more interested in Cx3, really can’t wait for it.

• Handsome on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:13 am

I know some might love the design but for me, that is truly hideous hatchback butt. The sedan one looks much more acceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Don’t put the Indonesia Motorshow picture la, confusing ppl only, Mazda2 here don’t have projector headlamp

• Pondok Ajip on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:46 pm

I read from the earlier comments about airbags count. There is a model with 6 airbag, 80k pricing, 5 star safety rating available here in Malaysia. It is the Kia Rio. I know that it is korean made car, but since safety features that we are looking at, why can’t it be put into consideration? The Honda, Toyota and Mazda in Malaysia are more than willing to sacrifice safety for profit, but why not we start sending a message to those companies that we want change by buying from a company than took safety more seriously albeit it is Korean made. Japanese cars in Malaysia are surviving due to the rv mentality. If the japanese car buying gradually reduced, and people dare to put their money where safety is, which in this instance the Kia, rv will swap in the other direction….we proud ourself with demanding change, why can we start now? Just my 2 cents….

• Kushboo on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:36 pm

I don’t like this car. it is to cheap. I kick my bf if he buy me this crap. I better eat crab rasam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:53 pm

I would take the hammer if I buy this car,my families would laugh at me if I buy this car. lol

• nuged on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:38 pm

go buy m3 laa then. no need to comment if u dont want to buy.. what a moron…

• looks kinda small…comparison with its wheel size

• Raikkonen on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Haven’t seen the car – but my guess is that it will be a looker.

Since I am currently driving a car – German sedan, long that is always stuck by the roadside. (You salesman know which brand la) I think the car will look gorgeous!

The 16 inch rim on such a small car.. Should be quite handsome.

• infinity on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:05 pm

I am actually thinking of buying a new car. Jazz is on the top of my list. Then came this Mazda 2. Both are very different cars, Jazz being the all practical no fuss car, while Mazda 2 being the outstanding, high-technology input car.
    The younger part of me likes the 2 very much, but the practical part of me prefer Jazz, well, due to practicality reasons.
    Will try to test drive this 2 before deciding.

• Official launch is tomorrow 22 Jan @ 5pm.

• Compact car on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:04 pm

6pm launching time in jb. Wonder when can start to test drive. Today’s launching is only for viewing.

• The official Mazda 2 launch is tomorrow 22 Jan @5pm in Glenmarie.

• i dono if anyone notice the missing of the red bar on the front grill

• BuRaIaN on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:49 am

Personally I think the Mazda 2 is the best looking hatch currently available, where else the Jazz would be the worst in terms of aesthetic appeal, or I would say no aesthetic appeal at all, personally.

• toyotabest on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:16 am

my vios trd sportivo will smoke you, its TRD u know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • nuged on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:44 pm

trd doesnt mean you have the best tune spec car.. u think ur car is good only because it is trd? haha.. very funny bro..

• Nauts on Jan 22, 2015 at 7:08 am

What’s the waiting period like? Want to book one for myself. Accept trade in of current car?

• nuged on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:45 pm

try open mudah.my or visit nearby mazda showroom.. maybe u can find some help.. they surely will help u.. :D

• December 2014 Auto Sales in the USA
    Mazda2 159 units
    Honda Fit(Jazz) 6450 units