2015 Perodua Myvi – 1.5 Advance vs 1.3 Premium X

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 01

It may seem like a lot to take in – providing you a non-stop coverage of the 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift. However, we can’t stress enough how important (not necessarily the best) this car is, being the nation’s top-seller for close to a decade since it first hit the roads in 2005. Major changes include a rebranding of its range, bringing it in line with the nomenclature adopted on the Perodua Axia.

Additions standard on all models include the addition of a two-motion remote control, a multi-info display with service info, a tissue holder at the back of the front passenger seat, an anti-theft hook for bags, a retractable cup holder under the driver’s right air-con vent and a multi-purpose compartment located beneath it.

Mechanically, it’s the same story except for the addition of a new 4 E-AT automatic transmission, touted to aid in improving fuel efficiency. The 1.3 Premium X is priced at RM47,500 while the 1.5 Advance goes for RM58,500, both OTR with insurance. Metallic paint adds on RM400.

To save you the trouble of having to compare the two cars on two separate tabs (ugh, such effort), we have assembled a comparison gallery of two of the range-toppers from both engine variants, the 1.3 Premium X and 1.5 Advance. The most glaring difference comes at the front with the 1.3 Premium X adopting a more conservative grille design as opposed to the gaping, mesh-honeycomb hybrid design on the 1.5 Advance.

The headlights on the 1.5 Advance are projector units with LED guide lights while the 1.3 Premium X makes do with reflectors – the pre-facelift variants had projectors as standard across the range. Moving on to the side, it should be noted that both models have 14-inch alloy wheels with different designs – the 1.3 has an eight-spoke design, the 1.5 with spiral-themed wheels.

A closer look also reveal that both engine variants are equipped with different tyres. The 1.3 Premium X gets Silverstone Powerblitz tyres – measuring 175/65 on all models. On the 1.5 Advance, Goodyear tyres are featured – the thread pattern resemble those on the Goodyear Duraplus but isn’t labelled as such.

2015_Perodua_Myvi_Facelift_Premium_X_vs_Advance_ 02

Smaller contrasting side details include side skirts with a chrome strip running across the ‘side blades’ on the 1.5 Advance while the 1.3 Premium X (lacking the skirts) has them fully painted to match the body colour. At the rear, a different spoiler design separates the two models with the 1.3 Premium X receiving a rounded spoiler compared to the more aggressive, contoured one found on the 1.5 Advance.

Clear LED rear lamp assemblies, a different diffuser and a chrome exhaust pipe are further additions that distinguish the 1.5 Advance model over the 1.3 Premium X. On the inside, the smaller-engined model gets basic fabric seats while the 1.5 comes equipped with semi-bucket seats trimmed in leather.

There is a possibility to go on and on about the difference but that’s missing the point of this gallery. For now, close that spreadsheet (when your boss isn’t looking), make yourself a hot drink and see for yourself all there is to decipher between these two.

2015 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X

2015 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• elson on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:07 pm

whatever premium x, super x, hyper x, super premium, maxx premium, advance, super advance , …etc still a myvi (small car)…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Good say. Whatever 7 airbags, tested in winter europe, ASEAN NCAP 5 stars, awesome punch CVT gearbox, Smart ppl get it bla bla bla… etc still a Proton.

People rather buy the Axia, Myvi, City or Vios, than the Proton. You can continue syok sendiri on how “awesome” Proton is, but you can’t deny the fact that no one bother to buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 75
      • Shin Hooi on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Yes smart people wont get Proton so call global car laa game changer laa 5 star safety car laa..
        This is all bull shit,as they never admit that the car full of problems!!
        Preve,Suprima S,Iriz,failure!!!

People want a good car to drive them around
        City,Vios or Almera is the choice.

Proud 2014 City owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 61
        • brass on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Where got full of problem? See those p1 on road moving fine everyday.

And today saw 2 myvi stalled, so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Euro Five on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:56 am

Long long ago used to be cute … now MYVI is so so boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:49 pm

I everyday saw Proton kwai dai at roadside, EVERYDAY!

When you mention the name, everyone know what to expect from their cars?

Even Proton technician said “Biasalah boss, ni Proton mah!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • sombong Toyota sales man on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Kamu beli proton untuk anak, tapi lu cakap proton take bagus ? Tak bagus apa pasal nak beli ? Cakap macam tahi saja.

• Albert on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:41 am

Shin Hooi,You notice double the negative clicks each time we touch on Proton.These hardcore Proton fanboys will click against your comments even when Proton is bankrupt,insolvent or defunct.They are on auto pilot to attack you and me as long as someone writes something on the mamak’s failed project.
          I give Proton 2 more years.If their sales drop to less than 70,000 units by end 20i6, DRB will stop national service and chuck Proton into the bottomless shithole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Suzanne Perodua Owner on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Yes buy Axia better than the failure car proton like iriz.

Got more money,you can get City or Jazz or Vios,all better than failure proton.

Axia SE owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
        • jesty on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Good sales figure doesn-t always mean it-s best car. I think you didn’t even read article above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • I proud u own Axia, but remind u to becareful on the road, don’t involve in accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • zapzapzai on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:55 am

hello, Hw dare u compare Axia with Iriz? Axia should sit a aside la if compare to Iriz. Dont talk here, pls go and try Iriz…then u try Axia.

• paulnut on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Pakcik Sam please explain why proton saga black color is always park outside your cheras apartment?. Dont support,beki juga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • So what are you trying to say?
        Perceprion is deceiving. Knowledege is power.
        Only people who dun read much follow hearsays

Read read read

• OMG…because of you, no one bother to buy Vios, Axia n Myvi.

• Samnut on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Sam, your 25 years old son Shin Hooi now learn to bullshitttt like you. Cemerlang juga.

• same loow on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Manusia berhati busuk…apa dosa proton dengan kamu…apa juga review by paultan mesti nak kena bash proton…what the point of you? Doing same thing and repeat same words pointing negative of proton…its make ur daily life happy?

• He is Japanese stooges

• busuk on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:18 am

Bukan proton je..apa saje dari melayu, MEREKA akan serang dan boikot..

keTAMAKan menguasai diri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • jacksonljs on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:50 pm

please forgive him lorr… probably because he’s one of the Proton victim (like others also, but still some are happy with Proton also) or just a UMW Toyota ‘friendly’ sales advisor that suffer bad sales figure due to many potential customers pissed off with low safety spec offered with his products (or have to top up extra money to get ‘safety package’). Even nowadays, most ‘Malaysian-made’ Toyota quality is like ‘new jamban’ (smells nice just for few days), in other words, build quality are going down tremendously.

• Perodua moving backwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • poorton on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Couldnt agree more. Iriz wins in the safety spec list. Which should be on the top of the list for anyone considering a new car.

Myvi is really not improving in any areas. Its pretty much the same car plus refinements from 10 years of facelifting..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:29 pm

cmon , enough of this , there life outside of myvi u know !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • relaxlabro.. on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Relax la bro.. You may not find this useful, but to the many thousands out there who are thinking of buying a Myvi, this story is invaluable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • tacap on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:02 pm

i don’t thing there is any value. you read the spec sheet of first myvi in 2005, you already have almost all info about this ‘new’ myvi.

only tacap-tacap (touch up) here and there, play around in circle. no new thing at all.

• Tampah satu cup holder boleh dpt 4 stars aseancap, byk org puji. Ini menunjuk org ramai punya otak tidak fungsi sempurna

• eric_ocy (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:29 pm

First thing first, they seriously need to improve their air cond, I was going to get one but on their launching day I went for test drive, what I can say is just one word, HOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • denso on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:02 pm

You better move live to Cameron Highlands. No need aircons when driving. Salem cool planets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • eric_ocy (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:32 pm

This was my review after my test drive, I went to P2 at dato keramat penang to test drive, I drive quiteca big round around komtar and went back, the car still wasn’t cold enough, back passenger will much more agree with me i think. Now I start to understand why so many myvi user tint their car heavily. Another thing was the seat adjuster, it was so soft that I almost mistakenly broke it, don’t believe? Try out yourself. The gear knob was position at nice place, but hey, come on la… It’s to tiny… Not all of myvi user are female okay… The fabric seat was like made from sponge, it was too soft, compare with any other car like sylphy or altis, their seat was like sofa, so for myvi i prefer leather seat because it seems better. Reverse camera was the most disappointed thing, the resolution are just like 320×240! Even my after market reverse camera which cost me only RM150 was way better, like 1.3MP quality. And the reverse camera guidline was fake, wasn’t even moving like the one which found in Alphard. So I assume that the reverse camera was only around RM50 and below, cheap thing, what I can say is I’m very interested in this Myvi Advance before it launch and I was planning to straight away buy one at Thursday when it launch, but everything changed after they give me a test drive. What I can say is… I wouldn’t compare with Iriz, because I’m still a typical malaysian who have not much confidence in p1, I think I won’t mind to pay another rm15k for Honda Jazz with lower spec but better quality. RM15k over 5-9 years of installment only cost around RM150 extra monthly only right? Just my comment about this car. Some may like my comment some may not. But what I can say are different people different point of view, that’s it. Thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Annoynimouse on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:14 am

That my friend, is global warming.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Reason why Hafriz must buy Myvi:
    – less headache, less stress
    – no need wasting unpaid leave MC for repairs & updates nonsense
    – proven fuel economy
    – proven smooth gearbox
    – proven Daihatsu, Toyota quality
    – proven not made in Bangladesh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 50
  • lolipop on Jan 20, 2015 at 1:56 pm

how many more Myvi FL story you want to post?? Please count how many tyres myvi have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • takNakP1 on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:05 pm

i believe striping out all those unnecessary face lifting and reduce the price to below 40k would sell more than all these unnecessary plastic surgery.

why ppl buy Myvi or Viva? because there is only a few options in the market that is below 50k.

paultan.org – i believe your extensive coverage for Myvi face lift is doing more damage to P2 than good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • lembut on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm

so, how much paultan.org being paid by p2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • ape la... on Jan 20, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Ape la.. Last time paultan cover Iriz, said they’re being paid. Now cover Myvi, also say paid to do it.

These are two important Malaysian car launches. PT is a Malaysian car website. What’s wrong with giving coverage to local cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
  • Tired of seeing this again and again. Please publish more on the new offers and promotions for CNY by other makes too.

• Joker on Jan 20, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Oh wow.. the 1.3X variant is so ugly it didnt looked normal at all… wat a failure of a facelift…
    n wat a failure of a drive train..

• Josh Ling on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:09 pm

the front of 1.3 model is plain ugly and appeared afterthought! and the whole range of myvi screams cost-cutting like never before…..my least favorite perodua cars of recent years.

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Wow. RM 47-58k for this pile of nuts and bolts. At current interest rates, you’ll be paying RM450-550 a month. Listen here, if you’re a first time car buyer, or interested in buying one of these, read carefully:

1. You want a new car? Go test-drive the Myvi/Iriz/Saga/Whatever and then test-drive the following:
    – Ford Fiesta (70-80k, 650-800/mth)
    – Honda Jazz 1.5 CKD (73k, 700/mth)
    – Kia Rio 1.4 (72-78k, 7-750/mth)
    – Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage (55-70k, 500-700/mth)
    – Suzuki Swift GLS (65k, 650/mth)

These are outside the Mazda2/City/Vios range which will run you around 8-900/mth brand new.

2. Once you test-drive the other alternatives, make a fair comparison of the build quality of the Myvi.

3. Perodua and Proton overprice their cars and take advantage of opaque information provided to car buyers in Malaysia. The actual sum of parts for Myvi hovers at RM25-30k. Bear in mind that the national carmakers pay much lower tax. You will get a lot better for your hard-earned money by buying something else.

4. Perodua and Proton (lesser-so)’s grip on the car market has distorted car prices, including the 2nd-hand car market. This is why a 5-year old Toyota/Honda are still more expensive than a Myvi. This should be as clear as day – the value of a 5yearold, 60 month old car with 60-100k km of mileage is higher than a brand new Myvi. This should give a clear indication on the value of a Myvi.

5. High 2ndhand car prices indirectly lead to millions of Malaysians only being able to afford motorcycles, which raises their chance of accidents and deaths by 1000%, which is why Malaysia has among the highest road fatalities worldwide. Are you willing to support this by purchasing a national car?

6. National cars are not symbols of progress. Outside Japan, Korea, USA and Germany, no other country has a significant presence in car manufacturing anymore. We are wasting billions of RM in taxpayer money by purchasing national cars and allowing these companies to survive. We should be focusing on our competitive advantages, not throwing 10-15% of GDP at a hopeless car manufacturing business.

7. The 2ndhand car market provides thousands of alternatives at half the cost of a new Myvi. Especially for first-time buyers, please do not load yourself with a huge loan on a pile of garbage from the national carmakers.

8. Lastly, despite all the marketing and advertising, the Myvi is utter rubbish. The Nissan Almera is the only worse car in the car market. I can assure you, you will realise this fact after test-driving other options.

The Proton Iriz and all its cousins in the Proton range are the worst passenger vehicles on the face of planet earth. This is not an exaggeration, but a fact in the world car market. Think of it this way: Myvi>Almera>>>>Iriz>>>>>>>whatever other junk Proton produces.

Please, do not buy a pile of rubbish for more than RM 50,000. If 2nd hand, RM25k, go ahead.

Think before you buy. You can make a difference. Share this with all Malaysian car buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 30
    • Mat Smarty on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Wah so clever one can know actual cost of Proton & Perodua. You must be working with their Finance department? Can know how much material cost, how long P1/2 ammortise their capital expenditures, manufacturing costs, costs paid as consultancy service/royalties/sales and marketing, costs paid to subsidise the loan interest rate, etc etc. Waaa so clever one la? So lucky la read Paultan mingle mingle with all the smartasses here.

• junkard on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:02 pm

So do you believe him?
        I believe he is a kid just coming back from school

Ollie kiddo, better to do your homework ok, not wasting time here bs like uncle same lorrrr

• thedarkside on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:13 pm

that blue car is one of the fastest production car in the world. with new spoiler it might be able to beat the world record set by bugatti

• Please paultan & co. no test drive review after this. Everytime got new FL sure got test drive report. Myvi 2005 = Myvi 2015. No need report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Observer on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:58 pm

But but…I’m still waiting for comprehensive test drive review of Axia…. still no invitation from P2 for media test drive?? What are they trying to hide?

• sastut on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:12 am

that’s the point. P2 usually makes small thing sound grand, e.g., advertising 1 full-colored page in mainstream newspaper to highlight anti snatch hook and retractable cup holder, and a press conference to inform that myvi has achieved 4 star (only). but for the real deal, which is axia, why so afraid to give this car to journalist for test drive?

something to hide? but still got people want to buy this car. this make me confident that most (majority) buyer, especially 200 000 in this year really need education about car safety and tech. not just buying the hearsay, etc……….

• honest on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:43 am

Please improve the engine
    7 speed.fuel efficient.vehicle stability.etc

• Arshrarf on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:21 am

P2 same like Toyota nowadays, u buy the name not the specs. Proud only with the emblem nothing else…

• Too bad the iriz auto is equip with lauzi transmission. If not Iriz seriously will outsales the myvi. Sad proton not smart enough. Build a decent car but fail at the most important thing – the enjoyment of driving the car.

• myvi owner on Mar 08, 2015 at 4:06 am

i bought the new myvi and i’m proud to say its a good car. Fuel efficiency is 380km for 30-32 litres (ron97). Power wise not bad since its 1.5. Eventhough its limited to 170kmh pickup better than vios. Feels good on highway. Downside is that the suspension is too soft to my liking for a 1.5l car. But the car looks awesome. Suitable for heavy traffic city drive. Easy to park. Oh and the girls likes it :-)

• YellowMellow on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Hikhikhik.. myvi owner.. i got vios n new myvi 1.3 x.. my vios almost 10 yrs.. still no prob to speeding till 190kmh.. still pick up.. full tank can go around 650km 4 long distance wit speed 120-140kmh n in town can go within 550km.. but myvi still good car 4 send ur kid goin to school..hehe peace yo..

• I am looking for Myvi, but don’t know choose which model? 1.3 xtreme don’t like at the back side, 1.5 don’t like the front side (facelift). Anyone can give me some idea?

• Just some people on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Haizz…. Safety how good also once accident sure become chapati. You know Malaysian driving style. Where got follow rules punya.

• Clive Williams on Oct 24, 2015 at 2:18 am

The new Myvi looks superb,but when are you going to sell it in the UK?

• Nur Jamiatun Syahida on Jul 03, 2018 at 6:37 am

kat mana ada jual myvi lama ni lagi sebelum myvi 2018 tu