Honda CR-V facelift launched in Malaysia – new 2.0L 2WD, 2.0L 4WD and 2.4L 4WD, from RM139,800

2015_Honda_CR-V_2.4_4WD_facelift_Malaysia_ 062

No short of attention on the upcoming Honda HR-V, which is launching soon in Malaysia after being introduced in Indonesia and Thailand, so this may come as a surprise to many. Honda Malaysia has pulled the wraps off big brother Honda CR-V facelift, the mid-size SUV segment leader here.

The fourth-generation Honda CR-V has been in town since March 2013, with the range topping 2.4L introduced in July that year. The Honda CR-V facelift surfaced in the US late last year, which makes this local introduction a swift one, in relation to both the local car’s cycle and the MMC’s first appearance.

We have so far seen the US, European and Thai versions of the CR-V facelift, and ours match the latter two versions in terms of looks – US-market SUVs usually get a steeper approach angle for fuel economy rating reasons.
2015 Honda CR-V-18
It’s a pretty distinct one as facelifts go, with the appearance of Honda’s latest “Solid Wing Face” graphic and headlights that now feature integrated LED daytime running lights. The lower front apron also gets some new chrome highlights and a silver lip.

At the back, the tail light internals have been revised, new chrome trim has been added to the tailgate above the number plate recess, and the rear bumper has been squared off and features a new silver underguard and rear fog lamps. You also won’t miss the new turbine design wheels – 17s for the 2.0L, 18s for 2.4L.

The dimensions are largely similar (1,820 mm wide, 1,685 mm tall, 2,620 mm wheelbase), but length has grown by 45 mm to 4,590 mm due to chunkier bumpers. Boot capacity is 589 litres, expandable to 1,146 litres with the rear seats folded, measured up to the window line. Two mountain bikes or four sets of golf clubs will fit, and collapsing the seats is a single-motion affair via levers on the boot wall.
2015 Honda CR-V-17
Two variants were offered previously; now there’s three – 2.0L 2WD, 2.0L 4WD and 2.4L 4WD. The 2.0L 2WD is the new one, channeling drive from an unchanged 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC motor (155 PS at 6,500 rpm/190 Nm at 4,300 rpm) to the front wheels via a five-speed automatic gearbox.

Same R20A/5AT powertrain for the 2.0L 4WD, but with the addition of Real Time 4WD that channels torque to the rear axle when needed. Honda claims fuel consumption of 13 km/l for the 2.0L 2WD and 12.25 km/l for the 2.0L 4WD.

The 2.4L 4WD is powered by a DOHC i-VTEC unit that makes 190 PS at 7,000 rpm and 222 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The carry-over motor is also paired to a five-speed automatic with steering paddles. Claimed FC is 11.78 km/l. This means that besides the addition of the entry-level 2WD variant, there’s no change to the engine/gearbox lineup, unlike the Thai-market car, which gets a 2.4 litre Earth Dreams engine (from the Accord) paired to a CVT.

New features include Honda LaneWatch, which displays a visual of the left lane on the central screen once you flick the indicator. As found in the Accord, it can be turned on manually via a button on the right stalk.

LaneWatch is only for the 2.4L, which also exclusively gets a seven-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation (6.1-inch previously) and HDMI connectivity. Other 2.4-only toys are auto headlamps and wipers, steering paddles and curtain airbags for a total of six. Chrome door handles and 18-inch rims mark it out.

Buyers of the 2.0L get a lot more than before. Standard across the board are HID headlamps, LED DRLs, keyless entry (new fob) and push start, steering buttons (audio and cruise control, now with chrome outline), Bluetooth hands-free, auto-dimming rear view mirror, eight-way powered driver’s seat and dual-zone auto air con. The 2.0L 4WD gets all of the above while adding on leather seats and seven-inch touchscreen audio (without navigation).

2015 Honda CR-V-02

Safety wise, the five-star ASEAN NCAP car gets four airbags (six for the 2.4), ABS, EBD, Vehicle Stability Assist, Hill Start Assist, ISOFIX child seat mounts and a reverse camera (multi-angle for 4WD variants).

We noticed some trim differences not listed in press materials. The dashboard area facing occupants is now soft touch with faux leather stitching, similar to that on the new City V. Also changed on the 2.4 is the wood trim (from a greyish tone to brown, silver for the 2.0) and metallic highlights on the storage area between the front seats and rear AC surrounds. The panel around the gear knob is now in black for all, as is gloss black for the AC panel.

The CR-V facelift starts from RM139,800 OTR with insurance for the 2.0L 2WD, rising to RM150,800 for the 2.0L 4WD. The 2.4L is yours for RM169,800. To compare, the pre-facelift 2.0L 4WD was priced at RM148,800, the 2.4L RM169,800.

As usual for Honda, there are a couple of add-on packages for the CR-V that include Modulo parts – Aero (RM6,000), Elegant (RM4,500), Utility (RM3,000) and Urban (RM2,650) – and you can see what they include in the pics below. The same five colours have been carried over. You can view full specs of the CR-V plus details on the optional packages on CarBase.my.

2015 Honda CR-V 2.4 4WD

2015 Honda CR-V 2.0 4WD with Modulo accessories
2015 Honda CR-V 2.0 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:50 am

price reduction with more tech/spec…good. Although after GST6%, the price will be back to higher…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:15 pm

With Crv latest price hoping Hrv will price be lower then 100k.

Thianks MAI heavy taxes !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
      • Victor Hugo on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:46 pm

This CRV design looks like the Hunchback of Notredame….. rear half looks like dragging a heavy and bulky butt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 275
          • mr.nami on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:16 pm

hah lawak….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Whatever on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:25 pm

You’re just one hypocrite selfish racist dude

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:13 am

What can you buy with that little 8% discount?

Better ask government instruct Proton to give 50% discount for Bumiputera! As Proton slogan: Betul2 Onz!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
      • Pinky on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Did honda fixed the 4WD issue with this facelift yet? Else, you are just spending 10k more for the “AWD” sign at the back of your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Actually the reduction is because the CRV has had such bad sales. Nobody touching the CRV. Everybody decided to boycott the CRV and buy the CX-5. So much cheaper at RM135k and with so many more airbags and higher spec. CRV sales have been close to ZERO. That is why you see a reduction in price.

But the Government is yet to honour their promise.

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! See VW and Toyota for example. All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. They blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? By right, the CRV at RM139,000 with 30% off, it should be RM97,000. Still very expensive considering in the US, the car with higher spec and a 2.5 engine with 9 airbags cost US$22,000.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 33
    • slk3879 on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:03 pm

More tech? The engine and gearbox that we are getting is still the same, again like the HR-V, we get lower spec car comparing to our neighbour.

Price Reduction? the facelifted 2.0L AWD is more expensive!!!

Seems like the promise by gov to reduce the car price is one thing, what actually happens is another

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • waaahhhh…… noticed in one of the photos that nose-digging front passenger :-0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • So many new gadget for 2.0 with even lower price! Good move! Unfortunately, the ride was really bumpy.. and its really underpowered for 2.0..

If you want, get the 2.4 for power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:04 pm

The lower price comes with only 2wd.

The AWD version is actually more expensive.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:57 am

Wow, I did say previously that the 2WD CRV would come soon, but this is waaay too soon contrary to many, I never found the front to be any ugly but the rear really is terrible. The face-lift did improve the front, but the rear Is still rather unnerving to the eyes. Interior wise, well it’s stated that the material quality has improved, but there doesn’t seem to be any cosmetic upgrade.

Feature wise it’s bumped slightly. Safety still remains status quo but the inclusion of dual zone aircond and powered seats is a nice welcome. The 2wd is a real welcome being a whole easier in the wallet in price and running cost.

Overall, the usual comments of how a CX5 is better will come, but having sat in both I find the CRV more comfortable but gutless while the cx5 filled with performance but slightly too cramp at the back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 21
    • MitchelJohn on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:05 pm

I find it hard to pick the CX-5 for these 2 reasons only

– kinda upright angle seats for the rear passengers
      – no rear aircond (expected at this segment though)

The rest i agree with you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • AVH (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:42 pm

I’ve sat both 2.4l CRV and a 2.0l CX-5, thou the latter was for a very brief moment. The CX-5 does feel very eager, thou the gear change could be better thou, the CRV, well I was at Bukit Jalil back than, and it seems to soak up the bumps very well…well much better than the CX-5 for example.

In the end of the day, the CX-5 has curtain airbags, which is reserved for the near RM170k 2.4l variant and is much better looking even for me. But the CRV has much better interior feature, and is more practicaal for family usage. Talking to owners why they chose it over a CX5, it has always been because of tthe space. Both are great cars, but the CX-5 has it suited up for young adults or bechalor use while the CRV is a much more family oriented car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 16
      • Conclusion:

Khawin > CRV
        Belum Khawin > CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
      • Rosly on Apr 22, 2015 at 2:24 pm

The same reason why the CX5 is expelled from my list.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:57 pm

cx5 is jus smaller interior wise…id choose the SantaFe with that awesome 2.2 diesel…better looking(subjective) but that engine jus transforms the car the same way that 2.0 in the crv totally lets the car down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • yup, the santa fe 2.2 diesel’s 440nm of torque is soo powerful compared to the CRV pathetic 220nm(2.4ivtec) or worse the 190nm (2.0ivtec). U gotta to try the santa fe diesel…soo effortless torquey beast! and frugal too (14km/l)!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:11 pm

if space is really an issue…go for the kia sorento….a car which nobody remembers about sadly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • AVH (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Thats a huge jump in size… and also size.

At near RM160k The Sorento is a good buy when you compare it to the CRV 2.4l. But I dont think anyone in the market for a 2.0l FWD CX-5 or CRV will really be looking at it.

Also reply to nabill up there, same thing, the Santa Fe, like its cousin the Sorento, is a large car, to large for some. And the price its competing is actually against the CRV 2.4 not the FWD 2.0l CRV. Also 2-airbags, which is a bummer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Strictly in terms of pricing, the 2.0 FWD CX5 & CRV will face-off against Sportage & Tucson. (140k)

• Translator on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Sorento in Cantonese means “Sor Lun Tou” …. i.e Stupid Dick Arrives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
  • MitchelJohn on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Smart move there Honda, releasing the new model right after Nissan’s new X-trail

Top Model CRV: 6 airbags
    Top Model X-trail: 2 Airbags

Now people would definitely go for the CRV for safety reasons or tone it down with the new CX-5 in April.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Gotta spend more on safety though, everyone must opt for the 2.4l model if they want the full safety list. Honestly they should have added 6 airbags in the 2.0l 4WD version and it’ll be one of the best SUV’s out there – period.

• dr.terror on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:02 pm

good move from honda, more features with competitive price, 2.0l 2WD will sell like hot cake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Shame we don’t get the 9 speed auto that other markets got with this face lift, the 2.0 really could use the extra ratios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • At last, Honda decided to join the RM130k – RM140k SUV battle. This is getting really intense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:21 pm

good job, but the cx-5 is still a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 26
  • Stanley Free Makan on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:21 pm

If I book it now will I get free stuff? I want free petrol, free road tax, free insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • If want practicality go for CRV. If want performance go for CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:55 pm

nice n solid choice,although i just read a review of the crv with 9 speed auto in the UK!

• 5+2 seater should be great….Honda add this feature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • kushboo on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Lucky my f did not buy crv last month. Now going to sell cx5 and buy new 2.4 crv. Very nice update. I like the shape. I love it. Can come for ride with me soo .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:20 pm

This shows the government has been keeping its promise to reduce the car without compromising its features

wonderful news to all new carowners looking for a new family car, more so when CNY is coming. These price reductions and the pricing for CRV will help the low and middle income group to get the car of their dreams and at least give them a feel good factor in these difficult times.

Well done Government!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 94
  • Kushboo on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

great cvar.

• the LED DRL looks gorgeous, more mommy will fall in love with its front look, space and practicality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • MimpiDunia on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:15 pm

WHATTTTTT!! we dont get the eathdreams enjin&CVT??? HONDA MALAYSIA got too many old engine stock arr?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • umw_SUCKS on Jan 21, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Watch and learn, UMW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Is the earth dreams engine with cvt better or this carry over engine with auto 5 speed? I would have thought the earth dream engine + cvt is superior to the present setup. Thank you.

• Good cosmetic but old heart.

Wish to have EarthDream engine with direct injection and CVT (like in US/Thailand market)— Reading review- it is the best fuel economy. Much better than this one. BUT… no paddle shift. I’ll waiting with this one with paddle shift. (If I’m patient enough!– otherwise CX5 is my choice)

Current engine and 5 speed — way too old technology.. about 20years old technology. It is ancient. Even korea brand already move to 6 speed… What happen Honda Malaysia? Try to cheat the customer again!! (Previous one is on 5k service interval)

Leather seat – I hope it is full leather rather than half leather like in Civic 2.0 FD2. Mine one, the non-leather portion is torn. My old proton Waja (Mits engine) leather seat and My MyVi leather seat is way more reliable and better.

• And they are AWD not 4WD.

• Berann on Jan 21, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Good move by Honda. New variant with RM 9k cheaper yet loaded with many new features HID/Push Start & keyless/Power seats/Dual zone/etc..This can only happen to Toyota in DREAMS!. I can say CX-5 and CR-V equally value for money now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:57 pm

cx-5 2.0 comes with auto light, headlamp washers, rain sensors, gps navigation, 6 airbags, better performance and better fuel consumption….crv has improved, but not equal yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • still remember the road bully man using honda crv.. the wiper man n ludah man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Josh Ling on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:07 pm

so happy to see the 2wd version being released in malaysia. this is the combo that the previous gen direly needs. i believe it will improve the underpower situation, fuel consumption and bumpiness when driving.

can’t wait for a test drive!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • X-file on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

CR-V facelift starts from RM139,800 OTR
    X-trail 2015 starts from?
    TC headache now

• Vezel Fan on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:29 pm

TC really scratching head kaw-kaw. Heard launching next week, same date as Lexus NX on 29th.
      With only 2 airbags, really hard to sell even with 7 seats.
      Small family will not interested. Rather get CR-V 2.0 FWD; same as X-trail 2.0 (without 4×4).
      Looks like X-trail only worth around RM135k OTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Why is the front passenger seat of the 2.4 model not electric…..
    it should be electric and driver should include memory…

since we dont have an engine n gearbox update…

• shawal on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:21 pm

those 1 pull reclining bench is cool….and i bet a costly option to install… the operation loooks cool too…

but I’d rather have reclininng (and sliding) rear benches….

• Josh Ling on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:09 am

news flash: that one pull reclining bench is standard, not an optional extra. and it’s super duper brilliant design, i must say. my no.1 favorite feature of the pre-facelift current crv.

• shawal on Jan 22, 2015 at 11:06 am

I know its not an extra added on…

Its a factory fitted item ,but i’m sure its not cheap compare to traditional benches…
        execution is brilliant

however

rear occupants would prefer a reclining bench during a long haul

• x-city on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:08 pm

facelift never cure UGLY…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • stupid msian cars on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Pricing in Msia is still freaking high and expensive. Madness….no matter how much effort Honda has put in but it is still overpriced with lesser and lower specs. Idiotic systems with idiotic pricing.

• TheDean on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Besides the drl, i cant really tell the difference pre- and post facelift.

• all i can say is this car looks weird, no different with rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • The People's Voice on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:59 pm

>>HONDA<>X-Trail<< New looks, New Heart, Better Engine + CVT Gearbox, BUT just because of 2 Airbags and Low RV = Troll

Conclusion: Brand is everything.

• The People's Voice on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Correction on comment:Honda comes with new facelift but 5 speed and old engine, people thumbs up because is Honda, High RV; but New X-Trail with Twin CVTC Engine + X-tronic CVT Gearbox, better design, better safety features like Chasis Control, BUT because of only 2 airbags + Low RV, peoples keep trolling.
      Brand is everything. Malaysian buy thing just because Branded, didn’t compare spec wisely.

• Honda suspension too bumpy, don’t know why lot of people praise Honda – is a piece of shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Back from Honda Show Room…

Interested on CRV 2.4 BUT….
    1) Old Engine vs Thailand Dream Earth Engine (Higher Torque at low RPM)
    2) 5 Speed/paddle shift – old transmission vs CVT/Paddle Shift (Honda Thailand)
    3) Half-leather and PU hand rest at window— mix with PU. Bad experience on Civic FD2 –> PU torn just after 6 year and very expensive repair. (SHAME ON YOU HONDA MALAYSIA !!!)
    4) No cover at center storage ( very bad design !!)

… the rest is fantastic.

Conclusion… Since I’m at no rush situation. I’ll definitely either waiting for the true upgrade or will go for CX5 (waiting for new upgrade) or New Nissan X-trail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • The People's Voice on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:49 pm

True Story, thanks for reminding the rest!
      5 speed? New X Trail interior is my home more elegance look than CRV, with much more Safety features, although only 2 airbags..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • For me, 5 speed auto is more than sufficient compared to 4 speed auto like toyota. 5 speed auto and CVT 6 speed driving at 110km/h is at 2100-2200rpm. Both are the same. Since it’s a family car, you wouldn’t need more than 5 speed.

But of course CVT is much more advance and i agree Honda should put CVT in CRV. But this is just a facelift. They have their own target customers. Comparing to those who bought toyota cars with 4 speed auto..itu lagi useless.

Although I’m interested in this new CRV, but I will pass and wait for the 5th gen CRV.

• Fh006 on May 31, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Don’t be fool with Honda leather seat… itu only quarter leather and the rest is pvc. The PVC portion cannot stand our Malaysia weather. My civic fd2 seat ruin on pvc portion just after 3 years of usage. It looks so ugly. It cause me headache as it is very costly to replace because I have to replace all the seat.

I swear will not not even consider buying honda if it is not truely full leather.

SHAME ON YOU HONDA… YOU CHEAT ME !!!!

• Don’t buy CRV 2015 . A/C got burning smell…. Honda Malaysia can’t solve this problem…

• Elchino on Feb 23, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Facelift to get rid of old stocks before launching the 1.5 turbo CRV?