2015 Nissan X-Trail launched in Malaysia, from RM143k

2015_Nissan_X-Trail_Malaysia_ 001

Previewed back in December, the new Nissan X-Trail has officially gone on sale – the third-gen iteration of the mid-size SUV was launched a while ago at Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s (ETCM) new Nissan 3S centre in Glenmarie, Shah Alam.

The X-Trail – which premiered in Frankfurt in 2013 – makes its local debut in 2.0 litre and 2.5 litre forms, both CKD locally-assembled. The vehicle sits on Renault-Nissan Alliance’s Common Module Family (CMF) platform, and from a design perspective, is a marked step away from its predecessors’ boxy and conservative shapes.

The base X-Trail is powered by a 2.0 litre mill, and the new Twin CVTC MR20DD direct injection unit is good for 144 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. As for the 2.5 litre, the QR25DE-k2 lump has 171 PS at 6,000 rpm and 233 Nm at 4,000 rpm for output numbers.

The engines are paired with the automaker’s latest Xtronic CVT gearbox with ECO mode and a seven-speed manual mode, a feature absent in both B17 Sylphy and L33 Teana CVT sedans. As for drive configurations, the 2.0 is 2WD or front-wheel drive, while the 2.5 litre model is shod with Nissan’s All Mode Intelligent 4X4-i system.

The latter offers three drive modes – two-wheel drive, Auto Mode (which automatically changes torque distribution between front and rear wheels when driving on paved or slippery roads) and 4WD Lock Mode (50:50) for permanent four-wheel drive. Operation is selectable via a knob on the centre console.

The SUV features an Active Chassis Control package that includes Active Ride Control, Active Engine Brake and Active Trace Control functions. Active Ride Control controls engine torque as well as braking to moderate pitching motion on bumpy roads, while Active Engine Brake tells the Xtronic CVT to add a degree of engine braking when cornering or coming to a stop.

As for Active Trace Control, that automatically applies small amounts of braking to the individual wheels during cornering to reduce understeer – the system engages at any point in the corner, whether at entry, mid-corner or exit. Both variants feature Hill Start Assist (for slopes above 5%), and the 2.5 litre 4WD variant gets Hill Descent Control (only in 4WD Lock mode, speed locked between 4-15 km/h).

The new X-Trail features a 5+2 seating configuration, and the small, contingency third-row seats – which come with three-point seat belts – can of course be flat folded 50:50 into the floor. Folded as such, boot space is 550 litres, and with both third and second-row 60:40 split seats folded flat, cargo carrying space increases to 1,520 litres. A compartment under the boot floor keeps the tonneau cover in place when needed.

In terms of equipment, the 2.0 2WD gets daytime running lights, automatic (halogen) headlamps, keyless entry with push start ignition and dual-zone climate control (with rear vents). There’s also an Advance Drive Assist Display (five-inch colour display, between the dials), steering buttons, leather steering/shift knob, cruise control as well as Nissan’s Around View Monitor and a reverse camera.

The 2.5 4WD has all the above, and adds on LED headlamps, leather seats, a 10-way powered driver’s seat and four-way powered passenger seat as well as auto wipers. The variant also features a different panel finishing (in fake carbon fibre, while the 2.0 2WD has silver/grey trim).

As for safety kit, both variants are equipped with dual-airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, Vehicle Dynamics Control, Hill Start Assist and Isofix on top of the Active Chassis Control components mentioned above. Both X-Trail versions get identical 17-inch wheels and 225/65 rubber, meaning that the only way to differentiate them externally is via the headlamps (halogen vs LED).

Five colours are available, these being Tungsten Silver, Titanium Olive, Graphite Blue, Brilliant White and Diamond Black. Finally, pricing – the new Nissan X-Trail is priced at RM142,800 for the 2.0L 2WD and RM165,800 for the 2.5L 4WD (on-the-road, with insurance). An optional TCAT Multimedia Navigation unit can be had for RM3,800. The X-Trail comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first) as well as free three-year maintenance service.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Finally got 5+2 seating configuration.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm

ETCM why ckd cost RM 143k ???

Total let down on after great fixture on Sylphy and Teana, WHY following UMW “moving backward”????

Another dissapointed, only waiting heavy discount on ETCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
      • Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Government is yet to honour their promise.
        More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.
        More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! See VW and Toyota for example.

All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. They blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? By right, the X Trail at RM143,000 with 30% off, it should be RM97,000. Still very expensive considering in the US, the X Trail CBU car with higher spec and a better engine with 9 airbags cost US$22,000.

In Malaysia, we get the CKD for 3 times the global price of the X Trail. How come? CKD should be cheaper!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 51
        • tatak untong on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Cars are expensive in Malaysia because of our tax structure on vehicles. A car tax can be between 100% to 300% depending on the model and engine capacity.
          What PR promised to reduce was from the tax which include import tax, sales tax and excise duty.
          Where else BN promised to get the dealers to reduce their selling price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Not this same (lorr) shit again!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 183
        • nicolas on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:22 am

come on , dont be shallow . should ask the goverment to bring down all housing and vehicle cost for all malaysian , not for bumi only . i can be benefited from your suggestion but i want to b fair and not let the rich b richer .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
          • Lol he’s clearly being sarcastic. And that’s a good one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Hyundai and kia suv has this for many years.

• ntah.. on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:32 am

I rather trade those 2 seats for more airbags

• Peter on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:18 am

CRV fighter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • kenny on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Are you sured?
      CRV : 2WD@139k, 4 air bags, 5 years maintenance free
      Xtrail : 2WD@ 143k, 2 air bags, 3 years maintenance free

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
      • sure or not CRV 5 years maintenance free or 5 years warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Dashboard design, material
        Active Safety ModeSSSSS
        5+2 seat
        Seriously, I feel X Trail Interior design are so much nicer than CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Bang Toyib on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Am a poor man, but i want to dream owning a nissan x-trail. Just.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Unfortunately nope. With the current spec (2 airbags), the 2WD CRV will walk all over it.

The small +2 isn’t going to help Nissan much.

TCM sure made a big boo boo after the good run with the fully airbag’ed Slyphy and Teanna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Who needs airbags? on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:20 pm

The number of Airbags does not determine 100 survival rate for its passengers. So why the big “Hu-ha!” over the two airbags when the new Xtrail clearly comes with a better engine than CRV and has the safety features to actually prevent the accidents from happening in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 62
        • chipper on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Even if the safety features do prevent accidents from happening at the first place, can it prevent other cars from slamming into the side of your vehicles with your loved ones at the back passenger seats? i would rather have some features like side airbags and curtain airbags as safety options….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzOCzESlLlY

Here is a demonstration of a side impact with and without side airbags. You decide which has a higher chance of survival.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 128
    • Dump'it on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:49 am

You can dump your triple ‘O'(Old,Outdated,Obsolete) Fortuner at the scrap or junkyard, like you did to the kimchi cars!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
      • So true..toyota fortuner is wayyy behind compare to this new xtrail, not only that spec wise fortuner is wayyy behind other large suv ie pajero sport and even worst santa fe n kia sportage is better value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • dugongx on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Fortuner is what I call the double hailat. It is basically a hilux with full roof but at double the price. Whenever i see a fortuner I will surely overtake to see which sohai feller bought this junk at almost 200k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Josh Ling on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:24 am

rather impressive spec sheet, but i think it will still remain as a non-major choice. don’t think cr-v has much to worry about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
  • bujingyun on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:25 am

cant beat crv..in my opinion..in all aspects

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 57
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:41 am

It only has 2 good stuff in there – ALl View Monitor and that handy extra 2 child seats and yes child seats without that extra airbags to save them if the worse happened.

As for the new CRV…cheaper a bit in 2WD form and has powered driver seat, HID lights and Hill Start Assist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • do we get the Auto Lift Gate feature?

• Walaueh on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:41 am

Wow..superb!!! The new Xtrail is flawless and features nifty toys that the Teana and Sylphy didn’t. Great job apek TCM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
  • CRV and CX-5 will still be more popular with CRV leading in terms of sales. Although X-trail will steal some sales but not much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
  • X-file on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:54 am

official price 143K for 2WD, then need to see belakang TC can give how much discount.. below 140k?

• Please bring in Qashqai and Juke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Short on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:09 pm

And stop the sales of both Latio Sedan and Hatch..or it had been phased out?

• Josh Ling on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:33 pm

they are still on sale. asked one SC before and he said latio and almera are slightly different, and latio actually is wider a bit inside, so they deem it is appropriate to keep producing them.

• Phased out, whatever remaining now is old stock I reckon.. Qashqai & Juke… Don’t think it’ll see the light of day in Malaysia (officially) anytime soon..

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Juke will be good, qashqai will be almost as lost and the Toyota rush.

• Danny on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:03 pm

hahahaha……….

• wendy on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:05 pm

2airbags? good luck nissan, same fate as mitsubishi asx n subaru xv, give a lot of discount also nobody buy, u try tobook cx5 and guess when will u get your car, same goes to honda hrv 6airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:59 pm

CX-5 is the best buy, but then again, I see Mazda Malaysia is getting more and more arrogant and ignorant about their customers.
      One day, CX-5 will have only 2 airbags without ESP just like Toyota, if the sale figure continues to peak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • brazbuz on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:10 pm

spec by spec (2wd version), crv win on safety and x trail on drivability perhaps?

• 2 airbags and 5″ display for the 2.5L ??? Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Spore, Indonesia and Thai all get the auto liftgate but we dont and we get less colours (burning red and copper blaze) to choose from compared to those countries..

what a letdown ETCM..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Steve Jobs on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:30 pm

CRV 2 WD better.

-SOHC ; better in low range
    -double wishbone better than multilink
    -Xenon projector
    -but the transmission kinda a let down,Nissan XTRONIC CVT is smooth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • I just dont understand why manufacturer must give us a 4WD configuration? We dont need it and it takes a lot more fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • lookwise, facelifted crv is more appealing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Asal bukan Korean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • MCJin PA on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Looking at how all the new cars get bashed and compared, I think end of the day it boils down to what consumers want?

Less airbags more airbags, if the features are lesser, people complain.

Feature packed but only 2 airbags, people complain.

If the world-claimed safest transportation in the world can go missing, what is safe anymore?

I think we are getting so protected and assured of these so-called ‘safety features’ that we don’t even drive properly anymore. Then probably we should all just get Volvo cars then since it is the claimed safest car as of now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Blaster88 on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Erm…airbags has been proven to save lives. Yes, it cannot be 100% safe BUT we can certainly minimize the damage and chances of fatality in a serious collision. I would rather have less features but not get short changed in the safety feature department. Try selling a car with only 2 airbags to EU, Aust and the US…Malaysians are such nice people (smile) or Malaysian lives less worthy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • It is not bashing for the sake of bashing. These models are available in nearby Thailand. Why do we get less specs than them. Since when is Msia more backward than Thailand. :P

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Doesn’t looks rigid, 2015 CRV and X-Trail last gen boxy body is more rigid.

• b0ndJ on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Keep arguing around the fact that x-trail has less quantity on airbags will not change anything.
    Do you really go after the quantity of airbags in the car in order to purchase a car?

is that the major and primory reason that is going to stop you from purchasing an all brand new competitive xtrail? Really?

Go test drive it and feel all the WORLD FIRST Active Chasis Control features and also Nissan First features before you talk about airbags.

Somehow its a big step for the newly launched xtrail.
    definitely a strong product to compete with in the segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:33 pm

We don’t want gimmicks, we just want 6 airbags + ESP.

You tell your Boss to omit those ‘active this active that, and auto-this-that’ and give us Malaysians 6 airbags + ESP.

You management and marketing lost directions, it seems like.

Discouraged? Undermined? Poor Teana and Sylphy sales? Find out the reasons. It is not due to their ‘6 airbags + ESP’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • b0ndJ on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:54 pm

dear Jimmy, you management & marketing?
        FYI, i don’t work with them. and i aint got no boss here. i just simply own an xtrail and i think its very outstanding.
        tqvm

however, you may consider proton Suprima too then.
        its 6 airbags.. if thats what you are looking for. :)
        cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • bondJ…6 airbags just better…more important, safer than 2..its should mandatory for all new car…some more, his is 5 + 2 seater…its mean mb for someone or me, their or my kids at the back of car..

• MCJin PA on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:13 pm

I find it quite unfair to judge the car and compare spec to spec with CRV so early when it has just been launched.

When manufacturers give more features, less airbags, people still bash.

When manufacturers give more airbags, less features, people still bash.

When manufacturers give best of both worlds, priced too high people don’t buy.

I still think that safety comes when the mindset of drivers in this country changes. We are driving like GTR racers because we have all these to depend on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • Stunning design. Way better than hunchback CRV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Suka Kereta on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Why car prices at Malaysia is way too expensive?
    When will the car price at Malaysia is gonna be reasonable…aiyaaa…paultan.org can’t help meiii compile our comment and give to whom it may concern….???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Tomatoman on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Oh my. That don’t look tough at all. That look Korean.

• benjaminchiang on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:12 pm

I juz came for d girls~ ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Vince on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:18 am

Finally go for x trail since the passive features, engine, gear box is much advance than crv

• ETCM never fails to take away the real charm of Nissan Vehicles. Great design but lack security features and blunt electronics and gadgets !

Well done ETCM – You are a taste Killer !! ~

• nissan fan on Jan 24, 2015 at 5:09 pm

booking now can get before chinese new year ?

• sambalbabi on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:26 pm

the fact that it has a DOHC engine and 5+2 configuration seating makes it better than CRV all day.

2 airbags? People who boast these too much must be a lousy driver.

Accidents do happen, but if it’s your time to go, you’ll go anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • cancelled X trail booking on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Main reasons:
    2 air bags (known before book already feel not good)
    Rear door no autolift. Due to heavy door, Malaysia TC change it to fully plastic door.
    The main thing here is safety… it is attractive to have those active active staff (i tested drive) but when come to safety consideration, no side airbag and yet is 5+2 seaters. and last row is made from plastic!!! I think is too stress for me to pay 140K for this crap at the moment.. better look for other choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Herman Low on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:38 pm

As a 06 owner for 3 yrs.this latest model is a total change almost but I do agree TCM kiam siap in giving two airbags. 4 should be standard eventhough previous new models got 6.
    X-trail is a huge vehicle hence 2 to 4 airbags should be adequate and safe enough.Might consider buying another 2 to 3 yrs. new model as buying new is sheer wastage to me….

• Hai. If key is not working and push button not working what todo

• I face the problem now cannot open the car push button not matching. Itis shows inthe. Display. Lights are working horn working but couldn’t starts what to do ?

• Jebatv6 on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:28 pm

What I want is below 2.0 cc like Ford & Exora with turbo power…we still pay cheaper insurance ma..

• Any special discount for existing Nissan Car owner.I intended to own a new Xtrail. deisgn is very nice. Unfortuneately. This is 5+2 seat instead of 7 seater. I knew Xtrail is better than CRV. Sumo Xtrail got Xtronic which CRV din provide except 2.5 4WD.

• nan2BMJG on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:08 pm

-My new 2015 x trail clock 2K. panjat genting 2 time …feel safe with world class chasiss control…alhamdulilah superb..thank TCM .i not much experiance suv only 8 year with korean SUV.

• mader on Aug 12, 2015 at 5:18 pm

hi nan2bmjg,

are using 2.0fwd or 2.5awd?

so hows the performance and fuel consumption you experience? handling? value to buy? tq

• No resale value…buyer will regret..better buy cx 5 or crv…gearbox is subjective…

• yusof on Apr 19, 2015 at 11:13 am

Pls help CRV or XTRAIL…

• jalan kaki naik bash on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Our roads jammed now n then,if car price is reduced,it will be jammed × 2 or maybe × 3.

• jalan kaki naik bas on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Our roads jammed now n then,if price of car is reduced, it will get worse.

• Uncle Naira on Jul 23, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Its unfortunate not to find the latest Nissan SUVs In Nigeria

• Have been use it for 3 months..4 me the best part is fuel efficiency…from kangar to rnr sg.buloh just consume 28-30 liter of petrol with 120-130km/h speed..

• Bimmerman on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:34 pm

The joke’s on Malaysians. In Australia its RM40,000 cheaper, CBU from Japan and yes it comes with 7 airbags.