VIDEO: 2015 Nissan X-Trail 2.5 4WD walk-around tour

With the 2015 Nissan X-Trail still basking in the hype of its recent launch, we can bet that most of you out there are eagerly awaiting a rundown of Nissan’s new seven-seater SUV. In the latest episode of our walk-around series, we delve into what makes the new car tick and what kind of hardware (and software) it’s packing in order to go up against the likes of the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Hyundai Santa Fe.

The new X-Trail comes in two flavours – a 2.0 litre 2WD variant and a 2.5 litre 4WD version with Nissan’s All Mode Intelligent 4×4-i system. Featured in today’s episode is the range-topper, which possesses a power output of 171 PS and 233 Nm of torque, coupled to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT transmission.

Want to know more, then? Sit back, relax and click on as we explore the new features found on the 2015 X-Trail, inside and out – from its funky Around View monitoring system to whether or not the car really qualifies as a seven-seater per se. As for driving dynamics, stay tuned for our video review coming up soon.

For those who prefer to do the research themselves, be sure to head on over Carbase.my for a comprehensive analysis of its tech specs and equipment. Or better yet, stack it up against its rivals in a side-by-side comparison and decide for yourself which one comes out on top. If you like (or don’t) the video, drop us a comment and subscribe to our Youtube channel!

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Kumars on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:21 pm

So much of money but I only get 2 airbags? seriously?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Paultan.org is good in high-lighting the lack of 2 airbags in a family mover. Wait even the family mover Serena also has 2 bloody airbags hahahaha damn!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
      • Kudos to Paultan.org in highlighting safety issues like airbags and ESP all the time. It will help to raise more awareness in term of safety features.

Here is an example comparing a car with and without side airbags which will make it more apparent for the lack of it in a family mover.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzOCzESlLlY&w=200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • Fuhh.. all the shards flying to your face.. imagine been hit by a lorry from the side without side/curtain airbag..

But this vid also seem to highlight the importance of full curtain airbag. I would probably prefer them over side airbag. I think in our suv case only cx-5 has that.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:03 am

I agree with your comment.

I like how the paultan.org team has long since advocated car safety in their works. This is what separates paultan.org from the rest. You guys are not afraid to risk your credibility by emphasising the importance of car safety to a level which could make or break a car, irrespective of the badge. Meaning, that if it’s a Toyota / Nissan / Honda / Mazda etc. and it’s unsafe (no ESC, just 2 airbags even for the top spec), you guys BOLDLY POINT IT OUT (and in some cases, constructively criticise the car / company), while most media just turn a blind eye and don’t outright question the lack of safety because of the Japanese badge.

As always, dua tangan thumbs up for the video !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Yes, Paultan shd stand for something, make its value known, not just kowtow to car sellers that pays for ads. There is a lot of readers here. This can help raise awareness far and wide.

I like this.

Maybe nx time can do a story on difference/impact of having air bags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Aero (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:10 am

I genuinely think paultan.org has reached the level where they no longer solely depend on car companies for ads, but car companies depend on paultan.org for publicity.

That is why paultan.org can criticise car companies for their lack of safety, and get away with it. This was especially clear on the 2015 Perodua Myvi video and this video as well. paultan.org don’t need to worry about what car companies think of them, they don’t need their help, car companies need paultan.org’s help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Dr Mamak on Jan 24, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Ah Chong, ditch that cruise control and replace it with 6 airbags la. Nobody uses cruise control here, not in bolehland traffic anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • RIcoT on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Cruise control exists way before 6 airbag implementation, therefore, wait another XX years for 6 airbags to be standard in ASEAN market.

• submarine on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Tan Chong, your move to standardise 6 airbags across the Sylphy and Teana ranges WAS great… However, very recently you make removing this very important safety feature (at least fron Serena and Xtrail) for your cost cutting strategy spells wrongly in your branding. It is telling us your would-be customers, that TC is for gaining more revenue by means of sacrificing customers’ safety, that the safety of your customers’ pessengers aren’t important. If you think cutting corners by removing safety features is good for sales, I hope that you think again (or simply read the thread here).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • NowOrNever on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Hyundai Tucson? I thought it go against Hyundai Santa Fe..rite?

Btw I’d seen the All-New KIA Sorento a few times @ Fox Sports commercial/ad. Mind to get some coverage and ”break it down”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Hondaman on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Agreed, santa fe is in the D segment car, tucson is in the correct segment.

• Duno about this, but the old model was terrible.
    It felt heavy, very heavy fuel consumption and worst, the suspension felt stiff like a sports car….why? So uncomfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Come_On.. on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:58 pm

You had the 2 air-bags right on the money. No swipe at the minuscule 4 inch screen?

Good review.

• Captain Obvious on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Cheapest car with 360 degree view? Have you tried the Great Wall M4 bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:35 pm

We don’t want gimmicks, we just want 6 airbags + ESP.

You tell your Boss to omit those ‘active this active that, and auto-this-that’ and give us Malaysians 6 airbags + ESP.

You management and marketing lost directions, it seems like.

Discouraged? Undermined? Poor Teana and Sylphy sales? Find out the reasons. It is not due to their ‘6 airbags + ESP’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
    • Agreed. ETCM management really lost. Can really make a case study of how not to manage a business in any business school. Totally wrong strategy by any classic accounts. Even a blind fella can read market trend better than them.

In 2014 honda and toyota grew, nissan shrank. And please ETCM fanboys.. dont blame najib on this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • RIcoT on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:21 pm

ETCM may be focusing on Renault market now since some Nissan showrooms changed to Renault, the TC Euro.

• Thayanand on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Proton Preve CFE CVT has already got the engine breaking system.Just to update.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Thayanand on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:30 pm

To update again, the Preve Enginer braking is during hill decent. Not during hard breaking.So i guess it is 1st time on a CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Nice one Gregory Sze and your new hair cut too lol.
    Anyway plastic rear tailgate? Because racecar!

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:46 pm

I can’t brain why they and the Santa Fe offer 2 airbags only.

For goodnes sake this is a family car. It’s because of this the CX5 and CRV appear to be better in my book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Wheelspin on Jan 24, 2015 at 1:43 am

Where’s the powerboot?

• The 2WD 2SRS airbags shouldn’t dearer than RM130K simcr both of our neighbors Indonesia and Thailand merely over RM110K.

Rear seating not better than Livina and unless we got dCi diesel as well as 4WD the price must keep below RM140K.

Wait the new Sorento CRDi since Nissan 2.0 gas engine not that economical

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:52 am

Not fond of the transparent tail lamps. They make the car look cheap. Those only suitable for ‘cheap’ cars (Perodua?). And 2-airbags only is such a huge let down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • kaizer on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:59 am

Please do more of these walk-around videos..! I like the way you guys highlight the special features, shortcomings and how does it stack up to the competition. Keep up the good work!

• mivec101 on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:59 am

very disappointing, only 2 airbags!!??

• Plastic rear tailgate? Would it affect the safety of the car?

• I am driving a “non-mainstream” 7-seater, Sorento, which has 6-airbag. It serves me well for the last 4-year. Might be changing my ride next year and has yet to find a worthy replacement.

• slumber on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:58 am

How does this X-trail compared to Ford’s Kuga? Kuga’s engine output is slightly better than that’of X-trail’s 2.5.

• albag on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:49 am

bersyukurlah folks… got 2 airbags is better than no airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • cc poh on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Thailand 2.5V CVT 4WD
    RM 155,000
    Panoramic Sunroof
    4 SRS Airbags
    18″ Alloy Wheel

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 2:14 pm

yes…2 airbags…i cannot brain what carmakers in malaysia are doing. however, step out of paultan website and u realise how many people are not even aware how many airbags their car have….which just makes me sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • first gen Nissan X-trail 2.5 190hp why now 177hp

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 3:56 pm

fuel efficiency is the word. just like how the first gen honda crv is more powerful than its newer siblings.

• 2 air bag? dont worry bro, u get Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS),Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD) with Brake Assist (BA),Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS),Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC),Traction Control System (TCS),

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • MitchelJohn on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:56 pm

All those features won’t help you save you and your familyat the end of the crash with only 2 airbags.

• justin on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:58 am

when u langgar by lori that no Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS),Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD) with Brake Assist (BA),Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS),Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC),Traction Control System (TCS),U BARU TAHU!!

• transformer on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Another nice review Greg!

Hope your future video can include text when u read out DI engine output+key feature, X-Tronic CVT, car dimension and other key feature such as ABS, EBD, ESC any?.

Thank you.

• Test drive it today , suspension very good and quite responsive, better than CR-V in term of handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:15 am

I am completely disappointed with ETCM Nissan’s complete reversal of their policy on safety.

Then again, I am completely disappointed with Malaysians for not buying the 6-airbags-as-standard Nissan Sylphy. Nissan sold only a few hundred of those in 2014, their closest competitor, the Civic, sold about 5,000. The Civic is wayyy worse in almost every aspect, compared to the Sylphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • How is Civic way worse exactly? on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:00 am

Is it because it matches Sylphy with 6 airbags? Or is it because it every other way Civics trumps Nissan’s offering in term of value.

If by saying Sylphy is better you meant it has a 4 inch screen with no Navi, you’ll be right. Sylphy is indeed much better.

Every uncle that wants a Nissan with 2 airbags and 4 inch screen has bought one. New product should be an evolution of the old one. The younger generation wants Nissan Connect, panoramic sun-roof, 6 airbags, etc. In fact, just bring in the same X-trail from Thailand and everywhere and TCM can do well.

The way TCM is pricing and speccing it’s fleet, it’s telling everyone that 1) I do not give a rat’s arse for your safety 2) We are here to line our pocket instead of delighting our customer.

• Josh Ling on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:14 am

maybe you haven’t realized, buying a car, especially in malaysia, is not just about how many airbags the car has, and how good looking the car is. there are a lot more factors you have to consider as well.

and let’s be honest, sylphy is no better looking than civic in terms of look. and personally i think it’s even blander than the civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Finally someone who understands on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:25 am

Finally someone realised the consumer behaviour in Malaysia. End of the day it’s quite contradicting as when all safety features are provided, customers will argue with the add-ons and focus on branding.

So I doubt the carmakers are to blamed, but rather the customers are not providing adequate support.

• winwin on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Sylphy actually not bad at all. However, they should have plonk in a 2.0L engine because the old model came with 2.0L. Civic also not selling well. That is why they upped the accessories. No matter, C segment car sales is dying. People are going for either B segment or D segment. Altis sales is slow too but that is because it is too expensive.

• drkhairulizan on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:57 am

went to see this new x-trail this afternoon…concluded that my decision to buy kia sorento a year ago was definitely right..at least sorento have 6 airbags, full size 7 seater SUV plus all the safety features n gadgets..RV maybe the only setback but going to use that sorento for long time..family ride…so no problem..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • are airbags that expensive to fit? Even the new Mazda 2 has only 2 airbags.

• Aerodynamics

xtrail® has a coefficient of drag of just 0.33. What does that mean? Technically, it’s kind of complicated, but practically, it means reduced wind resistance, which translates into Best-In-Class 33 MPG on the highway. [*]

• Zero Gravity & Quick Comfort® Heated Front Seats

Inspired by NASA [*] and zero gravity space travel, these remarkably comfortable front seats were built to maximize comfort while reducing fatigue. The Quick Comfort® Heated Front Seats work fast, focusing on key areas of the body in sequence to get you warmed up, asap.

• The 2 airbags must be a joke lol ~ Come on Nissan !!

• alimughal on Apr 15, 2015 at 7:30 pm

hay this is my frinds

• conscience on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:57 pm

I don’t know much abt automobile but 2 airbags in this time n age is unforgiving n a contempt of human safety.
    Btw, sze , pl pronounce the name of our country “Malaysia’ correctly. It’s ‘Malaysia’ as spelt n not ‘Malayshia’.