BYD Tang unveiled – 505 hp, 720 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 4.9

byd-tang-1

Forget the Porsche Cayenne Turbo S, the BMW X5 M, the Range Rover Sport SVR. Forget them all. What you’re looking at here is one of the fastest SUVs around – and it’s a (surprise, surprise) hybrid. The BYD Tang has just been unveiled in China, the SUV is slated to go on sale as a China-only model.

The prodigious performance comes courtesy of a 2.0 litre, turbocharged petrol engine with 205 hp and 320 Nm of torque, paired to two electric motors – each one producing the equivalent of 150 hp and 200 Nm of torque. Add it all up and you get 505 hp and 720 Nm – in other words, actual mind-blowing numbers.

Putting all that power to every corner is a six-speed automatic transmission. Look closer and you’ll be able to spot a ‘5-4-2’ inscription right above the front wheel fenders – which stands for a 0-100 km/h time of less than five seconds, four-wheel drive and a fuel consumption figure of 2 litres per 100 km (50 km/l).

byd-tang-4

Four driving modes enable the driver to select between an-electric only mode with the rear motor driving the rear wheels. Next up is a range-extender mode in which the petrol engine supports the front electric motor along with the rear-driven motor.

Curiously, there is an option to disable the rear motor completely, with only the front electric motor powering the front wheels – again with the help of the petrol engine. Finally, an all-out mode powers up both motors and the petrol engine, providing maximum performance.

The inside is rather different from what we can expect of a China-made car – that is to say, pretty classy. A large touchscreen infotainment system takes precedence on the centre console while a smattering of wood and leather throughout the cabin helps keep things oh-so-chic.

byd-tang-5

Additionally, two limited edition variants of the BYD Tang (named after the “Tang Dynasty”) are also available – the Tang Limited and Tang Ultimate. The 98-unit Limited variant adds on red alloy wheels and a refreshed interior while the 200-unit Ultimate version gets a host of performance upgrades.

The result? A sportier bodykit is included along with a drop in the century sprint time which sees the Tang Ultimate take only 4.4 seconds to hit 100 km/h. Prices for the Tang Limited begin at RMB300,000 (RM172,950) but hybrid exemptions in China could see prices plummet to just RMB220,000 (RM126,830).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 264
    • Agreed, they are nightmares to own, they are just like Maseratis all the unreliability of a Ferrari and none of the performance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 26
    • Lexus meet kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Samah Khan on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:11 am

BYD Tang better than Toyota Harrier, unfortunately cannot buy in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • speaks the truth on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:07 pm

If you can’t trust china product? Why you will trust our proton?
      Even worse

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 32
      • He “doesn’t trust” China products, but doesn’t realize 90% of the components in his PC, the shirt he is wearing, the battery in his cellphone, is all manufactured in China.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 6
    • carnut on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:02 pm

BYD is part owned by Warren Buffet.

U tell that to the Oracle of Omaha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • Kruger on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:12 pm

For your information, GC is Malaysian. Not China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:16 pm

True. Many people need confidence on China vehicles. Imagine you drive it at 80km/j, are you not worried something suddenly happen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • ghostbtr on Oct 08, 2016 at 6:36 am

read most complain on vw broken rear axia in china. Most i read how tough tang survive in crash. How fun when tang out run the sport car. How they bring out rice cooker n cook something to eat w their tang when their stuck in massive jam. U know why china people don like byd? Just because the name.

• Masakmati on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Pity this Maserati as he is just an uncle junior Toyota sales guy like Sam who lacked of love. He is only an angry uncle with no wisdom . Sales is bad, struggle to get money for his son proton saga like Sam. Nothing to do at showroom so talk coxk sing song like CCB to get people attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Please don’t use your computer. your component maybe make in china also, it may explosion like atoming bom too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • RoadRage (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:34 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 140
        • Are you one of the stupid people always like tell people to go back China and India???
          People defensive about the facts, the cars and products not the country!!! how racist you can be NINCOMPOOP.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 18
        • rchoo on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:27 am

We are not commenting based on sentiment or emotion but rather based on facts.

You are probably disappointed with China’s products because you got low quality products but you were only willing to low price. I am sure you will get good quality products if you are willing to pay decent price. Overall China’s products are value for money, undeniable.

Technology wise, they are very forward but remain modest, these innovation and advancement from China will surely send shivers to your spine.

1. High speed rail (fastest in the world) and also the longest track in the world (US still in its infancy, Amtrack snow like snail compared to CRV)
          2. Maglev technology. (US no such thing)
          3. Rocket technology Long March 5 series coming (heavy payload).
          4. Civil engineering prowess in Dam, bridges construction and lots of steel structures. By the way, I think the next tallest building in Malaysia will be a steel structure building constructed by Chinese Contractor.
          5. Space station is on the way (Confirm the only nation planning to go solo).
          6. Aegis class destroyer like the new 052D and the upcoming 055D, I wont be surprise it will be more advance than the American Arleigh Burke in certain aspects.
          7. I believe they are into their 4th generation Nuclear Submarine as announced by Hu Lu island mayor except we haven’t seen it.
          8. Indigenous aircraft carrier coming.
          9. Big Military cargo plane coming Y20.
          10. All sorts of advancement in UAV and AWACS.
          11. Testing of Rail Gun.
          12. Stealth fighter J20 (already near advance state) and J31.
          13. Commercial C919 coming and bigger model C929 planning.
          14. Hypersoar hitting target anywhere in the world within 1 hour. testing record better than the US.
          15. DF31A and DF41 ICBM.
          16. Fastest supercomputer in the world currently.
          17. A lot of successful chinese company like Huawei, ZTE, MIDEA, Hisense and many others.

RoadRage, learn to respect other culture, theirs is a 5,000 old one. How old is yours? Yours is probably peanut compared to Chinese civilization.

By the way, I really trash this China’s MIDEA induction cooker for 7 years already and it is still working fine, hell lot better than the Japanese ones.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
          • RoadRage (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against china or whatever and if you wanna pass a good comment on their products, go ahead. What bothers me is why do so called “Malaysians” get worked up when somebody insults china? Like are you from china? I don’t see Singaporeans get worked up when somebody pokes fun at china. And please spare me the ancient Chinese history, I don’t give a rats as*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 81
          • steven on Jan 25, 2015 at 6:20 pm

ya…just study a bit about jet fighter. SU-33 copy by China name code J-15 and can fly……

• _Anonymous_ on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:12 pm

based on your above comments on china product, a list of 18 including your induction cooker, there is nothing you mentioned about china automobile or their technologies?
            they can’t even have a decent design of their own what more to say spending r & d on their cars and trucks. google and you will find a lot of china automobile very good in copying design. the rest no need to say.

• anonymous on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:07 pm

How do u even know they r chinamen…can i assume u r ramen or kari men

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • @RoadRage
          Nobody here is getting defensive about China, people here are commenting about cars.
          Only you decided to bring up racial Bullsh*t.
          But, i can play that game too, Malaysia is a country full of immigrants, nobody owns this country, i guess if the Chinese need to go back to China, the Indians need to go back to india, so i guess the Malays should be go back to where they came from, which is Indonesia?
          But oh thats right you can’t, because the Indonesians hate you.
          “What bothers me is why do so called “Malaysians” get worked up when somebody insults china”
          Pffffffft, why do Malays get worked up when people talk about Gaza?
          Its not your country right?
          Why should you give a “rats a**” about what happens in their country?
          Why should you care where Mcdonalds choose to sell their F*CKING FOOD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
          • RoadRage (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:49 am

Look, isn’t it obvious when somebody says china cars are crap then these people started to get all jumpy claiming everything’s made in china and even brought proton issues in. If you’re a Malaysian, why the need to get all defensive about it? And I never asked anybody to go anywhere china or wherever, I don’t need to stoop that low. I was just pointing out the irony. My late grandpa came from china but that’s that. I have nothing to do with china and china has nothing to do with me. It’s funny you brought that gaza thing up, anyone would get mad when innocent lives are being killed and this includes animals too.

Malaysians for Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
        • Ah kua RoadRage on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Bodoh comment made at car blog. Shame on you you CCB and if you are so proud of yrself, then you shall work harder to own a proton saga like Sam.

• submarine on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:34 pm

RoadRage, you have an obvious issue of politisising feedback(s) in this thread. In a nutshell some are saying products made in China are fine, whilst there are (understandably) inferior ones as well. I take it that you either cannot understand many of the comments here, or you need to shift your paradigm of looking at things related to culture, social and perhaps country before commenting, so that people like you and me can have intelligent discussion here. Just FYI I am a Chinese, but I will defend our nasi lemak till the end if someone were to say our neighbour’s ones are better than ours, just as an analogy.

• OMG…BYD founded in 2003, can have such nice design car out. Our P1 had more experience, but the design look ugly and dull…shame on u…puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • BeemerFreak on Jan 24, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Akira is Singaporean btw……no wonder he calls himself Maserati, he is bloody unreliable himself

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 25, 2015 at 6:05 pm

This Byd can eat the Lexus RX / LX for breakfast!

• LatukBandar on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:06 pm

am impressed, this is one good looking chinese car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 11
  • toyotafan on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Is 4.9 seconds really mindblowing? I’m sure it will be labelled horrendous but other motor mags/sites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 24, 2015 at 1:17 am

Not sure what you drive but 4.9 to the century is pretty brisk in my book. It takes more than a mildly modded Mitsubishi Evo to run those numbers.

Nevertheless, its mind blowing considering the underpowered crap we get here. No doubt foreign rags will be less enthusiastic about it as even their full size minivans runs 8.

• toyotafan on Jan 25, 2015 at 6:14 pm

My Vios TRD Twin Turbo can do 0-100 in 3 seconds easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • 4G63T DSM on Jan 26, 2015 at 10:35 am

Incidentally, I just saw a white VIOS TRD crashed and on its side againsts a pillar at Subang clock tower on Saturday….

By any chance it was yours?

• _Anonymous_ on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:20 pm

I would believe you if you say you did it in 3 sec going downhill!

• BeemerFreak on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Holy cow, the Chinese really can put the Europeans to the test. As for the Japanese,they were last century’s news.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
  • Kittfoxx on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:13 pm

I didn’t know its April 1st today..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
  • etoooo on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Suddenly i’m remembering a phrase from a scene of RoboCop (1987 movie)..

When RoboCop finally grabs Clarence Boddicker by the next and throws him thru the glass.
    and Clarence Boddicker yells “What iss thiss shittt!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Lol you sir made my day with your comment.

Give the Chinese another 5-10 years and the entire motor industry will be worried. The Koreans took the world by surprise back then and next will be bunch from China who makes almost every single stuff that you and I use…yes sir from your brand new iPhone 6 to your Coach/Tumi bags. You name it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • RoadRage (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:43 am

Yep we all know china produces alotta stuff but there’s really nothing to shout about. I mean why would we be proud of china? Are you from china?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 49
        • You feel scared of chinese?feel threaten?lol…topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Anonymous on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:00 am

You my friend have just made my day haha. Anyways, Malaysians for Malaysia!

• That wood trim is so ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
  • The Chinese has a never-say-never attitude.. Just when the world think nothing of China but bad attitude, imitation king, etc… They proved everyone wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 12
  • applegreen on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Wow only RM172k for 500bhp? Here in Malaysia can get Jeep SUV 175bhp at RM349k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:00 pm

That’s why
      Open Market = China
      Monopoly by cronies and the Father = Malaysia aka bolehland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 14
      • youslowpoke on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:16 am

Where got open market in China? Foreign companies have to have some kind of ventures with local companies to market cars there.

Get your fact right.

• brazbuz on Jan 25, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Most of the china brands car owned by the china gov, even foreign brand have to made jv to penetrate the market. The diff is our gov mix up political things too much in the company and everything become uncertain. auto industry is a large scale source of economies. Even US gov willing to bail out the giant 3 automaker out there rather than see them going down. That is why, wishing p1 to close down is not a good idea. All we need is p1 free from unrelated interference that hold it from moving forward. SEA is the next big market in the world after china. msian love cars,we all know that, and if we keep pointing on others without doing nothing to propel our automotive,it is useless.

• Heng Lee on Jan 25, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Actually, there is no open market in China. Foreign made cars are taxed heavily while foreign companies producing in China have to joint venture with chinese companies.

• china penipu scammer on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:28 pm

chasis body from second generation Toyota Harrier..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • x-city on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:28 pm

wow..looks good but how about the crash test result?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • medic on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Is this some kind of early April fool joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
  • The horror when u find out the electric motors are just powerbanks filled with one AA n bags of sand !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 39
    • fanofthisite on Jan 24, 2015 at 4:58 pm

your comment would be farny except this is from BYD. So it is unfortunately just lame and foolish

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Might be fast on straight line, but corner must be like ‘sampan’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • Lane Tamer on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:10 pm

It might not even reach 4.9 seconds as it will catch fire…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
  • I admit the design is mash up between Nissan X Trail, Kia grill and Ford Fiesta mouth and Peugeot 2008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Forgot to add the gear knob is taken from BMW, the multi-info screen is taken from Audi and the curve dashboard from Infiniti haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Johnny on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:18 pm

The Chinese copy-catted quite well on this one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • The design is mash up between Nissan X Trail, Kia grill and Ford Fiesta mouth and Peugeot 2008 rear lamp in body of Lexus RX-ish. I quite actually like this oddball since Chinese car never caught my attention but this car with enormous torque means you can neutral powerslide like Audi RS6-ish and with 5 star china ncap means its safe as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Forget the ugliness and look at the peformance figure! Sure it was cheap high peformance SUV! China has showed the world that they can make a awesome car just like Hyundai and Kia’s!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:58 pm

If china can make robocop…
    They cn pretty much make anything…..

I hv to say dat dis looks mighty impressive…

A long term test is needed to convince detractors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:03 pm

China now just needs a japanese guy to sort out d branding n naming issue…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Acura and Infiniti sucks at branding and naming. Lexus still not as powerful as Mercedes.

• Painter on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:24 pm

The Chinese are at it again. They think they can do the same with mobile phones and tablets market, they could repeat it in the automotive industry, giving more value for a product.

They have no sentiment or appreciation for brand names. Just pure horsepower and brute force.

Let the market decide. The world has become a very interesting place indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • crota son of oxy on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:54 pm

tested by china autohome.com.cn ,normal version done 4.8 second century sprint….quite fast…and 5 star ancap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • farhan on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Meanwhile, in Malaysia, proton and perodua……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • therealmaserati on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Hahaha, way better than what the Koreans can come up. Up till now, not a single sports car that has come out from Korea yet which is respected .

At this moment in time, i rate Korean cars on par with China cars or lower.

Well done China!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • thats a stupid statement…I don’t mind using Chinese made products as long as it is licensed by reputable brands like the iPhone. At least we can be assured of quality. However, the same cannot be said for brands that are totally Chinese owned…esp after the recent cases involving the loss of lives because of their lack of business ethics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Pat San on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:32 pm

I feel very sad that so many of us are still living in the 80’s. If we look around us today, most of the things we use are made in China. Mobile phones, notebook, lap top, etc. They are all made in China. I lol especially comments from Maserati, what a nut case. Please lah surf the net and we will learn more. It reflects how stupid we are. What a disgrace to Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • Gerard on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Kasi Jeremy Clarkson test la. Tok kok sing song.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:21 pm

4.9 sec sounds great to many.
    ‘never seen big snake passing shit’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • When Clarkson said that we are all gonna be buying Chinese cars in a few years time on an episode of Top Gear, my reaction was ‘yeah right no one’s gonna buy china made cars’. Looks like I was badly wrong.

• If it is a ncap 5 stars car, please bring it here!

• Retep on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:15 am

Did J.J Abrams take those photos?

Lens flare in EVERY one of them.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:18 am

Wow, kimchis are in deep &^%# now. China products of similar quality at much lower prices.

Kimchis, Chapati and Dim Sum’s cars belong in the same group of manufacturers

• droll on Jan 24, 2015 at 5:26 am

imagine if this is priced at those super-competitive-china-car-prices range. speed freaks will be buying this in the droves and tearing down the highways with it. lol.

• CyberPatrol on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:49 am

Great choice of name for a car that reflect the era of many happening during Tang Dynasty (aks Golden era).

I must admit China auto maker are matching top competitors in spec in just after 37 years of opening their door to the global world. It can join ranks with Asian countries Japan and S.Korea as producer of global cars.

• amooooi on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:13 am

this malaysian people attitude very negative , what our country made proton can do for future car market and technology , nothing man.worst only power jaguh kampong

• rchoo on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:45 am

So beautiful in and out, at that kind of price, bring it in. I will buy for my wife.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:16 am

I want to buy this car ! I just owned a Chinese car that was launched in 2012 in China &
    not some 10yr old design brand. There is a big jump in build quality & it feels so solid. The body feels like my other conti car while the engine feels like a Jap engine. What a refreshing mix. Looking forward to sell my Persona. Nice car but has served its purpose. Hope to replace it with another new Chinese Car soon.

• cly land on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:10 am

so many china product hater here. Some china product also can clasify, depend on demand. They have high quality product but malaysian dont import it due to no demand. Some most cheaper imported the most, demand high..then you will hear thousands of complaint of bad china product..hahaha.. if you have seen china technology, you’ll amazed.. more advance than malaysia technology.. in many area.. my 5cent comment

• xxxxw on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:33 am

My samsung cellphone batt has gone kaput in less than a year, yes made in China. I guess it’s not as reliable as Japs/Koreans or even bolehland’s

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:43 am

seems legit

• Can do on Jan 24, 2015 at 3:33 pm

I would not trust the brand, don’t like the design but sure has sheer power. I would not buy it but given time and with better design as design is easier to overcome than technology know how, where they can just hire another Porsche or Audi designer, than I may eat my words. I truly think it is a matter of time before they take the world by storm because they can be cheap, has power and better design

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:23 pm

“I wouldn’t trust the brand” is the same sentiment my friends over in UK & Germany have about Asean or Malaysian car. But we are buying them here with 100% trust.

• trusty on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:36 am

It needs time to build trust. You won’t go straight to believe in everything made in a day.

• mason_ on Jan 24, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Wow …powerful,cheap and saving petrol.worth a try If this BYD is available in Malaysia ..

• Thomas on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Those country not work closely with USA, whatever they did also not so good. China invent rocket, how many of USA people know about it.

• American on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:06 pm

We American and our kuncu kuncu are very good at shouting “China bad quality, copy cat, no original, mash up between Nissan X Trail, Kia grill and Ford Fiesta mouth and Peugeot 2008…blah blah blah…
      But in actual fact we are the one who copy most of things invented by Chinese.

• seraa on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:41 am

Like what? Give me 1000 things copied since you said many things? Isn’t that blindly exaggerating?

• 150hp electric drive will suck up power so quick. You put two of them in the car? How big is the battery? This is either sorcery in technology or sorcery in advertising. I dont think you will get 505hp always, but maybe only for a few seconds then it will be back to 205hp.

• HenryL on Jan 24, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Went to the previous guangzhou motorshow saw this BYD TANG. i am quite impressed by the spec. and the interior build quality on par with my lexus.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Same here. I saw very well build & advance cars in Shanghai motorshow but not available for sale here in Msia. Nobody keen to bring them in accept some cheapo quality ones which reinforces local mentality of poor quality = china. Quite frustrating indeed. I think China should strongly start pushing for more of their brands here. Just ignore the China bashers & market it properly. There will always be early adopters to buy.

• policeman on Jan 24, 2015 at 9:50 pm

China boleh!

• pondan on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:09 am

Can’t beat proton CFE. Ciplak Fartap Engine. Scare leh dun play play. Best in kampung 1 and kampung 2. Some say kampung 3 too.

• tech enthusiast on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:24 am

our prophet Muhammad said “seek knowledge even in China”. at that time, China have their own civilzation far better from arab land still in jahilliyyah. Now , BYD can build a car on par with BMW. So for Proton , learn from BYD how to build some nice car. #seek knowledge even in China by Prophet Muhammad PBUH.

• On par with BMW? Lol still lightyears behind, a good car is not only by its speed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Chinese is good at Plagiarizing, for the sake of affordability for their people. Malaysian is good at Rebadging, for the sake of squeezing his own people’s hard earn money, yet being so proud of them self.

• teamsleepnine on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:48 am

this is all hype to drums up investor
    even waren buffet make mistake,this is just a concept….mau tarik investment…especially the fact that the company llose 1bil usd last december…ini semua mau jaga muka and tarik investment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Annoynimouse on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:20 am

Those who would like to feel the acclaimed power from the SUV, go ahead and do so. I believe those who are in the market for this type of SUV would have the money in the first place anyway. As for me, I think that China is still a long way behind in automotive design BUT they are catching up real fast and their companies are hiring experts from all over the world to enhance their products. Although they pack in lots of technology in the car, I wont feel assured as I would be in their Japanese/European counterpart. This is partly because we are so used to low quality products from China that the perception is hard to shake off. Seeing European cars being blatantly copied in terms of design doesn’t help either. Nonetheless, they company couldn’t care less since they already have a huge market in China anyway. Being able to sell their cars outside their country (for instance, in Malaysia) is a bonus.
    If I had to choose between a Malaysia and a China car with the same price tag, it would be a Malaysian.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:21 am

Gosh! that gear lever looks like a…

• jitenwu on Jan 25, 2015 at 1:09 pm

lenovo, xiaomi, zte, huawei i can trust, but cars, from China, no way

• FlamingFox (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 4:01 pm

If Xiaomi can do it, why not China car companies? They offer good features for its price and hopefully, reliability would only be an issue of the past. Currently, the confidence in China products just isn’t there.

• carfan on Jan 25, 2015 at 7:38 pm

China car companies have the volume to rapidly improve just like the Koreans And they will in the mass products. Premium cars have much lesser volume and the brands/prestige is not just dependent on hardware which is why TATA bought LandRover/Jaguar and Geely? bought Volvo.
    Proton doesn’t have the volume to complete. I have driven most of the models- generally let down by the engine and gearbox.
    Perodua is a Toyota/Daihatsu subsidiary. They have equivalent models in Japan to develop the car.
    On a side note- Toyota/Daihatsu sells 200,000 Peroduas and 100,000 Toyotas in Malsysia annually – probably equal to 50% of the local market.

• german-engineering on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Tata is Indian for your information and they design their own cars and sell them. Not like China Car Companies who just copy.. copy and copy..

• anakSarawak on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Isn’t it amazing that we come come up with overcharged statements and sentiments…!!!! Car topics turning to bashing party!!!! For God Sake..!!! stop!!! The thing here is a NEW CAR is BORN…!!!!Admittedly, I felt really annoyed by our own car makers!!!! Have we produced ANYTHING like this or at least “close” to the likes of this..?
    We all know that BYD started late. But look what they have produced now.? Aren’t we “a little bit” left behind in some sense?
    By the way, Who owns various luxury brands now? That’s right, CHINA..!!!!
    Give them time to proof themselves, like what we did to other things coming from China…( Look at Huawei, Oppo, Xiomi. HTC etc…they are now being recognised as world brands. so will their cars in years to come. (So, Where are we in the picture..?Are we any close to that?)
    Cool down guys!!!!

• HTC is from Taiwan my friend. Im sure our Taiwanese don’t appreciate to be associated with anything chinese given the long standing conflict between them

• german-engineering on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:08 pm

To all those defending China Cars. You guys know deep down inside that you will always get a Japanese car rather than a Chinese car. Just visit any hawker stall and u will see Accords n Camrys illegally parked right next to its selfish owner even though there are ample of parking lots available down the road. Even those from the low-middle income will also eventually get a Malaysian made Saga/Myvi/Alza for a peace of mind and better 2nd hand value.